Martell's Waters Edge Reviews

35 | Bayville, NJ
See photos, pricing and details

35 Reviews for Martell's Waters Edge

Recommended by 88%

35
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 4.3
Sort by:
  • Daniel

    Daniel · Married on 12/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautifully decorated and the food was outstanding!!!

    We had a winter wedding and the sunset over the water was marvelous. The staff is accommodating. You can’t beat having your wedding at Martell’s!!!!

    Sent on 10/03/2019
  • Alexa

    Alexa · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ever since I was a little girl I dreamed of getting married at a venue exactly like The Waters Edge. You simply cannot ask for a better setting/backdrop for your wedding. We dealt with Kathy for the most part and she is so accommodating, helpful, knowledgeable, etc. she listened to everything we wanted and added some suggestions which were amazing. P took care of everything for us by decorating the venue perfectly and making sure I had everything I needed all night. The food was INCREDIBLE. We come to the restaurant a lot and my husband and I love their calamari appetizer. Once they found that out, they gave my husband, myself and even my dad a plate at our dinner. It was a sweet extra touch on their behalf. Cocktail hour was amazing and dinner was equally as perfect. Our guests left full and in love with the food. Our dessert bar was a huge hit and people were lined up waiting. Besides Our cake they included a chocolate fountain with goodies and we added an additional ice cream bar which was totally worth it. Everything was perfect and we highly recommend this venue to everyone looking. You will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 10/04/2017
  • M

    megan · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our wedding here in June of 2017, and it was an absolutely perfect day! From the gorgeous ceremony space and bridal suite, to the accommodating staff and the delicious food, our guests cannot stop raving about our wedding! Thank you so much to the staff, especially Jenna, Kathy, Carissa and Ed, who made sure that our day was nothing short of a fairy tale!

    Sent on 06/21/2017
  • B

    Brooke · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married last month and we cannot speak enough of how wonderful everything went! We planned everything in just TWO months. Jenna and Kathy were beyond accommodating with our Monday evening wedding. What sold me was the beautiful ceremony views, the windows around the room and their unique bridal suite. It is actually an old shed converted to a mini apartment, it was the perfect spot to get ready the day of! The food was delicious, the staff was professional and the venue is hands down one of the beautiful places in NJ.

    Sent on 08/18/2017
  • User6235489 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiancé and I wanted to get married on a beach. We went to a few venues that could provide a ceremony and reception on the beach, and their prices were astronomical. Water's Edge was the perfect affordable solution, while it may not be the beach, it is a beautiful substitute. I'm so happy we booked here. Our coordinator knows exactly what to expect, and has accommodated to us. She is quick to answer questions, and hasn't made me feel like an annoyance.

    Sent on 01/23/2016
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 07/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our Wedding at Waters Edge in July, 2014. We were extremely happy with all of the help beforehand, as well as the actual event. Mayra was our coordinator and took care of everything for us, down to the last detail. She, as well as other staff we interacted with, was wonderful. I would recommend her, the staff and Waters Edge to anyone who asked. The food was excellent and the venue was very clean and well taken care of. The rebuilt Waters Edge was the best choice for us as it suited everything we needed for our 90 guest wedding, even the kids were pleased with their dinners! We used the outdoor space for our ceremony and were quite happy with the look once all was set up. The only thing I didn't like about our Wedding and Party was that it had to end!

    Sent on 07/30/2014
  • M

    Megan · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Made my day amazing...food was amazing...staff was awesome! Couldn't have asked for a better day!

    Sent on 07/18/2014
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 06/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Over a year ago my husband and I found Waters Edge through a friend who had previously worked there. When we went to look at the venue it was merely a construction site. We met with Kevin that day. He gave us a quick tour and showed us pictures of what the venue was going to look like. He reassured us that everything would be beautiful…and it is that and more! We knew it would be a risk to book our wedding venue sight unseen but we would do it all over again in a heartbeat!
    We are so thankful that we trusted the staff at Waters Edge to give us the wedding day of our dreams! This venue is absolutely PERFECT in every way. All of our wedding guests were blown away by the quality of the service, food, and how beautiful both the ceremony and reception were. Jenna and Mayra were there from the beginning and helped us plan the perfect day. They coordinated everything on our wedding day and made it worry free!
    The staff at Waters Edge delivered on every aspect of our wedding. They went above and beyond and exceeded our expectations from the beginning to the end of our event! We really couldn’t have asked for anything more! Everything we had discussed with Mayra and Jenna during our meetings prior to the wedding was executed perfectly! Our ceremony was held outside and it was beautiful and romantic with the water as our backdrop. During our reception, the servers and bartenders were more than accommodating! They were friendly, professional, and couldn’t do enough for us….one of the bartenders even brought me drinks so I didn’t have to leave the dance floor! The staff at the Waters Edge really made my husband and I, along with all of our guests feel so special!! This venue is unique and classy---so many of our guests complimented saying what a wonderful time they had and what a perfect day it was! I would recommend this venue again and again! They made our wedding day perfect, memorable, and STRESS FREE!

