The Woman's Club of Evanston Reviews

57 | Evanston, IL
See photos, pricing and details

57 Reviews for The Woman's Club of Evanston

Recommended by 96%

57
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.9
57 The Woman's Club of Evanston Reviews
Sort by:
  • J

    Jessie · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our September wedding was at the Woman’s Club of Evanston and I worked with Dana to make our event come to life. She was both professional and fun to work with, and helped design and coordinate exactly what I wanted the day to look like. The team was extremely helpful and responsive to all questions throughout our year of planning. On the day-of, Michelle, the Manager, was our coordinator and she was the best. She went above and beyond and worked with all of our vendors to ensure everything flowed well and looked stunning. The venue is beautiful and all of the guests commented on how much they liked it. The stage was perfect for hosting a live band and the staff were very amenable to working with our band ahead of time to ensure they had everything they needed to perfrorm. Family and friends are still commenting on how much they loved the whole event and how easy it was to take public transportation to or park. Overall, we couldn’t be happier with how the day went or our experience planning. Thanks, Dana and Michelle!

    The Woman's Club of Evanston 1
    The Woman's Club of Evanston 2
    The Woman's Club of Evanston 3
    The Woman's Club of Evanston 4
    The Woman's Club of Evanston 5
    The Woman's Club of Evanston 6
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 07/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our Sunday afternoon (4:30) wedding at Evanston Women's Club. They were extremely responsive and open to our visiting the space as many times as we wanted. They worked seamlessly with all of our vendors. And, the space is gorgeous!

    The only initial frustration was that we couldn't have our rehearsal there because they were setting up for a Saturday wedding. But it wasn't a big deal; we ended up reserving a meeting room for free at a nearby hotel that was part of our room block.

  • M

    Maura · Married on 05/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue was gorgeous and we didn't have to bring in any decorations because it was beautiful as is.

  • G

    Gabriela · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used the Woman's Club of Evanston for our wedding in November of 2017. We needed a venue that could work for the entire day, from ceremony through reception. We looked around the Chicago area for venues that could hold enough people for the entire day and struggled to find exactly what we had imagined. The moment we walked into the Woman's Club we knew it was the venue for us! The building itself is beautiful and served as a wonderful place for both a ceremony as well as the party that followed. It was large enough to have everyone move downstairs for the cocktail hour and use the upstairs ballroom for both the ceremony and reception. Elizabeth was our point of contact and she was nothing short of spectacular. We didn't have the money to afford a separate wedding planner, and she helped make sure everything went smoothly. As the stress mounted she was always there to quickly provide answers or suggestions, and in the end everything came together beautifully. Thank you to both Elizabeth and the whole team at the Woman's Club of Evanston for making our day special!

  • P

    Pei · Married on 06/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose the Woman's Club of Evanston because it is stunning and versatile. We wanted a venue not too formal but with lots of characters. Even though we only had the first floor, there were plenty space to have the ceremony, cocktails, and reception. The event coordinator, Elizabeth, was amazing! We live in California but communication was never a problem. She was very flexible to show us the venue as much as we needed, work with our friends/family and very responsive to any questions. She also helped coordinate on our big day. Everything went great so that we got to spend some quality time with only our family. We are so happy to have our wedding at the Woman's Club and have Elizabeth to be part of it. Thank you for a special day!

    Sent on 07/18/2017

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Pei - We can not thank you enough for this terrific review! It was so wonderful getting to know you and your family - we were honored to be a part of your wedding. All the best!
  • C

    Clare · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot say enough great things about Woman's Club of Evanston! The event coordinator, Elizabeth Anderson, was so helpful and accommodating throughout our wedding-planning process, and on our wedding day too! We had a wonderful experience with WCOE, from start to finish.

    Sent on 06/26/2017

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Clare - Thank you so much for this wonderful review! It was such a joy helping with your wedding and hosting the big day here at The Woman's Club of Evanston! Wish you and Mark all the best!
  • B

    Boris · Married on 04/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Book it! This place has so much character and the staff is super friendly and accomodating!

    Sent on 04/13/2017

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Boris - Thank you for this fantastic review! We loved getting to know you and Sidra. Thank you for choosing The Woman's Club to host your big day. All the best!
  • J

    Joan · Married on 04/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Women's Club of Evanston combined the warmth and attention you expect from a small club with the ease and confidence you expect with a much more expensive commercial enterprise. Elizabeth with events planning not only responded quickly to requests, she also reached out with pre-emptive suggestions and possibilities. The Club recommended Jerry Carlson of That Special Event who provides perfection with a smile.
    My daughter said it was 'the happiest day of her life' and I think you, Women's Club of Evanston.

