Skip to main content
Weddings

The Society Room of Hartford Reviews

The Society Room of Hartford

The Society Room of Hartford

Hartford, CT
4.9 out of 5 rating, 205 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
205 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating
97% Recommended by couples

Awards

205
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

86 User photos

  • C
    Christina M. Sent on 01/21/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Worry free and perfectly executed

    We are so grateful to have had our wedding at The Society Room of Hartford. The Society Room was amazing from the initial planning stages right up and through our wedding day. They made the wedding planning easy! The venue itself was stunning but the staff made everything flow so smoothly and they nailed every detail. The food was fantastic we heard about it for weeks later. It was a perfect wedding day we can't recommend them enough. Thank you for making our wedding labeled as one of the best many of our guests have been to!
  • Caroline
    Caroline Sent on 01/13/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stunning!!

    We are so happy with our experience at the Society Room! The space is so unique and was particularly warm and stunning for a winter wedding. The staff is very professional and incredibly organized. I felt confident leading into the evening that everything was going to run smoothly. On the day of the wedding I was really able to enjoy and not focus on the details because I knew they were taken care of. Food was delicious and service was impeccable. A real show stopper!
  • K
    Kailyn P. Sent on 10/29/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The BEST venue ever!!

    The best wedding venue ever!! We looked at a couple venues but as soon as we walked in and I saw the staircase and complete atmosphere of the venue, I knew we found the one! Everyone you work with is super helpful, they want your day to go as smooth as you do and they do all they can to make that happen. The day of bridal attendant was AMAZING. All our guests raved about the venue and food and continue to even after the wedding. HIGHLY recommend!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Patrick
    Patrick O. Sent on 08/17/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Society Room - 10 out of 5 stars!

    My husband and I got married at The Society Room in July of 2023 and we had an incredible experience from start to finish. From the moment I saw pictures online I knew this was the place I wanted to get married. Our wedding sales manager Chris Burns was excellent to work with, he was quick to respond to all my questions and helped us to plan all the little details of our evening. Everything we ate at Society Room was superb, our guests raved about their meals and the endless supply of appetizers that were provided, we especially recommend the Mac & Cheese bar, it was a hit! Society room wedding packages give you the most bang for your buck, there are not many venues of this class that offer so much in their package. The service during the reception is unparalleled from anything I have experienced as a guest at other venues. They start dinner service quickly after everyone is seated, we had 250 guests and everyone’s food was hot and we had no complaints about meal mix ups. I was impressed how quickly they got everyone served so we could start the dance party! Our personal wedding attendant from July 3, 2023 deserves a raise, I forgot her name but she made sure there was a drink in my hand all night and we received our own app sampler plate so we could relax for a minute after our ceremony! She also seamlessly handled all the bridal suite entry requests all night! Society Room includes your cake as well, we chose Creative Cakes by Donna for our cake, it was beautifully delicious strawberry shortcake- highly recommend! Overall we had the best experience and I would recommend The Society Room to anyone who is getting married in Hartford! *** Photo Credit- Carla Ten Eyck Photography, Hartford CT***
  • Rashida
    Rashida H. Sent on 05/02/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Wedding Venue

    The society room of Hartford is a fantastic place to have a wedding! My guest loved the food and the service; they're pricey but 100% worth it. I'd rebook this venue, and did I say it's a photographer and videographer's dream place to shoot?
  • A
    Allison E. Sent on 04/22/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Loved the Society Room

    We had a terrific experience with the Society Room. Everything was on the table to customize, they were responsive, the food was great, and the venue is absolutely stunning and unique. Highly recommend!
  • Rachel
    Rachel W. Sent on 07/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Breathtaking wedding venue!

    From the moment we walked into the ballroom, we knew we wanted to have our big day take place at the Society Room. The venue is absolutely gorgeous, between the ballroom, the bridal suite and groomsmen cottage, and of course the vault. The detail in all of the rooms is amazing and makes for an incredible atmosphere for a wedding.

    The staff was also incredible to work with. They were very organized, and the whole process was a pleasure from start to finish. The planning phase was smooth, with all of our questions answered quickly along the way. The food was great, and they had plenty of options during the tasting that we could choose from for our wedding day.

    When the day was finally here, we couldn’t have asked for a better operations team to make sure everything went smoothly. With so many details to worry about, it was great to be able to be confident in the team handling those details for us, so that we only had to get there and do our best to hold in our happy tears. All of our guests were blown away by the venue, and we would absolutely recommend the Society Room for any couples looking to have a wedding in Connecticut!
  • A
    Alison G. Sent on 03/06/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Easy planning!

