Columbus Department of Recreation and Parks: Whetstone Park of Roses
3901 North High Street
Columbus, OH
 
 
 
  Reviews (12)    
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (3.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (3.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (3.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.2/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (3.1/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everyone I talked to over the phone about reserving the shelter house at Big Run Park in Columbus Ohio was very friendly and helpful. The guy at Big Run Park Shelter house was very friendly and helpful. I am very happy with the services I received.
Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
I can't imagine a prettier location at a better price. This place cost about one fifth the price of most venues - but the surroundings were terrific. The location was convenient, and parking was ample. It's no wonder so many weddings and events take place there. And all the staff were very friendly and easy to work with.
Wedding: 05/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Nadina 10 Reviews
Clean - beautiful - wonderful space! Awesome value!
Wedding: 07/01/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  1.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
The park of Roses is an absoluetly beautiul wedding venue!! We loved it and would not have changed it at all. There were a few concerns and problems though. First of all, due to the weather (which we completely understand), electric was knocked out to all wedding areas. We ran circles with them on what to do about the problem and FINALLY they allowed us to have a generator. It took them over a week to finalize what they would do for us. We didn't receive a final answer until one day before the wedding. Talk about stress. Attendants were very helpful on the wedding day and allowed us to start set up early, but nothing but problems before the wedding day. Make sure to FULLY read the contract and ask as many questions as possible before signing the dotted line.
Wedding: 05/14/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  1.5
We had a beautiful, outdoor wedding at this park in early October. The site was beautiful; the vendor performed their part of the deal exactly, no more or less. Please make sure to read the contract carefully and plan accordingly. The dressing room provided is a closet in the shelterhouse with a concrete floor. You may or may not have access to the bathroom if you have not rented the shelterhouse. You will not be able to get early access to the site on your wedding day unless you rent another 2 hour block of time ($500). Be aware - there are a growing number of local chair vendors who will not deliver to/pick-up from the Park of Roses. Apparently the rules (all chairs removed from property by the end of 2 hour window) have alienated them from the vendors. Those who manage the property said they were unaware of this problem. Also, be aware that there are two pages on the recparks.columbus.gov website that give information about reserving the Park of Roses - one of them is correct, the other is not. They list different time slots, different pricing and different rules. The current correct link is: http://recparks.columbus.gov/rentals/Wedding%20Rentals/Rose_Park/index.asp
It is a gorgeous park and an ideal setting for a wedding. The major caveat is that the City of Columbus has no flexibility in the execution of their contracts, as long as you remember that, your problems will be minimal.
Wedding: 10/03/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0
asdf
Wedding: 09/20/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This park was more than beautiful in the summer.
Wedding: 07/26/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  2.5
  • Professionalism:  2.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  1.0
We loved the location and the price. One area we were not impressed with was the fact that we reserved a block of time for the reception and asked them "What time can we get in to setup?" and they said we couldn't get in AT ALL before our reserved time. That was a shock and really messed up our plans. Thanks to some helpful friends and changing our ceremony time we were able to pull it off. It was scary at best to hear that news one month before the wedding. Maybe it's "shame on us" for not asking. Either way when we asked to purchase additional time they charged us double. That was not cool. Learn from us, reserve the site ALL DAY!
Wedding: 09/22/2007
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  2.5
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0
The park is absolutely beautiful. The only thing I had an issue with was the 2 hour time slot for the ceremony. I felt that I did not have enough time for the set up, ceremony and the tear down.
Wedding: 06/29/2007
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0
I do recommend the park of roses it was amazing :) It was only $300! We did have to sleep outside of the offices almost a year in advance to get a spot though. We wanted the weekend after the rose parade so it was important that we camp out lol. I would say only use this venue for getting married for a reception it is less than desierable. The flowers are gorgeous and people that work there are very friendly if you see them hehe. I recommend Site B for your ceremony!!
Wedding: 06/16/2007
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Park of Roses was extremely beautiful. We were married on lot B i believe that is surrounded by roses with a wooden archway. It was $300 for rental and they supplied like 20 chairs and if you needed more that was at your expense and you had to find your own vendor. They give you a 2 hour time frame and 2 hour rehersal the day before.
Wedding: 07/01/2006
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
You are able to rent this facility for only $50 an hour on the weekend and are free to decorate it any way you please! But they do not assign anyone to decorate or clean for you all they do is set up the tables in the way that you like (and they do not provide round tables but you can rent/bring you own). There is a small kitchen, bathrooms, and a dressing room available.
Wedding: 03/25/2006
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 614-645-3300
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7
out of 5.0