The Racquet Club of Philadelphia Reviews

19 | Philadelphia, PA
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for The Racquet Club of Philadelphia

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

19

2 User photos

The Racquet Club of Philadelphia 1
The Racquet Club of Philadelphia 2
Order by:
  • Shaunessy

    Shaunessy Sneller · Married on 12/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Racquet Club was incredible!

    Laura S. from JAM catering/The Racquet Club of Philadelphia was such an absolute pleasure to work with. We are so glad we chose the Racquet Club for our reception and would highly recommend them to any bride & groom!

    The Racquet Club of Philadelphia 3
    The Racquet Club of Philadelphia 4
    Sent on 11/20/2019
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiance and I were unsure where to get married - we both live in NYC ... but met in Phila ... and are from the far outskirts of the city. All of the venues (we looked at dozens) near home were super rustic, which isn't what we were looking for, so we decided to look into venues in Phila ... but afraid of the price tag. We looked at ONE venue in the city ... The Racquet Club and knew the second we stepped inside that this was our wedding venue. The place is GORGEOUS ... the character, the architecture, the colors, I mean everything about it is just stunning. I actually want to take my bridal photos on the chaise in the women's bathroom (not joking) ... every inch of RCOP is just absolutely perfect. They have 13 (affordable AND nice) guest rooms (including a HUGE bridal suite) which makes it super easy for bridal parties to all be in the same place. The fee for renting RCOP was much less than I was anticipating and we are happily having the wedding we've always dreamed of, while staying in budget. We are in the early stages of planning, but so far all staff at The Racquet Club have been super accommodating (I'm sure they are sick of my "Hi, (insert family member) is in the city and would love to drop by and see the place" calls). If you're looking for a classically beautiful venue with old city charm make sure to check this place out.

    Sent on 12/15/2017
  • S

    SK · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our daughter was married at the end of August 2018 at the Racquet Club of Philadelphia. We couldn't have picked a more perfect venue and are still glowing from the wonderful day enjoyed by the bride and groom and their friends and family. The Racquet Club (RC) helped to create a day that was everything we had dreamed of for her - it was elegant and classy and magical and lots of fun.

    Within the RC are three distinct spaces for the celebration, a big plus. Our ceremony was held in the gorgeous marble rotunda. The cocktail reception that followed was in a large library type setting, and then dinner was served in yet another room. It made it possible to have quiet music played during dinner, and people were able to have actual conversations without shouting! After dinner the party moved back out to the rotunda where the band had set up for dancing.

    Jeffrey Miller does the catering for the RC, and Laura Shoup is their site coordinator. She is a consummate professional, who makes sure that the myriad of details that go into planning a wedding come together seamlessly. She is responsive, warm, and personable, and was a pleasure to work with.

    Jeffrey Miller Caterers provided a delicious meal. We tweaked our menu quite a few times, and were very pleased with the results. The hor d'oeuvres were delicious and well-presented, and the dinner was equally scrumptious. Mothers of the Bride don't get much time to linger over a meal, but I tried to steal a few moments to enjoy the good food. Service was prompt and attentive.

    The RC also has rooms for out of town guests, and we used their Founders Suite as our base for getting our hair and makeup done. This was convenient and comfortable and worked well for us.

    I have nothing but high praise for all the personnel at the RC. They were all helpful and accommodating. I highly recommend the Racquet Club and Jeffrey Miller Catering.

    Sent on 09/28/2018
  • M

    Charlotte · Married on 04/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't even begin to express how amazingly our wedding at the Racquet Club went. My fiance and I knew right away it was the perfect choice for our wedding, with it's old Philadelphia charm and bright welcoming spaces it was a dream come true. The event designer Laura was so delightful to work with, she responded to all of our questions right away and made the details part of wedding planning completely stress free. The food from Jeffrey Miller Catering was easily the best we've ever had at a wedding. They have rooms available to stay in and an amazing downstairs bar that we could book for our after party so we didn't have to spend one second of our wedding day traveling. Everything from the food, the incredible staff, and the beautiful space made it the absolute best day of our lives and I can't thank them enough. I cannot recommend the Racquet Club of Philadelphia and their entire wedding team more highly.

