The Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort Reviews

22 | Fort Lauderdale, FL
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for The Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort

Recommended by 96%

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • Nathalie

    Nathalie · Married on 02/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What an amazing experience! My husband and I had the pleasure of working with Daniel Thelen as our coordinator. He was extremely attentive, responsive professional and a dream to work with. Daniel went above and beyond time and time again. Daniel helped us navigate through timelines, decorations, tastings and more. He accommodated our questions, our families questions and all of our concerns. I could not have dreamed of a better experience. My wedding day, the reception, our stay, our guest hotel reservations and the overall vibe was a product of the hard work Daniel put into making it all a reality. The venue was clean, accommodating and beautiful. The Westin and Daniel will forever be my first and only choice for venues in the future.

    Sent on 03/05/2018
  • User7766671 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having our wedding at the Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort was the best decision we could have made! The whole event went perfectly, the location was beyond beautiful and everyone in their staff was wonderful and accommodating to all of our needs. Marylin, the director of catering was so helpful with every step of planning, and on the day of too! The food and drinks were exceptional and the guests clearly enjoyed it all. My favorite part was that at the reception my husband and I had our own server, constantly making sure that we had food and drinks while we enjoyed our night. We stayed in the Governer's suit, and it truly had a breathtaking view. The price was very competitive too, compared to other beach hotels in the area. It was truly the perfect day, as it should be, thanks to them!

    Sent on 02/09/2017
  • J

    Jim · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marilyn is top notch & amazing

    Sent on 10/04/2016
  • J

    JACQUELINE · Married on 04/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marilyn was like family. She went so far beyond the call of duty . She made sure the reception was one to remember from beginning to end. If any problems arose she handled it quickly. Sheis truly amazing and it is because of her and her staff that I had the best reception ever.

    Sent on 04/27/2016
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 03/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I live out of state and planned my whole wedding via internet and phone calls, the Westin was incredible. They made it extremely easy for me. It was a wonderful wedding, all the guests said it was the best wedding they've attended. Thanks Marilynn.

    Sent on 04/08/2016
  • User5316804 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding planning experience with the coordinating staff at The Westin has been amazing. They have been so accommodating to all of our wants and needs and have made things less and less stressful every step of the way. Being from out of state and planning a wedding was very stressful but everyone was so helpful and patient with me and contacted me back in a timely manner. When things were not to our liking or we wanted to change things around they helped in figuring out the best way to make changes for us. They really showed that they cared about not only us but our day as well! So happy that we chose The Westin to showcase the first day of the rest of our lives.

    Sent on 08/04/2015
  • User3961573 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy we chose The Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort for our wedding. We had our rehearsal dinner, ceremony and reception there, and it was first class all the way. We worked with Rosanna Cintron, who was a true delight, so organized, professional, and on top of every tiny detail. We felt so taken care of and heard throughout the planning process, and Rosanna's responsiveness and thoroughness was so spectacular, beyond any expectation we could have had. The venue is gorgeous and our guests loved staying there. From the views to the friendly staff to the whole ambiance, you can't imagine a better stay for your guests. Our ceremony was on the Sky Terrace, which was unbelievable - ocean on one side, intracoastal on the other. Everyone was raving about what a special, unique setting it was. From start to finish, every aspect of working with Rosanna and the Westin was superb. Many sincere thanks!

    Sent on 03/01/2015
  • Renee M

    Renee · Married on 03/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So much to say about Rosanna and her team. It was a year-long journey for us, but everything came together beautifully. We had a brunch menu and the guest was raving about the food. They also loved the view from the Sky Terrace. If you like the beach type wedding without dealing with the sand and beach-goers, the Sky Terrace is definitely the place to do your ceremony. There were some delays in the beginning, which also delayed the start of the ceremony. Rosanna and Jessica did their absolute best in making sure my husband & I didn't freak out before the ceremony started. The entire staff at the Westin was the best.

    Sent on 03/18/2014
  • User3113509 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a beautiful wedding at the westin!! Working with Rosanna the Catering Mgr. Was fabulous! Our ceremony was on the sky terrace which over looks the ocean on one side and intercostal on the other. It was a great setting for a south fl. Wedding! All our guests are still talking about it!

