Toolbox Art Studio Reviews

46 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

46 Reviews for Toolbox Art Studio

Recommended by 98%

46
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • T

    Tracy · event on 12/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Toolbox is a very unique, hidden gem in Washington DC. My guests told me they felt like they were in a secret neighborhood spot that nobody else knew about. The manager, Irina, was a true joy to work with. She is very creative and full of energy. She made my event one of a kind and it felt very personal to me. Thank you so Irina for all of her hard work, above and beyond what was expected.

    Sent on 12/10/2015
  • User4922108 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Toolbox was the perfect venue for our wedding. We wanted an urban setting, intimate feel, and an industrial/unique environment. The Toolbox offers all of this and more. We were able to have our ceremony upstairs, cocktail hour downstairs, dinner upstairs, and dancing downstairs. It was a seamless transition and the guests were happily drinking, eating, and dancing! We had a donut truck roll into the alley after dinner, which was a HUGE hit! And to top it all off, the venue comes with Irina!! She is extremely organized, communicates immediately, and helped our day go off without a hitch. We couldn't have done it without her. Book The Toolbox if you want a wedding you and your guests will not forget. It's awesome!

    Sent on 10/29/2015
  • M

    mickie · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    everything about Toolbox is perfect- the location, the gorgeous space inside( with exposed brick walls & big windows for natural light), the professional, friendly and helpful staff and owners who go above and beyond to create your ideal event. you will not find a space in DC with more character or style. it is a great event space for a wedding, corporate event, launch of a new product, special birthday party for family and friends, the list goes on and on!! you must come see the space- you will fall in love with it!

    Sent on 10/10/2015
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Toolbox DC is an amazing a unique DC venue with a mix of vintage charm and modern aesthetics. Both our ceremony and reception were at Toolbox, we used the large pilates room upstairs and the entire downstairs for a 100 guest wedding with the smaller yoga room as catering staging. We had the ceremony upstairs, cocktails downstairs, a buffet dinner upstairs, then dessert food truck outside. There was good space for all guests while still feeling like a party. Irina Batchelor the event coordinator was such a pleasure to work with. She listened to our ideas and shared suggestions of the best way to make what we wanted work. She also suggested vendors where we had gaps and all her recommendations were amazing (seriously amazing). She made us feel at ease that no matter what happened she would (and did) deliver an amazing party for us. We really feel we are now a part of the Toolbox family.

    Sent on 11/24/2015
  • J

    Jeff · Married on 09/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved Toolbox, and are so happy we decided to have our wedding there. A few things in particular that made it the right location for us:
    1) Excellent location, right in the heart of Dupont Circle, but tucked in an alley so you feel you have some privacy.
    2) It's a beautiful space. Two floors, and looks amazing. The pictures on this site look great, but still don't do it justice. And Irina (see below) will help you to decorate the way you want it to look.
    3) IRINA! She helped us to plan and coordinate the ceremony and reception and she is fantastic. It made our lives so much easier knowing that we had a pro on the case.

    We are very grateful to Toolbox.

    Sent on 10/12/2015
  • H

    Hannah · Married on 10/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Toolbox made the absolute perfect venue for our 200-person wedding reception. I can't speak highly enough about the space or the team. We were looking for something funkier than a traditional hotel or wedding venue and Toolbox's gallery vibe with its historic brick walls, reclaimed wood floors, and large glass staircase made for a modern and interesting space. We were even able to pick and choose which paintings by resident artist Kiril Jeliazkov we wanted to have hung and where.

    We used all three rooms at Toolbox for our party--the large downstairs gallery and the two upstairs pilates rooms (which were completely cleared out for us). For 200 people, the space was nicely full without feeling too crowded. There are also three bathrooms which worked perfectly for all of our guests. Toolbox is located in an alley behind Connecticut Ave and my only advice would be to encourage people to enter from 19th Street. It can be a bit hard to find but we liked the fact that it was tucked away.

    Finally, the team at Toolbox lead by event planner Irina Batchelor helped with everything from facilitating our deliveries to set up the day of our event to even clean up at 2am after our party ended. They were flexible, gracious, and absolutely wonderful to work with the entire time.

    Sent on 10/27/2014
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I fell in love with Toolbox the moment I walked in and knew it would be the perfect place for our wedding. Aside from the amazing building and décor, Irina, the events manager for Toolbox is absolutely amazing. You will never find a more delightful and helpful person who is with you every step of the way and goes above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable and satisfied and never worrying about anything. Irina will help you with everything, from picking vendors, setting up appointments, coordinating and emailing with vendors, arranging visits, picking out and setting up decorations and more. She is incredibly responsive whether calling, emailing or swinging by the venue. I never felt more comfortable or in better hands. Not only does she remember and take care of every detail but she is truly excited for your special day and wants it to be more amazing and wonderful than you can ever imagine.