    Sent on 07/06/2016
  • K

    Katie · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I could not have had a better experience working with Laura at the Racquet Club of Philadelphia. The location was perfect for a center city wedding and the charm of the building was exactly what we were looking for. They work with an exclusive cater, Jeffrey Miller Catering, who were awesome. Our families rented out all 13 hotel rooms which was incredibly convenient. People are still raving about how great the flow of the evening was with having different areas dedicated for cocktail hour, dinner and dancing. We rented out the old style pub downstairs for an after party which was perfect to keep the night going. We had about 150 guests and it was perfect for the space. I would recommend this venue to anyone looking for a fun, unique venue in center city

    Sent on 10/19/2015
  • F

    Frank · Married on 09/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply beautiful. INCREDABLE staff

    Sent on 09/26/2014
  • M

    Mike · Married on 01/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. We keep getting comments from friends and family about how our wedding was the best ever. I couldn't agree more; I would not have changed a thing.

    If you're looking for a super unique venue with LOTS of character and amazing party flow, look no further. Not only is the venue sweet, but the affiliated caterer, Jeffrey Miller Catering, is top notch. Marc, the wedding coordinator for Jeffrey Miller, was amazing throughout the entire planning process and executed on the day of like a champion. Even my DJ was impressed enough to offer a comment about how great Marc and his team were.

    You owe it to yourself to check this space out.

    Sent on 01/21/2014
  • Kerry

    Kerry · Married on 07/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't score the RCOP any higher! The venue was absolutely perfect for our wedding. From our first showing to the planning to the day-of details, Katelynn and her team worked with the utmost professionalism and flexibility. They nailed it! The space is GORGEOUS - it is classic, beautiful, and very Philadelphia. The food is great. The bar is awesome (Rob, the bar manager, worked with us to provide local brews and a signature cocktail that was delicious). The hotel rooms in the RCOP are wonderful and priced so reasonably. The whole experience and event was just A++.

    Sent on 10/11/2013
  • User2124814 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was married at the Racquet Club in September 2012 and had a wonderful experience. It is a super pretty place that is much more unique than a hotel ballroom because it's historical and has unique architecture. It also has a city vibe, located just a few blocks from Rittenhouse Square. You are required to use Jeffrey Miller Catering, which has really amazing food. We're foodies that live in NYC so we're super picky about food, and JMC did not disappoint. It was not "wedding food." Also, JMC assigns a wedding coordinator to handle all of the details. Coordinator Marc Liss was fantastic especially for a detail oriented person like myself. An added bonus is that you can rent the basement bar room for an after party (for an additional fee of course), which is super fun and gives you more time to interact with your guests.

    In short, I would highly recommend the Racquet Club!

    Sent on 01/05/2013
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married at the Racquet Club of Philadelphia on 9/8/12. It was a beautiful venue for our wedding...the large staircase was the perfect spot for our first look and the various rooms for cocktail hour, dining, and dancing made the venue quite unique and different than your typical ballroom. It was also very convenient - we stayed at the Racquet Club the night before the wedding and on our wedding night and also held our after party there! Jeffrey Miller was the exclusive caterer for the venue and we had a wonderful experience with them. Our venue coordinator, Marc Liss was awesome! He was so accommodating throughout the entire process! He made sure we had our private tasting before we signed our contract and even arranged for us to come in for a second tasting when we changed our mind about one entree. He was always quick to respond to emails and calls and always offered his insight and expertise when we were making decisions on different aspects of our wedding. On the day of our wedding, everything was set up exactly as we wished and he made every effort to make sure we had a great wedding day. We especially appreciated our doggie bag with some of our hor d'oeuvres and entrees at the end of the night! The food at our wedding was delicious and we received many compliments from our guests! Besides Marc, the rest of the the staff was wonderful as well - everything went exactly as planned and we had an awesome day. We also had our after party at the Racquet Club and I would definitely recommend it. It was so easy to have everyone just come down to the basement bar right after the wedding to keep the party going! I can't recommend The Racquet Club, Jeffrey Miller or Marc Liss enough - thank you for making sure our wedding day was perfect!

