Weddings

The Virginia Cliffe Inn Reviews

The Virginia Cliffe Inn

The Virginia Cliffe Inn

Glen Allen, VA
Rating 4.4 out of 5, 22 Reviews
View more information

22 Reviews

Rated
4.4
out of 5.0
Recommended by 88% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.4 out of 5

Awards

  • 22

6 User photos

Sort by:
  • B
    Becca Married on 09/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Virginia Cliffe Inn is Great!

    The Virginia Cliffe Inn was a wonderful venue to have my wedding ceremony and reception. The venue was beautiful, and the whole experience was smooth because of our point person, Amanda. I could not have been happier with her professionalism and service. 


    Throughout the planning process, Amanda took the time to answer all of my questions and reassure my concerns. She was approachable, transparent and helped me articulate and identify my priorities and vision. On the wedding day, everything was beautiful, and happened according to plan! Thank you for everything, Amanda, and the whole crew at the Virginia Cliffe Inn! Our wedding day would not have been as good without you. 
  • O
    Olivia Married on 09/26/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We are super happy we chose this vendor!

    We booked this venue for our wedding next year and so far they have been fantastic! They were super flexible and excited to meet with us and answer all of our questions! Can’t wait to celebrate our marriage there!

    The Virginia Cliffe Inn's reply:

    Olivia we are super excited to celebrate with you! Thanks for sharing your comments. You are a beautiful couple!
  • T
    Todd B. Married on 01/06/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding venue

    We have worked events at the Virginia Cliffe Inn. The staff are very attentive and professional. The venue is very beautiful for every brides big day.

    The Virginia Cliffe Inn's reply:

    Thanks so much Todd! We loved having you and really appreciate your review. Please come back soon.
  • S
    Sandra P. Married on 08/17/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Daughters Wedding 08/17/2019

    We had our daughters wedding at Virginia Cliffe Inn on August 17, 2019. Everything went as planned and so many of the guest called it a fairy tale wedding and had nothing but nice things to say about the venue. They are great to work with and Jenn, our wedding coordinator, really knows how to pull it all together.

    The Virginia Cliffe Inn's reply:

    Thanks so much, We loved having this family. All of our couples and their families are our top priority.
  • K
    Karen B. Married on 08/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Satisfaction!

    Virginia Cliffe Inn is definitely filled with Southern charm! First time I called Janice and left a message, she responded almost immediately; I was quite shocked as it was a weekend. Janice and the staff were very accommodating and made us feel important. Thankfully, we had gorgeous weather for our evening wedding; and the exquisite lighting was beautiful and enhanced the atmosphere. So happy that we found this quaint place which many of our guests didn't even know existed:)

    The Virginia Cliffe Inn's reply:

    Thank you Karen, I love all of my couples and families. It is a treasure to have an Inn and get to share in weddings and events with people. Thank you so much for choosing The Virginia Cliffe Inn as your wedding and reception location.
  • L
    Lauren Married on 06/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful wedding venue

    This was the perfect spot for our early summer wedding! Even though our day was washed out, the back up plan under the tent in the backyard was just as beautiful. If you are looking for a classic venue with need for minimal decor this is the perfect spot.
  • Debra
    Debra A. Married on 06/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding Venue

    We relished capturing property venue at Virginia Cliffe Bed and Breakfast Inn. If you are looking to host a corporate event (small or large), planning a wedding or seeking a place to spend a few days, we highly recommend, Virginia Cliffe Inn. You will be delighted with personal attention, a fabulous environment and a great experience! A must do!

    The Virginia Cliffe Inn's reply:

