The Rhapsody Reviews

12 | Independence, MO
See photos, pricing and details

12 Reviews for The Rhapsody

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.6

Awards

12

23 User photos

The Rhapsody 1
The Rhapsody 2
The Rhapsody 3
The Rhapsody 4
The Rhapsody 5
+ 19
Order by:
  • A

    Angela Gangl · Married on 09/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Elegant and unique

    We were looking at old mansions in KC for a wedding reception venue for months but their reviews were horrible. We didn’t want a reception in cookie cutter hotel venue. Then we I went to the Open House for The Rhapsody in Independence, MO . Never expected to fall in love with a wedding venue when we toured the Rhapsody in 2018.

    The venue was so beautifully classic and unique. It has an old world Tuscany charm. The staff at the open house were so nice and helpful. We never expected such an elegant setting so close to home and great hotels for out of town guests. We booked it for the reception and as the year flew by we were informed of updates and improvements . The Rhapsody added a roof with lights and fans that covers their gorgeous patio, new flooring, new chairs, an outside fireplace, larger bar and a privacy fence. The Rhapsody just got better and better. At every turn throughout the year, if a problem came up in our planning, Rita Scherer at the Rhapsody either solved it or gave us great advice. Nothing phased her. She answered any question promptly and have us great alternatives.

    We saved money because Rhapsody has packages. Beautiful flowers in the wedding colors , set up, linens and a choice of many different centerpieces all included. Not only money saving but think of the time involved!
    We attended 7 family weddings through the US in 3 years. An informal poll was taken. Rhapsody won for best venue. I, as the MOB, voted it number one because it’s just not beautiful but the Scherer family went above and beyond in their customer service. We all felt we were working with family. We had no wedding coordinator since it was a reception after a destination wedding. If we forgot something or needed anything Brian was right there finding a solution .
    Brett’s Photo booth was so much fun. Brian won the family vote for best DJ of the 7 weddings. He met with the bride & groom and kept everything moving all night long.

    Bridal cottage is a must. We relaxed before the reception and just had fun. The red velvet settee is great for photos. So many places at this venue are great for photos- gardens, wall of flowers, arch and waterfall.
    Overall the Rhapsody has lots of fabulous space with a cozy elegant look. We are so thrilled about the way everything was handled. Even received our deposit back in a week!
    Thank you, Scherer family, we really appreciate all you did to make our daughter and new son-in-law’s party special! We still have two unmarried children so we hope to see you soon!

    Sent on 10/11/2019
  • S

    Shawnna Fleenor · Married on 08/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mother of the bride

    This event space is a hidden gem! Many info our guests did not know it existed. Location is prefect. No searching for parking or fighting the traffic or noise that you deal with downtown. Beautiful pavilion and indoor and outdoor space. Bride house was great! Lots of room for everyone to get ready together. Rita, Brian and Staci were awesome to work with.

    Sent on 08/24/2019
  • Lydia

    Lydia Washington · Married on 08/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fairytale Wedding!

    We just got married here on August 11, and everything was absolutely stunning. Although the venue is gorgeous, they constantly surprise you with improvements. They have an open vendor policy but are almost a one-stop shop to be honest! The owner Rita is extremely talented and can design, create, and bring your vision to life flawlessly. While Bryan offers Dj services but provides so much more! We had no idea how to plan/execute a wedding and they were there to help us every step of the way. Luann was a very pleasant, flexible and highly attentive to detail wedding coordinator. planning a wedding can be quite stressful but I can honestly say that we will miss working with the staff-they made it an enjoyable experience.

    The Rhapsody 6
    The Rhapsody 7
    The Rhapsody 8
    The Rhapsody 9
    The Rhapsody 10
    The Rhapsody 11
    Sent on 08/28/2019
  • Bethany

    Bethany · Married on 09/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    OMG, I don't even know where to start with the Rhapsody. Our entire night was AMAZING. Rita, the owner, is so sweet and so accommodating to everything my husband and I wanted for the day. She helped every single time we had a question PLUS you can't beat the price! With the package we had, we got a free Day-Of coordinator to make sure our day went as smooth as possible - which it DID. The day was amazing, I recommend them to EVERYONE that just got engaged. Thank you, Rita!

