InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile

InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile

Favorite
Chicago, IL
312.944.4100   Visit Website   Email Vendor
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service
4.8
Responsiveness
4.8
Professionalism
4.8
Value
4.7
Flexibility
4.7
Profile Picture
Private User
4 Reviews
Recently Married
5.0

The Intercontinental was just perfect! Chris Schmidt, Director of Catering, is the BEST. He was very responsive and worked with us with every step. The food was outstanding and the service was perfect.

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Kathy
1 Review
04/18/2015
5.0

My Daughter's wedding was just perfect. The food, the venue, the staff, the service was great!
Deniz was very accommodating and easy to work with . She was right about everything and made sure the evening was perfect. She is very professional and really knows the wedding business. We loved her!!!!
We truly had a perfect wedding!

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Private User
1 Review
Recently Married
5.0

The Intercontinental was amazing. The food was outstanding, they partner with Bittersweet bakery so our cake was beautiful and delicious, service was perfect and most important, their Director of Catering - Chris Schmidt is a total standout. He's the reason we chose the venue after talking to all of the downtown hotels. Responsive even at the quote stage, and had suggestions and worked with us to get exactly what we wanted. The evening was perfect.

Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Wedding Cake, Wedding Planning
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Aimee
2 Reviews
01/03/2015
5.0

I cannot say enough good things about the catering manager, Chris Schmidt. Even before we met with him, he remained in contact to make sure we got in to see the space and discuss our options. Once we decided to have our wedding at the Intercontinental, Chris was there for us each step of the way; to answer questions, make suggestions and help us plan our special day. The food and service was incredible and greatly exceeded our expectations. We wouldn't have changed a thing!!!

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Jennifer
3 Reviews
12/31/2014
5.0

Every single person that we worked with at the InterContinental was fabulous, especially Chris Schmidt! We could not recommend them any more highly!!!

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
5.0

In our search for our venue, my wife and I wanted a ballroom that didn't require a whole lot added to it in terms of flowers, up lighting, etc. The King Arthur Court Ballroom delivered just that! Our initial wedding corespondent left midway through our working with the venue, she left us in great hands with Chris Schmidt who really delivered as far as being responsive, working with our budget and being in attendance to aid us the day of.

Roughly 120 of the 140 guests we had flew into Chicago for the wedding and you really cannot beat the location on Michigan Ave, near the river, near trump tower, 3 block walk to the red line train, a 6 block walk to Millenium park one way and the Hancock Observatory the other way! The accommodations in the rooms were lovely and our parents were both upgraded to suites for their stays. While the elevator did break down on one side of the tower leaving only 1 out of 4 working, that is an issue that could not be controlled by the hotel and our guests were able to make other arrangements to get to where they needed to be in a timely fashion. Bob, the concierge, was extremely knowledgeable giving our guests information about the city and attractions/restaurants.

As for the venue itself and the way the ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner and reception all were held were absolutely perfect. The wait staff was very friendly and answered requests quickly. The set up was flawless (especially for having only 60 minutes to flip the entire room from ceremony to reception). The maitre 'd and Chris both worked with us when our dinner ran long to extend the open bar, therefore keeping us and our guests very happy. Everything ran smoothly with the exception of one of our guests dropping a glass on the dance floor; but it was quickly cleaned up by some of the waitstaff causing only a minor delay in the amazing party we were able to have there. All of our guests claimed it was the most beautiful wedding they have been to and everything was perfect!

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Ellen
4 Reviews
10/04/2014
5.0

My husband and I chose the InterContinental Michigan Avenue for our wedding because we wanted a hotel where absolutely everything would be taken care of with first class quality. Our expectations were exceeded! The catering team was very easy to work with, proactive in helping us and accommodating to our needs. Our dog was able to be in the wedding!!!
We did NOT want a venue that looked like another hotel ballroom. The IC's historic tower was built in the 1930's, and it feels like a castle with old world decor. It also gave us lots of fabulous options for photos. Our guests were WOW-ed. Some told me it was the most beautiful wedding they had ever attended. I wanted a breath taking wedding that would WOW guests - and I got it!! Absolutely everything was perfect. My husband and I would not change a thing.

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
5.0

The Intercontinental's catering and service staff did an outstanding job for our wedding. All of our guests raved about the food and service. The catering staff made planning our ceremony and reception a stress-free experience and they were flexible about customizing menus to suit our needs. The hotel is gorgeous and probably one of the most spectacular places to get married in Chicago. Our ceremony and reception were in the Renaissance Ballroom and it is one of the most beautiful ballrooms in the city.