    Thanks so much Debra, We love our customers and really appreciate your support! We love the great pictures you capture when you are here!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 07/23/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you are looking for a wonderful place for your wedding, pick Virginia Cliffe! We rented out the Inn for the whole weekend which made everything very convenient. Mrs. Margaret cooks a delicious breakfast every morning, all the staff are pleasant and helpful, and the grounds are beautiful!
  • D
    Denise Married on 05/29/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you're looking for an outdoor venue that won't break the bank, this is it. We held our 158 person wedding and reception here, in the rain, and it was gorgeous! Marylee and Janice were nothing but flexible and sweet, especially since there were a lot of last minute decisions that had to be made because of the rain.
  • User2568268 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Hosted my niece’s bridal shower at the Virginia Cliffe Inn this past weekend, and I cannot recommend this venue highly enough! The house was beautifully decorated, and the grounds are gorgeous. The food was artistically displayed and tasty (several people raved about the chicken salad). Janice and her staff were attentive to our needs and so very nice. At the Virginia Cliffe Inn, it is easy to host an elegant shower with minimal fuss in a beautiful setting at a reasonable price.
  • B
    Bob Married on 08/28/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a wedding rehearsal dinner at the Virginia Cliffe Inn for my son's wedding. The event was held outside with the pavilion area used for the bar and pre-dinner activities. The dinner was held in the tent area. All of the guests were impressed by the setup. The staff of VCI were exceptional both during the event and were very helpful in making many positive suggestions during the planning of the event. The food was outstanding. During the entire evening, I did not hear one compliant from any of our guests.

    I would recommend VCI very highly.
  • A
    Aine Married on 06/20/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I could write paragraphs detailing every wonderful thing about the Virginia Cliffe Inn and their wedding services, but suffice to say they are unmatched in the level of service, value and aesthetic. They are truly a one stop shop for brides wishing for a beautiful, classic southern wedding. Our guests were thrilled with the accessibility, grounds and amenities provided at this venue. Jen Clifton, their event coordinator, is responsive, thoughtful and a great resource for brides, grooms and families planning the event. Virginia Cliffe provides a dream wedding location -- we are so glad to have chosen them.
  • C
    Carmel Married on 06/20/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This was an absolutely beautiful venue for our daughters wedding. We reserved the full package for the weekend. The inn was gorgeous, rooms tastefully appointed, beds very comfortable, homemade breakfast delicious, and innkeepers delightful. The wedding was held at the front of the inn with reception under the lovely tents in the rear. Rev. Gay Lee Einstein presented an inspiring and uplifting ceremony. The staff at the inn did an excellent job of ensuring that everything ran smoothly. Buz & Neds provided amazing food that guests raved about. Sweet elegance was enjoyed with cupcakes by Frostings. The special day was captured beautifully through the amazing photography of Sera Petras. Exquisite floral arrangements by Amanda Burnette brought smiles to the faces of family and friends. Guests danced the night away to music provided by Music, Music & More Music. We cannot say enough wonderful things about this event and venue. Whether you're planning a small or large event or just want a peaceful getaway The Virginia Cliffe Inn comes highly recommended by ourselves and our guests.
  • D
    Diana Married on 05/25/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Virginia Cliffe Inn was the ideal site for our daughter's wedding. We contracted for the ceremony, reception and the bed and breakfast option for ourselves and selected guests. Jen was the venue manager and she was extremely responsive and directed her team to bring everything together for a perfect wedding. We had private space for the bride, her attendants and their preparations. The groom and his groomsmen were also well accommodated with a private dress and relaxation space. The facilities were very well prepared and groomed. They offered great space for our caterer to prepare the meal, tent-covered dining and a separate, covered dancing pavilion. The bed and breakfast option was an interesting factor. We were from out of town, so it was nice to be on site the night before and after the wedding. The breakfast was to die for! Margaret, the owner, and her staff prepared an incredible breakfast for us and our out-of-town guests.
  • K
    Katelyn Married on 06/25/2016
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Virginia Cliffe Inn was such a BEAUTIFUL venue for our June wedding of close to 160 guests. I stayed there the night before our wedding in one of the suites and fell in love with the place. Janice was absolutely wonderful to work with and was very quick to respond with any questions or concerns that I had. They were very flexible with everything I asked of them. There was one moment of worry in regards to my payments, but Janice was quick to resolve the problem and make my stress go away completely. At my wedding Janice and Marylee both made sure that my husband and I were taken care of at all times. They even checked continuously with our families to make sure they were okay and didn't need anything. I am so glad that we got married at The Virginia Cliffe Inn.

