Vanity Fair Events Reviews

17 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

17 Reviews for Vanity Fair Events

Recommended by 79% of couples

4.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.0
  • Professionalism 3.9
  • Flexibility 3.9
  • Value 3.9
  • Average response time 3.9

Awards

17
Order by:
  • J

    Jaqui · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream Team!

    We just can’t say enough about our Vanity Fair Events’ wedding planners and their assistants. From the very beginning, Sarah and Theresa were there for us to guide us through our entire wedding planning! They initially spent a couple of hours getting to know us as individuals, as well as a couple. They asked about our friends and families, growing up, what we liked to do for fun, etc. They really got to know us! They asked us about our vision for our dream wedding and what that looked like to us. They wanted to know what the most important things were to us and our families. We were struggling to decide what type of venue we wanted and based on our conversations Theresa was instantly able to help narrow it down to 3 venues for us to look at. The first one she took us to was the Ritz-Carlton. At first we weren’t sure, but after looking at the other 2 we knew immediately that she had found us the perfect place to have our dream wedding. The hotel was stunning and had the perfect outside space for our ceremony which was important for us. From there on out we worked with Theresa and Sarah to find all of our vendors. We were able to put together an amazing team for our wedding based on recommendations from our planners. They were always mindful of our wants and needs, including our budget. Vanity Fair Events also provided design services and flowers for our wedding. Their team is so talented that we never felt any need to go elsewhere for these services. From the very beginning Theresa and Sarah set out a planning timeline which included regular check-in calls with us. We always knew what was going on and felt like we were kept informed as they moved through the planning. These ladies never stopped. They are the hardest working people I ever met. Our wedding was even more than we had hoped for because our planners helped us stay on task and on budget and were there to relieve any stress that we were feeling. Our family and friends had a fantastic time at our wedding and have been talking about it non-stop since October. Vanity Fair Events was referred to us by 2 other couples who had used them for their weddings. Now I see why. I would have no reservations about referring them to other – and already have. Hiring these ladies was the best thing we could have done for ourselves and our parents. Highly, highly recommend Vanity Fair Events!

    Sent on 04/11/2019
  • T

    Theresa · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dear Annie and Hans Agarwal,

    Thank you for taking the time to write your multiple reviews. We will always use honest feedback to help us improve how we deliver our services to our clients.

    The partnership between our clients and our company must be treated with mutual respect and cooperation. As you mentioned, we were excited to assist you in planning your very small and intimate vow renewal service for your immediate family only, and not the platinum south-Asian wedding that you ultimately desired. Our team spent in excess of 200 hours attempting to meet an ever-growing and unrealistic list of “non-negotiables”.

    After a lot of soul-searching we determined that we could no longer be your partner in planning your wedding. Failure on your part to communicate effectively and in a timely manner hindered our ability to plan your wedding. For the first time in our company’s history the well-being of our team members became a legitimate concern for us. We were left with no choice but to invoke our fair treatment clause and terminate our contract – a decision that we did not make lightly. Per our contractual agreement, all monies paid by you, minus the mutually agreed upon non-refundable retainer, were refunded to you. We sincerely regret that this arrangement did not work out for either party.

    Sent on 05/10/2018
  • R

    Risa · Married on 04/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with Theresa and the Vanity Fair Events staff. Theresa really understands her clients and does an excellent job managing expectations, budgets and experience. Our wedding would not have been the same without her. I would recommend Vanity Fair Events to any couple looking for some personalize and attentive help in navigating through the wedding planning world.

    Sent on 04/20/2017
  • K

    Katie · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    UPDATE: Well the wedding is finally done and somehow we are even more amazed and pleased with Vanity Fair Events than I could have ever imagined! Theresa navigated us through some tumultuous situations and fought for us to have the wedding of our dreams. In the end, it was exactly that, and all thanks to Theresa and her staff. Theresa made a stressful process more bearable and allowed us to enjoy the planning and execution of our wedding day. She got to know us, became our friend, and cared about our individual needs and wants. Our entire day was perfect. I don't even have post-wedding blues because I am just so pleased with how everything went. If you want a kind, experienced, professional, badass wedding planner, I urge you to hire Vanity Fair Events. You will NOT be disappointed!
    Our wedding is still 6 months away, but I am already SO pleased with the service Theresa has provided us during the planning process. She is responsive, honest, and truly cares about making our wedding the best it can possibly be. I couldn't imagine going through all this without her. Theresa interfaces and negotiates with vendors, helps us with wedding etiquette questions, sets realistic expectations, and manages our budget. Truthfully, she's keeping me sane! I will update this review after our wedding, but I'm confident that Theresa will make the day stress-free and perfect for us!

