White House Catering Reviews

93 | Richmond, VA
See photos, pricing and details

93 Reviews for White House Catering

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

93

1 User photo

White House Catering 1
Order by:
  • S

    Sarah Blaha · Married on 05/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great value, Delicious food

    David and his team put together two absolutely fantastic meals for our May 2019 wedding at Seven Springs! They catered dinner onsite for our wedding reception, and put together a Cinco de Mayo brunch for us the day after the wedding at the Old City Bar in Richmond. We had a lot of guests coming from out of town, so we wanted to make sure we served really authentic Virginian food...and WHC really delivered, for a great price! From our initial consultation, they were professional, prompt, flexible, and courteous. And the bar and waitstaff helping out at the reception were so friendly! Would highly recommend to any couple getting married in the Richmond area. Thanks, WHC!

    Sent on 05/08/2019
  • L

    Laura · Married on 12/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommend!!

    David and all of the staff from White House Catering were so easy to work with and served AMAZING food at our wedding. We had a strict budget and they were more than willing to work with us. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

    Sent on 12/26/2018

    White House Catering's reply:

    Thank you so much, Laura! We sincerely wish you and Ross the best and hope you are enjoying your holidays together!
    Kindest Regards,
    Michele Lyons
    Event Planning & Management
    David Napier's White House Catering & Old City Bar
    1548 E. Main St. Mailbox B Richmond, Va 23219

    o - 804.644.4411
    www.whitehousecateringva.com
    www.theoldcitybarrva.com
  • J

    Joell · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot stress how easy to work with this entire team was! From beginning to end as I planned my wedding, David made things so simple and clear, something which I didn't think possible given my prior confusing catering conversations. They set up quickly and efficiently, don't overcharge or overstaff, and of course, serve incredible food (your own customized menu). Also very budget friendly and very quick communication- a bride's dream!

    Sent on 12/28/2017

    White House Catering's reply:

    Joell, you were an absolute delight to work with and we are over the moon that we could celebrate your special day with you and your family & friends!
    Thank you so much for your kind words!
  • S

    Sherri · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was the wedding coordinator for a wedding that White House catered. WOW--that's all I can say! They work like a well-oiled machine. They showed the utmost professionalism and were accommodating to any requests. The whole staff that was fronted by Andrew was also extremely polite and offered assistance in any/all areas where they saw a possible need. And, their food was great, too! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

    Sent on 10/16/2017

    White House Catering's reply:

    Thank you so much, Sherri! We look forward to working with you again and are delighted to know that your event flowed so smoothly!
    Thank you again!
  • M

    Megan · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You have to try their food!! My guests are still raving about how great the food and service was during my reception. Working with them was so easy and relaxed. No pressure. They will literally make any food you want. We chose heavy appetizers and food stations, but there was so much food it turned out to be a full on buffet dinner! (Winning!!!)

    Sent on 10/10/2017
  • L

    Laura · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having worked with David Napier and White House Catering professionally, I knew they were the only caterer I would consider for my wedding day. They serve quality food, provide excellent service, and at a reasonable price. They are truly professionals in every sense of the word. Our guests are still raving about our wedding food 4 months later.

    Sent on 12/10/2017

    White House Catering's reply:

    Thank you so much, Laura and thank you for the sweet note you sent! It is displayed proudly on my desk as a reminder that our clients always come first!
    You are missed!
  • User6132155 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My mouth is still watering thinking of all the amazing food. Everything was delicious and they were so fun and easy to work with! They responded quickly to every email and were just so nice and accommodating. We used their space, Old City Bar for the rehearsal dinner and had them cater that as well and everyone loved it!

    Sent on 05/18/2017
  • M

    Matt · Married on 04/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything went perfectly with White House. The planning was easy and they helped us through every step of the way. Even though they don't have their own dinnerware, they helped with the rental planning and it wasn't too much extra work for us. The food at our rehearsal dinner and reception was amazing. I could not believe how many compliments we got on the food! I would highly recommend White House to anyone.

