The Sam Houston Hotel Reviews

50 | Houston, TX
See photos, pricing and details

50 Reviews for The Sam Houston Hotel

Recommended by 93% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

50

2 User photos

Order by:
  • D

    Donna · Married on 10/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great, professional, beautiful venue

    I love love love the vibe at The Sam Houston Hotel. You can feel the history of the building even though it's completely remodeled. Michelle Scrimger was amazing to work with. She answered all of my questions and I asked ALOT of questions! Lol She was amazing in helping us figure out the layout and just so patient. We got complimented on how great the food was at our wedding and how beautiful and classy of a place The Sam was. From the very start to the day after the wedding, the group at The Sam were just absolutely amazing. The chef himself greeted us at our tasting. We also had lunch there the day of the wedding (before the reception) and the head chef brought out our food and greeted us. The venue itself was gorgeous. At the Veranda, you get an 'outdoorsy-rooftop' feeling without the mosquitoes or humidity that Houston has. It is completely enclosed. The greenery wall that stretches from one wall to the other was gorgeous. I didn't really need to do much decorating except for our sweetheart table. You will not be disappointed if you have your wedding at THE SAM. We highly recommend! THANK YOU TO EVERYONE AT THE SAM FOR MAKING OUR WEDDING SO MEMORABLE!!!

    Sent on 10/29/2019
  • Sara

    Sara · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    BOOK THIS HOTEL FOR YOUR WEDDING!! Not only is the Veranda absolutely gorgeous, but the staff is amazing to work with. From the moment we visited the venue for an initial look to the morning after our wedding, they treated us like we were the most important people in the world. I felt so comfortable and worry-free during the entire process. They were responsive and worked with all of our requests. I could not have been happier with how everything turned out. Oh and the food!! The chef was wonderful to work with and all of our guests raved about the authentic taco bar we had! I could not recommend this venue more.

    Sent on 08/29/2018
  • Brandi

    Brandi · Married on 02/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful hotel and service!

    We had our room block at The Sam Houston hotel, and couldn't have been happier with the services. That provided us with a beautiful suite, accommodated a luncheon the next day for our guests in the Pearl Restaurant, and made the process of room blocking very easy for us. Definitely recommend!

    Sent on 11/17/2018

    The Sam Houston Hotel's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words Brandi! We hope you and your family and friends continue to celebrate life's future events in with us!
  • DunnDeal16

    Shauna · Married on 07/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding service and location, not to mention visually stunning. So why would you want to look elsewhere?

    We had the pleasure of working with Christopher (event manager) and his kindness and eye for details are impeccable. Christopher is just wonderful to work with and each meeting we left excited and couldn't wait until we could return back. You will have a such a great time coordinating things with him!

    In addition to Christopher other staff such as Chef Ed were also a pleasure to work with, he was so amazing and from our first meeting it was nothing but laughs and good food and on our wedding day it was exactly the same, HOT plates and perfectly cooked food. Another staff member to mention to you all is Janice. Should you make the correct decision and book your event here Janice is responsible for bar tending services. She made our specialty cocktail experience so much fun! The event staff as well as the hotel staff will make sure your experience as well as each guests experience is nothing but exceptional. In the end our guest as well as ourselves were treated to a wonderful event thanks to each of these wonderful people!

    Sent on 09/27/2016
  • L

    Laura · Married on 09/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we first booked the Sam Houston Hotel, the Catering Manager that we booked with quit and the Catering Director at the time was not very helpful. However, then came Christopher P. the new catering manager and made our wedding the most beautiful experience we could have dreamed of. He constantly reassured myself and my wedding coordinator that everything would be alright, additionally, he met with must multiple times for my wedding staff to see the venue, the rooms for prep work, tastings, etc very easy. Anything I wanted, Christopher made it happen without stressing me out. We went up to the venue several times during the 15 months prior to our wedding and every single person at the Sam was AMAZING. From the valets to the bartenders to the front desk. We even picked our own bartenders and the staff stayed to watch our Mariachi perform. Janice S was also AMAZING; She and another bartender Chris created our signature drink "Fleur de Cartiz" for our New Orleans meets Old Mexico theme and needless to say it knocked everyone's socks off.
    We truly felt like family to the staff at the Sam...we completely and whole-heartedly recommend this vendor to all of the future couples out there that are looking for a boutique hotel feel, where everyone knows your name and your are the star priority.
    #teamlitebrite #Cartizwedding

    Mr. and Mrs. Carter est. Sept 25, 2015

    Sent on 10/26/2015
  • User4976105 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used the Sam Houston / Veranda 17 - for the rehearsal dinner.
    Everything came out spectacular.
    They helped out and accommodated us in every way possible.
    The staff was so helpful. The meal was up to par tasted delicious and the presentation was phenomenal.

    Sent on 06/15/2015
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 04/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Natalie and her team helped make my dream wedding come true!!! They were so professional and easy to work with... I would recommend the Sam to any bride-to-be. We got so many compliments on our decor and this beautiful venue!!