    You will not find a more amazing venue in DC. We loved everything about Toolbox, from the modern design and chic décor to the welcoming and flexible staff. The multiple rooms on two levels let you have everything in one place. We had our cocktail hour, ceremony, dinner and reception all at Toolbox which was nice for us and our guests. The brick, glass, and wood make for such a unique facility and make for wonderful pictures. They all turned out amazing. The off street location gives it a coolness factor that cannot be matched. The artwork is an added bonus and was a wonderful addition to our wedding. Our guests cannot stop talking about what an amazing wedding we had and what a unique venue it was. Irina, Toolbox and the rest of the staff will always have a special place in my heart and memories. I can't imagine my wedding without them and I am so thankful I found Toolbox and that Toolbox found Irina. They make for a wonderful and stellar pair.

    Sent on 10/27/2014
  • C

    Chad · Married on 08/30/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a truly incredibly and magical venue! I can easily say that this was one of the best decisions - hands down- that we made for all of our wedding plans. The team at The Toolbox was BEYOND flexible and simply became members of our own family! Honestly, "customer service" doesn't even begin to explain the tremendous care and attention to detail we received throughout the nearly YEAR-long time frame worth of planning with this group.

    From the day one, we were welcomed into their space, treated with the utmost respect and actually felt like their team was just as invested in our special day as we were. Irina served as our event coordinator, counselor, confidant and best friend. We were taken aback by the fact that Irina wanted to make our day even better than what we could have imagined -- and even then, she over-delivered!

    Our wedding consisted of numerous moving pieces and Irina was on top of everything. From helping coordinate plans with the caterer,secure DC's best mixologist, decorating the venue, choosing the artwork to be displayed during the wedding and allowing us multiple, multiple visits to help prepare and brainstorm - Irina really went above and beyond. She and her team made amazing accommodations for our crazy requests and without ever batting an eye. They were so courteous and gracious at every turn and I hope we get to throw another fun event there.

    We highly recommend booking any event at The Toolbox! We can guarantee you will be so impressed with their team and beautiful space. What an extraordinary gem right in the heart of Dupont Circle!!

    Sent on 10/06/2014
  • User4427400 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a beautiful and unique setting for a wedding, and an easy location for guests (near hotels, restaurants, etc.). However, the reason that we went with this venue is because Irinia, who coordinates all the events, was amazing. She was so helpful from day one-- gave me lots of great vendor suggestions, advised me on prices, was incredibly responsive, and calmed me down when I was stressed. The whole team there is great and works very hard. They always gave me all the time I needed to meet, talk, and look around the place on several occasions. Toolbox is very flexible and gives you the space to design whatever kind of look/feel you're going for, and they also have lot of creative suggestions. I never for one second worried about Irinia remembering all of the details or dropping the ball. I highly recommend it!

    Sent on 09/26/2014
  • K

    Koki · 0000-00-00

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Toolbox was the perfect venue for our company's 10th Anniversary Party. Not only was the space itself gorgeous, Irina, the coordinator was a gem to work with. We had ~150 guests which fit the space perfectly for a cocktail-style event with dance floor. Irina gave us quite a few money saving tips which helped our overall bottom line and went above and beyond for us. Hope to work with her again soon, and will be suggesting to friends and colleagues.

    Sent on 10/24/2016
  • E

    Erin · Married on 10/18/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have been more thrilled to work with Irina at Toolbox! The venue checked everything on our must-have list, and our guests couldn't stop talking about how beautiful the space was. Irina was so wonderful and walked us through the space several times to make sure we could accommodate everything we wanted, and she was on-site the day before and all day of our wedding to receive vendors, help with setup, and make sure the wedding went off without a hitch! We're so glad we decided to have our wedding here! Highly, highly recommend!

    Sent on 10/07/2016
  • C

    Dani · Married on 04/12/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Toolbox is one venue we knew NOT to go to because it would be the most expensive of all the places we've seen but like fools we went anyway lol. As soon as we saw those beautiful burnt orange doors and walked inside to those AMAZING hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and beams; we were SOLD! Irina's beautiful and warm smile definitely suckered us in too!

    From our first contact Irina was so relaxed, calming and reassuring that it would be an amazingly beautiful event and she was right. She allowed us to hold a couple of meetings in the space so our vendors could get a feel for it and replied to every email and text I sent without missing a beat. She didnt hesitate to offer her opinion on the minor decorative additions to the space to make it even more appealing. Toolbox is such a beautiful venue that it doesnt need much decorating - the only additions we made were a few uplights on the dance floor to tie in the red color scheme. What's super cool too is you're allowed to pick the art work you'd like displayed on your wedding day from the amazing artist Kiril Jeliazkov (also an owner of Toolbox). Of course with everything going on we completely forgot. but Irina, like the superwoman she is, chose absolutely lovely photos of couples which were very beautiful and sexy.

