The Westin Baltimore Washington Airport - BWI Reviews

11 | Linthicum Heights, MD
See photos, pricing and details

11 Reviews for The Westin Baltimore Washington Airport - BWI

Recommended by 82%

11

4.1 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.1
  • Professionalism 4.1
  • Flexibility 4.1
  • Value 4.2
  • Average response time 3.9

5 User photos

The Westin Baltimore Washington Airport - BWI 1
The Westin Baltimore Washington Airport - BWI 2
The Westin Baltimore Washington Airport - BWI 3
The Westin Baltimore Washington Airport - BWI 4
The Westin Baltimore Washington Airport - BWI 5
Sort by:
  • V

    Valerie · Getting married on 08/09/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Staff venue and location

    I met with director Julia woods and she was 5 star all the way . Her knowledge and her professionalism exceeded my expectations . This venue is contemporary chic .

    Sent on 05/01/2019
  • L

    Lola Adegoke · Married on 03/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Various Events - Weddings, Anniversaries, Birthdays etc

    We have had quite a number of events over here and have worked with Julie Woods-Clark and the staff for sometime. Our clients always have a great experience and they always ask at the end of the evening "Lola, can we do this again, thank you Julie for always making us smile"
    When you have a client that returns several times that tells you there is something about a team and their leader. Then you know the work speaks for itself.
    Julie is extremely hands on, warm, caring, professional and always has the client in mind. She is always at our events and all our events with her she has treated us life family, she goes above and beyond our expectations and makes suggestions that would always turn out great.
    Don't hesitate to have your event at the Westin, they are ready for you and would be there to ensure your event is not only a success but
    your friends and family would feel so comfortable and at home! Due to the exceptional service they offer.

    Sent on 08/01/2019
  • Debra

    Debra · Married on 11/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Comfortable and perfect

    We used the Westin BWI for room blocks for our wedding guests. We booked the hospitality suite for ourselves for 2 nights, and also used it on the wedding day for hair and makeup and getting ready. It perfectly suited our needs and the staff could not have been nicer. It even had a kitchen area complete with full size refrigerator/freezer. We were able to tour the suite a few months before to make sure it fit our needs. Most of our guests joined us for an after party in the hotel bar/restaurant until 12am. It was amazing and staff was courteous and swift with serving our many guests. I would definitely use the Westin again!

    Sent on 12/20/2018

    The Westin Baltimore Washington Airport - BWI's reply:

    Thanks so much for your review, Debra and congratulations to you both! We wish you a wonderful life together!
  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shira was absolutely amazing! She jumped right in on my wedding day ( and prior) to ensure that my wedding day went as smoothly as possible. Words cannot express the satisfaction that I had with the staff of the Westin.

    Sent on 05/01/2018
    The Westin Baltimore Washington Airport - BWI 6

    The Westin Baltimore Washington Airport - BWI's reply:

    Hi Tiffany! Thanks so much for your review! It was a pleasure watching you and your husband and families celebrate together here.
  • User4486672 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a wonderful venue! They were extremely easy to work with and highly responsive. The pricing was dynamic to build your own package and exclude/include anything you want. Shira was quick to reply to emails to address any questions and concerns we had. The guests appreciated having the venue and hotel in the same space. The best part is the whole hotel has one ballroom, therefore your event is the only event for the day so you get their undivided attention!!

    Sent on 08/14/2018
    The Westin Baltimore Washington Airport - BWI 7
    The Westin Baltimore Washington Airport - BWI 8
    The Westin Baltimore Washington Airport - BWI 9
    The Westin Baltimore Washington Airport - BWI 10

    The Westin Baltimore Washington Airport - BWI's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review! Loved watching your different cultures merge together at your wedding - such a fun time!
  • Arik

    Kira · Married on 08/03/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with the Westin for approximately 14 months before our wedding day. Our original coordinator left us 1/2 way thru and we were reassigned to JoAnne and then Tommie. I have to say that I was very nervous when we were reassigned 2x...Tommie initially contacted my then fiance to introduce herself vs contacting me...the bride and I was a little upset about that...until I spoke to Tommie myself and I absolutely LOVED her!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I had a COMPLETELY diff. experience than all of the other reviewers here- Tommie was extremely helpful throughout the process, offering suggestions and answering NUMEROUS questions. I swear she knows everything. She was there for our rehearsal, setting up for the big day and making sure that everyone was aware of timing, locations, etc.

