Skip to main content
Weddings

The Reception Center by Mayer Catering Reviews

The Reception Center by Mayer Catering

The Reception Center by Mayer Catering

Matawan, NJ
5.0 out of 5 rating, 96 Reviews
View more information

96 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

96
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

44 User photos

  • J
    James R. Married on 04/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thank you!

    ABOVE & BEYOND OUR EXPECTATIONS! From booking our Wedding with Marybeth, meeting with the Owner/Chef Brian to select our menu, to the staff flawlessly executing our day, we truly could not be happier.
    2-28-20
  • D
    Donte H. Married on 02/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best place for events

    The Reception Center was the best venue me and my wife used. The place is beautiful and the staff is great. Very affordable. They will work with you and the budget your trying to still too. Highly recommended!!
  • Giselle
    Giselle Married on 12/04/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional

    Marybeth and her staff are truly amazing . From the moment we booked to the day of our wedding, everything was perfect. What an amazing venue !!!!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • A
    Alex Married on 10/15/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Hidden Gem!

    This place is a hidden gem! We had our reception here and it was perfect. Marybeth was so helpful throughout the process and so was our maitre d the day of our wedding. They set up the venue for us and it looked so much better than we could have imagined. The maitre d was so accommodating and always had drinks and food ready for us. The food was amazing and they made the whole evening stress free for us. We highly recommend the reception
  • F
    Fran Married on 09/25/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Day

    My daughter and son in law got married at The Reception Center last month!
    From start to finish everything was perfect! Thank you for everything.
    We look forward to hosting events again in the future!
  • K
    Kerri R. Married on 09/11/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Book here!

    My cousin got married here in 2011. Since that day I always knew this is the venue I would hosting my reception at one day! The food and service were just that unforgettable. Though my fiance and I toured many venues we both decided The Reception Center was the place for us! Our original wedding date was for July 2020 and we postponed to September 2021. Marybeth made this process as stress free as possible I am so grateful!
    For the past month we still have guests reaching out to tell us how incredible the food was.

    Thank you to everyone at The Reception Center for making our Wedding day PERFECT!
    -Kerri & Chris
  • J
    Justine R. Married on 08/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Hidden Gem!

    I had my bridal shower at The Reception Center about a month ago. This place is a hidden gem! Not only is the venue beautiful, but the staff is so polite, friendly and professional. Everyone was so accommodating and happy to help in any way they can to make your day amazing. The food is delicious, and my guests are still complimenting me on the variety and quality of food offered. I am so glad I decided to have my bridal shower here and cannot wait to plan another event at The Reception Center!
  • C
    Caitlin Married on 08/14/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Happy COVID Couple

    Covid wedding planning is no joke! The Reception Center and Marybeth made our planning less stressful and were understanding throughout the whole process. Our wedding day was finally in August. It was an amazing day! Our cocktail hour and all the food were great. Our maitre 'd, Amina, was wonderful along with the rest of the staff. We could not have asked for a better day! We highly recommend the venue to others.
  • K
    Kellie Married on 04/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream wedding

    We had our wedding at the reception center and it was perfect. Marybeth was super responsive and kept us up to date On what restrictions would look like due to the pandemic. It was honestly the best night of our lives! The food was out of this world and we loved that we were able to have a tasting before we booked. The Maitre d’ Jesse made sure me and my husband were able to enjoy our dinners and that our drinks were full all night. The Chateaubriand was both our favorite! However, our family really enjoyed the chicken St Clement and the salmon as well. Everyone is raving about the cocktail hour!! Marybeth and Brian were very understanding about covid and worked with us through out and we’re more than willing to work with us on our original guest count. I can’t thank The Reception Center enough for everything. They truly blew us away and made our wedding a dream.
  • Tricia
    Tricia M. Married on 10/23/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    MaryBeth is the BEST!