    Sent on 05/13/2016

    Vanity Fair Events's reply:

    Wow! Katie, thanks so much for your kinds words. I am thoroughly enjoying working with you and Adam to give you the perfect wedding day, and to make the planning process as fun and stress-free as possible. Here's to the Best. Day. Ever!
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can’t say enough about our great experience working with the team at Vanity Fair Events! From the day we met with Theresa we felt the stress lift. Her calm, practical and professional demeanor immediately made us feel like we were in great hands. Theresa asked us all the right questions in the very beginning to tease out of us what our vision for our wedding day was. After we answered all of her questions she was able to interpret what we were saying versus what we were really asking for. That takes skill and a lot of experience. The 12 months of planning was far more enjoyable than it would be have been if we did not have her in our corner the entire time. She introduced us to a venue that fit our vision and was so us! We immediately signed with the Ritz-Carlton Georgetown. It was the only venue we needed to see. After that she began to recommend a team of vendor based on our personalities, style and budget. Theresa dealt with all the communications with our vendors and did all of our contract negotiations for us. It could not have been any easier. When our wedding day came around we felt like all we had to do was show up and have a great time with our families and friends. Theresa and her team were on it! I have no doubt that she dealt with things that came up that we aren’t even aware of. That’s why we hired her! Her expertise and level of professionalism is second to none. We highly recommend Theresa to our friends who are planning their weddings. We have referred her to 3 of our couple friends who all got engaged while we were planning our wedding. She has completed 2 of those weddings and our friends are just as thrilled with her as we are. The third couple will get married later this year and also rave about her. Based on our experiences with Theresa we have also referred her to my husband’s law firm to plan several client and associate events for them. She’s the best!

    Sent on 06/27/2017
  • L

    Liz · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Theresa did an amazing job helping organize our wedding! Our special day went better than we both could have possibility imagined. I couldn't recommend Theresa more. Thank you Theresa and Vanity Fair Events for the wonderful job!

    Sent on 11/26/2015

    Vanity Fair Events's reply:

    Liz, thank you so much for your kinds words. Our team loved working with you and Jesse to plan and execute your wedding. It was such a beautiful day and we just loved both of your families. We wish you both so much happiness together and look forward to keeping in touch with you and learning what great adventures your future holds for you as a couple. xoxo
  • C

    Colm · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Vanity Fair Events for our wedding and were overwhelmed with the service we received. Before the wedding, I was nervous and frantic and our wedding consultants were amazing. They took our ideas on board and gave us the weekend of our dreams (we had a three day celebration!). They ensured that our vendors were in place and everything was set up. They were even able to assist with emergency family travel plans. As soon as we got back from our honeymoon, we received a beautiful handwritten note from the team-something I doubt happens very often but another example of their professionalism. We would highly recommend their services to anyone considering getting married.

    Sent on 03/28/2016
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my husband and I decided to get married in the church this year, we wanted it to land on the date of our civil wedding anniversary which only gave us 3 months to plan it. With a full-time job, I knew that I would not be able to pull it off alone. That is when I went looking for a wedding planner and thankfully found Theresa. I had not used one for my civil wedding and did not know what to expect. Theresa was great from day one. We told her we were on a small budget since we weren’t trying to plan a huge wedding. She listened to what we wanted and worked with us to try and stay within our budget and vision. She assisted with all the details to include negotiating better rates with vendors and took away all the stress that would have been caused had we worked on it ourselves. Since she works with many vendors, she provided excellent references for catering, DJ, the wedding cake, photo booth, etc. Theresa and her team were professional and the results of the wedding and reception were beyond our expectations! We had a great time and so did our family and friends. She was there the entire time and ensured nothing fell through the cracks. We highly recommend Theresa for any wedding or party planning events since she has great experience and can work with any type of party or wedding and budget even the smaller ones like ours.

