The Carriage House Reviews

18 | Saint Augustine, FL
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for The Carriage House

Recommended by 94%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.7

30 User photos

The Carriage House 1
The Carriage House 2
The Carriage House 3
The Carriage House 4
The Carriage House 5
The Carriage House 6
The Carriage House 7
+ 24
Sort by:
  • Kaitlin

    Kaitlin · Married on 04/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The perfect venue!

    My wife and I just got married at the Carriage House on April 27th and honestly, Erin, with House Of Assembly Events, was able to take our dreams and make it reality for our special day! Erin teamed up with Amanda, of Simply Weddings By Amanda, and Sarah, of Sarah Annay Photography was honestly a dream team!! If you are looking for something breathtaking and truly beautiful for your special day and don’t trust just anyone to do it, you have my word that they are the best.
    The Carriage House was a perfect venue. Want an inside wedding? They have an amazing rustic barn. Want an outside wedding? You have your choice of a few different spots. Want a combo? (Honestly, who wouldn’t? Highly recommend!) They have that option too!

    Don’t believe me? Look at these amazing photos from my own wedding and tell me who wouldn’t think this was stunning? And, the best part is, the entire reception area was a complete surprise to the brides until after the ceremony...and it was phenomenal! Do you know another vendor you would trust that much?

    If you are just starting to look or think you found the venue for you, please don’t say the final yes until you’ve seen what the House of Assembly Events has to offer. They’ll more than likely beat the price of your other choice too for what’s to offer!

    Absolutely everyone who attended the wedding said it was the best wedding they had ever been to!

    Sent on 05/14/2019
    The Carriage House 8
    The Carriage House 9
    The Carriage House 10
    The Carriage House 11
    The Carriage House 12
    The Carriage House 13
    The Carriage House 14
    The Carriage House 15
    The Carriage House 16
    The Carriage House 17
    The Carriage House 18
    The Carriage House 19
    The Carriage House 20
    The Carriage House 21

    The Carriage House's reply:

    We LOVED being such a special part of your wedding day! Thank you so much for completely trusting us! This was such an amazing experience and a perfect example of the incredible work that a good vendor team can do when they are given some freedom to do what they do best! This day was Perfect and oh so enchanting! Congrats Kaitlin and Krysta and Thank Tou for the great review!
  • Mitesh

    Mitesh Desai · Married on 12/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Venue for wedding, gathering, or any event

    Amazing Venue for wedding, gathering, or any event! Erin was amazing and went above and beyond to create the perfect Garba for us (Indian Dance festivity, pre-wedding). She did the research herself and decorated the place way better than we could have ever imagined.

    Sent on 09/24/2019

    The Carriage House's reply:

    Thank you for your great review! Your event was So Much Fun!! Hope to see you both again one day!
    Erin
  • M

    Madeleine · Married on 01/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a great experience celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary at The Pioneer Barn. The venue is beautiful! The event manager, Ms. Gail White and her staff are great to work with. It is the ideal place for a rustic wedding!

    Sent on 02/08/2018
    The Carriage House 22
    The Carriage House 23
    The Carriage House 24
    The Carriage House 25
    The Carriage House 26
    The Carriage House 27
    The Carriage House 28

    The Carriage House's reply:

    Thank you Madeleine - but it's easy to have a fantastic event when your clients are amazing!
  • L

    laura · Married on 11/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing the Pioneer Barn for our wedding venue was easy once we spoke with Gail. She was professional and helpful from start to finish. I live in Salt Lake City and my husband lives in southern GA so we were not able to spend much time in the area prior to our big day. She was able to answer all of our questions, make suggestions, describe things that had worked for previous ceremonies, etc. The barn was beautiful and clean, and seeing the 360 degree shots on the website was super helpful. The location was very easy for guests to find and there was plenty of parking for all. I especially loved that the barn was air conditioned.
    Gail also was able to recommend a DJ, and florist that know the venue and take great care of their clients. They were awesome. I did not step foot into the venue until 5 minutes before the ceremony (crazy, I know) but I was confident that things would be lovely and they absolutely were. Gail was on-hand before to direct vendors and set-up; during the ceremony putting last touches on things inside (we used the porch for our ceremony to take advantage of the setting sunlight); and she stayed in the background helping during the reception and to the very end, picking up any stray items that had fallen, ensuring the photographers knew where they could get the best shots, doing everything she could to be helpful. Every venue should have a Gail, and the Pioneer Barn was the perfect setting for our ceremony and reception. Thank you so much for everything!!