    What really made me give Toolbox 5 stars for flexibility, quality of service and responsiveness is the fact that our outdoor ceremony was supposed to be rained out. We kept a seriously close eye on the weather, as any couple getting married outside would. Evenup until the day before, we were hoping to have it outside but unfortunately the weather gods were not playing nice. However, Irina and the owners were gracious enough to allow us to have our 15-20 min ceremony upstairs. They will never know how sincerely appreciative we are for this kind gesture.

    Irina and Toolbox DC - you guys are absolutely amazing and thank you SO MUCH for everything you did for us on our wedding day!

    D&G

    Sent on 05/08/2015
  • P

    Philip · Married on 10/20/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Unbelievably special venue

    We held our entire wedding at Toolbox - ceremony and reception - for about 115 guests. Those looking for mid-sized DC venues need not look any further; just take a visit and look at the beautiful space. Alex was great to work with and made the experience feel really special for us. They were extremely flexible and helpful throughout the planning process and leading up to the wedding, and allowed our vendors the space they needed. We had so many compliments from our guests about the space, and we loved the art exhibition that was downstairs. Overall it was an incredibly special night in our city made even more special by Toolbox.

    Sent on 12/03/2018
  • M

    Meredith · Married on 01/27/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We viewed what seemed like every possible wedding venue in DC. After stepping foot inside Toolbox, no other venue could compare. For anyone who is looking for a warm and cozy space to host a wedding that will be uniquely yours, this is it. In addition to the gorgeous exposed brick, hardwood floors, and stunning artwork, the service of the staff here is unmatched. During our original meeting with Alex, he showed us around the venue, and spent about 2 hours with us talking over options for decorating, sharing personal stories and laughter, and making us feel at home. In addition, he shared valuable money-saving advice to help reduce wedding costs. Did I mention this was BEFORE we had a contract?
    We also chose to hire Irina as our Day of Coordinator. This was the BEST decision we made for our wedding. If you're DIYing it, and it is your first wedding, you may have several questions about timelines, negotiating with vendors, etc. Irina and the Toolbox crew were always available to answer questions for us, and help think through the logistics of the day. She was an invaluable resource to have in the planning process - I cannot imagine doing it without her!!!
    W already loved Toolbox for its charm, but when we arrived for the wedding, we were absolutely blown away. The space looked unbelievable! Irina's hard work and attention to detail really paid off - everything looked amazing, was impeccably designed, and in order. She helped coordinate the efforts of our other vendors so it all came together perfectly. She and the Toolbox crew did everything they could to make sure the event was exactly what we wanted and totally worry-free. We couldn't have asked for anything more.
    Aside from us, so many of our guests fell in love with the space - we received so many compliments on the venue's unique and quirky characteristics that made it so unique, cozy, and fun! It was such an amazing night, and we have the Toolbox Team to thank!

    Sent on 02/20/2018
  • M

    Morgan · Married on 10/08/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Irina is amazing and completely dedicated to helping you have the best event possible! As long as your event can handle guests being split between two floors (this was perfect for dividing the craziness of the dance party and the calmness of dinner for our guests), then this place is awesome! Definitely encourage everyone to get there via metro or Uber as there is no parking, but the location is so incredibly accessible that it shouldn't be an issue for most folks. All of our guests are still talking about how great the venue was, and when it rained all day we sure were glad we picked an all-indoor space!

    Sent on 10/12/2016
  • User6491401 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I looked into A LOT of venues for our wedding, but as soon as I saw Toolbox I knew it was perfect for us. The venue itself is absolutely gorgeous and I loved the two story layout- we had the ceremony upstairs, cocktail hour downstairs, dinner upstairs, and reception downstairs. It worked really well for us to have everything in the same space, especially as DC weather can be tricky. As we were on a strict budget, it was important to me to be able to provide my own alcohol, etc. to cut down on costs- this was a no go for most venues we looked at, but Toolbox was fine with it. We loved the privacy and intimacy of the alley and the art/lighting is amazing. We didn't do any decorating because the space is so gorgeous. Irina was by far the best part of this venue. We were hesitant about spending so much on the venue, but working with Irina sold us. She is amazing at her job and went above and beyond to make sure everything went smoothly. She might be the most communicative/responsive/professional person I have ever met, which was worth the piece of mind alone. If there were any kinks that night, I had no idea. She also had great recommendations of other vendors that were spot on.