    Sent on 11/02/2013
  • J

    Julie · Married on 12/31/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    i had my wedding 12/31/12 on the Sky Terrace. It is a great location as it overlooks the ocean on one side and intracoastal on the other. You can get the beachy feel without being in the sand!

    The food was amazing, the staff was great! I have received so many compliments on the food and venue!

    Rosanna did a great job in the lead up and on the wedding day! I would highly recommend the Westin as a venue!!

    Sent on 01/17/2013
  • M

    KERI · Married on 05/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The property was absolutely stunning, and the perfect location for our beach ceremony. We had an intimate reception in the Bonnet Room, and the floor-to-ceiling windows were spectacular. I would definitely recommend The Westin Beach Resort and Spa.

    Sent on 05/30/2012
  • B

    Becky · Married on 05/24/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love this Westin. My husband and I have stayed there so many times that it feels like home. The chief of catering is a wonderful person....I wish I could remember his name. Our wedding planner quit working there a weeks before our wedding which caused me a lot of concern. Her manager stepped in though and made our day very special. An older Jamaican gentleman was our waiter and was wonderful. The food here is the BEST!!! All of my other vendors stated that I had picked the best place for my wedding...especially because of the food. The Westin definitely made our wedding special. We will continue to stay there for years to come!!!

    Sent on 02/12/2009
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 04/14/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had both the ceremony and the reception at The Westin Hotel in Fort Lauderdale. It was absolutely beautiful! The ceremony was held outside by the pool, along with the cocktail hour following the ceremony. The guests were then escorted into the ballroom for the reception. I am so pleased with how everything turned out on the day of my wedding. Greg and the rest of his team are truely very helpful throughout your planning and the day of your wedding. It was elegant, and professional and I am so happy with how it turned out. After looking at a ton of different locations to have my wedding, I decided on The Westin because you really do get a lot for your money. There are a lot of other places that charge you extra for everything, i.e. chair covers. At The Westin there is so much that is included in your wedding package for so much less than other places! They really are very good at what they do and very professional, I cannot stress this enough. On the day of your wedding you will feel like a king and a queen with non stop personal service for the two of you. You have your own waiter, you have different staff members whose job is to be in charge of your servers, making sure everything is running smoothly and on time. They really are a great place to have your wedding at. Everything turning out so beautiful and perfect. I still hear from friends and guests that were at my wedding telling me how elegant everything was and how much fun they had. This is definitely a wonderful place to choose.

    Sent on 10/26/2007
  • M

    Cindy · Married on 09/04/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jenny was such a wonderful and accomodating wedding coordinater. She worked with our budget and helped us choose a menu that was exciting and different. Hats off to the chef at The Westin, the food was outstanding. The price was not over the top and our guests told us that our wedding location, ceremony, reception and dinner was perfect. We've never heard so many people say that our wedding was the best one that they'd ever been to. The feedback was just awesome. We didn't even have to recommend The Westin to our friends who were engaged at the time, they already knew that's where they were getting married after they went to our wedding. Great job to all of the staff there, but mostly to Jenny.

    Sent on 06/15/2008
  • J

    Jesse · Married on 06/11/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    An all-around excellent location for a wedding, I'd recommend it if you can afford it. The hotel is in the best area in Fort Lauderdale beach. It's also much more classy and intimate than the other hotels closeby. The second building of the hotel acts as a convention center which has tons of ballroom and event space to create any kind of event you want.

    Very scenic, great views of the beach, well taken care of hotel, and a great service staff. Though I am from Fort Lauderdale, this was still a destination wedding with over 100 guests coming in. All guests stayed at the Westin and we also had the ceremony/reception at the hotel. We had to move the ceremony inside due to weather, but we're supposed to have it on the Sky Terrace which would have been a beautiful backdrop.

    Working with Marilyn the Catering Director was seamless. I liked that she is a true professional who is honest and knows how to get things done instead of just telling me what I want to hear and overcharging me for things not needed. Very personable and responsive to needs. She was also flexible in dealing with all the different details and ideas that an event like a wedding brings. We were given the service and attention needed to have a great event.

