Weddings

Tom Nicol Photography Reviews

Tom Nicol Photography View more information

84 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 84
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

30 User photos

Sort by:
  • Erin
    Erin C. Married on 11/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    An Absolute Pleasure To Work With

    Tom was so fun to work with for our wedding. We met him for our engagement photos over 2 years before our wedding (thanks COVID), and throughout the years he was still checking in on us, making sure all our questions were answered prior to our big day. On the wedding day, Tom was fun, easy to work with, and made me (the bride) laugh even when I was stressed. He indulged my requests for silly angles and strange requests. We cannot recommend Tom highly enough. It was a privilege to have him at our wedding.
  • Devin
    Devin S. Married on 09/24/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Tom is a great photographer!

    Tom is genuinely such an amazing person to work with. We had such a great day with him on our wedding day. We had a very windy wedding day and Tom literally ran after my veil after it flew off my head and almost went into the creek (even took a picture of it where it landed :) ). He truly went above and beyond and even did a late night session with my husband and I which turned out beautifully. Working with him was a great decision and it's really refreshing to work with someone who truly loves his art and cares a lot about making your pictures the best he can. Thank you so much Tom!!
  • L
    Lauren B. Married on 08/13/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Tom made our day perfect!

    We had Tom as our photographer for our wedding that was suppose to take place august 2020 and with the pandemic and having to reschedule that next year of 2021. I was extremely stressed to delay the wedding but Tom was very understanding and so kind through it all! Fast forward to the day of! He captured moments I will look back on forever! He was easy and fun to work with! Very happy with how everything turned out! I will recommend him to anyone!
  • Sydney
    Sydney E. Married on 06/26/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful experience!

    My husband and I were fortunate to have Tom take our engagement photos in October 2020 and our wedding photos this past June 2021! Tom could not have been more laid back, flexible, patient, or easy to work with. He is also extremely reasonably priced for the amount of time he offers and the number of photos he takes. He captured the immense joy and happiness of our wedding day from start to finish. We've received many compliments on our photos, specifically on how well Tom captured our love for each other, our families, and our friends. We highly recommend Tom!!
  • L
    Laura A. Married on 06/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful Photographer for our Elopement

    Tom was professional, fun, easy to work with, and we loved our pictures. We had a very small microwedding, and Tom made every person feel special. I would highly recommend using him!
  • A
    Alana H. Married on 02/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Tom is the best!

    Tom was amazing to work with! He went above and beyond in every way. We are so grateful he is who we chose for our photographs. Our wedding day was super rainy and cold, and he was still able to make our photographs beautiful works of art that we know we will cherish forever. We love them and have gotten amazing commentary from everyone we have shown our photos to! You will not regret working with Tom!!
  • K
    Kristina R. Married on 11/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Tom was amazing and everything about our day was perfect with him!

    Tom was wonderful! So accommodating and our photos came out amazing! He did such a great job, he was there for every perfect moment on our wedding day and he captured every perfect moment! He also did our family photos which came out amazing too!! We would highly recommend him and will use him again in the future for our yearly family photos!! Thanks Tom for being such a big part of our day and being such a great photographer!!
  • M
    Michele L. Married on 07/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great pictures!

    Tom was great to work with. He did a great job capturing our special day. He took lots of pictures, which were absolutely stunning. Thank you!!
  • Jessica
    Jessica W. Married on 06/29/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Value, Great Pictures

    My husband and I really enjoyed having Tom share in our special day in June. We enjoyed his company very much and Tom was willing to go above and beyond to get the right shot at the right angle for us. He literally walked through fire and ice for us as out engagement shoot was outdoors in February and our wedding was outdoors on a 90 degree morning! Tom Nicol photography also offers great value for great pictures; many other photography services offer a set amount of time at a set price, then require you to purchase additional time and add ons (thumb drives, photo books, etc.) ala carte which can add up quickly. For a reasonable price, we got GORGEOUS pictures of both an engagement shoot and our wedding, a photo book, online gallery with printing rights and a thumb drive. I am really looking forward to working with Tom in the future for other memorable occasions.
  • C
    Courtney Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Blown away!!

    Tom did an AMAZING job as the photographer for my wedding a few weeks ago. Several people at the wedding commented on how he "did not miss a beat" and that definitely shows in the pictures... he really did capture everything. He is very personable, kind and takes his work seriously. It was a pleasure to work with him and I can't recommend him enough.
  • O
    Omar R. Married on 04/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic Photographer!

    Tom did a fantastic job as our wedding photographer! He spent the entire wedding day with us to get pictures of every detail, and he was very patient with our crazy family members.
    He knew the location very well; so he was able to take beautiful pictures inside, outside, daytime, and nighttime.
    He returned the pictures very quickly and was kind to us throughout the process.
    We can't recommend him highly enough.
  • L
    Liz H. Married on 02/23/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Stunning photos!

