51 Reviews for The Woman's Club of Evanston

4.8
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Wheelchair Access (5)
Indoor (4)
Bridal Suite (1)
Set Up (1)
Wireless Internet (1)
Chairs (1)
Tables (1)
China (1)
Flatware (1)
47 The Woman's Club of Evanston Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

We used the Woman's Club of Evanston for our wedding in November of 2017. We needed a venue that could work for the entire day, from ceremony through reception. We looked around the Chicago area for venues that could hold enough people for the entire day and struggled to find exactly what we had imagined. The moment we walked into the Woman's Club we knew it was the venue for us! The building itself is beautiful and served as a wonderful place for both a ceremony as well as the party that followed. It was large enough to have everyone move downstairs for the cocktail hour and use the upstairs ballroom for both the ceremony and reception. Elizabeth was our point of contact and she was nothing short of spectacular. We didn't have the money to afford a separate wedding planner, and she helped make sure everything went smoothly. As the stress mounted she was always there to quickly provide answers or suggestions, and in the end everything came together beautifully. Thank you to both Elizabeth and the whole team at the Woman's Club of Evanston for making our day special!

Profile Picture Gabriela, 11/4/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

We chose the Woman's Club of Evanston because it is stunning and versatile. We wanted a venue not too formal but with lots of characters. Even though we only had the first floor, there were plenty space to have the ceremony, cocktails, and reception. The event coordinator, Elizabeth, was amazing! We live in California but communication was never a problem. She was very flexible to show us the venue as much as we needed, work with our friends/family and very responsive to any questions. She also helped coordinate on our big day. Everything went great so that we got to spend some quality time with only our family. We are so happy to have our wedding at the Woman's Club and have Elizabeth to be part of it. Thank you for a special day!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Pei, 6/25/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

We cannot say enough great things about Woman's Club of Evanston! The event coordinator, Elizabeth Anderson, was so helpful and accommodating throughout our wedding-planning process, and on our wedding day too! We had a wonderful experience with WCOE, from start to finish.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Clare, 6/17/17, 1 Review
Category: Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

Book it! This place has so much character and the staff is super friendly and accomodating!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Boris, 4/9/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The Women's Club of Evanston combined the warmth and attention you expect from a small club with the ease and confidence you expect with a much more expensive commercial enterprise. Elizabeth with events planning not only responded quickly to requests, she also reached out with pre-emptive suggestions and possibilities. The Club recommended Jerry Carlson of That Special Event who provides perfection with a smile.
My daughter said it was 'the happiest day of her life' and I think you, Women's Club of Evanston.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Joan, 4/8/17, 1 Review
Category: Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

We are so glad that we chose the Woman’s Club of Evanston for our wedding ceremony and reception. (We had ~135 guests and rented the full space.) From the charm of the downstairs area and sun porches to the high ceilings and amazing natural light in the ballroom, the venue made our wedding look classic and elegant with barely any decorative effort needed from us. We got countless compliments from our guests about how beautiful the space was. The location was also perfect as it was easy to get to for our Chicago friends but less expensive than staying downtown for those who traveled here.

Without exception, every communication we had with Elizabeth through the planning process was clear, prompt, professional and kind. On the day of the wedding, she and her assistant Colin went above and beyond to make sure we and our guests were comfortable and taken care of (including bringing me endless cups of tea, as I had laryngitis!). They were very flexible and accommodating throughout the process. Our other vendors (Froggy’s, Binny’s, Toast & Jam, Smilebooth) all worked seamlessly with the Woman’s Club to make the day run smoothly.

A minor reason that we chose the Woman’s Club that we ended up really appreciating is that many other venues we considered consisted mainly of one large room, while the Woman’s Club has two floors and multiple smaller side rooms, seating areas, and lounges. This extra space meant that guests who needed to step away during the wedding (a bridesmaid who needed to nurse her babies, a friend with health issues who needed to lie down and rest) were able to have a comfortable and private space. It also meant that we had plenty of lovely locations to take pictures despite rainy weather.