    Sent on 11/02/2015
  • C

    Cindy · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Theresa was wonderful. She's assertive in a very good way and gets things done. She was a kind mediator between my daughter (the bride) and me (mom of the bride) when we had differences of opinion regarding wedding tasks and traditions. Theresa was totally responsible for having the venue provide an excellent tasting experience for us; when I did this on my own, the experience was terrible. Theresa delivered many, many items to two hotels and the venue in Washington DC from my suburban MD home. Best of all, Theresa coordinated ALL of the various vendors so that each one knew where to be and when to be there. She handled on-the-spot emergencies including rearranging table spaces for guests who were no-shows and guests who attended and were not actually invited as well as acting as a lost and find for guests who accidentally left items at the venue at the end of the event. She was with us all day, from getting made-up and dressed until well after the last guests departed. She did all of this this grace and a smile. She had great ideas and yet didn't step on toes. If you want a wedding coordinator who is kind, funny, professional and pragmatic, Theresa is the one to call.

    Sent on 04/05/2016
  • User4773065 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Theresa was phenomenal to work with! She was flexible, professional, and truly got to me know us as a couple to create the experience we wanted for our wedding. We couldn't have been more pleased and would absolutely recommend them to anyone!

    Sent on 02/07/2015
  • D

    Dana · Married on 12/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Theresa Daly with Vanity Fair is phenomenal! Although we planned a small event there were so many things we had not considered and so many last minute details I would have overlooked. If it were not for Theresa, I would have missed many very memorable moments during my daughter's special day. She was very conscious of the budget and most importantly making this a once in a lifetime event! Her team was extremely professional, courteous and efficient. She found a spectacular venue, arranged, coordinated and followed up with vendors, set up, cleaned up and had every little thing we could have forgotten in her "magic box". I have organized many large scale events on my own and consider myself to be a great planner. I absolutely could not have done this without her! It was text book perfect!

    Sent on 12/31/2013
  • Zenat

    Zenat · Married on 12/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Vanity Fair Wedding Planner and Specialist is one of the most outstanding services I have worked with! Teresa is one of the most loving caring and warm people I have met. Teresa and her team made this wedding look like something from a dream. From my experience with weddings in my opinion every wedding needs some (Mother Teresa). Vanity Fair is a group I would hope to see and work with in future weddings. Would I recommend them to other people? Hell YEAH!

    Sent on 12/31/2013
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 12/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow. Just wow. My event was absolutely PERFECT because of Vanity Fair. I was never afraid to speak my mind because of the outstanding level of professionalism and respect I felt. I HIGHLY recommend them. My table was gorgeous, my venue was perfect, and Theresa made sure all of my vendors were doing their jobs perfectly as well. If you are looking for a job well done, you can stop searching here.

    Sent on 02/14/2014
  • E

    Emma · Married on 04/21/2017

    0.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    I am not the bride, but I am a bridesmaid and the sister of the bride. Theresa was incredibly rude to not only me, but my mother who had gotten out of the hospital the day before. Theresa threaten to kick me out of the reception because I had 1 drink, I am over 21. This had been the first time Theresa had spoken to me at the reception. My mother wanted specific pictures before the ceremony, which she had told Theresa and the photographer. Theresa sent the photographer away against my mothers requests saying that she (my mother) had taken too long getting from the room that the bride had gotten dressed in to the staging room and there wasn't time for the pictures. These pictures are a tradition in the family. I ended up taking the pictures on my phone for my mother.

    Also at the reception, there was no announcement that the newlyweds were about to cut the cake. The DJ never stopped playing music, Theresa just grabbed the couple and dragged them to the cake and handed them the knife. Again, my mother and I missed the whole thing.

    Overall, Theresa started really good but then it went downhill very quickly. She was unprofessional, rude, and inattentive. I know I was not the only person who was disrespected by Theresa during this wedding. Needless to say, when I get married, I will not be using Theresa.