    Tom was wonderful to work with. We are so happy we chose him to photograph our wedding. The photos are stunning! His attention to detail is amazing and he is so kind and easy going. We could not be happier...highly recommend!
  • Stacey
    Stacey S. Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely amazing!

    Tom is absolutely the best! He is local to the Geneva area and knows all the best spots for engagement and pre wedding photos. We went with his suggestion for me to get ready at the Herrington Inn and Spa and it was a stunning place right on the Fox River and the photos taken there were gorgeous. He has a great working relationships with other vendors which was fantastic to see with how he and our videographer worked together. He is willing to get down on the ground to get different angles and was great at directing us when need be to get the right shot. All our engagement photos were beautiful but we were beyond impressed with the photos from the wedding. We love love love them all and don't know how we will we choose which we order for our memory book or to have as prints to hang on the walls of our new home. He also made a slide show using our first dance song and I tear up every time I watch it because it is so beautiful. We weren't expecting the slide show so it was such a lovely surprise. We just can't say enough good things about Tom's work and how much fun it was to work with him on our special day.
  • M
    Melinda Married on 10/05/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom is fantastic!! He did our engagement photos as well as our wedding, and they are absolutely breathtaking. He truly has an eye for great shots and is very knowledgeable of the surrounding Chicagoland area for really cool photos.

    Whether you have specific pictures in mind or need help thinking of things, he's extremely flexible in that regard. I had a few things I wanted specifically but he managed to give us some cute ideas (Husband stealing a donut from the treats table before the wedding? So fun!)

    Not only did he work to help accommodate our budget, but he stayed a little late for some last minute family photos my mom wanted. Also, he stood out in pouring rain to get the COOLEST shot of me and my husband.

    If you want photos you can look back on and be so proud of, this is your guy. Thanks again for everything Tom!

    Tom Nicol Photography's reply:

    Thank you very much Melinda, for your kind words and especially for taking the time to write them. I know you're busy, and it means a lot to me. I enjoyed my time with you and Luke very much. Tom...
  • L
    Lorna Married on 07/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom is wonderful! The angles, lighting, and perspective that he takes are just perfect. He did our engagement and wedding photos and we could truly feel the emotions that we felt on those days through our photos. Love being able to relive it all. Tom is exceptionally responsive, accommodating, and upfront with everything. We plan to recommend him to everyone we know. Thank you, Tom!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 07/14/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom did both our engagement pictures and wedding photos and he did an absolute wonderful job. Tom was very easy to connect with and he is very patient! He did an amazing job getting all the different pictures that we wanted with having 250 people on the big day. So grateful that we found Tom!
  • V
    Victoria Married on 04/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom is, hands down, the BEST photographer! He was always quick to get back to us, flexible with out schedules and knew exactly how to capture our special day! We are so pleased with all of our engagement and wedding pictures :) We would definitely recommend ten times over!
  • Maddie
    Maddie Married on 03/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    There is too much to say in just one review. Tom was absolutely wonderful and we would highly recommend him to anyone getting married in the St. Charles/Geneva area. Our day was made so special because of him and we have perfect, lasting pictures to remember it by!

    Looking back on the day, I would say the most important vendor is your photographer. This is the vendor who will have the most contact with you, your wedding party, family, and friends. After the day is done, the thing you remember it by is your pictures. It is not someone you want to choose lightly!

    To give a few examples of how great Tom Nicol Photography is...

    Tom was there for the entire day. And because of that, he captured everything - it feels like we are re-living our wedding day when we look back on all the pictures! It also showed he genuinely cared about you as his client!

    He is a very skilled photographer. We received a wide range of photos on our day - the "intagram worthy" pictures, traditional pictures, candid pictures, party pictures, and ceremony pictures. He knew how to position everyone to get a great shot, work with the weather (we had a very sunny and windy day), and which pictures were the best to capture - even when we were not present or busy (like during the ceremony).

    Finally, we found that some wedding vendors ran like a business and lacked that personal connection. Tom, however, greeted us with hugs on the morning of our wedding, stayed until the end of the night, offered advice in planning, and overall was a great addition to have with us on our wedding day!