    I cant thank Marybeth, Bryan, and staff for making our wedding the best day of our lives! They worked with us right up until the end and were SO accommodating. Especially with COVID, nothing stopped us!! HIGL
    HLY RECOMMEND!!!!
  • Toni
    Toni B. Married on 09/05/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Service

    Although we were not able to have our wedding here due to COVID I still wanted to write them an excellent review. Marybeth was incredible to work with from the first time we walked in! The venue is absolutely beautiful and it broke our hearts to have to cancel - they were nothing short of fantastic when we initially changed our June date to September and we’re so flexible when we decided to cancel altogether. I cannot recommend them enough due to their customer service!
  • M
    Matt Married on 08/03/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    best night!

    We had our wedding here! It was perfect, truly the best night of our lives!
    The FOOD did not disappoint, the reviews truly say it all! The Maitre d’ Hazel made sure me and my husband were able to try everything during cocktail hour. The Chateaubriand was both our favorite!
    Thankfully we had our Wedding right before COVID, we had some last minute guests drop out for being scared and The Reception Center accommodated and understood.
    I can’t thank The Reception Center enough for everything!
  • Leigh
    Leigh C. Married on 06/13/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Amazing!!

    I cannot say enough positive things about The Reception Center! Not only is the staff absolutely wonderful, but the food is phenomenal, it's very affordable, and the over all experience was fantastic. As a Covid bride who needed to postpone, they were so kind and helpful during the whole experience. Marybeth, the Wedding Coordinator, is amazing, and was attentive and communicative from booking up until the day of. The staff working our wedding were great as well.

    We received so many compliments on the food- that it was the best wedding food our guests ever had, and how awesome it was that there were so many different and delicious foods during cocktail hour. (Seriously, cocktail hour is amazing and I hope to be invited to a wedding as a guest to eat it again!)

    The ballroom was beautiful and the night was perfect. We are so happy to have had our wedding there!
  • Amanda
    Amanda G. Married on 03/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Venue Ever!

    I can't thank The Reception Center (especially Marybeth) enough for making my wedding so amazing! They were so accommodating when we had to change locations due to Covid. They did everything they could to make my day extra special from the AMAZING FOOD and cake (that we received so many compliments on!!), to the decoration set up, taking care of me and my now husband during the reception, and serving buffet and tapas style cocktail food to make my guests feel comfortable with the Covid concerns. Thank you so much!!
  • Michele
    Michele P. Married on 02/22/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing quality and quantity!

    We could not be happier that we chose The Reception Center for our wedding! You can not beat the quality and quantity of food that you get for the price. Staff was excellent. Very professional Marybeth is awesome. Always accessible and smiling
    If you pick The Reception Center you will not regret it
  • C
    Christina B. Married on 02/14/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing and perfect

    The best wedding ever. We were married onsite on February 14th and the set up for the ceremony was beautiful and the ambiance was romantic. Marybeth and her staff are amazing and very accommodating. They followed every detail I wanted to perfection. The food was outstanding and plentiful and the drinks were strong. I’m still getting phone calls on how amazing our wedding was. The Reception Center is definitely the hidden gem of New Jersey. I even had people say they are considering using this place for their future events. My family and I couldn’t recommend this place enough.
  • M
    Megan Married on 01/08/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best day ever!

    Working with The Reception Center was the best decision we made! Though COVID postponed our April Wedding to August and certainly changed a lot of what we had planned we are so thrilled with everything.
    Marybeth was so easy to work with in keeping us in the loop and assisting in moving our indoor Wedding to outdoors. The food is out of this world. We still have guests raving about the caterer to this day! Our Maitre d' Jessiann was always at our side and took great care of us throughout the night. The whole staff did great!
    We cant thank you enough and look forward to hosting future events!
  • Karen
    Karen B. Married on 11/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our Wedding 11.08.19

    We can’t say enough about this Amazing Venue!!! We loved everything!!! The service, food, decor, staff, our Matre’d Jesse, our coordinator Marybeth, absolutely excellent!!! Our guests were raving about the food all night!!! They are above and beyond professional and make you feel so special!! They gave a personal touch and were so attentive to every last detail!! The things we couldn’t remember, they did!! We will definitely recommend The Reception Center to anyone having a special event and we will definitely hold this place close to our hearts for future events as well!! We will never forget Our Wedding Day!! Best Day Ever!!! Thank you Reception Center Team!!! 💗, The Koehlers xoxo
  • A
    Allison M. Married on 11/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Truly Special

