Skip to main content
Weddings

Wild Onion Brewery and Banquets Reviews

Wild Onion Brewery and Banquets

Wild Onion Brewery and Banquets

Barrington, IL
4.9 out of 5 rating, 69 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.9 out of 5 rating
4.9 out of 5 rating
69 Reviews
98% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

69
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
Weddingwire
4.9/5 69 reviews
Google
4.4/5 536 reviews
  • A
    Aaron M. Sent on 02/10/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Perfect Wedding Venue

    Wild Onion Brewery and Banquets was the absolute perfect venue for our wedding. Adrianna, Christian, and the entire staff at Wild Onion were so helpful, professional, and extremely accommodating of every we needed for our wedding. Working with them made planning our wedding so smooth. They went above and beyond to make sure that our special day was magical. The space is gorgeous, and we were so happy that we were able to do both our ceremony and reception in the same place. They were amazing partners throughout this whole experience and they truly made our wedding wonderful.
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer J. Sent on 08/02/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue

    Beautiful venue! The deck is great, unfortunately on my wedding day it rained so we could not get married there but there’s an indoor option as well that was beautiful as well.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Lizzie
    Lizzie J. Sent on 06/02/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Wedding Venue!

    From the gorgeous space, the private party room, the outside balcony area looking out to the beautiful lake, the nicest and most welcoming staff, to the attentive help of the event planner, Abby who was so easy to converse with and was so detailed and skilled with the process, as well as all the services before, during, and after our big day that gave us absolutely zero stress and no issues at all the day of! I am so happy with them and will be recommending this venue to everyone!
  • Mary Pat
    Mary P. Sent on 09/10/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    loved, loved, LOVED my experience with Jamie and Jody and the entire crew at the Onion Pub!!! I got married there last month (Aug 2014) and there wasn't a single thing i would change about my experience with the venue. These ladies are fantastic and go above and beyond to make sure your special day is nothing short of amazing. The venue itself is gorgeous both inside and out. I cannot WAIT for my pictures!! Prices are very reasonable and the food was delicious! During the overall experience, i was shocked to learn just how picky *I* could be in terms of a wedding cake, but they both went above and beyond to make sure that the cake was everything my husband and I dreamed it would be.

    The only thing i would change is wishing I had a pause button to be able to take everything in a little bit more than i was able to.

    Thank you Jody and Jamie!!
  • Danielle
    Danielle S. Sent on 01/23/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Just what I needed!

    TWA was fantastic to work with!! We decided to get married very quickly due to my mom's health and had a very small, intimate ceremony. With it happening so quickly and differently, Jamie helped tremendously in figuring out the appropriate pricing, timeline, etc. I was so grateful for her assistance and kindness. She then put me in contact with our photographer, Jerry A, and he was absolutely incredible. He had me laughing and at ease the first time we talked and went out of his way the day of. I wanted someone who could simply just pose us and take our pictures, and he went above and beyond. He found and took the sweetest, most thoughtful shots, and had us all genuinely laughing. He arrived extra early and stayed longer than expected, and just kept us laughing and smiling. I haven't even seen the photos yet and truly cannot wait to see what magic he captured. We will be requesting him again to use in our future celebration with family and friends!
  • Allie
    Allie S. Sent on 12/19/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous wedding venue!

    There are so many wonderful things to say about the Wild Onion! I don't have one negative thing to write. My husband and I knew instantly this was place for our wedding reception after just one walk through. We fell in love with the high ceilings, outdoor landscaping, staff, food, rustic feel, and all of the amenities they had to offer! I cannot stress enough how convenient it was that they have in-house catering. I didn't have to coordinate a caterer, a bar vendor, cake, tables, chairs, linens, and cutlery. Wild Onion has it all! Jamie was also amazing to work with, she was laid back but responsive if I needed anything. She definitely made the wedding planning process so much easier! I still have guests that will tell me how beautiful they thought the venue was and how delicious the food and cake were.

    Wild Onion Brewery and Banquets's reply:

    Thanks so much Allie! We really appreciate your feedback. Your wedding was beautiful. Love the photos!
  • J
    James M. Sent on 11/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Venue!

    Onion Pub staff did a wonderful job, handled all the details!

    Wild Onion Brewery and Banquets's reply:

    Hi James,

    Thank you for the kind review! It was a pleasure getting to work with you on your wedding. Congratulations again!

    Abby King, event coordinator
  • K
    Kathleen Q. Sent on 11/22/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing doesn't even start to cover..

    We met with Jamie back in 2019. No one prepared us for covid-19. When the state locked down Jamie messaged us and asked "if you would like to move the date you are welcome to at no penalty. " we thought long and hard and decided to keep our date. We moved forward and im so happy we did. Working with Jamie was amazing and helped so much! Also, a group that doesn't get enough credit is the staff and the bar tenders. The day of they were amazing!! Everyone said how nice and attentive they were. If you pick the onion you will not regret it. Your photos will turn out amazing and you get to work with amazing staff!
  • T
    Taylor V. Sent on 12/15/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Ceremony & Reception Space was just PERFECT!

