The Raging Skillet Reviews

49 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

49 Reviews for The Raging Skillet

Recommended by 99%

49
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

3 User photos

The Raging Skillet 1
The Raging Skillet 2
The Raging Skillet 3
Sort by:
  • S

    Susan · Getting married on 01/24/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The catering service was great! Delivery was fast and secure and most importantly, the food was AMAZING! Great pricing as well. Check them out!

  • R

    Rosalind · Married on 11/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream Wedding Brunch!

    TRS is wonderful! Very personable, experienced and professional. Chef Rossi is so open to ideas and flexible. The teams energy is infectious. My guests can't stop talking about our food! Loved working with them and would definitely recommend them to others!

  • M

    Meredith · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Food!!!

    My guests have been raving to me about the food from my wedding. We were able to customize our menu. Chef Rossi can make just about anything. So...we had Southern Comfort food for the hors d'oeuvres like mini chicken n' waffles and had a veggie option for the entrees. Since we had a fall wedding, Chef Rossi created mini pumpkin and apple pies.

  • C

    Cheyenne · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Raging Skillet is number one for a reason! They will take care of every detail and customize everything down to a tee! My husband is from Maine and I’m of Caribbean descent and we had dishes that blended and represented our cultures perfectly. My guests were literally licking the plate! Thank you Chef Rossi for designing the perfect menu and thank you to her super coordinator Charmaine! You both and your entire crew made my night perfection! Let’s do it again soon

    The Raging Skillet 4
    The Raging Skillet 5
    The Raging Skillet 6
  • A

    A · Married on 07/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Rossi and Charmaine are absolute rock stars and deserve the absolute highest praise for the work they did at our wedding. Together, we worked up a phenomenal fusion menu and they delivered beyond our expectations. Leave it to this crew to execute an Indian-German meal perfectly. Many of our wedding guests said it was the best wedding food they'd ever tasted -- and we agree!
    From the get go Rossi and her team were very helpful and accommodative of our slightly left field request of a family style Indian meal and Indian/German hors d'oeuvres.
    We would recommend them to anyone who loves delicious food and wants it to be a real showstopper on their wedding day!

  • D

    David · Married on 12/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you so much to Chef Rossi and her team for creating delicious and beautiful food and providing expert guidance. With exquisite taste and positive energy, The Raging Skillet was the perfect caterer to make our celebration a huge success. Our guests raved about the entire experience.

    Having planned many professional events, this personal celebration was one of the least stressful we have ever experienced thanks to Chef Rossi, Charmaine and their entire team.

  • M

    Mike · Married on 10/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the pleasure of working with the Raging Skillet team for our wedding at the Prospect Park Picnic House in October. From pre-event planning through event's conclusion (when they gave us some delicious leftovers) Chef Rossi, Charmaine and their talented team helped make our wedding a memorable event for all.

    The food/drink was a big priority for us and Chef Rossi did a great job helping us hone our vision pre-event. We followed Chef's recommendation to go with a Floating Supper, something neither of us had experienced before, and were thrilled with the results. We came up with a creative menu (which went through a few revisions) that they executed flawlessly. The service was impeccable - they kept wave after wave of appetizers and small plates coming, ensuring our guests ate as much as they pleased. The bartenders were also outstanding, making delicious drinks and keeping everyone's glasses full throughout.

    They not only did a superb job anticipating the needs of the crowd, but kept a close eye on my wife and I to make sure we too had plenty to eat and drink.

    We couldn't be happier with choosing the Raging Skillet team and give them our highest endorsement for being a talented, professional and attentive caterer!

  • A

    Adam · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were wonderful to work with. Chef Rossi is so funny over email, too! This was the only caterer who did a tasting where we got to taste an entree before signing a contract. And what a tasting that was. We, along with three other couples, got to taste around 8 different hors d'oeuvres, a smaller portion of the entree and a few desserts. Chef was also great about helping to explain why she has such a wide potential cost range for a wedding.

