InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
    25 Reviews
505 North Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL 60601  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (25)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ellen 4 Reviews
My husband and I chose the InterContinental Michigan Avenue for our wedding because we wanted a hotel where absolutely everything would be taken care of with first class quality. Our expectations were exceeded! The catering team was very easy to work with, proactive in helping us and accommodating to our needs. Our dog was able to be in the wedding!!!
We did NOT want a venue that looked like another hotel ballroom. The IC's historic tower was built in the 1930's, and it feels like a castle with old world decor. It also gave us lots of fabulous options for photos. Our guests were WOW-ed. Some told me it was the most beautiful wedding they had ever attended. I wanted a breath taking wedding that would WOW guests - and I got it!! Absolutely everything was perfect. My husband and I would not change a thing.
Wedding: 10/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Intercontinental's catering and service staff did an outstanding job for our wedding. All of our guests raved about the food and service. The catering staff made planning our ceremony and reception a stress-free experience and they were flexible about customizing menus to suit our needs. The hotel is gorgeous and probably one of the most spectacular places to get married in Chicago. Our ceremony and reception were in the Renaissance Ballroom and it is one of the most beautiful ballrooms in the city.
Wedding: 08/31/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Best wedding ever. I'm not just saying that because I'm the bride. Multiple guests commented that this was one of the best weddings they have attended. Chris Schmidt, the director of catering, was very friendly, approachable, responsive, and made sure every detail was perfect. Thomas, the banquet manager, was incredible. He stayed for our whole wedding to ensure that it ran flawlessly. Guests with dietary restrictions were not inconvenienced and the staff ensured that their dietary/medical needs were met. Not only the bride and groom, but our families, and guests were all treated like royalty from the time we stepped out of the car. The staff will work with you from the day you select the venue until the last guests leaves. They go above and beyond to ensure a perfect wedding.
Wedding: 08/16/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
If you are considering the Intercontinental Chicago for your wedding venue do not hesitate. If you have not, exploring the Intercontinental is a must. The location is perfect for guests, and our photography was outstanding with Michigan Ave, the river, and many options at the hotel's doorstep. Chris made sure every request was satisfied, made all the planning pleasant and fun, and provided the recommendations for other excellent vendors we relied upon. Lisette and the entire hotel staff met all our room needs at every step. Cake Chicago went beyond our expectations in both style and taste! Guests are still talking about the excellent cuisine, the royal service that evening from professional staff, and my daughter realized her dream wedding.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our daughter's wedding here in July of 2014 and I cannot say enough about the gorgeous venue (Grand Ballroom), the food, the attention to detail, and the professionalism of the all of the staff. Chris Schmidt, the director of catering was such a pleasure to work with and made the entire process seamless. We had so many people comment that it was the nicest wedding they had ever been to and for that we have to give the Intercontinental a large amount of the credit!
Wedding: 07/19/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jeffrey 1 Reviews
Chris Schmidt, the Director of Catering, went out of his way during our 14 months of planning to make sure that everything was done to perfection. On the day of our daughter's wedding, it all came together perfectly. The hotel was warm and receptive to all of our guests who stayed there. The banquet staff flawlessly provided excellent service. The dinner was served hot to everyone; and looked and tasted as good as it did during our small "tasting session" several months prior to the wedding. I checked, and all the dinner plates were "eaten clean" when they were cleared at the end of the meal. Chris remained on-site for over 16 hours that day, and prior to leaving, made sure to ask me (the Father of the Bride), if everything was to our satisfaction. He would not leave until he was personally assured that we were 100% satisfied. If you are looking for an historic venue in a wonderful downtown Chicago location, backed by a classy staff and people who care, look no further than the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile.
Wedding: 02/01/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Cathy 1 Reviews
The food was absolutely delicious, from the appetizers to the salad, main course and dessert. The InterCon sub contracted out Cake Chicago for the wedding cake. Absolutely wonderful....moist and fresh. The Grand Ballroom was magnificent! Such a beautiful room in it's own right!