    The Virginia Cliffe Inn's reply:

    Katelyn we love you!
  • Amanda
    Amanda S. Married on 04/25/2020
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Very nice venue

    The venue was beautiful and quaint but we ultimately went with a different space

    The Virginia Cliffe Inn's reply:

    Thanks so much Amanda for your kind words! We loved having you come visit us and wish you the very best. Stop in when you can.
  • E
    Emily Married on 05/02/2015
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This venue is absolutely beautiful.
  • M
    Lacey Married on 09/04/2011
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Virginia Cliffe Inn was an awesome value for what we were able to get (pavilion, bride's room, groom's room, and patio). Jenny, the Innkeeper, was always willing to answer questions, and responded soon after emails were sent. She was very professional!
  • M
    Meghan Married on 10/20/2012
    Rating 3.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    Very beautiful location. Can get married on front steps of Plantation Home or in the back flower garden at the gazebo.
  • User1395470 2+ years ago
    Rating 2.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    I used them for my wedding in October and between the time of booking and doing the wedding, people changed and everything turned into a mess! Luckily, the original contact came back, but she was useless on the day of the wedding.

    The venue itself was pretty, once it was decorated. The price was awesome and everything that was included took stress off of me.

    The Virginia Cliffe Inn's reply:

    The Virginia Cliffe Inn appreciates your feedback. We did have staff challenges in 2013 and have enlisted great professional staff to manage all of our events in an excellent manner at this time. We are excited to show you how special you are and how wonderful your event will be.
  • User2417873 2+ years ago
    Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    These people are a joke. My friend and her mom planned a wedding there, and when her mother unexpectedly passed away right before the wedding, they wouldn't even get on the phone to talk to the bride. They refused to refund her money and instead, got a lawyer to handle all communications. My friend was devastated and hurt over the loss of her mother, and EVERY OTHER VENDOR gave them back their money when they had to unfortunately and with heavy hearts cancel their wedding. My friends mother was so excited for the wedding she prepaid most of the contract, and they wouldn't even return the money, less the deposit. Instead, they offered her just the deposit amount and said "it seems this is the best we can do"

    This was such a horrible way to handle business. They are horrible owners and incredibly bad business people.

    I sincerely hope they never have to go through a personal tragedy themselves, but if anyone should deserve it, it be them.

    The Virginia Cliffe Inn's reply:

    At The Virginia Cliffe Inn we were very sad to learn of our clients mothers' passing just 8 weeks prior to the planned wedding. We are all about families and love so this response really does not represent our values. We offered to work with the Bride and family to support them in delaying the wedding to an unlimited date, as well as other considerations. We also tried to understand that making a decision in light of such a serious family decision just needed time. While we had wished the family would have been willing to give their decision to sue us if they did not all of the prepaid money back against the contract limitations more time they did receive all of the money they had invested in our venue. The Inn, on the other hand, did not have time to rebook a wedding in 8 weeks, loss the money we had paid to our supplies, contracted employees and suppliers. While this is not about money it is about some sense of fairness.
  • X
    Xuan Married on 07/11/2015
    Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    From the beginning we felt like it was taking a chance having our wedding the Cliffe Inn. It seemed disorganized with the coordinator giving us Sunday dates instead of the requested Saturday dates. We also were so very unimpressed with the rain contingency plan, which consisted of every guest piling into the attached (small) barn and wait it out. Despite all of this, we still wanted to support the small businesses and decided to commit.

    We had a verbal agreement with Jen to be followed up with a contract and deposit 2 weeks later because we lived out of state. The week of Christmas, when we would be visiting, we had the rug pulled from under our feet when they called to say they had “accidentally given away our wedding date.” We were told they were sorry, and to have a good Christmas or "whatever it is that y'all celebrate”.

    We are deeply disappointed and disgusted with what happened. At that point we were 6 months out and had already made other arrangements including a non-refundable deposit to the caterer for that date. We literally had to begin the whole process from scratch at that point and losing out on all the deposits that we put down.

    I do not recommend this venue as they are not professionals, and their lack of organization is regretfully apparent. Ineptness aside, the venue does not have any rain contingency plans, and they want to nickel and dime you for everything. Hiring Jen as a coordinator would mean she’ll answer phone calls that day, but nothing else, no decorations, no centerpiece placements, nothing. You or the caterer will have to clean up all the trash yourself, and be out by 10pm due to noise restrictions. Be prepared to tell guests that they cannot go inside the house in front of the pavilion, even if it storms.

    In retrospect, we were lucky not to get married at the Inn. Instead we had our wedding at the Manor House at Kings Charter, which charged $400 less for use of the entire house and grounds!