Overall we couldn’t have been happier with our choice of venue, from beginning to end, and our wedding day was absolutely magical.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Caitlin, 3/25/17, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Our wedding in October 2016 at the Woman's Club was absolutely perfect from start to finish. The staff at the WCE were very helpful in guiding the planning process. It's definitely a lot of work to hire the vendors and keep everyone organized and in the loop, and Michelle and Elizabeth played a very large part in that. The day of the wedding, we had our Ceremony upstairs facing the windows, which was very pretty. The cocktail hour was immediately after in the downstairs of the clubhouse, which worked out perfectly, and people really had great things to say about the space. All the guests were guided back upstairs for dinner and dancing, and I have to say, as a bride, I had no idea what the ballroom would look like after they "flipped the room", but when we walked in, everything was gorgeous! To be honest, it was even better than I had expected. We had 175 guests attend, and there was plenty of room for all the tables plus the dance floor and bar area, but it also felt cozy and intimate at the same time. My only complaint is that the day went way too fast and was over in a flash! I would recommend the Woman's Club to anyone for their special event, if they are looking for a unique and beautiful space that you can make your own.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Diane, 10/15/16, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The Woman’s Club of Evanston was my daughter’s first choice of wedding venue because of its unique, beautiful space and it comes highly recommended. The facilities manager and event coordination staff were superb and very responsive. The bride, groom, and guests were absolutely thrilled with the convenience of attending the ceremony, cocktail reception, and dinner/dancing in one location. Visit and book this beautiful property. It doesn't disappoint!

Profile Picture Barbara, 10/15/16, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The Woman's Club of Evanston was the perfect venue for our wedding day - I was looking for something unique, not your average banquet hall, and that's what we got! It's absolutely beautiful inside and our guests gave us great compliments on it. Elizabeth Anderson was so amazing to work with as well - friendly, flexible, accommodating, helpful...everything you'd want in a venue coordinator!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Clare, 8/13/16, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Indoor, Wheelchair Access
5.0

The Woman's Club is a gorgeous and historic venue perfect for a reception close to the lake! Elizabeth as the event coordinator was so awesome to work with! She was accommodating, flexible and and organized.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture User5368916, 1+ year ago, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
Services Used: Indoor, Wheelchair Access
5.0

Elizabeth and the rest of the crew were so easy to work with before, during and after our wedding! The pace was beautiful and the staff was so helpful, it was a complete success!

The club was so friendly and flexible regarding when we were able to drop off wedding the arrangements, pick-up all the leftovers, take pictures before the event, and run through the rehearsal! They could not have made it any easier.

We are so thankful for the club and would recommend in a heartbeat.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Christine, 4/2/16, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Wheelchair Access, Indoor
5.0

Caitlin and her team were great to work with. The venue is gorgeous and definitely offers a romantic feel to any wedding reception. I appreciated that we were able to rent the entire space out for our wedding, giving us privacy and making it feel like it was ours for the night! The porch off the ballroom is a great place to set up a bar and dessert, leaving you more space for tables and the dance floor!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Lizzy, 10/3/15, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Indoor, Wheelchair Access
5.0

The Woman's Club of Evanston was a perfect spot for our reception! The staff was so friendly and flexible. The ballroom is so classic and elegant!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture User5473088, 2+ years ago, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

What a classy, romantic setting! We loved the french windows, the pale blue walls, the large hardwood dance space, and the wall lamps that gave a soft glow to the ballroom. It was the perfect, cozy setting for our wedding. Caitlin, the coordinator at the club, is also super responsive, chill and helpful. The pictures turned out beautiful as well. Thanks for a great wedding!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture User4517268, 2+ years ago, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Working with Caitlin and the Woman's Club of Evanston was wonderful. Everything was very straight forward and easy. The space looked beautiful and was a perfect size for the 130 people I had.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Kurt, 4/11/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Penelope was so amazing to work with! She is so incredibly sweet, quick to respond, and very flexible and helpful in all aspects of our wedding. The Women's Club is such a beautiful building in a great location. The insides are very vintage looking and so well kept--it hardly needs decorations because the building speaks for itself. If you are looking into the Women's Club, I would encourage you to choose it for the perfect venue for your wedding or event!

Profile Picture Tabitha, 10/4/14, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Our wedding reception using the whole club was perfect. We loved being the only event going on at the Club. The privacy was so nice. The downstairs for cocktails and moving upstairs for dinner later was magical. The management of the WCOE is so professional, responsive, and helpful in all areas. Having the email go out early in the week of the event to all vendors was especially helpful as coordination is key to a smooth event. Also the security that was recommended and required was very reassuring to the bridal family. Knowing any situation that may have arisen would have been handled professionally. Personal property was secure. J & L Catering provided wonderful food, service and headed by Jim Bailey constant support throughout the whole wedding planning process. The Woman's Club of Evanston has this down!

