Skip to main content
Weddings

The Woman's Club of Evanston Reviews

The Woman's Club of Evanston

The Woman's Club of Evanston

Evanston, IL
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 65 Reviews
View more information

65 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Awards

  • 65
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

23 User photos

  • Traci
    Traci Married on 04/03/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    An ideal Evanston wedding venue!

    The Woman's Club of Evanston was a dream venue! The location is great, especially for out of town guests. The building is gorgeous and it's so nice having the entire building to use for photos, ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. Gretchen was a wonderful partner as we navigated planning our wedding, balancing vendors, dealing with COVID and changing regulations. She was quick to respond, always so kind and gracious.

    The building is simply beautiful and it was very reasonably priced for the value (including the chairs, tables, dinnerware, etc.) The addition of the new up lights made the space look spectacular. Our guests loved the venue. We highly recommend the Woman's Club of Evanston for your wedding!
  • S
    S C Married on 09/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Can't think of a single complaint

    The Women's Club of Evanston is a gorgeous venue for a wedding, with a first-floor space for cocktails and a second-floor ballroom for ceremonies and reception dinners, all with a kind of understated-elegant decor which would work for a huge range of wedding styles. The venue manager, Gretchen, was delightful and patient and remarkably willing to accommodate last-minute changes of plan necessitated by the changing COVID situation. I couldn't think of a complaint about either the venue or its staff if I tried.
  • A
    Ak Married on 09/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely incredible--made for a PERFECT day

    My husband and I are Northwestern alumni, and we knew we wanted to be back in the area for our wedding. My now husband had to find a venue alone because I wasn't able to be in the area, and the Woman's Club has been absolutely perfect in working with me virtually and helping my husband organize. They were always quick to respond by email, answered every question we had, and have been the kindest, most understanding people we have had the pleasure of working with.

    Wedding planning has been stressful for us (and for businesses!) due to COVID. We had to make a ton of last minute changes, including having the ceremony at the Woman's Club, due to policy changes at our prior site. It was no problem at all--literally no fuss. For the rehearsal, they had set up the room so we can preview what it would be like for the ceremony, INCLUDING the piano for our musician to use as we practiced walking down the aisle. They also provided chairs/tables, and a microphone and lectern for the ceremony too.

    We also couldn't be bothered with grand decorations, because we were so tired of planning a wedding for the second time (first attempt in 2020 derailed by COVID), but the best part is you don't need them. The Woman's Club is beautiful. There's a wonderful garden just outside for photos (not to mention the front door), a beautiful 1st and 2nd floor sun room, and the ballroom is perfect with plenty of space for larger weddings and a dance floor.

    They also have a great list of vendors who they have worked with closely. We had the husband's parents on standby for coordinating because we didn't have a wedding coordinator--but you don't need one. Our caterer who knows the Club very well had everything on lockdown, and it makes clean up a breeze.

    I really can't say nice enough things. It was so easy to work with the Woman's Club, and I would encourage everyone to have both the ceremony and reception there. It will simplify your life, and also be absolutely beautiful. So many thanks and warm feelings to the Woman's Club for making our day perfect!
  • Michelle
    Michelle Married on 01/11/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Venue +supporting a great organization

    I’m so happy we selected the clubhouse of The Woman’s Club of Evanston as our venue for our wedding and reception. Dana was wonderful to work with and was able to help guide us in the details of planning our big day. The space provided separate spaces for our cocktail hour, ceremony and reception, with a stage for our band, which is what attracted us in the first place. I love the history and the architectural beauty of the Clubhouse, which provides a beautiful backdrop to your wedding photos. And when my wife and I understood that our rental fees enable The Woman’s Club of Evanston to focus on charitable giving in the community, we ended up being very proud to have selected this as our venue.
  • C
    Cass Married on 11/02/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent!

