Skip to main content
Weddings

Thomas Shull Photography Reviews

Thomas Shull Photography

Thomas Shull Photography

Phoenix, AZ
5.0 out of 5 rating, 25 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
5.0 out of 5 rating
5.0 out of 5 rating
25 Reviews
99% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

25
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • K
    Kennedy A. Sent on 02/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience!

    All I could say when we got our photos back was WOW! TJ is the absolute best there is. We could not recommend him more. He is super knowledgeable about all the amazing hidden gems of Arizona and can give plenty of advice on choosing the right spot. However, none of that compares to his eye for the perfect lighting and direction for posing. He clearly has a ton of experience, with his attention to details that we never would have thought of. We are not the most photogenic, but he made us feel and look amazing! There was not a single bad picture in the bunch and he captured so many incredible shots. We couldn’t believe how quickly he got them back to us too! You would think pictures this amazing would take so much longer. If you’re looking for an experienced photographer who goes above and beyond, there’s no doubt that TJ is the best one out there.
  • Stacy
    Stacy S. Sent on 12/29/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Photograher

    Working with TJ was such a pleasure! My husband HATES everything about taking photos, and TJ ended up being his favorite vendor because he put us at ease and made the experience fun. Both our engagement photos and wedding photos came out perfect. You can tell TJ is very experienced in photography and he was extremely organized throughout the whole planning process and kept us on our exact timeline on the wedding day.
  • Shannon
    Shannon C. Sent on 12/29/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Photographers EVER!

    TJ was AMAZING to work with throughout our entire engagement and wedding process. I am extremely picky about photos. I wanted a photo editing style that looked great, but also was timeless. Sometimes some of the presets and editing that other photographers use can look outdated after just a few years. TJs editing style is truly TIMELESS! I want these photos to hang on our walls forever! TJ has a way of making the colors so true and vivid. TJ is also extremely responsive and has an amazing turn around time. TJ got us ALL of our wedding photos back within 4 weeks which was incredible. Your photos are truly your only way to relive the amazing day and I am SO happy we went with TJ. I was a "COVID Bride" and had to deal with rescheduling and everything, but TJ made it stress free. He worked with us every step of the way, even meeting us for coffee with his team to ensure we were in great hands. I wanted a photographer who was personable, and would pick great poses, make sure our hair and everything looked great, and his team did an amazing job! We both have big families and they did an amazing job of organizing everyone. We also did our engagement photos with TJ and LOVED all of the options of places he could shoot them at. TJ and his team have above and beyond photography and editing skills, are personable, and responsive. Book with TJ, you will be SO happy you did!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • User4677713 Sent on 08/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amanda Echevarria and Julian Castellanos

    TJ was an absolute pleasure to work with! From the moment I reached out to him via Instagram to get more information about taking our engagement pictures at the slot Canyon and horseshoe bend, he was very responsive and helpful. Everything flowed easily and effortlessly from the first conversation, to setting a date/ time, signing the contract, making a deposit, and ultimately meeting the day of and having a truly relaxing and fun engagement photo shoot- one we'll always remember and cherish. TJ made us feel at ease and comfortable and the pictures were absolutely stunning! We would highly recommend him for all of your photographic needs/ wants!!!
  • Taryn
    Taryn Sent on 12/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Experience

    I honestly cannot recommend TJ more highly. He is so talented and professional and our photos from our engagement session/wedding are perfect. He also skillfully managed our very large families and bridal parties and complicated timeline which was not an easy task! The way TJ uses natural light and colors gives the photos a timeless, ethereal effect. I am so so pleased with our photos and I know that anyone who chooses TJ would feel the same way!
  • Shelly
    Shelly C. Sent on 04/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best of the best

    Thomas made our entire day amazing! He is so talented, not only in his photography skills but also in managing people. He made sure that we captured all of our dream photos.

    I had sent Thomas a list of sample photos that I wanted to recreate on my wedding day and periodically throughout the day, without me mentioning anything, he found ways to fit them in. I could perhaps say that he was more crucial than my day-of -wedding-coordinator in making sure that things kept moving. A few months before my wedding Thomas had me fill out a questionnaire of EVERY detail of my wedding day and he used every bit of that information to make sure that almost no photos that we wanted were missed and that we stuck to our timeline.

    I have referred Thomas to other friends who have had similar results. You will not go wrong by choosing this one of a kind, classic and organized photographer.
  • A
    Angelina Sent on 08/29/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If we could give TJ 10 stars, we would! From the moment we met TJ, he made us feel so comfortable. We flew out to Arizona for our engagement photos and to get to know TJ. From the beginning communication was quick and easy - our photos were not only stunning, TJ managed to capture our love in some amazing photos that we will forever cherish. Leading up to our wedding day, TJ was super communicative and supplied us with a list to fill out for all the wedding shots we wanted - super helpful! Day of our wedding, wow is all we can say! TJ was early, had the venue scouted and ideas for photos ready. TJ was like a fly on the wall, I barely noticed he was taking photos during the getting ready process - really calms a nervous bride. He was sweating bullets our entire wedding (93*) and you would've never known he was uncomfortable, his professionalism was out of this world. TJ worked so hard to capture all the beautiful moments and took the lead in getting us those million dollar shots. Not only did he work hard on the day of, he turned around 100 sneak peeks the very next morning. The sneak peeks are stunning, I can't imagine what other beautiful moments he captured. His work speaks for itself but his work ethic is something that any bride and groom want at their wedding. We've been married less than two weeks and have had guests and family members tell us our photographer was the best vendor we hired for his professionalism and non-stop photo taking (seriously, my Dad won't shut up about him). Thank you TJ so much for all your hard work, amazing photos and now, a friendship. We were TOO lucky to have you as our wedding photographer!
  • J
    Jacquelyn Sent on 12/27/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you are reading this, you should just stop looking and book Thomas. I reached out to Thomas with an idea for our engagement photos without knowing anything about the landscape in Arizona. He took my idea and made it so much better and easier. In the end our engagement photos were an absolute dream and i couldn't have asked for an easier photography session. We felt at ease and were able to just have fun. We knew immediately we had to book Thomas for our Wedding and we everything turned out beautifully! I loved every single photo and he captures some unique moments I wasn't able to actually see. Book Thomas now.
  • E
    Erika Sent on 04/21/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    TJ did our engagement photos in Sedona, AZ. He gave us several location options and knew exactly where to go once we were on West Fork Trail. TJ did a great job directing us so we could get some great photos. We are extremely happy with the pictures and can't wait to use them on our wedding website, save the dates and get a couple prints done for our home. I highly recommend TJ for any occasion. Thanks, TJ!
  • J
    Jennifer Sent on 12/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We couldn't be more pleased with TJ and the excellent work he did for our wedding. From the beginning he was professional and organized. We felt confident that he understood our vision and was able to follow through. On our wedding day he arrived early, captured moments we didn't even know were happening, and was very creative with ideas to make our memories even more special. Everyone loved him and he was very easy to work with. The final photos were timely and absolutely beautiful. Thank you, TJ!
  • User3237037 Sent on 10/03/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you want amazing photos to remember your special da, TJ is the one to book. I hate being photographed but TJ made it so easy and captured such natural moments! We even got polaroids of sneak peaks to look at when we sat down for dinner. It's so hard to choose which photos to hang in my house because the are all so beautiful! I would definetly recommend Thomas Shull Photographer for weddings and want to use TJ for family photos in the future!
  • J
    Jason Sent on 07/05/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Thomas was better than we could have hoped. We were an extremely needy and particular couple and he was able to provide service which exceeded our expectations. He was an invaluable asset on the day of our wedding, working with our videographer (whom he had never met before) to ensure we got all the shots we wanted, and even some we didn't know we wanted until he took them.
    Thomas was professional and patient, but most importantly the bride was thrilled with his photos!
  • S
    Stephanie Sent on 05/29/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We are so happy that we got to work with TJ for our engagement and wedding photos! His attention to detail and creativity made all the difference. On top of that, he is extremely organized and easy to work with. Thank you, TJ!
  • A
    Alexa Sent on 07/31/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    T.J. was wonderful! Pre-wedding, he answered all our questions and made sure he knew what moments we wanted documented. Our wedding day was unexpectedly rainy and T.J. was calm and reassuring during the entire day. He arrived early and drove around the property with me and my wedding planner looking for alternative photo locations when it looked like our original location would be too soggy. His ability to roll with punches helped me remain calm while all our carefully laid plans were changing. He captured every special moment from our day. The pictures and photo book turned out beautifully and we were so excited to share them with our family and friends!
  • H
    Holly Sent on 04/29/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Vows, desert washes and cleavers!