    Sent on 05/22/2017
  • A

    anne · Married on 12/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used White House Catering for our wedding in December 2016 and we couldn't have been happier! They were great at responding to emails and questions and with making changes to our menu to fit our needs. The food on our wedding day was FABULOUS. We're still getting compliments on the brisket and shrimp and grits we served! Thanks for great service and great food!

    Sent on 12/28/2016
  • A

    Abby · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married on October 1 and David and his staff exceeded all of our expectations! When we did the tasting with David, we were totally blown away by the flavors and creativity, and my husband, mom and I waited until the last minute to choose our entrees, because we knew they were all so good we just couldn't pick!

    Michele and Christy were so helpful during all of the planning, and really helped ensure that our wedding was everything we had hoped it would be. From answering questions about linens to helping us figure out how much alcohol to buy, they really were our go-to people because they were so knowledgeable. When we coordinated other aspects of the dinner and reception with Classic Party Rentals, they were so familiar with White House so they were able to help us to an even greater extent. When other vendors are excited that you're using White House as your caterer, you KNOW they're good!!

    Comments we had about the food at our wedding included "It didn't taste like wedding food!" and "It was the best food we have ever had at a wedding!" David even came out to see us at our reception to congratulate us. Everyone at White House was so nice and I will always recommend them!

    Sent on 12/09/2016
  • User5448871 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David and Christy made the whole process from initial contact to wedding day so stress free. They were so easy to work with and were a class act on the day of the wedding. Our situation was a bit different since we got married in our own backyard, but David and his staff pulled it off as if our guests were eating at some fancy restaurant! I can't even begin to tell you how many compliments on the food we received - not only throughout the night but for days after the wedding as well! Everyone was truly impressed. We had a few guests who are gluten free and David's staff made it so easy for them to know what was "safe" to eat. And they graciously (and quickly!) responded to my 50 million emails asking questions and making small changes. They are amazing and obviously love what they do, and that makes all the difference in the world.

    Sent on 09/14/2016
  • W

    Wendy · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    White House Catering did a beautiful job for our son's wedding!! The food was absolutely amazing and everyone raved about it! They were a pleasure to work with, and we would definitely recommend them and definitely call on them again if the need arises.

    Sent on 09/19/2016
  • A

    Anna · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing food, excellent staff and service, and so flexible and professional. Just got married on Saturday and these guys did a fantastic job! Everyone had something good to say about their meal and the bar service was awesome. The staff were super friendly and professional. Still dreaming about the Mac and cheese and brisket....incredible!

    Sent on 06/27/2016
  • H

    Holly · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the must haves for our daughter's wedding was to work with great vendors. White House was recommended to us with rave reviews by several different people. They were the first caterer we called and we knew from the first conversation that they were the caterer meant for us. Just for comparison we had consultations with several other caterers before we committed, but no one else matched the personalization and enthusiasm that White House brought to a completely stress free experience. One moment that touched our hearts that would illustrate this: we called to ask a last minute question the week of the wedding and the staff member at White House greeted us in an excited voice saying "We're going to see you this weekend, we are so excited!!" Knowing that they were most likely very busy, yet to make us feel so special was priceless. Every question from day one was answered thoroughly, great suggestions were made (with the Bride and Groom's tastes in consideration) and the food and service at the wedding was amazing. Our daughter and new son-in-law were beyond thrilled that the White House staff made sure they felt special during the reception and they truly were able to eat and enjoy the fun menu they had spent so much time planning.

    Sent on 05/17/2016
  • M

    Mallory · Married on 03/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was seriously the best food that I've ever had. We had barbecue with Mac and cheese, coleslaw, green beans, and roasted veggies. This was such good food. It wasn't really messy, the staff was super friendly, and they were able to give us staff for bartenders and helped to tell us the types of insurance we needed for the event as well. This was amazing food for a very good price! I highly recommend using White House Catering for any of your catering needs.

    Sent on 04/10/2016
  • K

    Kirtana · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    White House Catering is one of the best vendors we have ever worked with! From catering to our specific dietary needs to helping us in set up of our wedding reception decor, their staff is one of the most friendliest and professional staff that I have ever come across! Our wedding reception was went so smoothly because of their hard work and timeliness! Our guests were amazed by their courteous service and loved the food. Their food is absolutely delicious and we hope to work with them in the future!