    Charmaine, the event manager, is great with the logistics of running a wedding. At our walkthrough, she took charge, made some helpful suggestions given how we were using our venue. She also was helpful in the last few weeks with explaining the rental list and what her thinking on counts of certain items. At the end of our wedding, Charmaine and Chef Rossi packed up a bunch of food for my wife and I to take as leftovers and she arranged with the venue for us to be able to leave them in the refrigerator to pick up the next day.

    Speaking of the food, it was excellent at the tasting, excellent at the wedding and excellent in leftover form, too. We received so many compliments about the food from our friends and family. Some of our friends were wanting to arrange to get dinner with us because the food at the wedding was so good.

    The service by their waitstaff was really good, from what I could tell. Obviously, being groom and bride, you're going to get special treatment, but I didn't sense anyone was unhappy with getting drink refills or when they received their food or that they had been given negative attitude by any of the staff.

    Some might be turned off by the fact that The Raging Skillet doesn't provide alcohol or a cake. That's not to say that they charge a fee for serving those items, since they do not. But you'll have to find a vendor to provide these items.

    Needless to say, I highly recommend The Raging Skillet.

  • K

    Kendra · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Can’t say enough wonderful things about Rossi and The Raging Skillet team. Working with them for our wedding was genuinely one of the best decisions & most enjoyable aspects of planning our wedding. Our wedding was the most special and memorable experience for us—better than we ever could have imagined—and we credit Raging Skillet with being a huge part in making that happen. If we had to do it all over, you bet your a$$ we would pick them again! Chef Rossi is immediately helpful, friendly, and transparent during initial conversations about what you’re hoping for and what your budget is. She demystifies crazy wedding parlance (when other caterers talk you in circles or put you into their boilerplate formats) and makes everything SO MUCH FUN. She has a menu full of attitude, swag, and much inspiration and enjoys working through what you want. Once you taste what she cooks up, it's a no brainer! She crafted a delicious menu that fit our international and casual vibe. She totally understood we didn’t want a formal sit-down dinner and wanted a more modern format: a continuous cocktail-style party with heavily passed bites so that our guests could stay moving, stay dancing—all night long—while being happy and well-fed at the end of the night. The food was beyond delicious. Everyone raved nonstop about all the different bites they could try, how international and fun the menu was, the eye-catching presentation, and how kind all the staff were to our guests. Charmaine, who manages front-of-house operations, came to our venue walkthrough a couple weeks before wedding: she is totally awesome, team player, prepared, has all sorts of brilliant ideas around etiquette, troubleshooting logistics, and suggestions for “nice touches.” She oozes total professionalism, kindness, hospitality, and is a total joy to be around! You will be in the BEST POSSIBLE HANDS and they are the NICEST PEOPLE. We're so grateful we worked with Raging Skillet:-)

  • N

    Niki · Married on 05/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an absolutely wonderful experience with The Raging Skillet. They catered our wedding at Smack Mellon Gallery and the food was amazing. Chef Rossi was a joy to work with. She went out of her way on numerous occasions to accommodate our budget constraints and always made herself available to answer our numerous questions. We couldn't be happier with how everything turned out and would recommend The Raging Skillet to everyone.

  • D

    Dennis · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is written from the prospective of the father of the bride. Chef Rossi, and her fantastic staff led by Charmaine were simply fantastic. What a dynamic duo!!!! The food was beyond good, service was impeccable. Chef Rossi worked with us on the budget and a menu that was not typical wedding food. Throughout the planning to the wonderful wedding Chef Rossi made us feel like we were her most important client. If you want incredible food, service and attention to detail, Chef Rossi and her amazing staff delivers more than you could ever dream.