    Sent on 07/02/2014
  • R

    Richard · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Natalie and her staff were amazing!!! The phone calls with compliments are still coming in! Top drawer service and attention to detail. You will LOVE this place.

    Sent on 09/25/2013
  • T

    Tania · Married on 09/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I lucked out with Natalie! I didn't have to hire a wedding planner, she is so spot on with details and quick at returning calls and emails and has wonderful ideas. I can truly say she went above and beyond my expectations and was very nice the entire time. I was treated like royalty by the entire staff from the moment we walked in til the moment I walked out and even days after the event.

    worth the money, look no where else!

    Sent on 09/18/2013
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 08/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my husband and I walked in the Sam Houston Hotel, we knew that we wanted our wedding at this venue. Starting with the reception area, very chic and then the Veranda, kinda indoor/outdoor concept, totally different than other venues. We met with Natalie Monk, who is very professional. She was very helpful with all our questions and responded promptly to all our emails. Even the day of the wedding she was taking care of all the details, and that made me feel stress free. The service was fabulous, they even assigned somebody to our service for every need during the wedding (thank you!). My guests were amazed by the food (delicious), the venue and enjoyed the cocktail hour at the reception (great time to great the guest and relax after the ceremony). I would definitely recommend the venue, they exceeded my expectations.

    Sent on 09/05/2013
  • M

    Mike · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the initial meeting with Natalie Monk we felt very at ease working with the team at the Sam Houston Hotel. They exceeded our expectations on the night of the event and made it a truly memorable experience. Everyone on the team from our coordinator Natalie Monk, to the general manager, food & beverage coordinator and Shirly who catered to our every need on the night of the event. The next morning we had an impromptu breakfast for 30 and they acoomodated each of us. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and are planning to host future events at this venue.

    Sent on 07/13/2013
  • J

    Janice · Married on 06/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so pleased I chose the Sam Houston hotel for my wedding venue..... They have a beautiful setting for the ceremony. After the ceremony, you and your guests go downstairs for a cocktail and appetizers while the staff flips the room into a beautiful reception room!! The staff was so polite and helpful!! The food was delicious!!! Loved it!!!!

    Sent on 08/17/2013
  • User3420980 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Sam Houston Hotel was an amazing venue to work with! The staff went over and beyond my expectations! My guest were pleased with there services and have commented on how beautiful and well put-together my wedding was. I never had to ask for anything, they were right there to tend to all my needs. They made me feel special and important on my big day:)

    Sent on 07/25/2013
  • User3179288 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our son's rehearsal dinner at the Sam Houston. Drinks and appetizers served in the lobby. Dinner was served upstairs in their beautiful room that could be open outdoors. The room is temperature controlled and everyone was comfortable. They have a wonderful chef and everyone commented that the food was delicious! Their staff is extremely professional. They promptly addressed all my questions and were extremely detailed oriented to my event. I would recommend the Sam Houston to anyone that would be having an event.

    Sent on 04/05/2013
  • G

    Grace · Married on 03/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Alden was fabulous! The events coordinator, Natalie Monk absolutely the best, helpful, attentive and resourceful, she couldn't do enough for us. The venue beautiful and the food and drinks not only delish but pleasing to the eye. Natalie was spot on with suggestions/recommendations for florists to photographers to room set up. Would highly recommend this venue for not only weddings but any party/meeting function.

    Sent on 03/18/2013
  • R

    Rosaura · Married on 01/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing team! They really listen to what the bride and groom want. They are always available through email. Thank you so much for everything!

    Sent on 02/16/2013
  • C

    Cindy · Married on 01/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My daughter got married almost two weeks ago. We had the ceremony and the reception at the Alden. It was perfect! The venue itself is very unique. The food was absolutely delicious. I have received many compliments on the venue and also the food. Everything went very smoothly. I worked with Natalie who is the coordinator at the hotel. She was amazing during the entire process. She was always very responsive to my emails. She was very organized,helpful, and made the whole process stress free.She is a huge asset to the Alden. The rest of the Alden staff were also very attentive and made sure we were taken care of. No complaints at all. I can't say enough about the Alden and Natalie. I would highly recommend .

    Sent on 01/30/2013
  • M

    Mary · Married on 10/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Veranda is a gorgeous venue and the food was delicious! The ivy wall is such a pretty backdrop for the ceremony and the sleek and modern lobby somehow held all the guests during cocktail hour. They accommodated our requests for a special brunch menu and made us yummy shrimp & grits and fried chicken & waffles. I had a wedding planner so I did not work with Natalie M. directly but she was very pleasant on the occasions we did chat.

