The Westin Chicago North Shore Reviews

10 | Wheeling, IL
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for The Westin Chicago North Shore

Recommended by 89%

10

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.3
  • Average response time 4.6
Sort by:
  • F

    Fran · Married on 08/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience working with this hotel was a wonderful one! We could not have been more pleased with our choice of venue. Everyone there was so helpful and eager to make this a wonderful event for us.....and that they did. We worked with Karyn Becker who was absolutely the best!! She made sure that everything was just perfect for our event from the beginning stages of planning to the final result. Choose this venue for your event without any hesitation. You will definitely be glad that you did!

    Sent on 09/03/2014
  • Lesley

    Lesley · Married on 12/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    When I began planning my wedding the one word I used to describe what I wanted was elegance - The Westin Chicago North Shore delivers that and so much more. I had my ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception here. My guests loved that once they were here, they were here for the evening! We also utilized a room block which was another huge advantage.

    I worked with Jennifer Remington who is the most responsive and accommodating person I could have ever dreamed of when planning my wedding. There were days I'd email her 10 times a day and she would always respond extremely fast and she was always there for every single random question, change in plans, accommodation, worry or concern I had, simply ANYTHING. She was an absolute God sent.

    My guests were blown away by the class and elegance the Westin Chicago North Shore gives off. I also loved that everything is so clean and crisp with shining marble walls and neutral carpet - it's the perfect pallet to create your dream wedding.

    The staff on my wedding day was top notch. They didn't bother us, but still were attentive to make sure everything was going as we wanted. They also did an impeccable job of putting away our table frames, card cage, etc. Everything with such care and grace.

    Last but not least, this is an extremely honest and professional establishment. We had a guest cancel last min (she had a baby!) and when I notified Jennifer so that the table would be set with the correct number, she told me she'd credit me back those two plates. I didn't expect that, and it was such a wonderful gesture.

    Elegance, class, and WOW - that's what you'll get here. We became Starwood Preferred members and are now huge fans of this hotel family. The restaurants here are top notch too, made for a great gathering place with friends the night before the wedding. This is a place you can be proud to host your wedding . We felt like royalty and so did our guests. Thank you Thank you Thank you!!

    Sent on 12/13/2012
  • L

    Leana · Married on 07/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Westin was amazing!!! After looking at my photos, I was even more impressed with the location.
    From the very begining, Susan was most helpful. I bombarded her with questions and she was very prompt getting back to me. When we had a bad experience with another service, she assured me that we would not have an experience like that the day of our wedding....and she was right. She was at our weddignn most of the evening, even reminding me that I should eat my dinner if I was going to plan on making it through the night.
    The tent was beautiful. The food was amazing. The service was impecable. The value so superb.
    We could not have asked for a better venue.

    Sent on 10/31/2011
  • H

    Heather · Married on 09/30/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex Payne, the catering manager, was our coordinator for the wedding. She was a great help! We wanted an outdoor ceremony but we did not like the location the hotel typically used. Alex let us pick our own ceremony site and worked with us to make the whole thing work smoothly. She helped with all of the planning and was a great resource for all of my questions as they arose. We had our reception in the tent- it was absolutely beautiful! The hotel was extremely accomodating to all of our needs and requests. I was very impressed with the entire experience.

    Sent on 10/29/2007
  • Taylor

    Taylor · Married on 05/04/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Westin gets a mixed review from me. We used them as our hotel block for my wedding, and although the day-of services were fantastic, the level of service leading up till then was a little lacking.

    As I said, The Westin’s services on the weekend of our event were phenomenal. Their staff was absolutely accommodating and helpful and my guests felt as they were treated wonderfully. They had everything we needed (parlor chairs, extra mirrors, etc) ready in the suite when we got there and even ran upstairs within minutes to bring us an extension cord when we realized we had forgotten one. They also were willing to add extra, shuttles for us at the end of the night at no charge because our reception ran late and more people stayed until the end than we had planned for.

    The most frustrating thing for me overall, and the main reason for the loss of stars was how their blocks work. I had a room block of 50 rooms, which I would have been happy to guarantee 40. The Westin will only allow 10 rooms at a time in a given block, and does not add more until they are all booked. This means that if they give you 5 king rooms and 5 double queens and the 5 kings are taken first, they will tell your guests there are only double queens left for booking, regardless of what is open in the hotel. It also means that if someone takes the 10th room, and someone else calls a little later before they have added rooms, they will tell them your block is full, even if it's 3 months before your event.

    Sent on 05/22/2013
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/18/2008

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic service overall. The current catering manager (Susan Johnson) is incredibly responsive, professional, and made sure that every request we had was met. She managed every detail throughout the planning process and the wedding day itself. The only downside is that the 'value for the money' may have not been as we'd hoped, but I think this was typical 'hotel pricing' in the industry that we were naive to at the start of the process. At the end of the day, I'd recommend the Westin Chicago Northwest to anyone looking to have a reception in the Chicago suburbs.

    Sent on 11/04/2008
  • H

    Hillary · Married on 09/01/2013

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was a week ago and we're so thrilled with the Westin North Shore! We used their kosher kitchen and the food was phenomenal! We loved our cocktail hour hors doeurves and got so many compliments on the food! Our contact person was very generous by throwing in extra hors doeurves, extra hotel rooms to stay in the night before and much, much more! Our wedding was everything we dreamed of and more!!

    Thank you to the Westin North Shore!

    Sent on 09/08/2013
  • S

    S · Married on 12/31/2007

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The Westin did a great job catering to our unique requests and housing a lot of guests.

    Sent on 05/26/2008
  • J

    Joyce · Married on 05/10/2008

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Our planner was fantastic through the planning process...but was seen only briefly the day of the wedding. I had expected a little more on the day of the event. But she really was great in the planning stages - she gave great ideas and always responded to emails/phone calls quickly. The tent is GEORGEOUS, the food was fantastic!

    Sent on 06/30/2008
  • M

    MARY · Married on 11/12/2011

    2.6
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    OUR SONS WEDDING WAS IN THE ABRICOT ROOM.. THE ROOM HOLDS 220 PEOPLE. WE WERE TOLD THERE WAS NO PROBLEM WHEN WE SIGNED THE CONTRACT... HOWEVER SIX WEEKS BEFORE THE WEDDING, THE FOOD STAIONS HAD TO BE MOVED OUTSIDE, DUE TO OUR NUMBER OF PEOPLE WHICH WAS 190. SOME PEOPLE HAD TO WALK HALF A BLOCK WITH THEIR PLATES OF FOOD. APPETIZER AND SWEET TABLE WAS PUSHED ON THE SIDE HIDDEN BEHIND A PILLAR, AND HARD TO GET TO. THE LIGHT ABOVE THAT TABLE WAS BURNT OUT... I HAD TO REQUEST ADDITIONAL LIGHTING, FINALLY SOMEONE CAME WITH A LADDER AND PUT A LIGHT BULB IN... UNBELIEVABLE...I WAS DISSAPOINTED WITH THE WESTIN... THEY OFFERED ME A FREE ROOM , NO THANKS...

    Sent on 11/18/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review