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
5.0

Best wedding ever. I'm not just saying that because I'm the bride. Multiple guests commented that this was one of the best weddings they have attended. Chris Schmidt, the director of catering, was very friendly, approachable, responsive, and made sure every detail was perfect. Thomas, the banquet manager, was incredible. He stayed for our whole wedding to ensure that it ran flawlessly. Guests with dietary restrictions were not inconvenienced and the staff ensured that their dietary/medical needs were met. Not only the bride and groom, but our families, and guests were all treated like royalty from the time we stepped out of the car. The staff will work with you from the day you select the venue until the last guests leaves. They go above and beyond to ensure a perfect wedding.

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Private User
1 Review
Recently Married
5.0

If you are considering the Intercontinental Chicago for your wedding venue do not hesitate. If you have not, exploring the Intercontinental is a must. The location is perfect for guests, and our photography was outstanding with Michigan Ave, the river, and many options at the hotel's doorstep. Chris made sure every request was satisfied, made all the planning pleasant and fun, and provided the recommendations for other excellent vendors we relied upon. Lisette and the entire hotel staff met all our room needs at every step. Cake Chicago went beyond our expectations in both style and taste! Guests are still talking about the excellent cuisine, the royal service that evening from professional staff, and my daughter realized her dream wedding.

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Wedding Cake
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
5.0

We had our daughter's wedding here in July of 2014 and I cannot say enough about the gorgeous venue (Grand Ballroom), the food, the attention to detail, and the professionalism of the all of the staff. Chris Schmidt, the director of catering was such a pleasure to work with and made the entire process seamless. We had so many people comment that it was the nicest wedding they had ever been to and for that we have to give the Intercontinental a large amount of the credit!

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Jeffrey
1 Review
02/01/2014
5.0

Chris Schmidt, the Director of Catering, went out of his way during our 14 months of planning to make sure that everything was done to perfection. On the day of our daughter's wedding, it all came together perfectly. The hotel was warm and receptive to all of our guests who stayed there. The banquet staff flawlessly provided excellent service. The dinner was served hot to everyone; and looked and tasted as good as it did during our small "tasting session" several months prior to the wedding. I checked, and all the dinner plates were "eaten clean" when they were cleared at the end of the meal. Chris remained on-site for over 16 hours that day, and prior to leaving, made sure to ask me (the Father of the Bride), if everything was to our satisfaction. He would not leave until he was personally assured that we were 100% satisfied. If you are looking for an historic venue in a wonderful downtown Chicago location, backed by a classy staff and people who care, look no further than the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile.

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Cathy
1 Review
02/01/2014
5.0

The food was absolutely delicious, from the appetizers to the salad, main course and dessert. The InterCon sub contracted out Cake Chicago for the wedding cake. Absolutely wonderful....moist and fresh. The Grand Ballroom was magnificent! Such a beautiful room in it's own right!

Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Wedding Cake
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Neive
1 Review
12/14/2013
5.0

Everything about the Intercontintal was amazing from the moment we chose it as a venue till we checked out when it was finished. Jaclyn, our event manager was fabulous and made our every wish come true. The room was gorgeous and the staff was unbelievable. The banquet captain was constantly checking in with us and our parents. Not only did we love everything about the venue but our guests also commented on the amazing service during their stay and at the wedding.
Each bellman introduced himself to me the entire weekend and congratulated us. Everyone was so kind and accomidating. I could never imagined such an amazing weekend. I would recommend the intercontinental to anyone!

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
5.0

The attention and the overall service we were given from the moment we viewed the InterContinental as a potential site for our wedding ceremony/reception was outstanding. Our catering coordinator, Chris Schmidt, was exceptional and ultimately plated a more valuable role than our wedding planner. He did everything he could to accommodate us and help us realize our vision for the wedding evening. If you're considering the InterContinental, just simplify matters and go with the best! Chose the best and go with the InterContinental. You'll be so pleased you did.

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
L
3 Reviews
09/21/2013
5.0

Intercontinental Hotel was an amazing venue with an outstanding staff dedicated to making my daughter's wedding perfect. Jaclyn was my catering coordinator and I can not say enough about the care, professionalism and time she took to make sure every detail was taken care of. I hosted the wedding, a large block of rooms and a Sunday Day After the Wedding brunch. Jaclyn made sure all of it was perfect. The food was outstanding. The venue was spotless. The staff was beyond attentive. Every aspect was beyond my expectations.

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes