Whitehall Reviews

20 | Camden, ME
See photos, pricing and details

20 Reviews for Whitehall

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

20
Order by:
  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rebecca is a like fairy godmother in disguise! She was so wonderful to work with. Through the entire planning process of our wedding she was extremely helpful. She always made time to answer an email question or meet with me in person about any questions or concerns I had. Rebecca and her staff are worth their weight in gold. Because of them our wedding day was beyond perfect. Kat was superb, she and the chef worked together to create a custom menu to fit our vision of a fall harvest menu. I cannot say enough good things about the staff or our experience working with them! We have had guests ask if we can do this every year; they loved the atmosphere! The inn itself is incredibly charming and romantic, a perfect setting for a wedding! Add in Rebecca and her team and you are guaranteed to have the day of your dreams!

    Sent on 12/13/2013
  • E

    Erica · Married on 08/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rebecca and Russ went way above and beyond to make sure that our weekend here was perfect. They worked with us and every request we had and were very accommodating and attentive. They are simply the best. Rebecca checked in with me several times while getting ready the morning of the wedding and even during the reception to see if there was anything I needed or anything her staff could do for us. Her kitchen staff even redecorated my small "cutting cake" for the reception after the frosting got damaged in the box on the way there. I highly recommend Rebecca, Russ and their staff! And service aside, the Inn is beautiful, the beds are SO comfortable and the food is delicious. We will definitely be back to visit for our anniversary!

    Sent on 09/10/2013
  • User2613729 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Whitehall Inn was fantastic. The Innkeeper and her staff were friendly, informative, and responsive. They went above and beyond to accommodate my crazy family. This was a destination wedding for us all traveling from California, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, and Texas - The Whitehall made sure we were settled and enjoying ourselves. Food was amazing!!!

    Sent on 08/14/2013
  • C

    Christine · Married on 05/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ron and I put a lot of thought into what we wanted in a wedding venue. We wanted a place that would be personal and intimate and make our guests feel at home for the weekend. We couldn't have picked a better place than the Whitehall Inn. We had never heard of the Inn, found it on a google search and decided to visit. It was the first place we saw and the one we ultimately picked after visiting several others. Rebecca, Russ and their staff were wonderful to work with and made the preparations a breeze. They knew exactly what needed to be done and guided us through the process easily. The inn is gorgeous and impeccably clean. Our guests raved about the staff, the food and how comfortable their rooms were. 'Best wedding food ever!' was something I heard from more than one of our guests. 'Best wedding I've ever been to' was also something I heard from our guests. Many had never been to Camden (I hadn't either before we researched venues), and swore that they would be back. The Whitehall not only hosted our wedding reception, but they really let us make a weekend out of it. We had a welcome reception in the lobby when our guests arrived on Friday and a birthday celebration later on that night. Our wedding reception went off without a hitch and they worked within our budget. I did not hear anything but accolades from anyone who attended. The staff were friendly and engaging. The breakfast each morning was delicious and gave us a chance to really spend time with our guests. And best of all, we got to relax and enjoy ourselves and not worry about a thing. We could not have asked for a more perfect wedding weekend! I have fallen in love with the Whitehall Inn and the town of Camden and can't wait to go back! I feel like I've met new friends.
    I would recommend the Whitehall Inn to anyone who is looking for a wedding venue that will give you more than you are looking for for your money, in a warm and comfortable environment. I can't say enough about it.

    Sent on 06/10/2013
  • D

    Debbie · Married on 05/19/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were the first wedding of 2012!!!! And it was amazing!!! Everything was spot on. We sat with Rebecca and went over our time line. She held herself and the White Hall Inn team to that standard. The staff was very aware and attentive to our guests needs. Many comments on the professional standard that was set. Our guests were welcomed with a smile as they entered the venue. The Inn offered all of the comfort and class we were looking for. Rebecca , my hat is off to you girl....A+ all the way. I encourage you all to seriously consider this venue. They are all wonderful and you will not be disappointed. Sincerely , Debbie

    Sent on 05/22/2012
  • K

    John · Married on 10/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As the parents of the groom, we used the Whitehall Inn to host a rehearsal dinner for 50 guests on the evening before the wedding. The inn owners, Rebecca & Russ Miller were knowledgeable about event planning & very cooperative. The wait staff was pleasant, timely and professional. We were very pleased as were our guests.