    Sent on 07/30/2014
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 05/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If I could give The Waters Edge a 10 star review I would! With quick professional responses at all times, the event coordinators were able to help me plan my wedding while the venue was being built! We went blindly into booking the venue after Sandy but with thier amazing reputation and unbelievable staff, I felt comfortable in booking my wedding based on thier word and it was by far the best decision I could have made! It was the wedding of my dreams. Myra and Jenna, the event coordinators, excel at thier jobs and take true pride in every event. In fact, I found that every member of staff at the venue had this mentality and took every effort into meeting our needs. If you are looking to book a venue with the perfect location and the best service possible, book the Waters Edge; you will not be disappointed! Thank you again for a wonderful stress free day!

    Sent on 07/17/2014
  • M

    Martina · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Waters Edge was the ULTIMATE place to have our wedding. We booked our ceremony long before we knew what the venue would look like. Unfortunately, Waters Edge suffered the devestating effects of Super Storm Sandy and we loved the location so much that we took our chances. The staff, service and food on our wedding day was PHENOMENAL. They were attentive to every need and detail. As a bride, I had absolutely no worries. My guests are still raving about our day. It has been said, " Our wedding will be what all other weddings will be compared to in the future!" Spectacular place, spectacular people, spectacular food! Five Stars, Hands Down!

    Sent on 07/24/2014
  • CaseyMR1

    Maire · Married on 12/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not be more pleased with Waters Edge. Everything was perfect. They have rebuilt so beautifully after being destroyed by Sandy. The entire facility is brand new.

    There is a bar area attached to the main dinning room that was used for Cocktail hour. Inside it has a beautiful fish tank. They were also able to set up the bar TVs to run an updating Instagram feed of my wedding. That way guests were able to take photos of the event and publish them instantly to the televisions. I'm also told that there is a large projector screen that would be in the dinning room and project during an evening reception. There was just to much beautiful sunlight pouring in through the windows during my afternoon reception for the projector to work. They also suggested having Twitter on the screen to live tweet the wedding. They were willing to work with what I wanted for my wedding.

    Another way they proved very flexible was when my photographer set up a photo-booth. He surprised me with the photo-booth as a wedding gift so I had not told Waters Edge. It didn't phase them at all. They simply set up the space and accommodated the photographer. It was a fantastic day.

    The food was delicious! I had a buffet lunch at my wedding but there was nothing simple about the food. The Ahi Tuna appetizers were to DIE for! The lobster ravioli were fantastic! The prime rib carving station was phenomenal! Their food is delicious.

    The space was perfect as well. Each table was laid out beautifully. The two outside walls were covered with large windows that overlook the bay. There are two large docks that stretch out over the water. My photographer was able to get beautiful sunset photographs.

    I would recommend Waters Edge to any couple who is looking for a venue on the water with great food and a beautiful facility. My reception was perfect. It is a day I will never forget.

    Sent on 01/05/2014
  • S

    Pamela · Married on 02/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The service day of was awesome! All personnel were always within reach and always attentive to all my needs. There wasn't anything I asked that wasn't taken care of immediately. The room was beautiful.
    The food was delicious and beautifully presented as were the hors- d'oeuvres. Everyone was impressed with both the restaurant and the service. It was a perfect day. You accommodated my dauther with a nice tasting and the menu and choices were great. Thank you for everything!

    Sent on 03/16/2012
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 01/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was beautiful. As a local living at the Shore year round we chose a Winter wedding on purpose. We still had the room on the Bay, we still took pictures on the dock at sunset and what was great was how we felt like we had the whole restaurant to ourselves. Jacquelyn is wonderful to work with as she took over the planning for me and gave me great advice on how to manage my own wedding without stress. The day of the wedding was great as everything promised was there and then some. The staff, the bartenders, the chef -- ALL AMAZING! Thank you! -Amanda

    Sent on 03/06/2012
  • C

    Cassie · Married on 10/07/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Martell's Waters Edge was great! All of our guests raved over the food and the entire ceremony & reception went off without a hitch!

    Sent on 10/27/2011
  • Laura

    Laura · Married on 09/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All of the employees were great to my husband and I and our guests. The setting was perfect, the food was phenomenal, and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect wedding!

    Sent on 10/26/2011
  • L

    lisa · Married on 04/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely beautiful location with a wonderful staff and great food. Everyone enjoyed the sit down dinner. We had the ceremony and the reception here. Due to inclement weather, we had to take the ceremony inside at the last minute. They made all the adjustments and had our indoor ceremony location beautifully decorated and ready to go. Truely a knowledgable and professional staff. Thank you Martell's for a wonderful evening!!!!

    Sent on 04/13/2011
  • danalynn1114

    Dana · Married on 07/25/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Martell's made my wedding reception a dream come true. Lorraine was a blessing and helped my husband and I with everything. She was very flexible when it came to little things that we wanted. The food was delicious and the reception was a hit with guests. My family is still getting calls about the scrumpious crab cakes. I would recommend Martells to anyone getting married!

    Sent on 08/12/2009
  • D

    Dina · Married on 08/08/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Like other reviewers we found the new and improved Water's Edge online last summer 2013 and when we visited it still was under construction from the devastating effects of Hurricane Sandy. We took a chance because my daughter and her fiance loved the setting and wanted something on the water. We liked the plans they showed us for the new reception hall and put down a deposit saying we'd be back in the fall to see the finished product.

    Both sets of parents along with the bride and groom visited in November and we were delighted with what we saw and it exceeded our expectations. We met with owner, John, as well as wedding planner, Mayra & Jenna on several occasions. They gave us names of local vendors for hotels, guest buses, hairdressers, florists,etc since we were not from the area.They were extremely responsive to all the questions I, as the mother of the bride had, and we had many. They took a personal interest in the planning and we were thrilled to hear they included the champagne toast, the cake, the silk floral arrangements, the table linens, and a hand-carved lighthouse for the wedding envelopes. They also offered to show #pictures during the cocktail hour if we wanted.

    The food was excellent and we received many a compliment from our guests about the dinner buffet and the location. Jenna was right there for the rehearsal, and in the hours before the event started, and all evening to guide us through the formalities. All went smoothly and they worked very hard to make it a perfect evening. The weather even cooperated as we had an 80 degree, low humidity, low wind evening for the ceremony. The weather was so nice that we ended up having the entire cocktail hour outside.
    I would definitely recommend this place to others and I' hoping that when my youngest daughter gets married that she, too, will have her wedding here. Kudos to John, Myra, Jenna, the other owners, and the staff in helping to make this a very special evening for our family and friends.

    Sent on 08/23/2014
  • S

    Sommer · Married on 02/18/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at Martell's was amazing! Everything was perfect! They went above and beyond to accommodate every single guest.

    Sent on 03/09/2012
  • I

    Wendy · Married on 09/09/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We were both extremely happy with the service from Martell's Water's Edge. They did everything to make it the most special day of our lives. I was also very happy with the outstanding service from the whole staff since they do weddings so often but still made sure it was a special event for all our guests. The guests went on and on about how great the food was, how nice the view was and what a nice venue it was.

    Sent on 10/27/2011
  • C

    Cassandra · Married on 08/08/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding at Water's Edge was more beautiful than I could have imagined and everything I could have dreamed of! I'm so happy I chose Water's Edge for my special day. Vanessa, the wedding coordinator at Water's Edge, did everything I asked for and made my all visions come to life. We had our ceremony outside in the garden overlooking the water, and then our reception inside in a beautiful room overlooking the water on all sides of the room. It was absolutely perfect.

    Sent on 11/20/2015
  • S

    Sara · Married on 06/01/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone at the waters edge was amazing. The staff was professional and kind. The food was delicious AND there was ALOT of food. And the view was the best part. It was gorgeous and made our picture perfect!

    Sent on 06/26/2014
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 06/09/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just got married at Watersedge and I couldn't have picked a better venue! Everyone is still raving about the food and service and the overall experience..Everyone had a blast and thought it was perfect. The staff was professional and very flexiable with any thoughts and ideas I had. My wedding couldn't have been more perfect and I would highly suggest the venue to any bride who wants excellent food, a comfortable atmosphere and a beautiful setting to get married outside on the water! Thank you guys for making our day perfect!

    Sent on 06/25/2012
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 11/26/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent place with fantastic food.

    Sent on 02/11/2012
  • Amie

    Amie Morosco · Married on 08/10/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful waterside venue with great views and amazing food

    We had an amazing wedding here. The facility and grounds are gorgeous and well kept. The on-site bridal suite was a very welcome amenity. Also, the food was sooo good. Everything tasted fantastic. The staff were attentive and helpful.

    Sent on 08/29/2019

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review