    One small con about the venue would be their hotel rooms. The Alden is a boutique hotel and the rooms were pretty small. We booked the deluxe suite (biggest one offered) and it was extremelyyy tight with a bride, 4 bridesmaids, mom, 4 hair/makeup artists, photographer, and videographer. It did come with 1 king, 1 queen pullout sofa, and 2 bathrooms but even then it was cramped with only 4 girls in the room. This is a small nitpick and I'm still giving the Alden a 5* rating :)

    Sent on 10/29/2012
  • J

    Jaime · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would recommend any bride to the Alden. I wanted to do as much included as possible in my venue and also keeping with a more modern and contemporary look. If that is what you're looking for-go with The Alden. They provided AMAZING food, drinks, linens, basic decorations, and excellent customer service. Their coordinator Natalie responds back to all email and phone calls quickly and she made the whole process easy for me. It was nice for me to enjoy my day and not have to stress about all the little things. I also liked to that they didn't try to "nickel and dime you" for every little thing. Services like cutting the cakes-we didn't have to pay for each slice. For any extra decorations I wanted to put up or have set out, I just dropped them off a few days before the wedding and Natalie made sure everything was like I wanted it. It's also nice that the venue photos well. Our pictures turned out great. We took a few inside the reception area, in the lobby, and also outside.

    Sent on 07/06/2012
  • M

    Madeline · Married on 05/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding Service and Beautiful Venue!!! I did experience the constant transition of wedding cooridinators which got me nervous. But at the end it was a blessing in disguise. Natalie was the Best! She helped me plan my evening, provided a shoulder to lean on when I was stressed out, helped with the arrangment of all the favors and decorations. She was AMAZING!!!!!!!! The food provided was even better than the taste test and everyone loved it! Good job to the chef, Eduardo! Alden is the perfect place to provide an outdoor feel without the being outdoors. It also provides a cozy place for any size wedding which is why we chose it. We thought we would have 100 and ended up having 160 at the end. I highly recommend the Alden Hotel for a wedding reception and hopefully Natalie will be there because she does an amazing job!

    Sent on 05/15/2012
  • User2607662 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alden was just the perfect setting for my wedding. Natalie was so on the ball leading up to the day of and throughout the entire planning process. Even though we didn't hire a coordinator, Natalie made it so easy for us: she oversaw the entire day of set up, arranged a suite for us for the weekend, coordinated all of my vendors including the band, she personally brought gifts to my room to make sure that they all got there, had food and drinks in our suite at the end of the evening, and she kept us on the timeline the whole night. I could go on and on- she was so patient and helpful & made the day so stress free for me!

    Aside from that, the menu that we selected was perfect-our guests couldn't stop raving about the short ribs! The hotel is very beautiful and would make a wonderful backdrop for any event. I shot my bridal portraits there for no charge and my pictures turned out gorgeous. All in all the whole weekend was a HUGE success due to a talented staff! I would recommend the Veranda to any bride.

    Sent on 08/19/2012
  • User2510185 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Alden hotel is such a beautiful venue and the service that I received from Natalie (event manager) was second to none! I could not believe how responsive she was to all of my emails. I was amazed that with all of the weddings that they do, she still made me feel like her one and only bride. Beyond the service, the food was outstanding! I am still getting compliments on it from my guests. All in all, I could not have been happier with my wedding day thanks to Natalie and the staff at the Alden! Thank you!!!

    Sent on 06/27/2012
  • O

    Orna · Married on 02/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff was very professional and made the planning very easy. It made the weekend relaxing and enjoyable for me and my wedding guests. The Alden is a very unique and beautiful place to hold a wedding. It has a garden feel in an urban setting. The food and beverage coordinator, Rey, was especially helpful in making the reception and all events go smoothly. He went the extra mile in setting up a beautiful brunch for our guests the morning after the wedding.

    I would highly recommend the Alden Hotel to any couple looking for a wedding venue.

    Sent on 03/19/2012
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 05/15/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband & I looked at numerous venues to have our reception, and just felt like we couldn't find one that we "loved." We decided to make an appointment to see The Alden, and that was to be our last place to look at as well.
    Once we stepped onto the veranda, we knew this was the place. From the service, the friendliness of all the staff, the food at the reception, everything was excellent. We had so many compliments from our guests on how much they enjoyed themselves. The whole environment we wanted to create during our reception was possible because of The Alden (we wanted to bring the outside in, keep it modern, simple).
    The only thing I can think of that was semi-stress inducing, is that we started with one sales/catering coordinator and a few months before our wedding date, she was no longer there & we were to work with another coordinator, Catherine. But she was awesome! She was attentive to our needs, and even worked with us when we had to change one of our menu items close to the wedding date. It felt almost like we were working with her throughout the whole process.
    Minh was such an awesome banquet mgr, he made sure we were happy with everything during the whole process up until the day after our reception. We are so happy we used The Alden for our wedding reception. Thank you to everyone there that made our big day memorable.

    Sent on 08/12/2010
  • User4689882 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone was so professional, and helpful. My daughter's wedding was perfect. The venue is lovely the food was great. It was a pleasure working with Dani and all the waitstaff. The transition of the room from ceremony to reception was excellent. The staff worked well decorating the tables with our personal things. They took it upon themselves to decorate the cake table and it was perfect. I was contacted throughout the evening and was made aware of any details that needed my attention. The bridal suite was convenient to the reception, so it made moving gifts easy. The housekeeping staff cleaned the suite after all the bridesmaids used it, and got it ready for the newlyweds during the reception. Everyone had nothing but praise for the wedding and overnight guests loved their rooms.

    Sent on 01/12/2015