    Sent on 05/01/2016
  • B

    Breanna · Married on 09/12/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we started this process the only thing we knew was that we wanted a space that "felt like us" (whatever that means) and allowed us to have a really good party without worrying about whether people would make it home safely. Toolbox easily accomplished both aims.

    The downstairs art gallery and upstairs pilates spaces created the perfect intimate and welcoming feel for our mid-sized celebration of approximately 75 guests. The space feels simultaneously cozy and inviting while accommodating all aspects of the wedding (ceremony, dinner, pictures and dancing). The building is located in an alley, which can make it a little hard to find, but if you ask a few friends to arrive early and guide guests from the street address on Connecticut Ave and the alley entrances, it is easy to get people seated on time. The space is so naturally beautiful and the artwork is so colorful that you could get away without spending any money on additional decorations. We added some uplighting downstairs for cocktail hour and dancing (only about $150 total), some string lights upstairs and Irina added some tulle over a window. We were thrilled with how perfect it all looked.

    As all of the other reviewers have said, working with Irina was one of the better parts of the wedding planning process. Irina is a consummate professional. She is friendly, helpful, talented, warm, accommodating, innovative and an all-around pleasure to work with. She gave us several weeks' notice before going out of town for vacation, allowed us to do a few separate walkthroughs with parents and vendors, worked with our friend to decorate the place beautifully, suggested our DJ (who was also great), and helped coordinate every detail of the day - including flipping the ceremony space into a beautiful dinner location during the cocktail hour. My husband and I are not overly picky people, but even if we were I still think that working with Irina would have been a breeze.

    Sent on 09/27/2015
  • K

    Kevin · Married on 08/22/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Toolbox is a BEAUTIFUL space, and it was the perfect venue and atmosphere for our wedding reception. In addition to the great space, Irina really went above and beyond what we expected, spending hours before and after the event making sure every detail was just right. She was extremely helpful at all times before, during, and afterwards. We got several compliments from guests about the space, and we can't imagine a better place to have a reception in the heart of DuPont Circle.

    Sent on 09/24/2015
  • User6427048 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Toolbox is an incredible venue unlike anything you will find in the DC area. We were able to have the ceremony in the beautiful second floor, move to the downstairs art gallery for cocktail hour, and then use the entire venue for the reception. It made for an incredible environment that we loved. Irina, the events coordinator, is incredibly kind and a real pleasure to work with. She responds immediately to questions, and was available on multiple occasions for us to drop by and talk about layout, decorations, flow, etc . She assured us that everything would go smoothly and she coordinated most of the day-of logistics. When the day came, everything worked, and Irina was a big part of the reason why.

    If you do use Toolbox, just be aware of the restrictions so that you can navigate them early on. There is no running water and there are restrictions on open flames and any kitchen equipment that produces smoke. These are things caterers can deal with if they're aware of them. Also, for equipment rentals, all chairs and tables require felt tips, which can generally be supplied without issue. The venue is not particularly large, so it might not work for more than 140-150 people for a wedding (we had 120), but the size was great for us. It was cozy yet comfortable, and definitely helped make the dance floor feel full and lively.

    As Toolbox is an indoor venue that hosts a variety of events, they do not have special seasonal rates. This was a little disappointing, as it's commonly offered by other venues in the area, but we believe it was worth the money. We planned for an after party at a bar nearby, and the proximity of Toolbox to the bar and to our guests' hotels was hugely valuable. I would recommend Toolbox to any couple looking to get married in DC who's looking for a non-traditional venue!

    Sent on 02/28/2016
  • D

    David · Married on 10/14/2017

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This was the first venue we toured, and it was the best. We loved the space and the flow between the two levels. There was some confusion at the start between the mangers, but we were able to work it all out with minimal stress. The house manager, Crystal, went above and beyond on our wedding day. She helped set everything up, dealt with issues when they came up -- like our guest book pen running out of ink, and made sure that all our guests were safe and having a good time. She made the day stress-free for my husband and me. We recommend Toolbox for your venue and ask for Crystal.

    Sent on 11/06/2017
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 06/16/2018

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    We had both our ceremony and reception at Toolbox, and it was absolutely perfect. The space is a little pricey, but it's so architecturally beautiful that we didn't need to spend a ton of money on decorations. We decided not to get any decorations for the ceremony upstairs and to only do simple eucalyptus centerpieces for dinner, and I'm so glad we did. It was breathtaking upstairs. Alex was our point of contact leading up to the wedding, and he was full of ideas whenever we met with him. Our only issue was with the house manager that Toolbox hired for the day of the wedding - she had a negative attitude and wasn't as helpful as promised. In the end, it all worked out, and we're super happy we got married at Toolbox!

    Sent on 07/16/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review