Profile Picture Katie, 7/26/14, 1 Review
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0

The Woman's Club of Evanston was the perfect venue for our wedding reception. Lisa Shary was very helpful throughout the planning process and worked well with all of our vendors. The Woman's Club has a great list of caterers (all the main Chicago ones) that you can use and also lets you bring in your own alcohol which saved us a lot of money.
It was nice to have our cocktail hour on the first floor and then we moved upstairs to their gorgeous ballroom for dinner and dancing. The stage is perfect for a live band and the acoustics were great!
We highly recommend looking at the Woman's Club as it's a gorgeous venue that provides enough of the basics (tables, chairs, etc) while still allowing you to customize the space and make it your own.

Profile Picture Jodi, 5/24/14, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The venue was perfect for our May wedding with 135 guests. We had cocktail hour downstairs and the reception in the ballroom upstairs. The backdrop was perfect for the vibe we were going for -- it had an old world elegance, but didn't feel stuffy or antiquey.

Lisa was great to work with. She is very prepared and has answers to most of your questions before you ask them. She was always prompt when we did have any questions throughout our year of planning. And she was always accommodating when we wanted to stop by on short notice with family or other vendors to check out the rooms.

Everything went smooth on the day of. They have preferred caterers who know the venue and everything went seamlessly.

You can spend more, or you can spend less, but you won't do any better than the Woman's Club!

Profile Picture Christine, 5/10/14, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The Woman's Club of Evanston was the perfect venue for our daughter's wedding reception, and Lisa Shary coordinated the event with extraordinary professionalism and grace. She provided us with much-needed advice and was flexible and willing to make last-minute adjustments to the seating arrangements. The reception hall was a beautiful space with old-world charm - and our daughter's vision of the evening was realized in full.

Profile Picture User4213851, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The Woman's Club of Evanston was not only the most beautiful setting for our wedding reception, but the people you work with make everything stress free. I originally booked with the former coordinator at the club, and then Lisa took over. The transition was very easy and smooth. Lisa was helpful in answering all of my questions promptly. I was relieved when Lisa asked for my vendor contact list and informed me that she would be in contact with all of my vendors the week of the wedding to schedule timing and to give set up instructions. The week of your wedding is the busiest and most stressful time and this was a huge help. The Woman's Club was also very affordable! We were able to rent the entire venue out for 5 hours. It was wonderful having a venue completely to yourself for your special day. Note it is possible to have the venue longer, but those details would be arranged with Lisa. The Woman's Club of Evanston is absolutely stunning. My husband and I received an overwhelming number of compliments from our guest on this unique and special find.

Profile Picture Kelly, 7/6/13, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

I cannot say enough great things about this venue! To start, Carol is amazing! The venue itself is beautiful and centrally located. I simply could not imagine having our wedding reception anywhere else - it was absolutely perfect!!

Profile Picture Mindi, 9/22/12, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

My husband and I had the most WONDERFUL experience with the Woman's Club of Evanston. We had spent a LOT of time researching unique and yet affordable venues for our reception in the Chicagoland area. After many site visits to various venues, the Woman's Club of Evanston was the clear winner. It was a beautiful, romantic, yet open space. Additionally, we were able to select from several catering companies, which allowed us to negotiate the costs.

Carol Short, the facilities manager, was an absolute dream to work with. Before deciding on the Woman's Club of Evanston, I had read reviews about the venue and their positive experience with Carol. Our experience was consistent with those reviews. Carol encourages questions throughout the wedding planning process and is extremely prompt in responding to questions. The day before the wedding, Carol walked us through the floor plan and was there the day of to oversee all aspects of our reception. Carol is a true professional and we loved working with her!

We could not have been any happier with our venue selection - we HIGHLY recommend the Woman's Club of Evanston!

Profile Picture Audrey, 5/12/12, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

My experience with The Woman's Club of Evanston was wonderful! The venue is absolutely beautiful. I was doing a Victorian themed wedding and this suited so well. Carol, the coordinator of events, is the loveliest person to work with. So professional, so timely in her responses, as well as gracious and accomodating. She is very prompt to follow up on questions/requests. On the day of my wedding, Carol gave me a big hug and told me everything was beautiful. I felt that she genuinely meant it. Her graciousness (as well as 'low key-ness') helped things flow so nicely.

Profile Picture Tamara, 3/31/12, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue