The Swiss Bakery Reviews

35 | Springfield, VA
See photos, pricing and details

35 Reviews for The Swiss Bakery

Recommended by 100%

35
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

1 User photo

The Swiss Bakery 1
Sort by:
  • J

    Jane · Married on 09/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Swiss Bakery was without a doubt the best choice we could have made for our wedding cake! The cake was BEAUTIFUL and it tasted AMAZING - moist and not too sweet. The price was also reasonable. Denise was very wonderful to work with - very knowledgable and responsive to our questions/concerns. We enjoyed several options from the tasting and we ended up choosing the chocolate with raspberry flavor. Highly recommend!!! :)

    The Swiss Bakery 2
  • C

    Catherine · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These guys were awesome! From the first tasting to wedding day, they were nothing but helpful, flexible, and kind! The cake was beautiful and delicious and they made the whole process so easy!

  • L

    Liz · Married on 08/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was honestly giving up on finding a wedding cake by the time I made appointment with The Swiss Bakery. I've gone to a few cake testings and they were all disappointments. But that was changed when I sat down with The Swiss Bakery and tested their cake. I knew I just found my wedding cake! I worked with Beth who's very knowledgable and responsive. The cake was delivered as scheduled, and looked exactly how we designed it with Beth; it looked and tested great. Thank you Beth and The Swiss Bakery!!!

    Sent on 08/15/2016

    The Swiss Bakery's reply:

    Dear Liz, Congratulations on your Wedding! It was a beautiful venue. And thank you for allowing us to be a part of your special day! We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to write this review. Bethany, Laurie and the team were delighted to work with you on your cake. It was truly a pleasure and they are so happy that you are pleased. They can't wait to do your complimentary anniversary cake! We look forward to seeing you then!
  • J

    Joan · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beth from the Swiss Bakery made a cake for my parents 50th wedding Anniversary- it went well beyond my expectations. It was beautiful and delicious. We have used the bakery for many cakes in the past and will keep using them!

    Sent on 07/11/2016

    The Swiss Bakery's reply:

    Hello! Thank you so much for your heartfelt review of Beth's pastry skills. She's just so happy that you are pleased. That means the world to her. And thank you for your ongoing patronage. We look forward to seeing you again!
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 06/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had no idea what tastes to choose and went in with an open mind, and it was the best decision!!! We had 8 different cakes presented to us with a trillion different flavors and needless to say we choose The Swiss Bakery and EVERYONE at our wedding was in love with our choices! We ended up with 1 cake and 4 side pastries for guests to have options. Two thumbs up, 4 Stars, happy tummy and the best customer service ever!

    Sent on 07/28/2016

    The Swiss Bakery's reply:

    Dear Caitin! Thank you so much for your review and allowing us to help you with your special day. We sincerely appreciate your kind words, and are overjoyed that you were so happy with the outcome. And of course we look forward to seeing you again for your anniversary cake! Best Wishes, The Swiss Bakery
  • User6079626 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great experience overall... Worked with us on both the food and the cake to give the result we wanted. Our guests were impressed by both the cake and other food. We have used them since for a cake, cookies, and pastries. We are used to very good pastry shops from New York and Montreal and their products are in the same league.

    Sent on 12/22/2015

    The Swiss Bakery's reply:

    Dear Private User, Thank you so much for your review and allowing us to help you with your special day. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and continuing business. And of course we look forward to seeing you for your anniversary cake! Best Wishes, The Swiss Bakery
  • User6121211 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was everything we asked for and more. It was beautifully decorated and was delicious!! We can not wait to eat our anniversary cake next year.

    Sent on 12/31/2015

    The Swiss Bakery's reply:

    Dear Private User, We are so happy that your cake exceeded your expectations. Thank you so much for your kind review and allowing us to help you with your special day. We look forward to seeing you next year for your Anniversary Cake! Best Wishes, The Swiss Bakery
  • K

    Kristine · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was delicious! From the moment we went in for the tasting everyone was very nice and accommodating. We were set on no fondant, and they worked with us to find a cake that matched our flavor that could be done with buttercream. The cake was simple and elegant, but most importantly it tasted good. Our guests said it was the best wedding cake they had ever tasted, and many went back for more then once a piece. An extra bonus is that the bakery will provide us with a mini cake on our anniversary that matches our wedding cake so that we do not have to keep any of it frozen for a year.

    Sent on 10/25/2015

    The Swiss Bakery's reply:

    Dear Kristine, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad we were able to give you that special cake, just the way you wanted it. And yes! We look forward to seeing you when you come for your anniversary cake! Best Wishes, The Swiss Bakery
  • S

    S · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend the Swiss Bakery for your wedding cake and wedding bakery needs.

    They are well organized; create delicious wedding cakes, cup cakes and other bake goodies that will delight your guest of all palates. The ingredients that they use are top shelf quality, and there eye for detail we very appreciated. All this service adds up and makes the cake taste fabulously great!