    Sent on 10/09/2018
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 07/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect! Staff was so helpful and made our day the best one we could imagine

    Sent on 07/27/2018
  • User5127680 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Rhapsody is a a beautiful venue and Rita makes everything easy for the bride and family. The ballroom comes decorated with beautiful flowers in my wedding colors that Rita put together. We had the option to do our own centerpieces which saved us money and allowed us a personal touch. The outdoor garden wedding was beautiful and we didn't need to decorate anything. Rita and her son Brian (our DJ) made everything easy and enjoyable. Weddings can be very stressful but our venue details were made easy with these two. We opted for the photo booth which was a huge hit! We also opted to use the cottage next to the venue for the bridal party to get ready. It was so fun having a place to spend our day without the worry I being late or traveling to the venue. It was also a fun place for the wedding party to gather before and after the ceremony. Rita's recommended alcohol and food vendors have worked with The Rhapsody on many occasions so they all knew exactly what to do so there was no hassle at all. We did regret getting optional wedding coordinator because she didn't really do anything. We had a rehearsal but none of the ushers knew what to do afterwards or during the ceremony (which I didn't find out until after the wedding luckily and we were given a refund for our troubles) but everything else was just spectacular! We received tons of compliments from guests of all ages.

    Sent on 05/30/2015
  • B

    Barb · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue could not be more beautiful!! The owner Rita did an amazing job of decorating both the gardens outside and the reception room!! She did all of the flower arrangements herself from table decorations to bouquets to corsages!! Every little detail was perfect! Rita's son Bryan was the best dj I have ever heard! He kept the dance floor full all night! Her other son Brett took charge of the photo booth! Rita also provided us with the sweetest most competent wedding coordinator ever, Callie!! I would recommend this venue to everyone!!!

    Sent on 06/28/2013
  • Angleique

    Angleique Jungmeyer · Married on 10/26/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful experience!

    The Rhapsody is an unbelievably beautiful venue! The three distinct spaces available to us were each wonderful in their own way, from the garden space for the ceremony, to the piazza-style covered patio, to the gorgeous ballroom, our guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves in wonderful surroundings. The service received was beyond our expectations, and the value is much better than most venues. That's not even mentioning the amazing bridal cottage and groom's space. Truly wonderful!

    The Rhapsody 12
    The Rhapsody 13
    The Rhapsody 14
    The Rhapsody 15
    The Rhapsody 16
    Sent on 11/12/2019
  • K

    Kennedy Germann · Married on 10/05/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding reception and ceremony

    The staff at the rhapsody was very thoughtful and committed to what the bride and groom wanted! They are very down to earth people and want what is best for the happy couple. Rita, Kaci, and Bryan helped us with our event. All three of them were very kind, and extremely helpful to have on our side during this process. Kaci was our wedding planner and she did everything she said she would, and more! Bryan was our DJ for the reception and both sides of our families are still talking about how well he did. Rita did our bridal party flowers, and centerpieces— they were well over our expectations, and out of this world amazing! Below/attached are some pictures of decorations, and the cottage where the bridal party got ready. My husband and I were very pleased with how our day went at the rhapsody. We highly recommend having both ceremony and reception at the rhapsody! Why go anywhere else, this place is amazing!

    The Rhapsody 17
    The Rhapsody 18
    The Rhapsody 19
    The Rhapsody 20
    The Rhapsody 21
    The Rhapsody 22
    The Rhapsody 23
    The Rhapsody 24
    The Rhapsody 25
    The Rhapsody 26
    The Rhapsody 27
    The Rhapsody 28
    Sent on 10/15/2019
  • B

    Bri · Married on 05/26/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is a great one stop shop kind of place. the owner and her sons provide services and they are super friendly. The venue and outside garden for ceremonies are beautiful.

    Sent on 06/22/2013
  • User3209158 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Venue and centerpieces looked amazing!

    Sent on 08/02/2013
  • User3418523 · 2+ years ago

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The venue was beautiful and the coordinators were a wonderful asset on our special day. The owner was sometimes difficult to get a hold of and scheduling/paying early was inflexible,

    Sent on 07/24/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review