    Sent on 05/15/2018
    The Carriage House 29
    The Carriage House 30
    The Carriage House 31
    The Carriage House 32
    The Carriage House 33

    The Carriage House's reply:

    Thank you Laura,
    I truly enjoyed working with you and Kirk. It was such a beautiful wedding for a beautiful couple! Wishing you the best always,
    Gail
  • FutureMrsJenkins

    Karli · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall the best experience while looking at venues!
    I love that it's so near down town but feels like you're so secluded. Gail has been amazing since DAY ONE! Very open to all of my ideas about seating. They have some many options to add to your package! Tables, Chairs, a room for the bridal party to get ready, servers, clean-up, ect. Definitely an all in one place! Gail even provides you with a list of vendors for all your other needs. She always makes time for me anytime I call to chat with questions or new ideas and even makes time for frequent visits!

    Definitely worth checking out! We weren't planning on rustic but fell in love with this place! They even have the option of renting out all of Fort Menendez for your guests to get a full tour!

    I ALMOST FORGOT TO MENTION THAT THEY ARE AIR-CONDITIONED!!! Only barn I've seen for a wedding venue that is AC.

    Go talk to Gail do a walk through. We're renting Chivari Chairs from Clarks Rental to add an elegant feel.

    Sent on 08/23/2016
  • H

    Heather · Married on 03/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gail was such a wonderful and professional person to help organize our special day. We couldn't have been happier with the final appearance and outcome of our wedding and reception. Every guest said that it was hands down one of the prettiest and most enjoyable weddings they have ever attended.

    Sent on 04/01/2017
  • K

    K · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gail and the staff were amazing. They helped realize my dream wedding. They let me have the wedding I wanted. Bonus , they let my dog be in the wedding. It was all so beautiful. I would recommend anyone to use the pioneer barn!

    Sent on 11/10/2016
  • K

    Kalie · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The pioneer barn couldn't have been more perfect! I love the fact that you get the secluded barn feel but then step out and you're only minutes from downtown st augustine. Everything was so gorgeous and Gail was so accommodating to all of our needs and last minute changes, we couldn't have asked for a more perfect wedding. I wanna go back and do it all over again! I can't even tell you how many compliments we got on how awesome this venue was. Gail and all of the staff were excellent to work with and all so nice, we loved them! Would recommend the pioneer barn over and over again!

    Sent on 10/20/2016
  • G

    Gaye · event on 09/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue was recently expanded and remodeled and did not disappoint. We had plenty of space for our buffet, bar, band, DJ and dance floor! The new porch on the side of the barn made for a great place for guests to relax and enjoy the night air and full moon too. The Pioneer Barn is also great because they have plenty of parking - not something that is easy to find in Saint Augustine. Gail & Dan were extremely helpful throughout the planning and execution of our charity fundraiser. We are hoping to make this an annual event and look forward to working with them again next fall.

    Sent on 09/19/2016
  • J

    Jill · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you have made your way to this review then you are considering the Pioneer Barn for your wedding. STOP! Look no further!
    I cannot find words to express how amazing every single thing about this venue was. From start to finish they were perfect!
    Th venue is awesome! Th rustic details were exactly what we wanted. Gail with the Pioneer Barn is one of the most professional and caring people.
    She truly wanted everything to be perfect for us. She and the others work themselves to the bone to make sure you are happy! They really take a personal investment in your day! It was a fabulous value as well. The parking is incredible and easy. The omit opportunities are priceless. Our family and friends loved it!
    I cannot imagine a more perfect setting for our wedding. Please call Gail and take a look around this place. We loved it so much that we miss it already! Good luck and best wishes!

    Sent on 06/04/2016
  • V

    Victoria · Married on 02/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gail, the wedding coordinator was amazing to work with. From the moment we met her even considering the Pioneer Barn for our venue, she was enthusiastic and willing to go the extra mile to make our wedding special! She responded quickly to any inquiry and updated us with even the smallest changes. The Barn was a perfect size for our party of 80 with plenty of room to sit and dance and the chapel was the perfect place for the ceremony. The day went off without a hitch and the space was perfect even though we were not having a country themed wedding. The space adapted well to the simple décor we chose. The price is unbeatable if you're getting married in St Augustine, and we could have whatever food and drink we chose! Our wedding was fully customizable at the Pioneer Barn!

