Toolbox Art Studio Reviews

57 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

57 Reviews for Toolbox Art Studio

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

57

3 User photos

Order by:
  • User6491401 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I looked into A LOT of venues for our wedding, but as soon as I saw Toolbox I knew it was perfect for us. The venue itself is absolutely gorgeous and I loved the two story layout- we had the ceremony upstairs, cocktail hour downstairs, dinner upstairs, and reception downstairs. It worked really well for us to have everything in the same space, especially as DC weather can be tricky. As we were on a strict budget, it was important to me to be able to provide my own alcohol, etc. to cut down on costs- this was a no go for most venues we looked at, but Toolbox was fine with it. We loved the privacy and intimacy of the alley and the art/lighting is amazing. We didn't do any decorating because the space is so gorgeous. Irina was by far the best part of this venue. We were hesitant about spending so much on the venue, but working with Irina sold us. She is amazing at her job and went above and beyond to make sure everything went smoothly. She might be the most communicative/responsive/professional person I have ever met, which was worth the piece of mind alone. If there were any kinks that night, I had no idea. She also had great recommendations of other vendors that were spot on.

    Sent on 05/01/2016
  • B

    Breanna · Married on 09/12/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we started this process the only thing we knew was that we wanted a space that "felt like us" (whatever that means) and allowed us to have a really good party without worrying about whether people would make it home safely. Toolbox easily accomplished both aims.

    The downstairs art gallery and upstairs pilates spaces created the perfect intimate and welcoming feel for our mid-sized celebration of approximately 75 guests. The space feels simultaneously cozy and inviting while accommodating all aspects of the wedding (ceremony, dinner, pictures and dancing). The building is located in an alley, which can make it a little hard to find, but if you ask a few friends to arrive early and guide guests from the street address on Connecticut Ave and the alley entrances, it is easy to get people seated on time. The space is so naturally beautiful and the artwork is so colorful that you could get away without spending any money on additional decorations. We added some uplighting downstairs for cocktail hour and dancing (only about $150 total), some string lights upstairs and Irina added some tulle over a window. We were thrilled with how perfect it all looked.

    As all of the other reviewers have said, working with Irina was one of the better parts of the wedding planning process. Irina is a consummate professional. She is friendly, helpful, talented, warm, accommodating, innovative and an all-around pleasure to work with. She gave us several weeks' notice before going out of town for vacation, allowed us to do a few separate walkthroughs with parents and vendors, worked with our friend to decorate the place beautifully, suggested our DJ (who was also great), and helped coordinate every detail of the day - including flipping the ceremony space into a beautiful dinner location during the cocktail hour. My husband and I are not overly picky people, but even if we were I still think that working with Irina would have been a breeze.

    Sent on 09/27/2015
  • K

    Kevin · Married on 08/22/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Toolbox is a BEAUTIFUL space, and it was the perfect venue and atmosphere for our wedding reception. In addition to the great space, Irina really went above and beyond what we expected, spending hours before and after the event making sure every detail was just right. She was extremely helpful at all times before, during, and afterwards. We got several compliments from guests about the space, and we can't imagine a better place to have a reception in the heart of DuPont Circle.

    Sent on 09/24/2015
  • Katie

    Katie · Married on 10/12/2019

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful space!

    Toolbox created the perfect space for our casual reception. The space is so beautiful (rustic/industrial chic) that it needs very little decoration. Our 120 guests mingled comfortably (we did not do a seated dinner). Great dancing space! All around, a very beautiful and unique venue. Our only issue was a lack of communication from the events manager. We didn't find out that we needed to rent chairs until less than two weeks before the wedding. We had a hard time getting timely responses to our emails.

    Sent on 10/13/2019
  • User6427048 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Toolbox is an incredible venue unlike anything you will find in the DC area. We were able to have the ceremony in the beautiful second floor, move to the downstairs art gallery for cocktail hour, and then use the entire venue for the reception. It made for an incredible environment that we loved. Irina, the events coordinator, is incredibly kind and a real pleasure to work with. She responds immediately to questions, and was available on multiple occasions for us to drop by and talk about layout, decorations, flow, etc . She assured us that everything would go smoothly and she coordinated most of the day-of logistics. When the day came, everything worked, and Irina was a big part of the reason why.

    If you do use Toolbox, just be aware of the restrictions so that you can navigate them early on. There is no running water and there are restrictions on open flames and any kitchen equipment that produces smoke. These are things caterers can deal with if they're aware of them. Also, for equipment rentals, all chairs and tables require felt tips, which can generally be supplied without issue. The venue is not particularly large, so it might not work for more than 140-150 people for a wedding (we had 120), but the size was great for us. It was cozy yet comfortable, and definitely helped make the dance floor feel full and lively.

    As Toolbox is an indoor venue that hosts a variety of events, they do not have special seasonal rates. This was a little disappointing, as it's commonly offered by other venues in the area, but we believe it was worth the money. We planned for an after party at a bar nearby, and the proximity of Toolbox to the bar and to our guests' hotels was hugely valuable. I would recommend Toolbox to any couple looking to get married in DC who's looking for a non-traditional venue!

    Sent on 02/28/2016
  • D

    David · Married on 10/14/2017

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This was the first venue we toured, and it was the best. We loved the space and the flow between the two levels. There was some confusion at the start between the mangers, but we were able to work it all out with minimal stress. The house manager, Crystal, went above and beyond on our wedding day. She helped set everything up, dealt with issues when they came up -- like our guest book pen running out of ink, and made sure that all our guests were safe and having a good time. She made the day stress-free for my husband and me. We recommend Toolbox for your venue and ask for Crystal.

    Sent on 11/06/2017
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 06/16/2018

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    We had both our ceremony and reception at Toolbox, and it was absolutely perfect. The space is a little pricey, but it's so architecturally beautiful that we didn't need to spend a ton of money on decorations. We decided not to get any decorations for the ceremony upstairs and to only do simple eucalyptus centerpieces for dinner, and I'm so glad we did. It was breathtaking upstairs. Alex was our point of contact leading up to the wedding, and he was full of ideas whenever we met with him. Our only issue was with the house manager that Toolbox hired for the day of the wedding - she had a negative attitude and wasn't as helpful as promised. In the end, it all worked out, and we're super happy we got married at Toolbox!

    Sent on 07/16/2018