C
Dedicated July 2019

Post nominal letters after marriage

Caitlin, on September 5, 2019 at 11:37 AM Posted in Married Life 0 13
Saved Save
Did you earn a degree prior to marriage? How do you use your post-nominal letters and new last name? I earned a Masters degree in the year prior to my marriage and I'm trying to transition to using my new last name for any new correspondence. Is it appropriate to pair my new last name with my degree that I earned with my maiden name?

Ex.

Name on degree: Caitlin Vele, MS

New last name with degree? : Caitlin Harding, MS

I have done some searching online but can't find a consistent answer. What did you do?

13 Comments

• Amber
    Master February 2020
    Amber ·
    • Flag

I'm no expert, but I wouldn't think that there's anything wrong with using your new legal name with your degree regardless of what your name was when you earned it. It's still you, I don't think your credentials change along with your name lol Smiley winking

• Sara
    Expert June 2020
    Sara ·
    • Flag

It is still your degree, not your names degree so I do not see an issue with this. Are you thinking you have to get your name on your degree changed? I don't really think you have to do that.

• B
    Devoted July 2017
    Becky ·
    • Flag

Yes, it's completely appropriate to use your new last name with your post-nominal letters. You're still the one who earned the degree lol. You may want to notate on your CV that your name changed, or include your maiden name as a middle name on your CV, to avoid confusion.

• Jenni
    Dedicated September 2021
    Jenni ·
    • Flag

As far as I'm concerned, you earned those letters. You get to flaunt them regardless of your new last name!

• earias
    Champion December 2017
    earias ·
    • Flag