    So easy to work with The Society Room, great people and staff. Not a single hiccup on their part on the day off. Highly recommend them!!
  • Casey
    Casey D. Sent on 11/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    It was a dream come true

    I cannot express enough how happy I was with the society room! the staff was amazing! The day of our wedding went so smooth and everyone was very accommodating! For a couple who does not do well planning out every detail and thinking of the little things Society Room was the perfect option for us! They asked the questions we didnt even think to have the answers to, so that the day of the wedding everything was taken care of. Funny Testimony to their excellence: The morning we were getting married the event manager came to me and said that my groom thought we had forgot the flash drive... but I knew we didn't bc I taped it to the seating chart frame and put it in his car myself before I left the previous day... I politely explained to the event manager that my future husband better find the one and only responsibility he had which was just bringing in the items I made and loaded for him ... shortly after our chat the event manager reappeared with my husband's car keys and the flash drive. It must have fallen off when they were taking it out of the car and it was under a seat. The event manager did not have to go search Daniel's car but WOW what an above and beyond sentiment to reassure me that he had today handled even if me and the groom were hot messes!!
  • R
    Rick T. Sent on 09/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Society Room

    The staff is experienced, responsive, prepared, friendly and helpful. The setting is beautiful and the food and service were excellent.
  • G
    Gina C. Sent on 07/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic place for a wedding

    Wonderful place for a wedding, the service was amazing. The food was outstanding. Everyone was professional and got back to us through email very quickly. It’s a beautiful venue, and very reasonable cost. Our guests were raving about the atmosphere, quality of the food, and the service. As well as the beautiful architecture!
  • A
    Alexandra Z. Sent on 12/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Come True

    The venue is absolutely stunning, the food amazing, and the staff very kind, attentive, and helpful. The staff took care of everything so all we had to do was relax and enjoy. It was the perfect day.
  • Sabiha
    Sabiha M. Sent on 01/03/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible Venue, Incredible Team

    This venue was absolutely majestic and exceeded all our expectations. The ornate design and decorations provided beautiful backdrops to every event throughout our wedding. We took our “first look” pictures in front of the grand wooden door. We read our vows underneath the towering curved window draped with an almost tapestry-like set of maroon curtains. The ceiling fixtures bathed the ballroom with a glowing warmth that set the tone for the whole evening. Our guests gazed upon the artful designs adorning the ceilings, not to mention the colossal marble pillars reaching up to them. The bank vault made for such a unique and picturesque scene like something straight out of a movie. In addition, the tables, seating, dishware, and silverware blended so well into the overall aesthetic.
    A beautiful venue is nothing without proper planning and coordination, and we have to say the Society Room exceeded in these regards, as well. From the moment we met with Jim and Melissa expressing our initial interest in this venue, we were met with helpful, responsive correspondence to all our questions, concerns, and requests. In the midst of a pandemic and the uncertainty it posed, we felt much more secure in our planning by having a team we could easily communicate with. In terms of service, the Society Room was unparalleled.
    As for the food, the venue delivered a delectable assortment of dishes. The hors d'oeuvres were tasty and flowed endlessly throughout cocktail hour from the refreshing shrimp cocktail to the zesty mini buffalo empanadas. The entr​​ées led to many clean plates, with the braised short rib & mashed potatoes easily becoming a fan favorite. The staff were extremely accommodating to all food allergies and dietary restrictions. They worked with us closely during prior planning, as well as the day of the event, making sure to double-check with each guest before serving their plate.
    Thank you so much for making our wedding an unforgettable experience!
  • Nicole
    Nicole T. Sent on 09/22/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing, Amazing and Magical

    Out of all of the places we spoke to, they were the most accommodating and with a very great value. They literally handheld us through every step and made us feel welcomed. The staff gave amazing service in planning and the day of our wedding. Even with delays they delivered. Our guests loved the location, food and ambience. The photo vault was a hit!!! They have unique touches not many places have. I would have another event here just because!!!
  • D
    Diane O. Sent on 11/04/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Venue! Highly recommend

    The staff at the Society Room walked us through our entire wedding day several times and made sure we were comfortable with the flow. The staff was patient & professional; and the food amazing. Wouldn't change a thing!
  • V
    Victoria I. Sent on 07/29/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The. Best. Ever.

    What can I even say about this place other than the people, the venue, the FOOD - everything was truly and unimaginably spectacular!!!! We had originally booked our December 2020 wedding at the Riverhouse but CT shut down all venues for the rest of the year. We were offered true flexibility, kindness, and solidarity throughout a very tumultuous time. When it was time to rebook, Riverhouse didn't have any Saturdays available so we asked if we could check out availability for The Society Room. We had went to see that venue first and it was my (now) husband's favorite. They said yes without hesitation and seamlessly moved our entire event over to the Society Room.