    Sent on 10/05/2011
  • T

    Maryanne · Married on 09/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our reception at the Whitehall, and I could not be more pleased with everything!!! Right in the middle of deciding where we wanted the reception to be held we received an email from the former owners telling us that Russ and Rebecca had just purchased the Inn, and I'm not going to lie- it made me nervous that these new owners might not keep up the standards that had earned the Inn the good reputation they had... I WAS WRONG! THEY ARE WONDERFUL!!!!!!! I lost my mother 2 weeks before my wedding after a very brief illness and the entire event was extremely emotionally charged for my entire family (new and old). Rebecca was constantly at my side making sure that everything I wanted and needed was done... most without me even having to ask! I was so preoccupied with everything going on that I literally walked into the reception at the same time as my guests and everything was perfect! They were extremely accomadating, they handled everything! The food was amazing! My father is a difficult man to please but he was raving about the food as soon as dinner was done (probably sooner- I just wasnt' sitting at the same table). Rebecca even handled my photographer, DJ, and florist (including giving up one of her own vases when the florist realized a guest had taken one of hers the night before and was going to charge me for it!) I really can not praise the outstanding service we received that day and all through the entire process. Thank you sooooo much Rebecca and Russ and all the wonderful staff at the Whitehall Inn!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sent on 02/01/2012
  • K

    Kendra · Married on 08/26/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful place, perfect setting, amazing food!

    Sent on 09/20/2011
  • C

    Carmine · Married on 08/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can I say about the best venue in Maine as the Whitehall Inn in Camden, for our daughter's wedding. This is a most beautiful, classy and quaint Inn with a historic touch. The Wedding party and most of our out of town family stayed at the Whitehall and were very happy with the service and friendliness of the staff and were quite impressed with the perfect setting. Innkeepers Rebecca and Russ could not have been more accommodating and very easy to work with before and during the event, making the experience one that I would readily repeat for a future occasion. I would heartily recommend The Whitehall Inn - I know we plan to go back .

    Sent on 08/27/2011
  • B

    Brenda · Married on 06/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the rehearsal dinner for our son's wedding at Whitehall Inn in June of this year ( 2011). Because so many people were traveling from out of town we had about 80 people attend. It was just grand. I can't say enough good things about the Inn the Owners and the staff. We reserved the dinning room at the Inn "sight unseen". We were not disappointed! The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. The Inn itself is just lovely and well taken care of. My husband and I had the opportunity to spend a night there before the dinner. The room was cosy and comfortable on the third floor. We were very impress with the breakfast the next morning....as I said delicious! I would not hesitate to recommend Whitehall Inn for a wedding or an event like ours. I really felt like they cared that our dinner be just the way we wanted it to be. Sort of like having good friends take care of it all.

    Sent on 08/07/2011
  • S

    Sandy · Married on 06/11/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Whitehall Inn hosted my sons rehearsal dinner the night before his wedding. We first chose the Whitehall Inn because they could accomodate our 80 guests. The event went off beautifully with excellent food, service and facility! We had a lovely cocktail hour in the back garden then moved into the gorgeous dinningroom for dinner. Rebecca and Russ were easy to work with and did everything to make our event very special. Our guest all raved about the evening!
    Perfect Inn for a Wedding!

    Sent on 06/20/2011
  • K

    K · Married on 10/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Whitehall Inn is an amazing place for a wedding! We had about 85 guests and most of us stayed in the Inn for the entire weekend. It was the perfect introduction to Maine and Camden and an amazing way to truly get to spend time with the people we love before the big event. We spent mornings together eating the Inn’s amazing breakfast, afternoons playing games in the beautiful lobby and evenings celebrating! I couldn’t have asked for more. Greg and Sue were incredibly accommodating and responsive. I greatly appreciated the fact that Greg would almost always email me back within hours (or minutes!) and certainly within a day. The food was great and the staff was lovely. My husband’s grandmother has very, very high standards, and even she declared “everything perfect.”

    Sent on 11/02/2010
  • T

    Tori · Married on 10/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend the Whitehall Inn! We had a very small intimate wedding of only about 30 people. They were extremely flexible and accommodating with everything from the table arrangements to the menu. The food and atmosphere were also both amazing. It is a beautiful and historic inn, and we wouldn't have changed a thing. Everyone we worked with was very kind, and professional, we had a great time and will always look back on the experience fondly!

    Sent on 11/02/2010
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 06/12/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love the Whitehall Inn. This is a true historic inn, full of charm and unlike an every day hotel. We had our ceremony on the patio and reception in the dining room. It was a great venue to have because it did not need much decor as it is already beautiful. Everything was set up by the inn staff exactly like I wanted. The food was even better than I expected. I received many complements from my guests on the food. I enjoyed working with the inn keepers, Greg and Sue, very much. They made themselves available to me an entire year prior to the wedding. All of my wedding guests stayed at the inn and were able to explore the town of Camden. Everyone had a wonderful time. I wish we would have stayed longer.

