Ed's Country Bakery
4309 Cap Stine Rd
Frederick, MD 21703  | map
Desserts: Cookies, Cupcakes, Pastries
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (54)   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Joyce 2 Reviews
I ordered about 8 dozen cupcakes and a 6" round cake from Ed for my wedding. I was impressed by the variety of flavors that they had (frosting and cake). I wasn't able to taste any of the cupcakes but the guests loved them. My husband and I got the lemon cake with strawberry filling for our round cake and it was delicious! The price was pretty good compared to all the other bakeries, and support the local bakery!
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Judy 3 Reviews
My daughter was married on November 30, 2013 at Musket Ridge. She did not want a traditional wedding cake. We discussed our desire with Ed and he provided us with two kinds of cheesecakes (pumpkin and chocolate chip) in miniature cupcake size. They were very tasty. He also provided us with a cupcake stand that made the presentation a bit more fancy.

Thanks for contributing to a wonderful day. I would highly recommend using Ed's Country Bakery!
Wedding: 11/30/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
We used Ed’s Bakery for our wedding cake for our November 2013 wedding. It was delicious and decorated beautifully, and we received many compliments from our guests. We described what we wanted and Ed provided a cake within our budget. We loved using this family run “old fashioned” business.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
What a total gem of a bakery!

I planned our wedding long distance, and Ed worked with me over e-mail to come up with the most perfect cake. I sent him pictures of what I wanted and he nailed it exactly. My family went to meet him and taste flavors prior to the wedding, and he prepared four cupcakes in each flavor combination for them to test out (tasting is not free, but at $6 for four cupcakes in a given flavor and considering how low the prices are overall, this place is a bargain).
And the cake itself, well, what else can I say except that it was the best wedding cake I've ever tasted! It did not cost extra to have different cake/filling flavors in the different tiers, so we were able to serve a variety of delicious types of cake. I am already sad that we're out of leftovers and am looking forward to digging in to that top layer next October...

The cake is beyond delicious, the prices are super reasonable, and the designs are lovely. Highly recommend Ed's Country Bakery!!!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The cake was beautiful and exactly what we asked for! We got the spice cake and it was super moist and flavorful.
Wedding: 09/01/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jennifer 6 Reviews
We had a great experience with Ed's Country Bakery for our wedding cake! The cake was delicious, looked beautiful, and arrived on time without any hassle or issue. We had a pleasant experience during the tasting, and several people commented on how good the cake was during the wedding! We would absolutely recommend Ed's.
Wedding: 07/20/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used Ed for our wedding cake and it turned out wonderfully! The cake was delicious, moist and beautiful. Ed was very responsive and easy to work with. He even decorated the cake with flowers and delivered it to the venue which made things very easy for us.
Wedding: 07/05/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with Ed was so easy and he was able to create exactly the look we were going for...and the cake tasted FABULOUS!
Wedding: 06/08/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We searched high and low for a good local pie baker, since we were having wedding pie instead of cake, and were so thrilled when we found Ed's Country Bakery. We ordered Cherry, Raspberry, Lemon Meringue, Chocolate Cream and Apple pies, and so many of our guests commented on how delicious they all were! Ed was so easy to work with, and we could not be happier.
Wedding: 05/31/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Best cake I have ever had! Absolutely gorgeous too! Highly recommend and will use again!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
We decided to go with pies for our wedding and foudn Ed's Country Bakery. They were amazing. They made us 28 pies and everyone we talked to loved them. We had pumpkin, peanut butter, chocolate cream, and apple. We personally ate pumpkin and peanut butter and they tasted great. They are so good that we are making sure we go back once a month for a pie. The peanut butter pie is amazing.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Ed was wonderful. He did exactly what we wanted and the cake was delicious!! He was able to create the look of fondant without using it. He delivered it himself and the guests raved about it! He was a little difficult to call only because of the timing of his hours. On the flip side, he called me to remind me of upcoming payments which was awesome a week before the wedding when everyone needs money. I highly recommend Ed!
Wedding: 10/27/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
We had a three tiered cake for 130 wedding guests from Ed's country bakery and it was amazing! Two of the layers were pumpkin with cream cheese filling, and one of the layers was chocolate cake with peanut butter filling. All the favors we sampled were great, But those two were our favorites. The night of the wedding I got many compliments about how good the cake was, it tasted good and was moist. I didn't want a cake that just looked good but didn't taste good, but with Ed I got both taste and decorations that I loved (simple but elegant).

I also felt the price was very reasonable based on what I saw out there, and the high quality I felt I received.

Of all my vendors Ed's country bakery is one of the few i would recommend with no reservations.
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Ed's cake was one of the best cakes I have ever had. At the tasting he provided all of the flavors we could possibly want. He was extremely accommodating when we didn't know entirely what we wanted and allowed us the time to make our decisions. After the wedding, all anyone could talk about was how delicious the cake was! I'll be going to him again for cakes for all sorts of parties (any excuse to get another of his cakes!)
Wedding: 10/12/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 7 Reviews
We found this vendor through our venue and are so happy that we did! We had a cake tasting that went well and decided on the pumpkin cake since we had a fall wedding and both love pumpkins. The cake was amazing and the frosting was great. Everyone at the reception commented on how great the cake tasted since most people do not expect much taste from a wedding cake. The cake was well priced and delivered on time. We used a sheet cake in the back for the staff to serve the guests and this worked very well. Not only was the cake delicious but beautiful. We used a purple ribbon and initial topper that made the cake very elegant once we added fresh flowers on the tiers. The quality and cost of this cake far exceeded other bakery vendors we tried. Thank you Ed's Country Bakery!!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We purchased cupcakes from Ed's Country Bakery (and had smores from our catering company: Canapes) for dessert at our wedding and the cupcakes were ridiculously good! We decided to have chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter frosting, lemon cupcakes with vanilla buttercream frosting, and carrot cake with vanilla buttercream frosting.

We heard from several guests that they ate 3 or 4 cupcakes each because they were so good...unfortunately, some guests didn't get any...so we recommend ordering a lot!

Ed was extremely easy to work with. I communicated with him mainly via e-mail and he responded promptly and answered all of my questions. We were married on a very hot day at an outdoor venue and he gave us great advice regarding keeping the cupcakes in good condition in the heat. He also made us samples I requested so we could try them before the wedding and decide on flavors.

The first time my fiancee and I drove out to Ed's shop, we only had a credit card with us and found out that Ed only takes cash or check. He let us take several samples (about 12 cupcakes) with us anyway and trusted that we would send him a check in the mail. We were very grateful as we had driven over an hour to get there and he could have easily told us to come back another time with a correct form of payment.

A couple of friends have had wedding cakes made by Ed's Country Bakery and they were beautiful and delicious. Highly recommended!
Wedding: 08/24/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 301-788-5409
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0