    Sent on 10/03/2015
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the pleasure to work with White House Catering for our wedding. The food was absolutely delicious! The one thing my father wanted was great food, and he definitely got it. The people are so friendly and knowledgeable and were a GREAT help during the planning process. Not only is the staff and food amazing, but so are their prices. We couldn't believe how reasonable the price was for the amount and type of food we had. Everything was absolutely perfect and I'm so glad we chose White House Catering. I want to throw another party just so I can eat the food again!!! SAY YES to WHITE HOUSE CATERING!!!!!!

    Sent on 09/28/2015
  • A

    Allie · Married on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't say enough wonderful things about White House Catering. All the staff at White House Catering were fantastic. We worked most closely with Andrew, David, and Christy, who were all amazing, and the serving staff and bar tenders were all so lovely! We held the rehearsal dinner at their location at the Old City Bar and they catered our wedding the following evening. What fantastic food and great service! From the planning process to the tastings to the actual wedding dinner, everything was perfect. They went above and beyond to make sure our wedding was exactly what we planned and more! Andrew, who led our event, even helped orchestrate the cake cutting, since my husband and I didn't quite know what to do. We had family members from all over the U.S., all with different tastes in food, and every person raves about the meal! We asked for chicken and waffles, which could be daunting for some caterers, but White House made it work, and it was well worth it. Each dish was a crowd-pleaser. If you want your day to be perfect, we recommend WHC and Old City Bar for any special event!

    Sent on 08/19/2015
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very pleased with White House! They were very helpful in our planning process and also during our wedding reception. We really appreciated and enjoyed their ability to make our menu special to us and our day!

    Sent on 07/15/2015
  • E

    Emily · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not be happier that we chose White House Catering for our wedding reception and rehearsal dinner. I was floored by how responsive and knowledgeable the team is, and they were able to easily build a custom menu for both our rehearsal dinner and wedding reception. The service and the food were both out-of-this-world! White House worked closely with the rental company and venue staff to be sure that our reception was exactly what we had envisioned. They were particularly helpful in working through some last-minute issues with our venue about floorplans and set-up/delivery times—before I even had time to stress, Christy, Andrew, and David had already sorted everything out with the venue. Our reception was exactly what we wanted, and Andrew was even going out of his way to make plates for me and for my husband from each food station. The food was fantastic, and we are still hearing compliments from our family and guests. I cannot recommend White House Catering highly enough!

    Sent on 06/30/2015
  • B

    Blair · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Although I was too busy to really eat, I had rave reviews from all of our guests about how delicious the food was. Of the few bites I had, I would certainly agree. David Napier & his staff do a very professional & terrific job. I felt totally at ease leaving all the details to them.

    Sent on 06/16/2015
  • User5160501 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was one of the main subjects of the wedding. So many people found it all so good and not the stodgy normal wedding fair. We went all Mediterranean, and it was all so authentic. (I know, I come from a Greek family). The cocktail hour fair was so fresh, and delicious. The bartender was great! No one was disappointed.

    Sent on 06/09/2015
  • S

    Susan · Married on 03/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    White House Catering couldn't have been better to work with. The food was delicious, the price was reasonable and everything ran as planned. I would definitely use them again and would recommend them to anyone planning an event.

    Sent on 04/09/2015
  • User4089659 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    they did an excellent job! everyone has been raving about the food ever since the wedding. the only bummer was that they forgot to pack me and my husband to go boxes as promised and neither of us got to eat any of it because we were busy visiting with guests. I plan to use them for all future events.

    Sent on 12/08/2014
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 11/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David and his team did a great job on our wedding. The team was professional, well organized, and overall great to work with. The food was amazing and my guests are still talking about it. I searched around at a lot of caterers before choosing White House Catering. White House stood out to me for their customer service and great pricing. I would recommend White House catering to any bride who want great quality food for a great price with excellent service.

    Sent on 04/22/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review