    We received many complements on our wedding cake and cookies during our event. FYI, our quests are CAKE people! They know what they like; so to please them; made us proud that we selected the Swiss Bakery for our wedding event.
    There customer services goes the extra mile and the cake-testing-session was sheer fun.

    I wish all of my choices for the Wedding were this easy and deserving a top rating.
    We rated Swiss Bakery A++ or 10++.

    Sent on 12/15/2015

    The Swiss Bakery's reply:

    Dear S, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. And thank you for noting how hard we work to make sure every detail you need for your special day is attended to. We are so glad you enjoyed your cake and cookies, and we look forward to seeing you again for your anniversary cake. Best Wishes, The Swiss Bakery.
  • User6235351 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After tastings at the 3 prominent Norhern Virginia bakeries my daughter chose The Swiss Bakery to make her wedding cake. The taste, texture, flavor choices, and designs were far superior to that of the others and the staff was delightful, professional, and accommodating.

    Sent on 01/19/2016

    The Swiss Bakery's reply:

    Dear Private User, We are so glad that your daughter enjoyed her wedding cake. We love making our clients happy and we look forward to seeing her for her anniversary cake.
  • User6058801 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a hard time finding a bakery that would deliver at an inconvenient time on a Saturday. The Swiss Bakery was very flexible and the best part was the Vanilla Mousse Cake! It was very moist and delicious. We can't wait for our one year anniversary cake.

    Sent on 12/16/2015

    The Swiss Bakery's reply:

    Dear Private User, Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are so glad that we could accommodate you on your special day, and that you enjoyed your wedding cake. We look forward to seeing you when you pick up your anniversary cake! Best Wishes, The Swiss Bakery
  • S

    Sabrina · Married on 04/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I ordered a cake for my in laws 50th wedding anniversary. They are a VERY picky family and when it comes to cakes, they spare no expense trying to out-do each other on every occasion. The family was driving here from NYC for us to host their party and I, as the daughter in law, was very nervous because i wanted to make it special for them. My husband and I had just moved to Lake Ridge the month prior to the party so I didn't know where to go for the cake. I stopped in the Swiss Bakery and the staff was so nice and helpful. I was given a few things to sample and a cake book to look at. I decided to have a special picture of my in laws on top of the cake and the cake decorator was fantastic and accommodating to everything I requested. I asked for the flowers and decorations to be metallic gold (not just yellow) and she hand painted metallic gold dust onto every flower and all of the beautiful trim around the border of the cake. The day of the party, I wanted to cry when I saw the cake. It was so beautiful!!! The family didn't even want to cut it and they stood at the table and stared at it for a few minutes and took pictures. When we cut the cake and finally got to taste it, it was so good everyone was silent! They enjoyed it so much they were speechless-- and this is a LOUD group! My mother in law had us carefully cut the picture off of the top of the cake so she could take it home and show her friends. She has since frozen it to save it. I was relieved and they were happy! I have ordered a few more birthday cakes since then and I have recommended The Swiss Bakery to my friends who have all been quite pleased.

    Sent on 12/18/2015

    The Swiss Bakery's reply:

    Dear Sabrina, Thank you so much for your review and allowing us to help you with your In-Laws' Anniversary Cake! We are so glad that your family was pleased. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and continuing business! Best Wishes,The Swiss Bakery
  • C

    Christina · Married on 05/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Swiss Bakery for the Rehearsal Dinner and Wedding Cakes. They were both phenomenal! They were great at giving us ideas on flavor profiles once we told them our likes/dislikes. Both cakes were so light and tasty (not overly sweet or buttery) and fresh. We’ll be using them over and over again for any even we need a delicious cake!

  • User4057818 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Two words to describe the wedding cake that the Swiss Bakery made for us: tasty, tasteful.

    We wanted the food to be the focus of our wedding and the Swiss Bakery exceeded our expectations. We decided that the cake should be light and fruity, so we went for a sponge cake with mousse filling (mango mousse on one layer and rasperry on the other one), and visually simple fondant decoration topped with fresh berries.

    Many guests asked for second servings and while we wish we'd had the time to do the same, no regrets because we know we will have our anniversary cake to feast on!

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used the Swiss Bakery for our Groom's Cake. My husband is a fan of How to Train Your Dragon and wanted a cake using that theme. Lauren, the cake designer, was excited and jumped to the task as she is also a fan. Shortly after our meeting, she sent us a sketch of her vision. Sea creatures at the bottom, viking ships on the next layer up, a haunted forest, and a man flying on a dragon rescuing a princess bride trapped in a spire! We were so thrilled about the design and even more pleased when we saw the final result. By the way, it also tasted fantastic. Seriously one of the best wedding cakes I've ever had. They were incredibly flexible and open to whatever cake flavor we wanted. Excellent job!

  • L

    Lisa · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have long used Swiss Bakery for family birthday cakes through the years so I knew I didn't need to go far for my dream wedding cake.