    Sent on 05/02/2017
  • A

    Annie · Married on 06/11/2017

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Do not use Theresa Daly and her services! Theresa quit 3 weeks prior to my wedding date and exactly 2 days after getting paid in full. I am not surprised to read some of the reviews here that state the lack of Theresa's professional services. At best she isn't a real wedding planner and doesn't know how to project plan the wedding. Completely outdated and obsolete manner of planning and an overwhelming rude personality that doesn't help. Also, her vendor recommendations are not competent for what the market actually offers. Theresa did well when I initially interviewed her to hire her services but her quality of service began to decline as we got closer to the wedding. Theresa was a recommendation from my wedding venue (a leading golf club for IFIs) and given her behavior the venue took her off their recommendation list immediately. Unfortunately, I am still fighting the dispute of $3000 that she was paid as a full time planner. Theresa claims that I behaved unprofessionally towards her to get all the money because her contract states that money is non-refundable if the client harassed her. Now why would I harass my planner, Theresa when I clearly need her help and where is the proof of that when we only met twice face to face throughout the entire 4 months of planning. I have no doubt Theresa is capable of quitting on someone on the day of their wedding. If you still have doubts, here is how Theresa treats her own employees-read review on glassdoor. https://www.glassdoor.com/Overview/Working-at-Vanity-Fair-Events-EI_IE1623365.11,29.htm
    Clearly, she lacks professional behavior towards her customers and her employees.

    Sent on 07/24/2017
  • H

    Hans · Married on 06/11/2017

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    DO NOT USE. I am the husband/groom. In short, she quit 2 days after getting her final payment. We paid the 3K fee in installments rather than up front. BEWARE - She has a clause in contract that allows her to quit for ANY reason. So her excuse she used was that I (husband) harassed her. That makes 0 sense as I met with her twice (first time we met and mid-stream at the food tasting venue). If a vendor felt harassed, why would they wait until receiving final payment to quit. Not once was a concern expressed in writing or conveyed. The fact is Theresa Daly was bad at her job and was overwhelmed, disorganized. . Her contract clearly states the required services such as being on-site up to 3 per category for vendor selection, etiquette advice, timeline, etc. However, she did not provide much other than confusion and lack of guidance. She provided three vendors per category in email, and we met only 1x for one DJ; however, did not provide many items in contract. After she quit, we were forced to scramble and find vendors available and negotiate. My negotiations found vendors all cheaper than what she recommended. BEWARE as well, as she purposely tries to make extra money from you. The DJ recommended was almost double than the one I got, the string quartet was 50% more, etc. The way she tries to make more money is by getting kickbacks even though she claims she is working in yoru interest and its not true. For example - The contract we signed was with the DJ was for $1200 but we never got direct contact information to the DJ. That is because she was trying to 'filter' through her and get a kick back. In addition, she convinced my wife to allow her to serve as the Decor person for another 2,000$. What we quickly learned after she quit, was she never understood the Decor need and does not have the skill set. A wedding is not just a monetary investment but a major emotional one, and Theresa Daly took advantage of us, and we still lost the money. SAD!

    Sent on 09/17/2017
  • S

    Susan · Married on 04/22/2017

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    This vendor began quite well. However, this petered out quickly. She dropped off the face of the earth, with no contact or warning to the couple. The bride couldn't even get any information out of the contractors that this vendor had hired as the vendor only put down her own name as contact. Thus the bride had no idea if anything was getting done during this time of radio silence from the vendor. The services hired by this vendor were mediocre at best; the flowers were actually awful and not what the bride and groom had requested at all.
    The vendor was sharp with the small (but well behaved) children in the bridal party, rude to the family, and threatened to have people removed from the reception without cause. She manhandled the bride and groom to fit her ridiculously tight schedule.
    The bride and groom paid over $2000.00 for a wedding planner who was suppose to help relieve stress, but instead, we got a woman who was demanding, rude, and we ended up doing the work ourselves anyway.
    I would not recommend this vendor for any future event.

    Sent on 05/14/2017