    Sent on 04/13/2017

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Joan - Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We were so honored to help with Emily and Seth's wedding and look back on it fondly. All the best to you and your family!
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so glad that we chose the Woman’s Club of Evanston for our wedding ceremony and reception. (We had ~135 guests and rented the full space.) From the charm of the downstairs area and sun porches to the high ceilings and amazing natural light in the ballroom, the venue made our wedding look classic and elegant with barely any decorative effort needed from us. We got countless compliments from our guests about how beautiful the space was. The location was also perfect as it was easy to get to for our Chicago friends but less expensive than staying downtown for those who traveled here.

    Without exception, every communication we had with Elizabeth through the planning process was clear, prompt, professional and kind. On the day of the wedding, she and her assistant Colin went above and beyond to make sure we and our guests were comfortable and taken care of (including bringing me endless cups of tea, as I had laryngitis!). They were very flexible and accommodating throughout the process. Our other vendors (Froggy’s, Binny’s, Toast & Jam, Smilebooth) all worked seamlessly with the Woman’s Club to make the day run smoothly.

    A minor reason that we chose the Woman’s Club that we ended up really appreciating is that many other venues we considered consisted mainly of one large room, while the Woman’s Club has two floors and multiple smaller side rooms, seating areas, and lounges. This extra space meant that guests who needed to step away during the wedding (a bridesmaid who needed to nurse her babies, a friend with health issues who needed to lie down and rest) were able to have a comfortable and private space. It also meant that we had plenty of lovely locations to take pictures despite rainy weather.

    Overall we couldn’t have been happier with our choice of venue, from beginning to end, and our wedding day was absolutely magical.

    Sent on 04/05/2017

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Caitlin - Thank you so much for this lovely review! It was such a pleasure being a part of your big day. We wish you and Nick all the best!
  • D

    Diane · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding in October 2016 at the Woman's Club was absolutely perfect from start to finish. The staff at the WCE were very helpful in guiding the planning process. It's definitely a lot of work to hire the vendors and keep everyone organized and in the loop, and Michelle and Elizabeth played a very large part in that. The day of the wedding, we had our Ceremony upstairs facing the windows, which was very pretty. The cocktail hour was immediately after in the downstairs of the clubhouse, which worked out perfectly, and people really had great things to say about the space. All the guests were guided back upstairs for dinner and dancing, and I have to say, as a bride, I had no idea what the ballroom would look like after they "flipped the room", but when we walked in, everything was gorgeous! To be honest, it was even better than I had expected. We had 175 guests attend, and there was plenty of room for all the tables plus the dance floor and bar area, but it also felt cozy and intimate at the same time. My only complaint is that the day went way too fast and was over in a flash! I would recommend the Woman's Club to anyone for their special event, if they are looking for a unique and beautiful space that you can make your own.

    Sent on 12/04/2016

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Diane - thank you so much for this lovely review! It was truly a joy hosting your wedding ceremony and reception here at The Woman's Club of Evanston. We are sad it went so quickly as well! We wish you all the best!
  • B

    Barbara · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Woman’s Club of Evanston was my daughter’s first choice of wedding venue because of its unique, beautiful space and it comes highly recommended. The facilities manager and event coordination staff were superb and very responsive. The bride, groom, and guests were absolutely thrilled with the convenience of attending the ceremony, cocktail reception, and dinner/dancing in one location. Visit and book this beautiful property. It doesn't disappoint!

  • C

    Clare · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Woman's Club of Evanston was the perfect venue for our wedding day - I was looking for something unique, not your average banquet hall, and that's what we got! It's absolutely beautiful inside and our guests gave us great compliments on it. Elizabeth Anderson was so amazing to work with as well - friendly, flexible, accommodating, helpful...everything you'd want in a venue coordinator!

    Sent on 08/23/2016

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Clare - Thank you so much for this lovely review! We so enjoyed being a part of your big day - it was wonderful getting to know you and hosting your family and friends here at The Woman's Club of Evanston! We wish you all the best!!
  • User5368916 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Woman's Club is a gorgeous and historic venue perfect for a reception close to the lake! Elizabeth as the event coordinator was so awesome to work with! She was accommodating, flexible and and organized.

    Sent on 08/16/2016

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Thank you for your wonderful review! It was such an honor hosting your family and friends at The Woman's Club of Evanston for your wedding! We wish you all the best.
  • C

    Christine · Married on 04/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Elizabeth and the rest of the crew were so easy to work with before, during and after our wedding! The pace was beautiful and the staff was so helpful, it was a complete success!

    The club was so friendly and flexible regarding when we were able to drop off wedding the arrangements, pick-up all the leftovers, take pictures before the event, and run through the rehearsal! They could not have made it any easier.

    We are so thankful for the club and would recommend in a heartbeat.

    Sent on 05/02/2016

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Christine, thank you so much for your kind words and for reviewing us! It was a pleasure to work with you and we are so glad you enjoyed your wedding day. We wish you all the best!
  • L

    Lizzy · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Caitlin and her team were great to work with. The venue is gorgeous and definitely offers a romantic feel to any wedding reception. I appreciated that we were able to rent the entire space out for our wedding, giving us privacy and making it feel like it was ours for the night! The porch off the ballroom is a great place to set up a bar and dessert, leaving you more space for tables and the dance floor!