    As expected the cake was perfect- styled to our vision and absolutely delicious. Our guests loved it so much that there wasn't a single slice left (my immediate family and wedding party didn't even get any!) as some told me later "that cake was so good I had 4 slices". Too bad they didn't leave any for the rest of us- the groom and I only got our first ceremonial bite!

    Fortunately, we will get a small anniversary cake from Swiss Bakery as a gift on our first anniversary- a smart and logical way of having to save frozen, stale cake for a year!

    You can't go wrong with swiss bakery and the price is absolutely reasonable when compared to other area bakeries.

  • E

    Elisha · Married on 06/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The hardest part about working with The Swiss Bakery was deciding what flavor cake to get! They were all delicious, but we eventually picked a white chocolate sponge cake with strawberry buttercream icing. It was the best wedding cake I'd ever tasted! The cake also looked beautiful and perfectly matched our colors and venue. They also send you a miniature cake for your first anniversary so you don't have to eat gross, year-old cake out of the freezer!

  • User2029679 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Swiss Bakery in Springfield was so easy to work with. We especially enjoyed our tasting! The cake flavors are just amazing. The staff was very nice along the way. We made a few changes via e-mail and they were quick with responding and the cake turned out beautiful and delicious. We also added a cake stand the week of the wedding and they delivered it with just a deposit and a small rental fee and it really made our cake stand out! We are especially excited to enjoy the cake they will be making for our one-year anniversary :)

  • User3287941 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Reto and Laura are wonderfully professional. their staff is lovely to wok with.Their work is beautiful, delicious and fresh. Their prices are reasonable and competitive. I would chose them again .

  • B

    Bethany · Married on 04/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie was a miracle worker! I couldn't find a cake I was happy with, maybe I was being too picky, but I just couldn't find the perfect cake until The Swiss Bakery. She fit me in for a tasting literally two weeks before my wedding and made it all happen. It was beautiful and exactly what I was looking for! Everyone loved it and we will definitely be using them in the future!

  • S

    Susan · Married on 10/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We decided on a buttercream cake, and I was worried we'd have to forgo design, but not so! Laurie took inspiration from my engagement ring and did corresponding swirls, hearts, and pearls on the cake. She also arranged the fresh flowers from the florist on the afternoon-of (at the venue), and smartly recommended a colored table cloth to set off the delicate white cake tiers. We got three tiers (each on a different cake stand that we purchased) and a large sheet cake (kept in the kitchen). The Swiss Bakery actually let us come in for a 2nd cake tasting, as I was waffling between the two different types of cake and all the varied fillings. We ended up going for a sponge cake with fresh fruit and cream. Everyone commented on how fresh and tasty it was! We have since gone to the Swiss Bakery for pastries, fruit torte cake, and other assorted goodies. They are a full-service shop, with delicious treats. We are now regular customers. And they have offered to make us a top tier for our 1st anniversary, so we didn't have to deep freeze one for a year. :)

  • User2035805 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot recommend Swiss Bakery highly enough! I had no experience with them prior to getting our wedding cake from them but we were in search of the perfect, classic wedding cake. The search was a lot more difficult than I anticipated but they did not disappoint! Our tasting was easy going and delicious -- although, after trying the basic pound cake with vanilla butter cream icing, the rest was just a formality. They were reliable, the cake was beautiful and delicious, and they provided us with a fresh top tier of our cake for our first anniversary -- my husband and I were looking forward to it for months ahead of time :) We continue to use them when we need cakes -- truly delicious and any vendor like Swiss Bakery that makes the wedding preparation process less stressful is so invaluable!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 07/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were getting our wedding cake for our guests from our reception location (Mt. Vernon Inn), so we just needed a small ceremonial cake to cut before we all dug in.

    We ordered the cake -- a small carrot cake -- the week before our wedding. They were great. Unfazed by the last minute nature, they worked with us to pick a fancy icing option that would go with our cake topper and flowers.

    Our order was fairly simple, but we couldn't have been happier with the results.

  • L

    Lisa · Married on 08/20/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely amazing! The tasting was beyond what we were expecting. Not only did we get to taste all the flavors, but we tasted from mini cakes, so we could take home the extras to retaste if we wished to make sure we were confident about our choice. Laurie, went over the design of the cake, and we got to be very active in designing the look we wanted. Once I got the list of flowers my florist was going to be using, I sent that to the Swiss Bakery, and they recreated the flowers in suger form...beautiful!

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 07/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My now husband and I found The Swiss Bakery two weeks before our wedding. Our 2nd cake place had fallen through and we were up against a time crunch to find a wedding cake. The ladies at the Swiss Bakery not only agreed to do our cake on such short notice, but they still treated us like people and not just another couple they had to crunch through the system to knock out a cake in time. We were able to set up our cake tasting and were able to get the cake of our dreams for our wedding! The cake was beautiful and so yummy! I recommend The Swiss Bakery to everyone!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review