    Sent on 11/07/2012
  • L

    Louise · Married on 04/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Racquet Club is an amazing venue. It has the classic old world Philly feel and decor. The venue offers a sense of movement throughout the evening as well. There are multiple rooms in which the evening rotates though: a beautiful sitting room for cocktails and appetizers, a lovely dining room for dinner and speeches, and a beautiful open foyer with grand staircase for entrances and dancing. The Club uses there own caterer and provides the bride and groom with wedding coordinator. The food was fantastic. We had a private tasting where the food was prepared for us to try and comment on. The caterer also did our wedding cake. The cost for the venue, food, and cake was well below anything else we explored in the Philadelphia city limits. The Racquet Club also gave us an option to provide our own libations or pay them for the open bar. Either way bartenders, mixers, and glasses etc were provided.

    Sent on 07/09/2014
  • Emily

    Emily · Married on 06/17/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm getting married at the Racquet Club this June. Everyone at Jeffrey A. Miller Catering (JAM), the exclusive caterer for this venue, and the Racquet Club has been great so far as we prepare for the wedding! We first met at the venue with Laura Shoup from JAM about a year ago - she took a lot of time to show us around the venue & answer all of our questions. After seeing the space & meeting with her, choosing to have our wedding reception there was an easy decision. The venue is so beautiful and spacious. It's classic and has a ton of character. They were very accommodating & worked with us when our first choice of date wasn't available. Our contract & down-payment process was also very simple & straightforward.

    Over the past year, Laura has always been very accessible through E-mail to answer questions. The staff at the Racquet Club has been very helpful too - they were courteous enough to let my parents drop by on a week day to look at the space and the upstairs guest rooms (which are an added bonus of this venue).

    Last weekend we had our group tasting at the Racquet Club which was so much fun & so well-run by JAM. I really like that they offer group tastings because it allows you to try a huge variety of food (I was SO full afterwards) and to see what the venue looks like all set up for a reception. My fiance & I can't wait for our big day & for all of our guests to see how amazing the Racquet Club & JAM are!

    Sent on 02/03/2017
  • User2753539 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ultimate professionals whose experience showed from the initial planning through the event execution.

    Sent on 11/04/2012
  • Martha

    Martha · Married on 04/14/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married at the Racquet Club April 2012 and had an amazing time! First of all the venue is perfect for someone looking to have the ceremony, reception and after-party all in one place. The central room sets up perfectly for a ceremony with ~150 guests, the red room looks fabulous for cocktails and the dinning room is a perfect size. You have access to the bridal suite during the day which is a fabulous place to get ready. They even helped me set up a brunch in the bridal suite for my bridal party while we were getting ready. We also had our after party in the main bar in the basement of the racquet club which allowed people to party until 3am. We booked all the rooms at the club and our group of guests that stayed there loved the experience and thought the hotel was on par with other philly hotels (our other guests stayed at the Warwick). I would strongly recommend this venue.

    Sent on 04/23/2012
  • E

    Emily · Married on 07/16/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We wanted a black tie optional wedding in a place that time forgot with good food, a beautiful space, and lots of drinks. We certainly got it at the Racquet Club of Philadelphia. The venue is linked with JAM catering, so our coordinating happened through JAM, so consider this a review of both of these businesses. Ideally, we wanted a venue that felt old Hollywood, where our wedding party could spend the night, where we could bring our own wine, and where we could have an after party, too. The Racquet Club provided all of those things, so we were sold.