    Sent on 06/19/2010
  • M

    Misti · Married on 09/25/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved, loved, loved this venue! (In fact, I try to return as often as possible.) Greg and Sue were extremely flexible and accommodating. And this is saying a lot, because I have worked in the fine dining business for many, many years and am very particular about food. I totally annoyed even myself, going back and forth with Greg a number of times about food and not making decisions until the very, very last minute, but I never got the sense from Greg that he was annoyed by me or that I was receiving less than the very best service and attention he had to provide. The food was absolutely fantastic -- I was more than pleased (and impressed, in fact, again saying a lot since I have very high food standards), and a number of guests complimented the flavour and presentation of the food.

    The place is stunning, and given its beauty there is no need to provide any of your own decorations (in fact, all I did was the flowers). We stayed there the night before and after the wedding. The rooms are beautiful, the service absolutely impeccable (and friendly!), the food fantastic.

    Greg is happy to work with brides. He suggests vendors and will work with them for you if you would like. He presents a variety of options, and if you would like something other than the options he provides (and again, there are many), he will work with you to create your vision.

    Greg is not only accommodating, he is the most responsive vendor with whom I have ever, ever worked. He would call or email within hours of my call or email to him, always. I was so impressed!

    This is high praise from someone like me -- I am very picky, very particular, and have very high standards. Greg and the Whitehall Inn surpassed my every hope. I would highly recommend this place to any bride (or other person planning an event).

    Sent on 07/31/2010
  • Y

    Yurie · Married on 06/08/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The bride and the groom had their wedding reception at the White Hall Inn. The service was exceptional. Since the reception was a sit down dinner with just the family attending, we needed a certain degree of flexibility. The White Hall Inn was great about it. They gave us the sun room, which was just the perfect size. The food is great. The building itself is beautiful with its long history. The bride and groom stayed the night of their reception, and were thrilled to find out that the breakfast was great too.

    Sent on 07/31/2008
  • Kristin

    Kristin · Married on 08/06/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Whitehall Inn did an amazing job with the entire execution of our wedding from initial stages to the reception to the brunch the following morning. The new owners, Rebecca and Russ Miller were FABULOUS to work with - very flexible and responsive to all of our needs. The food was delicious as well! I would highly recommend the Whitehall Inn to any Maine bride looking for a cozy Inn feel for her wedding.

    Sent on 08/23/2011
  • E

    Erin · Married on 07/10/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We recently had our wedding at the Whitehall Inn. A lot of our guests had never been to Maine before so we were happy to hear that they had had a wonderful time at the Inn. The food was terrific and you can't beat the scenery!

    The only negative I would say is their rigidity for the reception hours. We had a wonderful band and people wanted to keep dancing but they were strict about the 10 ending time. They have the same staff for the wedding and breakfast and are very worried about the neighbors complaining. Seems bizarre since the houses aren't that close!

    Sent on 07/27/2010

    Whitehall's reply:

    We are pleased that the wedding was a huge success.

    Our end times are generally dictated by our contract, local rules, and consideration for neighbors, some of whom are directly across the street from the inn. We normally allow up to 4 hours for a reception, including cocktail hour, with entertainment to end by 9 p.m. In this case, we agreed, after a little back and forth, to extend the period to 5 hours and the end time to 10 p.m. (It takes staff 60-90 minutes to clean up after a reception). That was our agreement; staff was hired for that time period, and only minutes before the end time, someone from the wedding party requested that the end time be extended further.

    We are known for our flexibility, and are sorry that we are unable to meet every request.
  • J

    Jaclyn · Married on 09/27/2008

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved the Whitehall Inn. It was classy yet had a nice Maine feel to it.

    Sent on 10/08/2008
  • Lindsey

    Lindsey · Married on 06/01/2019

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful Venue!

    We had our rehearsal dinner (45 people) and welcome party (about 80 total) here and everyone was raving about how beautiful everything was! The on site staff was extremely nice and everything went flawlessly day of! The only reason I am not giving 5 stars is because the Event Coordinator was not very responsive and would schedule calls and then miss them (happened multiple times). She was also not flexible with meeting on weekends/ weeknights for us to initially look at the space. If the space was not as nice and convenient as it is we would have probably gone another route given the lack of flexibility and responsiveness with the contact.

    Sent on 06/10/2019