US Capitol Elopements Reviews

118 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

118 Reviews for US Capitol Elopements

Recommended by 100%

118
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

6 User photos

US Capitol Elopements 1
US Capitol Elopements 2
US Capitol Elopements 3
US Capitol Elopements 4
US Capitol Elopements 5
US Capitol Elopements 6
Sort by:
  • Cathy

    Cathy Glenz · Getting married on 03/04/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Made our Wedding Day Perfect!

    Rev. Starlene Joyner Burns was considerate and assisted us in deciding the type of wedding that would work for us. She took time to ask pertinent questions that made our ceremony feel as though she knew us for years. That special touch made all the difference. She made all of us feel at ease even though we were from out of state and our guests were from Europe. Rev. Starlene handled the marriage license and literally everything went off without a hitch! (Well, we were now hitched, but wasn't that the goal !?!) Thank you for a perfect wedding!

    Sent on 04/27/2019
  • C

    Cedric · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Ceremony!

    Reverend Starlene Joyner Burns was amazing to work with from the pre-wedding consultations all the way to our special wedding day! She was always available to answer any questions that we had about our ceremony and communication on the day of (she had two weddings to officiate) was perfect. She provided everything we needed to plan our ceremony with several options to chose from and allowed us to customize some sections as well. Rev. Burns was extremely professional but also very fun to be around and kept us relaxed throughout the process. I would highly recommend her for anyone looking to have a memorable wedding ceremony!

    Sent on 06/15/2019
  • A

    Alex Seery · Married on 04/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent!

    Rev. Burns was extremely professional and very pleasant to work with. She worked with us to make the ceremony exactly how we wanted it and was very open to making any adjustments we requested. We received numerous compliments on the ceremony, and people specifically mentioned how great Rev. Burns was. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 04/27/2019
  • N

    Nat Mnz · Married on 04/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Short DC ceremony

    Starlene is an absolute professional and we are glad she performed our ceremony. She was very responsive (through email/ text/ phone call), was there on time and even gave us suggestions about the traffic (DC was crowded) for that day. The ceremony was beautiful and she is very personable and sweet. A+ officiant, thank you very much Starlene for being part of our special day!

    Sent on 04/28/2019
  • A

    Aleisha Mullen · Married on 03/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful ceremony, amazing photos

    My husband and I were married on 3/16/2019, and we both loved working with Rev. Burns. We had actually scheduled with her a few months prior, but decided to hold off for a while. When we were finally ready, we provided a short week-of notice for our wedding date, then had to change the date again because we wanted to include photography and needed a date that it would not rain. Rev. Burns was friendly and professional even with our last minute adjustments. I still do not know why my husband was so anxious to be married so soon, but in any case, Rev. Burns worked with us as we let her know what we envisioned for our private elopement at Union Station, and she provided suggestions for a couple of props that would look amazing in our photos.

    Working with Rev. Burns on the day of was actually a really fun experience. She is a real, down-to-earth person and is very easy to talk to. She made us feel at ease every step of the day, from our ceremony to our photography session. She made us laugh and smile often with her personality, which was a huge plus. Our ceremony was beautiful, and the photos she took were beyond what I would have ever expected. Although we chose a private elopement ceremony with just the two of us and Rev. Burns, we wanted it to be memorable and special for us, and we had given her a general vision of what our larger wedding would have looked like when we were planning that. She understood our vision and ran with it, and we are still so glad that we chose to do it this way. The privacy and intimacy of the day is part of what made it even more special to us. It was just perfect. We could not have chosen a better officiant for our day.

    Sent on 05/21/2019
    US Capitol Elopements 7
  • C

    Cheryl · Married on 09/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had a New Year's Eve (12/31/2017) ceremony at a friends studio. She came highly recommended for this event and I am very thankful for the recommendation. She provided a questionnaire for us to complete and her website answered a lot of my questions ahead of time. We exchanged texts a few times and we also could have Skyped, met in person or talked over the phone, if needed. She provided the ceremony details ahead of time and my family felt the words were exactly meant for us. The delivery of the wedding was superb.