    As for our wedding day, it was PERFECT!! The transitions were flawless and if there were any issues, I had no knowledge of them. I later found out that there was an issue with one of our tall floral arrangements falling and Tommie swiftly stepped in to correct the problem like a superstar.

    The only negative would be that we found out our chef changed 4 days before the wedding, which isn't really the hotels fault, but it was a bummer. Tommie had an impromptu tasting, sent us pictures, etc and reassured us that the food would still be fabulous...which it was. The portions were great and everyone loved their food. Oh yeah, the tasting was one of my favorite parts of this process.

    The staff at the Westin was more than exceptional. It's a great hotel, close to the airport and it fit our needs perfectly. I would absolutely recommend the Westin for your next event...make sure you ask for Tommie!!

    Sent on 08/14/2014
  • W8ING

    K · Married on 07/13/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Despite what previous reviews have said, The Westin BWI not only went above and beyond but they always did it with a smile. If you want to feel like you are V.I.P. this is the place to be. We started with someone else, but JoAnne became the new director and we ended up working with her. Everything always happens for a reason and she was awesome to work with!!! They definitely have a repeat customer with us!! Oh, and for any event that involves alcohol make sure you ask for Ewing the bartender. He is the best bartender and will make your drinks right!
    As for the catering, the tasting was awesome!!! Our advice, eat little portions before because you will NOT be hungry when you leave. They give you huge portions to try. The food was absolutely yummy! In fact, I still have people telling us that the food was great from the reception.

    Sent on 07/29/2013
  • Tiffany

    Tiffany · Married on 07/06/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely loved my venue! From the first time I walked into it, I knew that was where I was going to get married. But when I looked at the reviews on WW and I got a little worried. But I have very few bad things to say about my experience, and any problems we did have were all minor and got resolved. We kind of stumbled upon the Westin and had a pleasant experience working with Tania as our coordinator until she got promoted and there was a little confusion about who was taking over and getting in touch with people. That happened about a month before my wedding and made me very nervous. But when it all got situated, I feel like the staff, especially JoAnne, worked overtime to make sure I felt comfortable again. They were flexible even until the very end as I decided whether I wanted to get married inside or outside because of the weather. They accommodated us in a lot of my requests and when they couldn't they offered a favorable alternative. And, even though the per person price was a little higher than what I wanted to pay, the level of attention their staff gave to me and my family was amazing. I have never seen the staff give so much attention to everyone at the wedding from the bride and groom to the guests. Even after my wedding I still feel like they cater to us regarding questions I've had. Our pictures are beautiful and we constantly get compliments on how beautiful everything was. Also since I did not have a DOC it was great that I could rely on the staff to make sure everything was the way I wanted it. When they returned all of my items they were washed and packed up as neatly as if they were packing their own items. Walking into the reception area after the wedding, I was so overwhelmed by how beautifully Sandra and Kelly had transformed the room. And the food was amazing, not your typical fare you would have at a wedding. The presentation and flavor were excellent. You definitely get what you pay for and the Westin is really worth the price.

    Sent on 08/12/2013
  • Francesca

    Francesca Gardner · Married on 05/18/2019

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Do NOT waste your time!

    We just had our wedding here on 5/18/19 and the new events coordinator Julie Woods is awful! Not responsive (late to reply to emails always) and uncooperative with my outside vendors! Due to her uncooperativeness Party Plus could not get the room draped in time and our whole day ran late. Julie was also no where to be found the weekend of our wedding. We couldn’t even settle up our final bill with the hotel bc she was gone until the following Thursday. The hotel itself is very modern and Jose did his part to make our reception go smoothly but from the time Julie took over for the previous coordinator Shira all our planning became a nightmare. It’s a real shame this hotel has great potential but they almost ruined our wedding. I later found out this hotel has a track record of problems. Save yourself the heartache!