  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 12/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Raging Skillet! What can I say but UNBELIEVABLE. Chef Rossi and Charmaine are total rockstars. Their food is delicious, restaurant quality, and they were incredibly helpful figuring our prices and the flow of the evening. Even with a last-minute scheduling issue, all our guests went home raving about the food, especially the late-night snacks of pizza bagels and Crack Oreos! My groom and I had to leave the reception (I had to go perform in a play), and Rossi and Charmaine filled to-go boxes with appetizers and food for us, which we devoured ASAP. It was the perfect night, and never would have been so wonderufl without them. Thank you, Raging Skillet! I can't wait to throw a party just so I can hire them again. Love, love love!

  • A

    amy · Married on 11/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Us: high maintenance, detail oriented, obsessed with good food. The Raging Skillet: First rate, delicious, and creative food that all of our guests raved about.

    If you're reading this, you probably realize that most of the reviews are positive. Making matters worse is that any competent chef can give you a good tasting, because that's cooking food for two people. What you want to know is what happens when they're scaling that food to 50-100x as many people, in a space that may not even have a conventional kitchen. so it's hard to read between the lines and determine who really is best.

    Listen up - reach out to Chef Rossi. You won't regret it. My husband and I love food of all kinds: haute cuisine, street food, holes in the wall in other cities and countries etc. And we'll just say, first, that Chef Rossi's tasting was indeed excellent but that the wedding food WAS EVEN BETTER. We got married a few weeks ago and we still keep hearing from our guests that it was the best wedding food they've ever had.

    The day of the wedding was a tour de force by Rossi. The brisket buns, the pastrami on rye crisps, the chopped liver, the smoked mozzarella and beet arancini, the burrata and fig, I'm going into a food coma just writing it down. Did we mention that our guests keep raving about the food?

    Further, a bit about the service. We asked Chef Rossi and her team 1000 questions as we were finalizing our menu and day of setup. Each response we received was helpful and she never lost her patience with us. Her team is excellent - Charmaine, Eran, they all came together to make a flawless event for us.

    We said it before and we'll say it again. If you're like us, and not sure who sets themselves apart on the long list of New York City caterers, if you like high end formal food as much as authentic food with personality, and if you want someone who's going to deliver food that's even better than the awesome tasting, The Raging Skillet is for you.

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 11/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Rossi is amazing! We felt really safe in her hands. She was very responsive and super helpful with planning our menu. Our wedding was at the picnic house and went so smoothly thanks to her team. The real MVP is Charmaine who was with us from our final walk through and beyond. She was unbelievable to work with, and most importantly, made sure I always had a glass of prosecco in my hand. She knew when my glass was low before I did, she's like a spy. The food was really great, especially the hors d'oeuvres. People are still talking about the mac and cheese balls. As with all vendors, make sure you really read the contract and ask questions! They're more than happy to answer them.

  • M

    Mary · Married on 10/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our wedding at The Green Building in Brooklyn, and we found The Raging Skillet on their list of recommended caterers. We were looking for a caterer who could provide a full vegan wedding, and Chef Rossi had full vegan menus on her website! Sounded great -- then we read her reviews and we're blown away by how much everyone loved her! Rossi and Charmaine were both an absolute pleasure to work with. They were genuinely excited about our wedding, went right along with the Harry Potter theme, and helped make everything super special. Our guests (who were mostly meat eaters) loved the food and are still raving about her portobello mushroom steaks and newly veganized "crack balls"! Rossi and Charmaine, we love you!!!! Thank you for making our wedding perfect from appetizers to dessert! (And for giving us the extra food to eat the next day!). We are so happy and would hire them alllllll over again!

  • G

    Gail · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a team - all the staff members are amazing - hats off to Chef Rossi and Charmine. Amazing food, timely response to all emails and attention to details. Our guest raved about the food - we had a floating dinner which was fun, upbeat and delicious!!!

  • C

    c · Married on 09/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From our initial tasting we were sold - Chef Rossi and Charmaine are amazing! Both are quick to respond to emails, easy to work with, and always willing to help answer a question or offer a suggestion. l, and most importantly her food was delicious. Our guests raved about cocktail hour, dinner, and have even asked where to buy the Oreo Crack. We highly recommend Raging Skillet and hope our friends and family book so we can enjoy more of her creative dishes!

  • K

    K · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Rossi and her amazing team pulled off a miracle at our wedding. We had a "my worst nightmare has come true" incident at our wedding when our rental company was running VERY late and didn't arrive until 30 minutes before our guests. We rented everything from the rental company, including tables, chairs, silverware, and almost all of the kitchen supplies that Chef Rossi needed. Chef Rossi and her team basically did things that would normally take four hours, and they managed to do it in 30 minutes. Not only were they able to get all the food out in time, the food tasted great. Chef Rossi's team also seriously hustled and set up all of the tables, chairs, and place settings in time for our guests. The guests didn't even know that we had a major problem that could have very easily devastated our wedding. Quite frankly, I wouldn't have known that we had a major problem if someone hadn't told me (my husband and our fabulous wedding planner actually didn't tell me there was an issue until the rental company was at the venue, so I wouldn't stress out).

    In addition to handling the rental problems like a true professional, Chef Rossi was a dream to work with. My husband and I are big foodies, and we were looking for a caterer that had great food and was creative. We didn't want to have the typical steak/salmon/veggie choices for our entrees. The menu-planning sessions with Chef Rossi didn't start with a list of options for hors d'oeuvres, appetizers, entrees, and desserts that we had to pick from. Chef Rossi asked what we wanted, and she would let us know if she could make it. Her repertoire is vast, and there was very little that she couldn't make. We had this really outstanding roasted lamb as one of our entrees. They marinated it for a few days and then very slowly roasted it. We felt that the food we had at the tasting was a good representation of how the food tasted at our wedding. We highly recommend Chef Rossi and cannot thank her enough.

  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Rossi and her team are phenomenal!!! One of the few things my husband and I felt strongly about for our wedding was having a floating dinner of small plates, rather than a seated dinner. Even just a tiny bit of googling shows that Rossi is an expert at this format. I contacted her and she invited us to a couples tasting event, which was not only delicious from start to finish but also super fun. We booked her pretty much the second we walked out the door and I'm so glad we did! The food at our wedding was outstanding, as was the presentation and execution. Several guests told us it was the best food they'd ever eaten at a wedding and I completely agree. Moreover, Chef Rossi brings decades of expertise to the table. She struck a great balance of helping us get everything we wanted, while also telling us when our ideas might not work out so well and proposing modifications.

    If you happen to be gluten free, then DEFINITELY look no further. Chef Rossi can cook anything, but I needed an all-gluten-free menu and everything was absolutely perfect. Some of the best gluten free food I've ever had, and most guests had no idea. This is truly a specialty you won't find with many wedding caterers.

    Finally, in addition to the delicious food, Charmaine of Raging Skillet is such a wonderful manager and was truly an indispensable part of making sure our night went smoothly. She attended the walk through of our venue, ensured that our timeline made sense, and was there the night-of to make sure things went off without a hitch-- which they did! She also made sure that my husband and I tasted everything and always had a glass of champagne handy.

    I highly recommend Raging Skillet and am so grateful they were a part of our wedding day!

  • T

    Tanya · Married on 08/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough about the dream team of Chef Rossi and Charmaine! From the very first meeting we knew that we were in good hands and that the food would be incredible, but they went way above and beyond and exceeded our expectations in every single way. Not only was the food ridiculously good, but the wait staff too just completely blew me away with their kindness and graciousness and attentiveness to each and every guest. They made sure that we, as the bride and groom, were taken care of and that we ate, and on top of that gave us a TON of leftovers to take home after, including dessert! The wait staff was so incredibly sweet, friendly (interacting with everyone, even our dog!), and made sure everything went smoothly and everyone was happy and well-fed. Charmaine is one of the sweetest people I've ever met, and her sheer presence, including checking in on us throughout the evening, made us feel that everything was cool, calm, and under control. She made the night incredibly smooth and seamless and was an absolute pleasure to work with throughout the entire process. Chef Rossi is not only an amazingly talented chef but also an incredible human being, who worked with us despite numerous changes, questions, and other snags. She was very accommodating of our budget and willing to work with us every single step of the way. We now truly see why she has won so many awards - they are very well-deserved!! I would recommend Chef Rossi and her incredible team to anyone in a heartbeat. Thank you for making our special day that much more - we are so grateful to have had the opportunity to work with you!!