    We got married there on 7/10/2021 and I am STILL receiving compliments daily about how unique the venue was, how delicious the food and drinks were, how fun the entire celebration was - we got our dream wedding after all, I had been wanting to cancel this thing since we got postponed. I would never gotten the chance to see how amazing Melissa, Desmond, Jim and the entire Society Room crew were.

    I cannot thank them enough, our wedding was perfect TRULY. I wish I could relive that day a million times. No one can match the attention to detail and thoughtfulness of the Society Room and Riverhouse. You guys are wonderful and I can't thank you enough!!!
  • Heather
    Heather B. Sent on 06/20/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Outstanding service!

    I just want to say how accommodating, professional, and friendly the Society Room was to me and my wife! We had picked this venue back in November of 2018 for a June 2020 wedding. When COVID-19 hit, they were very understanding and gave us several dates to choose from for a new date, all without losing any of our security deposit or payments made up to then. When we finally had our wedding in June of 2021, the planning and preparedness of the staff was top-notch. Even the tastings were well organized! Being an engineer by trade myself, I can really appreciate a well-run organization and the Society Room is definitely a well-oiled machine! We had a prohibition-style/speakeasy theme for our wedding reception and the Society Room staff played their part with the details and decorations that I didn't even think of such as the set-up for the harvest table and the wedding favors! A BIG shoutout to both Melissa and Desmond and his staff! We were looking for something that was all-inclusive with regards to ceremony, reception and catering and the Society Room hit it out the park on all levels! Our wedding guests are STILL talking about how much they enjoyed themselves at our wedding! Thank you so much for making wedding day so special!
  • J
    Justin B. Sent on 06/27/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Once in a Lifetime Wedding

    Despite planning a wedding throughout Covid and from another state, the staff of the Society Room helped us create and experience our dream wedding. Everything from the food to the atmosphere exceeded all our expectations. The staff that worked on our wedding day made sure that both the bride and groom were taken care of and that we were able to actually enjoy our special moments instead of worrying and going through the motions. I cannot recommend this venue enough, the venue itself and the staff made our wedding day perfect!
  • Marta
    Marta Sent on 07/29/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply Amazing!!!!

    The Society Room staff went above and beyond to give me peace of mind during Covid. Wedding planning is stressful as it is but then with the pandemic it was a even more stressful. The staff and especially Melissa was super helpful in answering my frantic emails about everything from the newest ordinances to her thoughts on decor in various parts of the hall. The quality of food, drinks, service, and our bridal attendant the day of were top notch. They made sure we ate and got a chance to soak it all in which is so important on your wedding day. Thank you Society Room for making my wedding day dreams come true it was simply breath taking and I always will have such fond memories due to the amazing venue and staff.
  • J
    Jodi Sent on 10/30/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Day

    The Society Room of Hartford is not only a beautiful wedding venue, it’s a unique experience and every staff member made it memorable! Our day was perfect, down to the last detail, and we were stress free on our wedding day! The food was amazing, from apps to entrees and dessert, all of our guests could not stop complimenting! Our day could not have been more perfect, cannot thank the staff and coordinators there enough!
  • K
    Kelly H. Sent on 12/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The society room

    I met with Melissa and she has been friendly and helpful.
  • Justin
    Justin M. Sent on 01/16/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Decor you can “Bank” on

    Society Room was the first venue that my wife and I looked at and we booked it right after our tour. Jim Bucko gave us a great tour and Melissa is a pleasure to work with. She answered all our questions. They worked great together and was very accommodating to our requests. Society Room is very organized and the results speak for themselves. Our guests were all taken care of by the staff and the food was hot. Great venue to take pictures as well.
  • K
    Kimberly C. Sent on 12/13/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Society Room Venue

    We toured the Society Room as a possible venue for our wedding and loved it! Traci was very accommodating, thorough and transparent. She was able to answer all our questions and toured us around each room. She even sent follow up emails with documents I had requested. The space is stunning with options for several rooms and bars. The ornate decor adds to the aesthetics of the room. Initially we were hesitant about the split level balcony for a larger party but after learning more about their operations it was no longer a concern. Society Room was a strong option but unfortunately they were booked the date we were interested in.
  • Julie
    Julie Sent on 01/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best decision we made was to get married here!!!

    Have nothing, but good things to say about the SR. The staff is professional, hardworking, and so friendly. The night was so easy for us because of the staff. Shout out to Janna who was with. my husband and me, making sure we always had a drink and whatever we needed. Not to mention it is truly the most beautiful, one of a kind venue. 10000% recommend!!!
  • H
    Heather C. Sent on 12/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent evening!

    This was my dream venue before I even knew it existed!! From the very moment we started our tour to the very last second of our reception everyone at the Society Room was amazing! The service was impeccable and the food was delicious!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours