InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
    20 Reviews
505 North Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL 60601  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (20)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our daughter's wedding here in July of 2014 and I cannot say enough about the gorgeous venue (Grand Ballroom), the food, the attention to detail, and the professionalism of the all of the staff. Chris Schmidt, the director of catering was such a pleasure to work with and made the entire process seamless. We had so many people comment that it was the nicest wedding they had ever been to and for that we have to give the Intercontinental a large amount of the credit!
Wedding: 07/19/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jeffrey 1 Reviews
Chris Schmidt, the Director of Catering, went out of his way during our 14 months of planning to make sure that everything was done to perfection. On the day of our daughter's wedding, it all came together perfectly. The hotel was warm and receptive to all of our guests who stayed there. The banquet staff flawlessly provided excellent service. The dinner was served hot to everyone; and looked and tasted as good as it did during our small "tasting session" several months prior to the wedding. I checked, and all the dinner plates were "eaten clean" when they were cleared at the end of the meal. Chris remained on-site for over 16 hours that day, and prior to leaving, made sure to ask me (the Father of the Bride), if everything was to our satisfaction. He would not leave until he was personally assured that we were 100% satisfied. If you are looking for an historic venue in a wonderful downtown Chicago location, backed by a classy staff and people who care, look no further than the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile.
Wedding: 02/01/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Cathy 1 Reviews
The food was absolutely delicious, from the appetizers to the salad, main course and dessert. The InterCon sub contracted out Cake Chicago for the wedding cake. Absolutely wonderful....moist and fresh. The Grand Ballroom was magnificent! Such a beautiful room in it's own right!
Wedding: 02/01/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Neive 1 Reviews
Everything about the Intercontintal was amazing from the moment we chose it as a venue till we checked out when it was finished. Jaclyn, our event manager was fabulous and made our every wish come true. The room was gorgeous and the staff was unbelievable. The banquet captain was constantly checking in with us and our parents. Not only did we love everything about the venue but our guests also commented on the amazing service during their stay and at the wedding.
Each bellman introduced himself to me the entire weekend and congratulated us. Everyone was so kind and accomidating. I could never imagined such an amazing weekend. I would recommend the intercontinental to anyone!
Wedding: 12/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The attention and the overall service we were given from the moment we viewed the InterContinental as a potential site for our wedding ceremony/reception was outstanding. Our catering coordinator, Chris Schmidt, was exceptional and ultimately plated a more valuable role than our wedding planner. He did everything he could to accommodate us and help us realize our vision for the wedding evening. If you're considering the InterContinental, just simplify matters and go with the best! Chose the best and go with the InterContinental. You'll be so pleased you did.
Wedding: 12/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

L 3 Reviews
Intercontinental Hotel was an amazing venue with an outstanding staff dedicated to making my daughter's wedding perfect. Jaclyn was my catering coordinator and I can not say enough about the care, professionalism and time she took to make sure every detail was taken care of. I hosted the wedding, a large block of rooms and a Sunday Day After the Wedding brunch. Jaclyn made sure all of it was perfect. The food was outstanding. The venue was spotless. The staff was beyond attentive. Every aspect was beyond my expectations.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Robin 2 Reviews
I would highly recommend the Intercontinental for a wedding. The venue was absolutely stunning, the staff was so great and professional. Chris the director of catering could not have been more helpful. The food was amazing, everyone had an incredible time. Awesome event all around.
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kathleen 1 Reviews
Chris Schmidt, Metze, and staff were very accommodating and professional in the planning of our daughters wedding. We were very pleased with their assistance in the planning of our daughters wedding. We would recommend this venue to our friends.
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

K 2 Reviews
The room was absolutely regal, the food outstanding and prepared to perfection and the wait staff was attentive and unobtrusive.
Wedding: 07/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We experienced excellent customer service planning for our sons wedding! Wedding, reception and overnight stay was great!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with Budi and Chris at the InterCon was fantastic! The InterCon offers unparalleled service and provides an amazing downtown venue in Chicago. Not only was the even staff amazing, but the banquet staff was unbelievably helpful and accommodating and our wedding seriously was perfect. I could not have asked for anything more! The food was even better than at our tasting and we received so many compliments. The staff even put pillows on my chair to supplement the back because I couldn't sit all the way against the back because of my dress. It was a small thing that was so special! You would not find that anywhere else, I guarantee. They took all of my concerns and desires for the day into consideration and it was perfect.
Wedding: 03/09/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
During our wedding planning phase, the associate director of catering associate was very helpful in suggesting other wedding vendors we should use. We actually chose all our vendors from their preferred vendor list because I believe the vendors will communicate with each other better during the wedding planning. He was able to help us choose a ballroom, linens, and tableware that fit our style and comfort level. The menu the hotel provided was very detailed with many selections to choose from. He also always emailed and called me back when I had questions or concerns.
Our wedding day was flawless. Our catering director was present during the wedding ceremony and reception to make sure everything went as planned. He helped with guest seating, ceremony execution, and made sure that the wedding party was comfortable before the ceremony started.
All of the hotel personnel were very helpful. The cocktail servers and waiters during the cocktail hour and reception were very friendly and were always there to help with guest questions and service. When the we (bride and groom) would leave the table they always made sure our food was covered to keep it warm and our wine glasses were never empty. The food was phenomenal. I have never ate filet mignon that was so tender and the vegetables were delightful as well. I have no bad comments to share about this hotel. My wedding was elegant and very classy.
Wedding: 08/16/2008
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This hotel was fantastic from the day we booked to the week after our wedding. They even called to see how the happy couple was doing later on! The rooms for both the Ceremony and the Reception were gorgeous. The catering manager was excellent and provided top notch food, of which our guests were served things that the hotel had done special for our wedding. The honeymoon suite was two floors of fabulousness and we were treated like royalty. Steps away from famous Michigan Ave., shopping galore and museums that make this city tick. The InterContinental is a fantastic venue to host any affair, but makes your wedding that extra special!
Wedding: 11/22/2006
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had to change our reception location 30 days before the wedding and were so lucky that the IC Chicago could accommodate us on such short notice. Their events manager, Ken Severin, was absolutely fabulous! He made wonderful suggestions and made the entire reception run perfectly. The quality of the food was excellent, we are still hearing about how delicious it all was. The ballroom had just been renovated - very elegant, and the double staircase from the balcony allows the bridal party to make dramatic entrance. Highly recommend it.
Wedding: 07/29/2006
Services Used: Catering, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Budi, Chris and Kellie - what a fantastic team! They were available for any odd question I may have had throughout the entire planning process. During our exploratory search for a venue, our experience with the catering team and the service staff - plus of course the reception room itself - sold us and we signed immediately! Our guests made comments, which we echo, such as 'flawless,' 'perfection' and 'magical!' Location was excellent, considering we had guests from Scotland and states all across America; shopping, sight-seeing and restaurants! Look no further if you want your dream wedding and a wedding for guests to remember. [I need to write a book to share all the positives.] Couple of negatives were the 'evening manager' (not helpful at all with post-event items) and Chicago City Taxes (out of everyone's control, yet keep in mind if you are working with a budget).

Ken and Jen
Chicago, IL
Wedding: 10/01/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Ellen 1 Reviews
We had our wedding at the InterContinental on 9/7/2013, and we are very pleased with the venue and services! The King Arthur ballroom is truly a beautiful space and the perfect venue for our celebration. The food and service are top notch and more than we had hoped for. Chris Schmidt was a pleasure to work with - he is professional, responsive and put us at ease through the process. We would definitely recommend the InterContinental to our friends and family.
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 312-944-4100
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0