    The Woman's Club was a beautiful venue and so easy to work with. The team recommended phenomenal vendors and helped make the day of our wedding go so smoothly. They were even very understanding and helpful when we had to make a last minute change to our ceremony. We are so happy we chose the Woman's Club and so thankful for how they helped make wedding planning such a stress free process. Would highly recommend them.
  • M
    Michael Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect venue for wedding reception

    My wife and I were married in October 2018. Our ceremony was up the street in the Alice Millar chapel, and we held our reception in the Woman's Club of Evanston. The Woman's Club ended up working out perfectly for us! Our cocktail hour was held on the first floor, and dinner & dancing was upstairs in the main banquet hall. The venue was beautiful, the staff was easy to work with, and I couldn't be happier with how it turned out.
  • J
    Jessie Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our September wedding was at the Woman’s Club of Evanston and I worked with Dana to make our event come to life. She was both professional and fun to work with, and helped design and coordinate exactly what I wanted the day to look like. The team was extremely helpful and responsive to all questions throughout our year of planning. On the day-of, Michelle, the Manager, was our coordinator and she was the best. She went above and beyond and worked with all of our vendors to ensure everything flowed well and looked stunning. The venue is beautiful and all of the guests commented on how much they liked it. The stage was perfect for hosting a live band and the staff were very amenable to working with our band ahead of time to ensure they had everything they needed to perfrorm. Family and friends are still commenting on how much they loved the whole event and how easy it was to take public transportation to or park. Overall, we couldn’t be happier with how the day went or our experience planning. Thanks, Dana and Michelle!
  • A
    Andrea Married on 07/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved having our Sunday afternoon (4:30) wedding at Evanston Women's Club. They were extremely responsive and open to our visiting the space as many times as we wanted. They worked seamlessly with all of our vendors. And, the space is gorgeous!

    The only initial frustration was that we couldn't have our rehearsal there because they were setting up for a Saturday wedding. But it wasn't a big deal; we ended up reserving a meeting room for free at a nearby hotel that was part of our room block.
  • M
    Maura Married on 05/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The venue was gorgeous and we didn't have to bring in any decorations because it was beautiful as is.
  • G
    Gabriela Married on 11/04/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used the Woman's Club of Evanston for our wedding in November of 2017. We needed a venue that could work for the entire day, from ceremony through reception. We looked around the Chicago area for venues that could hold enough people for the entire day and struggled to find exactly what we had imagined. The moment we walked into the Woman's Club we knew it was the venue for us! The building itself is beautiful and served as a wonderful place for both a ceremony as well as the party that followed. It was large enough to have everyone move downstairs for the cocktail hour and use the upstairs ballroom for both the ceremony and reception. Elizabeth was our point of contact and she was nothing short of spectacular. We didn't have the money to afford a separate wedding planner, and she helped make sure everything went smoothly. As the stress mounted she was always there to quickly provide answers or suggestions, and in the end everything came together beautifully. Thank you to both Elizabeth and the whole team at the Woman's Club of Evanston for making our day special!
  • P
    Pei Married on 06/25/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We chose the Woman's Club of Evanston because it is stunning and versatile. We wanted a venue not too formal but with lots of characters. Even though we only had the first floor, there were plenty space to have the ceremony, cocktails, and reception. The event coordinator, Elizabeth, was amazing! We live in California but communication was never a problem. She was very flexible to show us the venue as much as we needed, work with our friends/family and very responsive to any questions. She also helped coordinate on our big day. Everything went great so that we got to spend some quality time with only our family. We are so happy to have our wedding at the Woman's Club and have Elizabeth to be part of it. Thank you for a special day!

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Pei - We can not thank you enough for this terrific review! It was so wonderful getting to know you and your family - we were honored to be a part of your wedding. All the best!
  • C
    Clare Married on 06/17/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We cannot say enough great things about Woman's Club of Evanston! The event coordinator, Elizabeth Anderson, was so helpful and accommodating throughout our wedding-planning process, and on our wedding day too! We had a wonderful experience with WCOE, from start to finish.