    Thank you, Tom!
  • A
    Annie Married on 02/24/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We can not say enough good things about Tom! We had such an amazing experience throughout the entire process, from our first consultation to the wedding day. Tom was an absolute JOY to work with. He was friendly, helpful, professional, punctual, and fun every step of the way. He is just such a kind person with a true gift. Tom captured so many special moments we will treasure forever, and we will forever be grateful for all he did to capture the best day of our lives.
  • R
    Rachel Married on 11/18/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When it came to wedding planning, photography was one of the checklist items that I cared most about, but that I felt was the hardest to select a vendor for. There are so many options to choose from, and price ranges can vary greatly for seemingly no reason at all. Tom was our choice for photographer first and foremost because you can tell upon meeting him he is one of the nicest, most genuine people. He is accommodating, and cares solely about working with your schedule to make sure planning is not a hindrance to you. He takes his job seriously, and came so well prepared to our first meeting that we had no doubt he would be the perfect photographer for us. AND, not to mention, he is one of the highest quality, most reasonably priced photographers out there. His pictures are gorgeous, and he has SUCH an attention to detail that, when I flip through our photos, I can instantly put myself back in the moments of our day. He also spent way more hours with us during the day than what was initially talked about, and he went above and beyond to accomplish all of the 'shot list items' I had sent him beforehand. All in all, Tom was truly a spectacular vendor to have participate in our day. We weren't the only ones who thought so, as our other vendors raved about how nice he was, how professional he was, and most importantly, how beautiful his photos are. We lucked out finding such an affordable, yet world class photographer for our day, and he comes highly recommended from my husband and me!!!!!
  • J
    Jeff Married on 11/11/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom was incredible! After checking out Tom’s portfolio, we fell in love with his style and how he used nature and other surroundings in his shots. After booking Tom, we setup an initial meeting to discuss the wedding plans and so he could understand more about what we were looking for. We really loved how personal he made the whole experience. He took the time to get to know us as people and really took the time to plan out and personalize our day. Tom included a complementary engagement session, which we chose to do at the Morton Arboretum. Pictures were great! Rain did not stop Tom from producing amazing pictures. For our wedding day, Tom arrived early to capture the bridal party getting ready, pictures of the rings, flowers, etc. He worked quick and smooth and was very easy going and adjusted to every situation. He stayed until the very end of our wedding, and was able to capture our entire night. He worked so hard and put in an extremely long day, and he maintained such a calm, cool, and sweet attitude the entire time. The final wedding pictures were breathtaking!!! I am really not one to like pictures of myself. He put together a slideshow to our first dance song, and both my wife and I teared up. I have watched that slideshow over and over and still can’t get enough. He truly captured the entire day! What was also great to see, is he really got around to all the tables and caught pictures of people my wife and I weren’t able to spend a lot of time with during the wedding. That really meant a lot to us. I cannot say enough great things about Tom, you certainly will not be disappointed! We could not have asked for a better experience.
  • B
    Brittany Married on 10/06/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom is great! We had him for our engagement and wedding photos. He is easy to talk to about what you are looking for but also has great ideas of his own. Whenever we had questions he was quick to respond and was very professional. Our pictures turned out amazing. We are so glad someone recommended him to us! We couldn't thank you enough Tom!!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 09/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom was amazing!! He made our engagement shoot seamless. We picked the coldest day to take them outside. But once we saw the end results the pictures where beautiful and definitely worth it. We truly could not of been any happier with the pictures. Tom really took the time to get to know us and what we where looking to capture. Thank you!! Thank you!! Thank you!!
  • V
    Victoria Married on 07/01/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom is fantastic! I contacted Tom over a year from our wedding date. He met me at a coffeeshop to have a conversation about my vision and what I was looking for in a photographer. We had two ceremonies, a reception, and two separate photo locations planned for the same day, so I needed someone willing to accommodate a long day of logistics. Tom was SO attentive, encouraging, and knowledgeable about what was possible. From our initial meeting through booking through the following year of planning, he kept in touch via email to ensure plans for the day of. We booked Tom for an unlimited hour package for less than $3000--this does not compare to so many other vendors with very limited hour packages and high prices. He also secured a second photographer for an hour of additional photos at a third location at a great price within the final cost. Tom was so accommodating and captured every moment and location. I valued his suggestions and help with making the day move along smoothly. He captured beautiful photos, and I'm so happy with them. You will not regret working with Tom for your special day!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 05/20/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom was an absolute dream to work with! He is extremely kind, patient, and passionate about photography! We chose Tom as our wedding photographer and also to take our save the date photos. Tom spent several hours walking around Chicago with us for our save the date photos, and they turned out amazing! He had a lot of great ideas and suggestions that came across beautifully in our photos. He was very responsive with any questions we had, and his calm personality was extremely helpful during planning. The week leading up to our wedding we were told it was 100% chance of rain and he texted us ideas for unique weatherproof photo spots in Chicago! He also surprised me on our wedding day and came extra early to take photos of my bridesmaids and I getting ready at the salon which turned out beautiful! Luckily the rain stopped during our trolley ride throughout Chicago and Tom went above and beyond to get the perfect shot! Our wedding photos are absolutely amazing and we received so many compliments on how nice Tom was the day of our wedding. We would definitely reach out to Tom again with any photography needs!! Highly recommend!