    Sent on 04/20/2016
  • J

    Jonnica · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I simply cannot say enough about Gail and the Pioneer Barn. Gail and the staff went out of their way to make our wedding day run smoothly. Even when our plans changed the day of the wedding due to rain, she jumped in to help arrange vendors and move tables. We could not have done it without her!
    The venue is beautiful and affordable. That combined with great the staff makes it a clear choice for any event.

    Sent on 12/07/2015
  • T

    Maricel · Married on 02/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you’re looking for a great place to have a rustic, barn style wedding reception without the hassle of you and your guests driving out into the country, this is the place! We absolutely enjoyed working with the Pioneer Barn and Joa throughout our entire wedding planning process and of course on our BIG day. Joa was always very nice, professional, and quick to respond to any of our questions or concerns. We wanted to have a more laid back and relaxing wedding reception and Joa helped us achieve that atmosphere. She was very flexible with us on a lot of the things that we wanted to do, most of which we probably wouldn’t have been able to do at other wedding venues in town. Joa ALWAYS made time for us if we were in town and wanted to stop by at the barn to look at it for layout ideas, take measurements, or simply just ask questions. The barn and courtyard look great and really worked well for our rustic themed wedding, but it will also work great for any other desired wedding themes as well! We highly recommend the Pioneer Barn for your wedding reception venue!

    Sent on 03/11/2015
  • B

    Beth · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If not for the wonderful help of Joa, the wedding would not have happened.

    I had to change the venue Oct. 6. from one location to the Pioneer Barn.

    I can not thank Joa enough for all her help and support.

    Sent on 12/19/2014
  • J

    JEANNETTE · Married on 06/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely loved having my wedding and reception at the Pioneer Barn. Joa was awesome! She gave me great ideas and was very accommodating.

    Sent on 12/19/2014
  • E

    Erika · Married on 06/09/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are absolutely thrilled with the way our recent wedding turned out with the Pioneer Barn. Gail White was an amazing, knowledgeable, and helpful event manager, as well as just a pleasure to work with. We felt that our desires were both heard and understood, and everything was executed exactly as we hoped, if not more than we hoped. We planned from out of town, and given the anxiety that come along with that, she made everything go smoothly and clearly from start to finish. I can't thank everyone enough for such a wonderful, fun venue and an amazing day.

    Sent on 08/01/2018
  • User4737078 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Our wedding was perfect! The venue was absolutely everything we dreamed of, the staff was excellent, and they took care of everything we needed.

    Sent on 01/26/2015
  • User4744376 · 2+ years ago

    0.6
    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    We booked Pioneer Barn for a wedding reception because we were looking for a rustic barn venue in St. Augustine. The Pioneer barn is affiliated and connected to Fort Menedez which is a museum of sorts. The barn is for the most part secluded from Fort Menedez , but guests will have to use the bathroom in the gift shop. Initially there was a miscommunication about the price of the venue for the evening with the manager. We had to pay more than we were originally quoted. After that was resolved, my father had put down a deposit to secure the space for our event. They failed to credit us for our deposit , but thankfully my dad had kept his receipt so this was not disputed. The event coordinator had no sense of customer service and seemed inconvenienced by us through the entire exchange. She was unclear on additional prices (using the sound system,time for set up,rentals,ect) and the responsibilities of the wedding party. She had a guest take out the trash during the middle of the reception, and to top it off, another guest overheard her in the bathroom telling a coworker (or owner?) how she didn't care for anyone there and how messy everyone was. All in all, the staff seemed unprofessional and unwilling to help.

    Sent on 01/28/2015

    The Carriage House's reply:

    Dear Private User:
    We appreciate you took the time to write a review.
    After reading your review, we believe we know which event you are referring to, and we are saddened that it took so long after your event to let us know how you felt about your experience with us, as we were completely unaware of your concerns.
    Please know that last year our staff successfully coordinated at least eighteen events prior to yours and we have done at least eighteen more since yours. We work very hard to be a venue that our clients find professional and friendly, and to our knowledge, we have achieved that goal.
    Upon reviewing your file with the owners, we feel that some of the misperception was from this event initially being quoted as a simple party to becoming a full blown wedding reception—the latter requiring a much higher level of detail, time and effort. This may have added to the confusion, both from a planning and monetary aspect.
    We believed you enjoyed your day and that your guests were happy, and we are sorry that you feel we did not handle your event in a professional manner. We would have been happy to try and accommodate your concerns, as our goal is for each of our clients to have a smooth and wonderful wedding, and we appreciate feedback and discussion from each of our clients.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review