    We immediately clicked with Laura, and she killed it on our wedding night. She did a great job of listening to what we wanted, and was flexible and made it work. Early on, we were a little bit nervous about making sure that everything got completed, but it did, and went very smoothly. Laura did an amazing job helping set up the space, and we were amazed at how well it transformed to exactly what we wanted it to be. All of the food was wonderful, and Laura did an awesome job of moving things along, even giving us a chance to see the dining room before our guests.

    There were a couple of odd things that happened with service on the evening of the wedding, both after Laura left. We would probably not order some desserts again that we ordered. Our intention was to have desserts butlered, and have a beignet stand in the room with the dance floor. All of our desserts ended up in the room where we did cocktail hour, which was separate from the dance floor, so my husband and I did not get to have any dessert at our wedding besides cake when we did those pictures, which was a bummer. Similarly, we had two VERY nice bottles of wine reserved for us and our bridal party, that were meant to be set aside, but when we went to get more of them later on, they had been served to other guests.

    In all, our wedding was magical and as close to perfect as it could have been. We would absolutely book the RC and JAM again.

    Sent on 12/16/2016
  • User2644559 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a tough decision choosing a wedding venue, but we undoubtedly made the right decision. This venue is elegant and so beautiful. I loved that there are three rooms to work with; we had cocktail hour, dancing and dinner in three different rooms. To me, this feature was so much better than being in one ballroom all night, and it prevents people from camping out at their tables all night.
    The staff was professional and responsive, and there were only a few small glitches throughout the night, none of which anyone knew but me (after planning a wedding, I'd say that glitches are unavoidable). Jeffery Miller Caterers is the exclusive caterer here, but I thought that the rental fees and per person costs were reasonable for such an impressive venue, especially after doing a lot of comparisons. I would not have changed a thing about my venue.

    Sent on 09/08/2012
  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 05/14/2011

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    This was a perfect venue! The location could not be beat! We had our ceremony, reception and after party here, which made the day easy on everyone! We also were able to rent the rooms upstairs, which served as a little something extra to say "thank you" to the bridal party! The venue itself is stunning and many of our guests remarked on the location, beauty of the space and flow between cocktail, dinner and dancing!

    Sent on 04/18/2012
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 06/24/2017

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The venue is absolutely beautiful. The venue has so much historical charm and vintage look that there is minimal decorating required. We are happy with the venue. There are hotel rooms upstairs available for out of town guests, which is convenient. Owen, the front desk manager is great. He is quick to respond and is pleasant to talk with.

    In regards to the catering service that is exclusive to the venue - the food was good (much better during the tasting though). The food was much better than most wedding food that we've had. Laura, the coordinator is great with communicating to all vendors so that we didn't have to worry about it. We are grateful to Laura and JAM, they truly provided more than we asked for.
    If I were to critique something, I do wish the flow of the wedding was a bit more organized with having people directed into the appropriate rooms at the appropriate times.

    Sent on 07/10/2017
  • Jennifer

    Jennifer · Married on 11/10/2012

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The venue is absolutely stunning and we received so many compliments on our choice of a "unique" venue. (Plus, they have an exclusive catering contract with Jeffrey A. Miller Catering, and that is reason enough to have an event here.) The key is working with your JAM contact and having as little to do with the Club folks. While some folks were completely fine, others were of the opinion that they could make decisions for us about details of the wedding, on our wedding day (i.e., where our wreaths could be hung), resulting in some last minute scurrying when I had to make that correction.
    A bonus, however, is that the Club does have 13 guest rooms, so that if you do hold an event there, you have the option of having several guests be able to stay overnight, which was extremely convenient. Another plus, the Club has a much lower minimum guest count than many other venues in the city for a Saturday night (which was a plus for us), so if you're looking for a unique venue on a weekend, I would highly recommend the Racquet Club...just be aware of some potential issues and you'll be fine.

    Sent on 11/30/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review