    MaryBeth and Brian are incredible. Every little detail of our day was taken care of. They go above and beyond. Our guests loved the food, and people kept telling me how much they enjoyed cocktail hour! They took such care with our decorations and made it look better than we could have imagined. They are also just wonderful people, and they are so helpful and communicative. The value you get here is far and away better than anywhere else. I would recommend this venue to everyone. Can we give six stars?
  • D
    Dottie Married on 10/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fabulous Wedding Venue

    I can't say enough good things about this venue. So happy we chose it for the wedding reception. They offer choices for all budgets. We chose the Classic Reception and our guests are still raving about the hall, food and the staff. Marybeth was our coordinator and she made sure everything was perfect for our special day. The staff didn't miss a beat during the reception and the food was outstanding!
  • Katherine
    Katherine Married on 09/21/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend!!

    All I have to say is WOW!!! Our expectations were exceeded in every aspect. We could not have asked for a more perfect space to have our wedding. The food was outstanding, the cake and decor were PERFECTION, and don’t even get me started on the service!! Marybeth, Peg, and the rest of the team ensured everyone from myself and my husband to our guests had everything they needed and didn’t have to wait for anything. Every single one of my guests were blown away by the exceptional service and amazing food. I cannot give enough praise to this venue!! Amazing. Thank you thank you thank you!!!!
  • T
    Taryn Married on 09/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Ah-mazing.

    I can’t quite put into words the unbelievably amazing experience my now husband and I had with booking our wedding at The Reception Center. From the moment I contacted Marybeth for info and to set up an appointment, she was extremely kind and prompt in responding. I might’ve have emailed her once a week for the year and a half leading up to my wedding and not once did she make me feel like a pest. There is no comparison when it comes to having a wedding coordinator like Marybeth. She made my planning process with the venue so easy! Her, Jessie (the maitre d) and the rest of the staff were attentive and treated us, our family and our friends like kings and queens!
    The amount of insanely delicious food you get for a fraction of the cost of all other venues leaves no comparison. They even offer to pack your leftover dinner to bring home! My husband and I didn’t touch our Italian pastry tray and they even boxed that up for us. After 2.5 weeks, we still have people telling us how amazing the food was.
    The Reception Center truly is the best kept secret in wedding receptions. I wish everyday that I could relive my wedding day here. Thank you to Marybeth and the rest of the Reception Center staff for making our day anything and everything we could’ve ever imagined!
    - The Wentz’s
  • Sara
    Sara Married on 09/06/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best decision we ever made

    Booking the Reception Center was the best and easiest decision we ever made!

    Short version:
    INCREDIBLE, AFFORDABLE, BEAUTIFUL, DELICIOUS, AMAZING SERVICE, BEST NIGHT OF MY LIFE!
    (if it feels like I am screaming, I am. It was perfect!)

    Long Version:
    We had our wedding on September 7th 2019. Saturday night. Off Season.
    Our ceremony at the St Clements Church next door.
    Everything was so beautiful and delicious! It could not be more perfect!
    Not to mention the staff were incredible. So kind, diligent. Seriously, they were ontop of EVERYTHING!

    Even when we first started looking at venues, we compared everything to the Reception Center and what they had to offer.
    Besides the fact it was one of the most affordable venues we found, we quickly found we did not have to sacrifice a thing.
    Marybeth was easily one of the selling points. She was so patient and sweet. Never pressured us into anything.
    She gave you her heart and all her attention from day one.

    We chose the Grande Buffet Option.
    We got 3 attended stations during cocktail hour, 8 different passed hor d'oeuvres, and an antipasto station, veggies, fruit, cheeses, everything!!
    Everyone could not stop raving about the milkshake shooters, mac n cheese spoins, friend calamari, steak, gnocchi – seriously, there was so much great food.
    Fast forward to dinner, we had 5 entrees, plus a potato, and veggie. Then two carving station (ham and chateaubriand –my mouth still waters thinking of that dinner)
    And not to brag since it was my wedding, but I am pretty sure that was the best wedding cake I ever ate.
    To put all this into perspective, other venues make you outsource the cake, or pay for your own linens, center pieces, colored uplighting, or shortened the cocktail hour.
    Most often, other venues would cut us short on food or items just to get remotely close to the Reception Center's price.
    The Reception center not only delivered on the basics, but spoiled our guests with amazing bottomless food, an upgraded bar, extra desserts after the cake cutting, champagne upon entrance, an ice sculpture, live pianists, and zeppolies at the end of the night.
    It was truly incredible and if I could write a novel about the place, I would.
    The reception center goes above and beyond to make sure everyone is taken care of. And let me just say they spoiled my grandma. Marybeth even offered my grandma her office chair just so she can sit in something comfy with arm rests. They escorted her into the dining room early, brought her a dinner plate so my family could enjoy their night, and wrapped it all up when she needed to leave early.
    They even gave us an extra helping of desserts to bring home to her because she had to miss the cake cutting.
    I seriously could not put into words the amount of love and attention that came from this staff.
    If you are considering the Reception Center, know itll be the best decision you ever make.

    To everyone at the Reception Center/Mayer Catering, I love you all sosososo much! Thank you for making my wedding so incredible and truly a night to remember!
  • Tiffany
    Tiffany Married on 09/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing & affordable

    I can't say enough of this place and Marybeth! Everything from the planning process and the day of was PERFECT. Our guests are still raving about the food and the service! I chose the middle package and still had everything I wanted. It came with the cake, baked on site, centerpieces, lighting, birdcage for the cards, linens, ice sculpture, and pianist playing during cocktail hour. The attention to detail for what we paid was incredible. I had the time of my life and understand why this place is "the best kept secret!" Our wedding was 9/1/19.
  • Karryne
    Karryne L. Married on 07/06/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Venue Ever!

    The Reception Center is a perfect 10! We had our wedding on July 6th, and people are still calling us daily to express how wonderful our wedding was! Marybeth and the entire staff at the Reception Center went above and beyond to make sure we didn't need to worry about anything except enjoying ourselves! The planning process was so easy because they have everything there for you, from different dining options to napkins and linens, centerpieces, backlighting, and even ice sculptures and a pianist! They have a selection of packages to choose from and even offer impossible to beat specials and add ons. The prices are also unbeatable! Everyone there was amazing and very accommodating. They answered all questions promptly and nothing was a “stupid question", they really made us feel like everything was normal and simple. Our event coordinator Marybeth was so very helpful and kept everything running on time. She checked up on me to make sure I had everything I needed. She handled any and all situations that came up and everything was just perfect and wonderful. As an example, in the craziness and shuffle of the day, the Maid of Honor speech was misplaced. Within minutes, Marybeth was able to print another one out to calm my MoH's nerves. I absolutely loved having a separate room for the cocktail hour. Our attendant made sure we had every option of food the general room had and made sure to get extra of the bacon and burrata I so desperately wanted. Many of our guests said it was the nicest wedding they had ever been to! Everyone raved about the food, it was plentiful and so delicious. We had excellent service. The bar always made sure our glasses stayed full and made sure our water was replenished to help keep us well hydrated. Everyone raved over our signature cocktails, especially the berry sangria! The food was absolutely superb! They even packed us dinners and our dessert plate to take home at the end of the night, and I heard from many guests that they had their dinners packed up as well from how full they were from the cocktail hour! The late-night passed apps were so cool too! The wait staff came out with light-up platters of mozzarella sticks, mini hot dogs, etc, which looked amazing with everyone on the dance floor. I really hope our videographer got that on film! Great people to work with, and a beautiful night! I have never experienced such great and amazing service before. This will always be the place to go for any parties we have in the future! I am definitely recommending this venue to anyone I know getting married, just for the selfishness of wanting to attend a Mayer Wedding as a guest!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message