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Clare - Thank you so much for this wonderful review! It was such a joy helping with your wedding and hosting the big day here at The Woman's Club of Evanston! Wish you and Mark all the best!
  • N
    Natalie Married on 05/27/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When my husband and I first got engaged we thought we would want to have our wedding in my parent’s backyard. We both have huge Chicago Irish families, and my mother’s response was: “there is no way I am letting that many people use my bathroom” Thus began our search for a place that could fit all of us, while still feeling comfortable and personal. We looked into the Chicago park district which has so many beautiful options, but for us it was too expensive considering what is (or isn’t) included while having to use their vendors. A friend suggested we check out the Woman’s Club, and I knew as soon as I looked at their website that I would love it. I called immediately to inquire about Memorial Day weekend where I was connected with Elizabeth Anderson, WCOE’s Event Coordinator. Elizabeth generously put a slightly extended hold on the day for us so that my parents, then fiancee and I could find a time we were all available to come in together an see the space. It is big, gorgeous and so reasonable considering everything that is available for use such as the entire space, tables, chairs…. Elizabeth was incredible to work with and super kind and helpful. All night our friends and family raved about the gorgeous space which was in walking distance to our hotel - the Hilton Orrington - which was another highlight to our weekend. It was great to be in a hotel so close to the WCOE and the beach. Another benefit to having a wedding at the WCOE is that the money we spent on the venue went directly to such an amazing organization and group of people. The women involved in WCOE do so much for their community and reading through the long list of volunteer work, grants and community outreach programs on their website is very inspiring. We could not have asked for a better venue, location or total experience for our wedding.

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Natalie - Thank you for the wonderful review and for all of your kind words about our staff and venue! We were so honored to be a part of your wedding. All the best to you and Nate!
  • B
    Boris Married on 04/09/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Book it! This place has so much character and the staff is super friendly and accomodating!

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Boris - Thank you for this fantastic review! We loved getting to know you and Sidra. Thank you for choosing The Woman's Club to host your big day. All the best!
  • J
    Joan Married on 04/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Women's Club of Evanston combined the warmth and attention you expect from a small club with the ease and confidence you expect with a much more expensive commercial enterprise. Elizabeth with events planning not only responded quickly to requests, she also reached out with pre-emptive suggestions and possibilities. The Club recommended Jerry Carlson of That Special Event who provides perfection with a smile.
    My daughter said it was 'the happiest day of her life' and I think you, Women's Club of Evanston.

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Joan - Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We were so honored to help with Emily and Seth's wedding and look back on it fondly. All the best to you and your family!
  • C
    Caitlin Married on 03/25/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We are so glad that we chose the Woman’s Club of Evanston for our wedding ceremony and reception. (We had ~135 guests and rented the full space.) From the charm of the downstairs area and sun porches to the high ceilings and amazing natural light in the ballroom, the venue made our wedding look classic and elegant with barely any decorative effort needed from us. We got countless compliments from our guests about how beautiful the space was. The location was also perfect as it was easy to get to for our Chicago friends but less expensive than staying downtown for those who traveled here.

    Without exception, every communication we had with Elizabeth through the planning process was clear, prompt, professional and kind. On the day of the wedding, she and her assistant Colin went above and beyond to make sure we and our guests were comfortable and taken care of (including bringing me endless cups of tea, as I had laryngitis!). They were very flexible and accommodating throughout the process. Our other vendors (Froggy’s, Binny’s, Toast & Jam, Smilebooth) all worked seamlessly with the Woman’s Club to make the day run smoothly.

    A minor reason that we chose the Woman’s Club that we ended up really appreciating is that many other venues we considered consisted mainly of one large room, while the Woman’s Club has two floors and multiple smaller side rooms, seating areas, and lounges. This extra space meant that guests who needed to step away during the wedding (a bridesmaid who needed to nurse her babies, a friend with health issues who needed to lie down and rest) were able to have a comfortable and private space. It also meant that we had plenty of lovely locations to take pictures despite rainy weather.

    Overall we couldn’t have been happier with our choice of venue, from beginning to end, and our wedding day was absolutely magical.