    Sent on 01/09/2018
  • A

    Amy · Married on 09/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Burns officiated our simple civil ceremony on September 7, 2018 at the DC War Memorial. She provided a script ahead of time that we were encouraged to edit as desired. She incorporated our edits without question and suggested the placement of two poems that we wished to be read during the ceremony. I spoke with Rev. Burns one time and we met her as a couple the week before the ceremony. She was punctual to our meeting and to the ceremony. She has a great sense of humor and style! The ceremony turned out just as we had planned and it was just what we had intended. Rev. Burns took care of all the official paperwork afterwords. I would highly recommend Rev. Burns.

    Sent on 10/03/2018
    US Capitol Elopements 8
    US Capitol Elopements 9
    US Capitol Elopements 10
    US Capitol Elopements 11
  • D

    Dione · Married on 06/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We lived in Nashville, and we always wanted to get married to DC and Starlene made everything so easy to plan and process. Thank you so much! You made our DIY wedding experience amazing!!!
    -Dione & Chris

    Sent on 07/15/2018
    US Capitol Elopements 12
  • L

    Liliana · Married on 03/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spectacular. Starlene provided us with a very professional and prompt service, helped us thru the process until everything was perfect. 100% recommended!!

    Sent on 03/16/2017
  • A

    Alejandro · Married on 01/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Had an awesome experience with Rev. Burns. She was extremely accommodating of our needs and interests. The ceremony prepared and officiated by her was simple and beautiful. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 01/07/2018
  • M

    Monica · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Burns was excellent! She was attentive and thoughtful. She helped us design a ceremony that was perfect for us. She also was a great help during the rehearsal and we were to stay on point and finished on time.

    Sent on 11/10/2017
  • L

    Liz · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Burns was absolutely amazing. She was such a pleasure to work with leading up to the wedding and surpassed all expectations for the ceremony itself! She worked with us to make it “our ceremony”. Her presence is both confident and caring and put us both at ease. So many of our guests came up to us during the reception and since the wedding asking about her and commenting on her wonderful ceremony. I would highly recommend her to anyone.

    Sent on 10/13/2017
  • Ben

    Ben · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Reverend Burns was absolutely amazing. Not only did she help us to craft a beautiful ceremony, but she was phenomenal to work with and the guests even commented on how great she was afterwards. You can't go wrong with her. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 10/21/2017
  • S

    Sylvia · Married on 07/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We picked the To The Moon package which included DC marriage license by proxy service and an hour of after-ceremony photo shoot. My husband and I are very grateful for the service DC Marriage Knot offered. Sweet simple mini wedding (or elopement). We wouldn't have wanted it any other way. We also looked at other services online and found that DC Marriage Knot has the best value for money. We ended up getting married on 7/7/17 at 7pm by Thomas Jefferson Memorial. The process was completely painless. We filled in the enquiry form online and Rev. Burns contacted us very promptly. We met via Skype (because I was overseas) to discuss the wedding. We only had to give her the necessary paperwork for the marriage license and everything went very smoothly. All this was done with a short notice (less than 2 weeks). She was fun, friendly, flexible, and professional. We had so much fun during the ceremony and photo shoot.

    Sent on 07/12/2017
  • T

    Tony · Married on 06/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our elopement ceremony with Rev. Starlene Burns! She was very kind to us throughout the entire process, and she was patient and accommodating as well. Due to fear of being judged by our officiant, we initially decided to do a quick courthouse elopement, but we somehow stumbled across Starlene's work. We were immediately sold when read her story and saw that she was LGBT friendly AND did her own photography. It was a double whammy for us because we also wanted photos taken! She did an amazing job, and she made us feel very comfortable the entire time. We were able to enjoy the ceremony as traditional couples do, thanks to Rev. Starlene Burns! She is also very professional. I definitely recommend her to anyone looking to elope in the DMV area!

    Sent on 06/24/2017
  • D

    Dana · Married on 06/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I googled Reverend Joyner Burns and to my surprise I found someone religious who was an advocate for same sex marriage and more importantly LOVE. After reading her Biography online and speaking to her I was convinced that she would be an excellent Officiant for my wife and I BIG day. Reverend Burns was helpful from the very first phone call that I placed to her, up until the day of our wedding. She was on time for our event and she spoke as if she knew us for years. I said it before and I will say it again to those of you who will read this review, "She showed up and showed out!" We were fortunate enough to have her preside at our wedding and proudly support our union. Thank you so very much for what you do Reverend Burns and we appreciate you being a part of our special day!