    TJ photographed my brother's wedding last summer. He showed up prepared and ready to capture every special moment. Without being disruptive TJ was able to snap great shots of both the bride and groom getting ready prior to anyone arriving. He arranged the reveal shots of the bride and groom, seeing each other for the very first time. He captured stunning photos of every emotion and facial expression. The wedding party was captured in a unique desert wash setting. Obviously not the typical backdrop for wedding photos. The photos turned out beautifully, they were raw and organic with a elegant touch of simplicity. Overall the wedding wasn't your typical style (the bride cut her cake with a cleaver), but TJ's photos were able to capture the couples unique sense of style. His images were delivered quickly and of high quality. Lovely expeirence!
  • A
    Adam Sent on 10/26/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    TJ was amazing, friendly, easy to work with, and helpful. The entire day he worked incredibly hard to make sure he captured all of the moments he asked for. He also made sure to get us a dozen or so edited photos within 48 hours of the wedding. He is the definition of professional. I would highly recommend hiring TJ to capture your big day.
  • M
    Matt Sent on 09/08/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Finding someone that does photography with a huge passion, quality work, and a beautiful unique style towards his/hers work can be difficult to find. Thomas Shull Photography exceeded my expectations and did amazing work. Easy to get a hold of and makes the process so easy for you. Great work, quick response and very passionate. You will have zero regrets with Thomas Shull Photography. Highly, highly recommend.
  • E
    Elizabeth Sent on 05/15/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I am so glad we found Thomas! I found his profile by searching for a photographer online and we booked him for our April wedding. I cannot say enough great things about him. Our wedding photos are absolutely stunning! He captured the day perfectly - he just showed up, went to work and took perfect pictures of all the little details and moments! Our family and friends are so impressed as well. His photography reflects the day even prettier and more enchanting than I remember!! He has amazing style and an eye for design and capturing the perfect image.
  • C
    Carissa Sent on 09/10/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I knew before my hubby proposed that I wanted Tj to be my photographer for my wedding one day. Being good friends since high school days, I have seen Tj grow and become so very talented with his photography, but when it came to our engagement photos and wedding photos he exceeded my expectations. He made me and my husband feel so comfortable and have fun with it. He was awesome with directing us to get the perfect shot and really listened to what we were wanting to get out of our photos. He was always prompt with time and stayed on schedule our wedding day with all the places we had to go. I'm so thankful to have Tj capture our day and create beautiful memories in photos that we can have forever! I would recommend him to anyone looking for a photographer and plan on having him for future moments that we want captured:)
  • S
    Shelley Sent on 04/30/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Thomas did an incredible job capturing our wedding--everyone who has seen the pictures is so pleased! He seemed to be everywhere throughout the day, and was able to get photos of all moments big and small, yet he never felt intrusive. He was extremely professional and helpful throughout the whole process, and had gave us great insight on things we never even would have though of (photo locations, timing, etc.). So glad we went with Thomas!
  • B
    Bobbi Sent on 05/19/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had the honor of having TJ as our photographer, what a great choice we made. I was struggling to find the right photographer for our wedding, and at the perfect time TJ was brought up and we couldn't say no to his amazing offer! He was wonderful! He was easy to get into contact with and would reply instantly. He came out to Malibu to shoot the best day of my husband & I's day & we wouldn't change anything about our memorable photos. He got everything we wanted, perfect lighting with a beautiful beach and was so patient with all of our crazy family! Have TJ do your wedding, you won't regret it!
  • M
    Miranda Sent on 05/01/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Thomas is such an awesome photographer! He photographed my husband & I's wedding. We recieved hundreds and hundreds of photos all edited within 4 days! He gave us polaroids the day of and no one could beat his prices. I would recommend TJ to anyone. His work is incredible and he is so easy to work with. Everyone was so impressed with his work that he has since photographed my brother's and many of my friends weddings. He's a 10/10 choice every time!
  • T
    Taylor Sent on 04/29/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The whole experience was so comfortable and exciting. Thomas was always great at getting back to us in a timely fashion and discussing even the most simple details (I wanted to talk about absolutely everything, sorry TJ). His images are stunning and he paid close attention to getting us the kind of pictures we wanted of our day. I couldn't thank TJ enough for being so fully devoted to the whole process to ensure we would have such beautiful memories captured!

  • User2595873 Sent on 05/03/2016
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Finding a wedding photographer was a big stress for me, but then I had a friend suggest Thomas Shull and he is truly amazing. His turnaround was within two weeks after the wedding even amongst the holidays, I was expecting a few months at the least. His use of natural light was so beautiful. He was easy to talk to and get along with. I have a large family and my only recommendation would be that he use an assistant to help corral everyone and help to keep things running smoothly. I was a worried he would be burnt out by the end of the day. Overall, it was a wonderful experience and we loved the images we got. Truly splendid.
  • A
    Angela Sent on 05/03/2016
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Thomas was very professional and on time (early actually)! He had great ideas and suggestions. I changed my mind about times and poses many times and he was very accommodating and his go with MY flow attitude was very calming. We got a few Polaroid pictures the day of which was nice to have something in my hand to actually see, then we received a photo book that was absolutely awesome and just beautiful. I think having a list of pictures you want with certain people would be very helpful. Thomas was great to work with and did an awesome job!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message