Wedding: 02/01/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Neive 1 Reviews
Everything about the Intercontintal was amazing from the moment we chose it as a venue till we checked out when it was finished. Jaclyn, our event manager was fabulous and made our every wish come true. The room was gorgeous and the staff was unbelievable. The banquet captain was constantly checking in with us and our parents. Not only did we love everything about the venue but our guests also commented on the amazing service during their stay and at the wedding.
Each bellman introduced himself to me the entire weekend and congratulated us. Everyone was so kind and accomidating. I could never imagined such an amazing weekend. I would recommend the intercontinental to anyone!
Wedding: 12/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The attention and the overall service we were given from the moment we viewed the InterContinental as a potential site for our wedding ceremony/reception was outstanding. Our catering coordinator, Chris Schmidt, was exceptional and ultimately plated a more valuable role than our wedding planner. He did everything he could to accommodate us and help us realize our vision for the wedding evening. If you're considering the InterContinental, just simplify matters and go with the best! Chose the best and go with the InterContinental. You'll be so pleased you did.
Wedding: 12/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

L 3 Reviews
Intercontinental Hotel was an amazing venue with an outstanding staff dedicated to making my daughter's wedding perfect. Jaclyn was my catering coordinator and I can not say enough about the care, professionalism and time she took to make sure every detail was taken care of. I hosted the wedding, a large block of rooms and a Sunday Day After the Wedding brunch. Jaclyn made sure all of it was perfect. The food was outstanding. The venue was spotless. The staff was beyond attentive. Every aspect was beyond my expectations.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kathleen 1 Reviews
Chris Schmidt, Metze, and staff were very accommodating and professional in the planning of our daughters wedding. We were very pleased with their assistance in the planning of our daughters wedding. We would recommend this venue to our friends.
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Robin 2 Reviews
I would highly recommend the Intercontinental for a wedding. The venue was absolutely stunning, the staff was so great and professional. Chris the director of catering could not have been more helpful. The food was amazing, everyone had an incredible time. Awesome event all around.
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

K 2 Reviews
The room was absolutely regal, the food outstanding and prepared to perfection and the wait staff was attentive and unobtrusive.
Wedding: 07/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We experienced excellent customer service planning for our sons wedding! Wedding, reception and overnight stay was great!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with Budi and Chris at the InterCon was fantastic! The InterCon offers unparalleled service and provides an amazing downtown venue in Chicago. Not only was the even staff amazing, but the banquet staff was unbelievably helpful and accommodating and our wedding seriously was perfect. I could not have asked for anything more! The food was even better than at our tasting and we received so many compliments. The staff even put pillows on my chair to supplement the back because I couldn't sit all the way against the back because of my dress. It was a small thing that was so special! You would not find that anywhere else, I guarantee. They took all of my concerns and desires for the day into consideration and it was perfect.
Wedding: 03/09/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
During our wedding planning phase, the associate director of catering associate was very helpful in suggesting other wedding vendors we should use. We actually chose all our vendors from their preferred vendor list because I believe the vendors will communicate with each other better during the wedding planning. He was able to help us choose a ballroom, linens, and tableware that fit our style and comfort level. The menu the hotel provided was very detailed with many selections to choose from. He also always emailed and called me back when I had questions or concerns.
Our wedding day was flawless. Our catering director was present during the wedding ceremony and reception to make sure everything went as planned. He helped with guest seating, ceremony execution, and made sure that the wedding party was comfortable before the ceremony started.
All of the hotel personnel were very helpful. The cocktail servers and waiters during the cocktail hour and reception were very friendly and were always there to help with guest questions and service. When the we (bride and groom) would leave the table they always made sure our food was covered to keep it warm and our wine glasses were never empty. The food was phenomenal. I have never ate filet mignon that was so tender and the vegetables were delightful as well. I have no bad comments to share about this hotel. My wedding was elegant and very classy.
Wedding: 08/16/2008
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 312-944-4100
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0