    Sent on 05/28/2019
  • P

    P and N · Married on 08/10/2019

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Great hotel, great event space - but terrible planning experience

    The hotel space itself was really nice - very modern, nice amenities, nice rooms, nice garden area, good breakfast (get it included in your room rate for $10pp so your guests aren't charged $20+). Based just on the space itself, we would definitely recommend it wholeheartedly.

    Unfortunately the planning process was extremely difficult. The events themselves ultimately went off without a hitch, but only because we spent way too many hours chasing them and proofreading everything. The Westin planning staff were a source of constant stress and frustration for us in the months leading up to the wedding.

    A few specifics:
    (1) We signed our contract with one coordinator, who then left and was replaced by a different one. But this was still 6+ months before our wedding, so there was still plenty of time. Unfortunately there was absolutely no handoff or continuity between these two. Even 10 days before the wedding, the new coordinator hadn't realized that our contract said that the Westin would provide staff to pass around hors d'oeuvres.

    (2) Non-responsiveness. The new coordinator basically doesn't respond to emails. We would send a detailed email and hear nothing until we called 7+ days later, frustrated, at which point she would take care of what we needed in a few hours. This got better 2 weeks before the wedding, but was really horrible for the 6 months prior.

    (3) Room block. The Westin staff assured us they would keep an eye on our room reservations and let us know if we were ever close to running out (so we could increase the available rooms). Despite these assurances, the rooms ran out at least 3 times!! This caused us to field annoyed/confused calls from friends & family. Their portal is also pretty annoying and limited (i.e. if you want 2 rooms, one w/ a King and one w/ 2 Queens, you have to book two separate reservations because the portal can't handle choosing one of each.)

    (4) Not proactive and Lack of attention to detail. All the documents we received (floorplans, BEOs) were sloppy. We had to go thru everything with a fine-toothed comb and send bulleted lists of changes (that we had already discussed on the phone). A couple examples:
    * Original BEO had fees that weren't in our contract. All the BEOs also had duplicating and conflicting information in multiple places.
    * Original floorplan had the dance floor by the doors (180 degrees flipped from what it should have been).
    * We had them include breakfast in our guest room rate for $10pp. But when guests started checking in, the hotel gave them a $10 "voucher towards breakfast", and guests were getting charged the balance. They fixed this after we raised it, but another example of lack of communication and effectiveness.

    Overall, the effort required to plan an event at this hotel is probably triple what it would be at any other hotel, because you have to chase everything down yourself. If you don't do that, things will definitely fall thru the cracks.

    If you (or your planner) want to put in the extra hours & stress, go for it - the hotel itself is extremely nice and a great place to have events. Great rooms, great space, firepit outside. But it's a headache!

    Sent on 08/25/2019
  • S

    SGad · Married on 06/01/2019

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Save yourself the time and stress.

    A word of caution, do not have your wedding at Westin BWI.

    In early June we had our wedding and reception with roughly 325 guests. Since we had an Indian wedding, it was imperative that we have strong coordination between the venue and our vendors. Unfortunately, we were severely disappointed by Julie Woods-Clark and most of the venue staff.

    Here’s why:
    Lack of communication from Julie Woods-Clark between the vendors and us, which almost led to the baraat vendor canceling (an important part of an Indian wedding). She was non-responsive to most emails a month leading up to the wedding. Also, we were unaware that she would miss the reception completely and was not assigned a new point of contact.
    The event was severely understaffed. Several guests asked the staff to bring out more plates, utensils, and water for all meals.
    Information we discussed at the walk-through was not carried out at the event. For example: incorrect number of tables, smaller dance floor, and a soda station that was promised.

    To debrief and reconcile our horrific experience, we met with the General Manager, Jeff Makhlouf. In our meeting, we were met with defensiveness from his staff. Afterwards, it is clear he still has not grasped the extent of his staff’s mistakes nor taking full responsibility.

    Save yourself the time, stress, and money.

    Update: Since this review, I was able to remedy the situation with Jeff Makhlouf from Westin BWI. They accepted the mistakes they made and was able reconcile the issues we had.

    Sent on 07/12/2019

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review