    You get what you pay for at the Westin because the catering food quality and banquet chef team is top-notch with the flexibility to make customizations to fit your event. We had a 3 station reception: 1 Cuban, 1 Mediterranean, and 1 Comfort. They came out excellent. I was able to make changes and additions to the stations along the way. We also had a Welcome Reception with heavy appetizers 2 days before the wedding. I continue to get compliments on the food throughout the event.

    All in all, I'd definitely recommend the Westin FTL Beach Resort because of the convenient location, service, value, and quality. Marilyn is a great asset to the Westin!

    -J

    Sent on 06/22/2016
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 06/05/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for responsive, stellar service and immediate answers to your questions, this is the place to choose. Marilyn Gabriel, Director of Catering is a superstar when it comes to helping with a seamless event. From start to finish, the staff here do a spectacular job with your event. I have people raving about this resort as both a vacation spot and a place for an event or wedding. I couldn't be happier with the bellstaff, valet parkers, the spa, the gym, the grounds staff....excellent all around!

    Sent on 06/22/2016
  • Lindsala

    Lindsey · Married on 06/29/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We did not have the best beginning to our experience with the Westin and the original coordinator Tammy. We almost did not book there because of her, but then Rosanna came to the rescue!! Rosanna and the Westin did the most fabulous job! I could not have imagined our wedding day going that smoothly or as perfectly as it did. Rosanna was attentive to every detail and she went above and beyond to make our day special and perfect!! The service the night of the wedding was impeccable! Everyone not only raved about the service but the food was fantastic! I was given a bridal concierge for the day Jorge who was amazing!! Everyone there was so professional and I know that we were not the easiest of people to deal with considering, but everyone was fabulous, flexible and accommodating. I cannot say enough good things about Rosanna! All of our guests had the best time, and there was not one complaint!

    Sent on 07/09/2013
  • User2541140 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The Westin Beach Resort was wonderful to work with. They negotiated fairly and offered us great value, delicious food ( with table side ordering included!) and a beautiful ballroom as our reception location. I can not say enough about their service , attention to detail and overall helpfulness. Our out of town guests raved about the beautiful rooms, location and friendliness of the staff. Our event coordinator , Rachel Abrams, made our wedding a stress-free beautiful day to remember!!! THE WESTIN IS WONDERFUL.

    Sent on 07/15/2012
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 11/17/2012

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We had our wedding @ The Westin last Saturday -
    we were pretty nervous when our wedding planner there left with pretty short notice.. but Rachel and Emily took over right away and made us feel so at ease. They really went out of their way to help in every way and I can't say enough great things about them both.

    The only hiccups we had at the wedding really correlated with the front desk and issues with rooms - not one negative thing to say with the catering end or Rachel or Emily.

    Felix, the valet is probably one of the nicest people I have met - and actually went out to the sidewalk when our limos wanted to leave us there and demanded the drive us up to the valet and not make me walk up the hill. he was amazing.

    Jiwon handled our room block - and dropped the ball a few times -I would have to say you must stay on top of things with them.. My mother in law didn't receive a guest bag.. which was pretty upsetting.. and we had a few issues with check in.

    Again if you are getting married make sure you are in touch with Rachel and definitely get in touch with Felix at valet - hes awesome!!

    Sent on 11/24/2012
  • T

    Natali · Married on 11/01/2009

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This hotel is gorgeous. Its perfect for a destination wedding, or an elegant black tie affair. The staff went above and beyond to help me, although my guest did have some problems reserving rooms from our event block.

    Sent on 11/17/2009
  • N

    Nikki · Married on 08/20/2016

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Or contact was Gigi She was professional and prompt. No problems so far so good. I don't expect any problems or delay. I haven't been able to work with any of the affiliates yet,so I can not comment on that. But I had all my questions answered and could handle everything from the cake to the pastor through the hotel all done in one place hair and makeup too.

    Sent on 05/10/2016
  • Nelly

    Nelly · Getting married on 10/03/2020

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    It seemed boring

    This place didn’t have many pictures but I still drove 40 mins to see it and it was just really basic. Not a great location, the places surrounding it were not all that, it just gave me a cheap feel.

    Sent on 01/31/2019

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review