  • M

    Melissa's · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best wedding decision we made! Having great food at our wedding was one of our top priorities and a non-negotiable. Both my husband and I are huge foodies so being able to enjoy our food was really important. After meeting with Chef Rossi at her tasting we had to look no further. The food was outstanding!! After a summer of weddings, we (and our family and friends) were thrilled to have something that was both delicious and not just your standard wedding fare. Its difficult to even find words to do justice for how amazing the food was. From lobster rolls, to peanut butter and bacon sandwiches, to pulled pork tacos, it was unbelievable.

    Equally as incredible was the service and experience we were provided! Chef Rossi and Charmaine were absolutely outstanding! Chef Rossi had a call with me to chat about what types of food we like, don’t like and what our vision was. The thoughtfulness, care, and calm attitude she had on this call was amazing and present throughout the entire process. She is just a genuine good person. When she provided us with the menu, it was spot on! Presentation was perfect and during cocktail hour there was plenty to go around, no standing and waiting to rush the staff as they came out. And I don’t know how they did it, but they were able to get the main course served to everyone so quickly and the food was still hot and fresh. Charmaine was a gem to work with as well and I have never seen someone so in tune and attentive to ALL the guests and went out of her way to ensure my husband and I had everything we needed. She certainly brought everything together. Last but certainly not least, Chef Rossi went out of her way to package up all of the left over food for us!! It was so sweet of her to do, and we enjoyed it so much we even brought some on our flight to Kenya!! My family who was staying in town devoured the rest and was also so thankful for it. Chef Rossi, you rocked our wedding and we cannot thank you enough!!

  • User6843821 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Rossi and her team at the Raging Skillet were a dream to work with for our June 2016 wedding! Right from the start, my husband and I wanted the catering to reflect our respective cultures, and the Raging Skillet came highly recommended to us from the the Picnic House at Prospect Park. In the end, they were the only catering company we consulted with and we are so glad that we stuck with them! They were able to create an eclectic and custom menu that reflected both our cultures. Needless to say, the food was amazing and our guests raved about so many of the dishes. Moreover, throughout the planning process, Chef Rossi and Charmaine gave us many helpful suggestions that made our wedding run so much more smoothly. On the day of the wedding, the staff was incredibly kind, friendly, and overall, just wonderful people to work with. A special shoutout to Charmaine, who was so responsive and supportive throughout the entire wedding. In the end, both our reception and ceremony went smoothly, and we owe a lot of that to the Raging Skillet for their top-notch expertise, professionalism, and dedication. I honestly do not have anything negative to say about the Raging Skillet--they know what they are doing, they go above and beyond what is asked of them, and they do not disappoint! You just have to put your trust in them and let them work their magic!

  • B

    beverly · Married on 06/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There was a tasting event at the picnic house with a half dozen vendors. I got to chat with the chef and the party planner as well as taste the yummy food. My husband and I also went to the kitchen to sample some of the food and discuss menu.
    The wedding was multiracial and multi cultural and we were delighted that Chef Rossi was so versatile.

  • K

    Kate · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Raging Skillet catered our wedding on 6/11/16 - we initially found then when we saw one of their menus at what ended up being our venue. Working with Chef Rossi was fantastic...she gave us plenty of personal attention, was a ton of fun to work with when figuring out the menu, and in the end the food was absolutely amazing. All of our guests were stuffed and happy, which was our goal from the beginning!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review