    Sent on 11/13/2015

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Thanks, Lizzy! It was a pleasure hosting your family and friends. Best wishes!
  • User5473088 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Woman's Club of Evanston was a perfect spot for our reception! The staff was so friendly and flexible. The ballroom is so classic and elegant!

    Sent on 09/27/2015

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Thank you for your wonderful review. We wish you the best!
  • User4517268 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a classy, romantic setting! We loved the french windows, the pale blue walls, the large hardwood dance space, and the wall lamps that gave a soft glow to the ballroom. It was the perfect, cozy setting for our wedding. Caitlin, the coordinator at the club, is also super responsive, chill and helpful. The pictures turned out beautiful as well. Thanks for a great wedding!

    Sent on 06/10/2015

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    We appreciate you taking the time to review us. We are so happy to hear you had a great time at your reception. Congratulations!
  • K

    Kurt · Married on 04/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Caitlin and the Woman's Club of Evanston was wonderful. Everything was very straight forward and easy. The space looked beautiful and was a perfect size for the 130 people I had.

    Sent on 05/04/2015

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Thank you for your review, Kurt! We are so glad you enjoyed your wedding at our Clubhouse. Best wishes!
  • T

    Tabitha · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Penelope was so amazing to work with! She is so incredibly sweet, quick to respond, and very flexible and helpful in all aspects of our wedding. The Women's Club is such a beautiful building in a great location. The insides are very vintage looking and so well kept--it hardly needs decorations because the building speaks for itself. If you are looking into the Women's Club, I would encourage you to choose it for the perfect venue for your wedding or event!

  • K

    Katie · Married on 07/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding reception using the whole club was perfect. We loved being the only event going on at the Club. The privacy was so nice. The downstairs for cocktails and moving upstairs for dinner later was magical. The management of the WCOE is so professional, responsive, and helpful in all areas. Having the email go out early in the week of the event to all vendors was especially helpful as coordination is key to a smooth event. Also the security that was recommended and required was very reassuring to the bridal family. Knowing any situation that may have arisen would have been handled professionally. Personal property was secure. J & L Catering provided wonderful food, service and headed by Jim Bailey constant support throughout the whole wedding planning process. The Woman's Club of Evanston has this down!

  • J

    Jodi · Married on 05/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Woman's Club of Evanston was the perfect venue for our wedding reception. Lisa Shary was very helpful throughout the planning process and worked well with all of our vendors. The Woman's Club has a great list of caterers (all the main Chicago ones) that you can use and also lets you bring in your own alcohol which saved us a lot of money.
    It was nice to have our cocktail hour on the first floor and then we moved upstairs to their gorgeous ballroom for dinner and dancing. The stage is perfect for a live band and the acoustics were great!
    We highly recommend looking at the Woman's Club as it's a gorgeous venue that provides enough of the basics (tables, chairs, etc) while still allowing you to customize the space and make it your own.

  • C

    Christine · Married on 05/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue was perfect for our May wedding with 135 guests. We had cocktail hour downstairs and the reception in the ballroom upstairs. The backdrop was perfect for the vibe we were going for -- it had an old world elegance, but didn't feel stuffy or antiquey.

    Lisa was great to work with. She is very prepared and has answers to most of your questions before you ask them. She was always prompt when we did have any questions throughout our year of planning. And she was always accommodating when we wanted to stop by on short notice with family or other vendors to check out the rooms.

    Everything went smooth on the day of. They have preferred caterers who know the venue and everything went seamlessly.

    You can spend more, or you can spend less, but you won't do any better than the Woman's Club!

  • User4213851 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Woman's Club of Evanston was the perfect venue for our daughter's wedding reception, and Lisa Shary coordinated the event with extraordinary professionalism and grace. She provided us with much-needed advice and was flexible and willing to make last-minute adjustments to the seating arrangements. The reception hall was a beautiful space with old-world charm - and our daughter's vision of the evening was realized in full.

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 07/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Woman's Club of Evanston was not only the most beautiful setting for our wedding reception, but the people you work with make everything stress free. I originally booked with the former coordinator at the club, and then Lisa took over. The transition was very easy and smooth. Lisa was helpful in answering all of my questions promptly. I was relieved when Lisa asked for my vendor contact list and informed me that she would be in contact with all of my vendors the week of the wedding to schedule timing and to give set up instructions. The week of your wedding is the busiest and most stressful time and this was a huge help. The Woman's Club was also very affordable! We were able to rent the entire venue out for 5 hours. It was wonderful having a venue completely to yourself for your special day. Note it is possible to have the venue longer, but those details would be arranged with Lisa. The Woman's Club of Evanston is absolutely stunning. My husband and I received an overwhelming number of compliments from our guest on this unique and special find.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review