    Sent on 07/03/2017
  • L

    Laura · Married on 06/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Burns was fantastic. She delivered exactly the ceremony we wanted. She was professional, friendly and all our guests loved her. Highly recommend her.

    Sent on 07/10/2017
  • Ceciley

    Ceciley · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I recommend Rev. Burns 100%. She was very responsive from the first day I inquired about her services. She worked with me over the course of a few months to customize our ceremony. The day of our wedding she arrived on time and was a true professional. She was even thoughtful of our guests. The weather the day of was unseasonably cool for our outdoor affair and she suggested we might want to consider cutting the length of the ceremony. My husband and I didn't mind this at all considering a traffic accident prevented our guests from arriving on time and we were forced to work under a serious time constraint. Working with Rev. Burns was a breath of fresh air. A true professional indeed!

    Sent on 08/06/2017
  • P

    Pam · Married on 05/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fabulous, support, attention, and responsiveness - a comforting, reassuring voice of experience, generous in spirit and extremely capable.

    Sent on 05/15/2017
  • M

    Mihan · Married on 04/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Reverend Burns was wonderful. She met with me and my fiance twice before the wedding via Skype, talked us through options for the ceremony and gave us very good advice, and then was particularly helpful during the rehearsal (which was particularly crazy since it involved a large puppy ringbearer) with her warm, calm manner. So glad we found her!

    Sent on 04/19/2017
  • E

    Estefania · Married on 12/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so glad I found Rev. Starlene Burns!!!! She married us in December 17, 2016.
    She made my dream wedding come true, it was one of my memorable and best days of my life. I was browsing the internet looking for someone to marry us and venues and I found Starlene Burns webpage, I loved everthing I was reading, all what she was offering and reading and looking at her page gave me feel good vibes, secured to finally have found her for my wedding.
    Rev. Starlene Burns is very nice, professional, chill, cool and caring person.
    All my family and guests loved her, me and my husband loved her too, she is amazing and wonderful, helped us in everything, answered us fast and always made us feel happy and secured. Rev. Starlene Burns has a kind heart, she is a good person, and I wish her all the good luck. We highly recommend her, it was a great experience having you in our wedding. Thank you very much for everything Rev. Starlene Burns!!

    Sent on 05/10/2017
  • T

    tia · Married on 08/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so glad we decided to go with Rev. Burns for our ceremony (8/5/16). We contacted Rev. Burns and explained that we would like to move forward with her based on telephone conversations and great reviews. Rev. Burns sent us a useful questionnaire inquiring about our love story, individual preferences, and specific wedding details. Starlene provided a helpful link to her website, which answered many of our questions. It also set the expectations for the days leading up to and wedding day.

    Let’s fast forward to wedding day on 8/5/16. My bride was getting dressed in the bridal suite when I entered the venue. Rev. Burns greeted me with a warm welcome and hug. This set the tone for the evening. I explained that I had no idea what to do and how everything should go due to my nervousness. She kindly told me step-by- step what should take place and reassured me that everything would be fine. Although Rev. Burns had emailed a copy of the ceremony draft- that draft did NO JUSTICE to how she spoke to our AND our guest’s hearts. Not just the words, but also the tone(s) she used. She spoke with so much passion. Our ceremony was truly amazing and we cannot thank Rev. Burns enough. Our guests are still saying how wonderful Rev. Burns was and they want her at their wedding. Starlene held the key to make our fairytale a reality. If you are looking for a compassionate,

    Sent on 08/09/2016
  • K

    Kenneth · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She is phenomenal she will make you feel so comfortable before during and after!!! She is such an amazing woman and we couldn't have picked a better officiant!

    Sent on 07/27/2016
  • R

    Roselliny · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Burns was an absolute joy to have as our wedding officiant! She was kind, friendly, and flexible throughout our planning process and wedding. All our meetings were great; she is so personable and really tries to get to know the two of you as a couple. She guided us through our ceremony script and custom tailored it to what made us comfortable. She was also easy to reach, whether it was by phone, email, or Skype, and went with the flow on our wedding day. She is an amazing speaker and I couldn't have asked for a better ceremony! Simply by talking to her in one conversation you would know that she is highly experienced and completely professional -- I would highly recommend her to all brides and grooms.

    Sent on 06/23/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review