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Caitlin - Thank you so much for this lovely review! It was such a pleasure being a part of your big day. We wish you and Nick all the best!
  • B
    Barbara Married on 10/15/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Woman’s Club of Evanston was my daughter’s first choice of wedding venue because of its unique, beautiful space and it comes highly recommended. The facilities manager and event coordination staff were superb and very responsive. The bride, groom, and guests were absolutely thrilled with the convenience of attending the ceremony, cocktail reception, and dinner/dancing in one location. Visit and book this beautiful property. It doesn't disappoint!
  • D
    Diane Married on 10/15/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding in October 2016 at the Woman's Club was absolutely perfect from start to finish. The staff at the WCE were very helpful in guiding the planning process. It's definitely a lot of work to hire the vendors and keep everyone organized and in the loop, and Michelle and Elizabeth played a very large part in that. The day of the wedding, we had our Ceremony upstairs facing the windows, which was very pretty. The cocktail hour was immediately after in the downstairs of the clubhouse, which worked out perfectly, and people really had great things to say about the space. All the guests were guided back upstairs for dinner and dancing, and I have to say, as a bride, I had no idea what the ballroom would look like after they "flipped the room", but when we walked in, everything was gorgeous! To be honest, it was even better than I had expected. We had 175 guests attend, and there was plenty of room for all the tables plus the dance floor and bar area, but it also felt cozy and intimate at the same time. My only complaint is that the day went way too fast and was over in a flash! I would recommend the Woman's Club to anyone for their special event, if they are looking for a unique and beautiful space that you can make your own.

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Diane - thank you so much for this lovely review! It was truly a joy hosting your wedding ceremony and reception here at The Woman's Club of Evanston. We are sad it went so quickly as well! We wish you all the best!
  • C
    Clare Married on 08/13/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Woman's Club of Evanston was the perfect venue for our wedding day - I was looking for something unique, not your average banquet hall, and that's what we got! It's absolutely beautiful inside and our guests gave us great compliments on it. Elizabeth Anderson was so amazing to work with as well - friendly, flexible, accommodating, helpful...everything you'd want in a venue coordinator!

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Clare - Thank you so much for this lovely review! We so enjoyed being a part of your big day - it was wonderful getting to know you and hosting your family and friends here at The Woman's Club of Evanston! We wish you all the best!!
  • User2728828 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Woman's Club is a gorgeous and historic venue perfect for a reception close to the lake! Elizabeth as the event coordinator was so awesome to work with! She was accommodating, flexible and and organized.

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Thank you for your wonderful review! It was such an honor hosting your family and friends at The Woman's Club of Evanston for your wedding! We wish you all the best.
  • C
    Christine Married on 04/02/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Elizabeth and the rest of the crew were so easy to work with before, during and after our wedding! The pace was beautiful and the staff was so helpful, it was a complete success!

    The club was so friendly and flexible regarding when we were able to drop off wedding the arrangements, pick-up all the leftovers, take pictures before the event, and run through the rehearsal! They could not have made it any easier.

    We are so thankful for the club and would recommend in a heartbeat.

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Christine, thank you so much for your kind words and for reviewing us! It was a pleasure to work with you and we are so glad you enjoyed your wedding day. We wish you all the best!
  • L
    Lizzy Married on 10/03/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Caitlin and her team were great to work with. The venue is gorgeous and definitely offers a romantic feel to any wedding reception. I appreciated that we were able to rent the entire space out for our wedding, giving us privacy and making it feel like it was ours for the night! The porch off the ballroom is a great place to set up a bar and dessert, leaving you more space for tables and the dance floor!

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Thanks, Lizzy! It was a pleasure hosting your family and friends. Best wishes!
  • User2336480 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Woman's Club of Evanston was a perfect spot for our reception! The staff was so friendly and flexible. The ballroom is so classic and elegant!

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    Thank you for your wonderful review. We wish you the best!
  • User2174132 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What a classy, romantic setting! We loved the french windows, the pale blue walls, the large hardwood dance space, and the wall lamps that gave a soft glow to the ballroom. It was the perfect, cozy setting for our wedding. Caitlin, the coordinator at the club, is also super responsive, chill and helpful. The pictures turned out beautiful as well. Thanks for a great wedding!

    The Woman's Club of Evanston's reply:

    We appreciate you taking the time to review us. We are so happy to hear you had a great time at your reception. Congratulations!