    We held both our ceremony and reception at The Great Hall at The Onion Pub. Everything from the staff, to the venue space, to the food was just perfect. Jamie is such a sweetheart and we loved working with her. Her knowledge and passion for helping people is just contagious and really helped us feel confident that all would go smoothly - and it did! The staff did an amazing job of flipping the ceremony space into the reception space during cocktail hour and the bartenders were so fun and friendly! The atmosphere at The Great Hall is somewhat magical. From the wall of windows and brick walls, to the wood beams and soft lighting, the room was warm, welcoming and romantic. Every aspect of having our wedding at The Onion Pub was just perfect. The room, the food and the staff are beyond comparable. We loved everything about this venue and can't brag enough about it!
  • Kelly
    Kelly P. Sent on 11/19/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great venue!

    We had our wedding here in October 2020 and though we couldn't follow through with our original plan it turned out amazing. The venue was fantastic. The staff was very accommodating to changes and helped the whole event run smoothly.

    Wild Onion Brewery and Banquets's reply:

    Hi Kelly,

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're so glad you had a great day!

    Abby King, Event Coordinator
  • R
    Regina S. Sent on 08/11/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Loved the Pub

    Just had our wedding ceremony and reception there and it was fabulous. Jamie was wonderful to work with (and she did it all remotely since I live out of state and Covid prevented an early meet-and-greet). The staff did a great job and the food was delicious. The bakery they used made a great cake, all off a photo (again, Covid). It was a perfect place for a small, Socially Distant ceremony. It struck the perfect mix of fancy, but not too fancy. And the beer was awesome. 5 stars, wouldn't change anything.

  • Emily
    Emily Sent on 06/03/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thank you so much, Onion Pub and Brewery!!!!!

    We just had our wedding at the Onion Pub, and I could not recommend this venue more. It is so unique and special and was a huge reason why our wedding was so happy and so much fun.

    The event coordinator, Jamie, was amazing. We booked the Onion Pub about 16 months before our wedding, and over those 16 months, I probably asked Jamie 1,000 questions. She was always kind, positive, and prompt in her response, and seeing her during our consultations was always a pleasure. She also made some recommendations in regards to photographer, florist, and local hotels and all I can say is listen to Jamie. We did take those recommendations, and she really pointed us in the right direction. I don't have a single vendor complaint.

    Then of course there is the venue itself. It is just so whimsical and beautiful. I love the balcony, the lake, the ivy climbing up the walls, the massive windows in the Great Room. So many of our guests complimented the venue, and it's been great seeing them post up pictures of themselves on the balcony, overlooking the lake or infront of the front mural.

    I hope it's not bragging to say we had an incredibly fun and beautiful wedding, and I think the charm of the Onion Pub was a massive part of that. And it's so affordable too! Seriously, this place is amazing and we're so grateful we had our wedding there. We highly recommend it!
  • Joanna
    Joanna Sent on 06/24/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    What a perfect day and what great people

    Jamie was a pleasure to work with. She helped us the whole way through. We had a beautiful reception.
  • D
    Desiree Sent on 02/07/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This venue and staff is everything! The hall is absolutely stunning, and Jamie is truly the best. She is flexible, professional, and all around helpful. We are still getting compliments on how beautiful the venue was and how delicious the food was. We will remember this day for the rest of our lives. Don’t pass this place up, you won’t regret it!
  • Sienna
    Sienna Sent on 01/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A cozy, beautiful winter wedding!

    We got SO many compliments on how beautiful the space was. It was perfect for our cozy, candlelit winter wedding. Jamie, the wedding coordinator, is amazing and so incredibly easy to work with.
  • K
    Katelin Sent on 12/02/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect day planning from far away

    I lived in another state while all my family is in IL. Jamie was more than helpful planning everything and get it all squared away. The venue is beyond beautiful and the pictures do not do its justice. The food was wonderful and not a single complaint from our guests. Over all it was a wonderful experience and being able to have the catering an cake on site meant I only had to hire a photographer and DJ. I can not thank you guys enough!
  • D
    Dana B. Sent on 04/17/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great experience from start to finish!

    When we walked into The Onion we knew it was the perfect venue for our wedding ceremony and reception. The view and the setting was unique but fit our personality. The staff was very friendly and patient in answering our questions. Jamie was a pleasure to work with and helped to make our wedding day stress free. The food was unique with meeting all of our guests taste buds and dietary needs. The change from ceremony to reception was seamless and our guests loved the atmosphere and food. The staff was friendly and easy to work with. If you want a great atmosphere, good food and friendly service for your wedding day, The Onion is for you!
  • D
    Deanna Sent on 08/15/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I couldn’t have chosen a better venue for my son’s Rehearsal Dinner! Jamie was very knowledgeable and she shared my excitement! Everything was perfect! She took care of every detail!! Dinner was served buffet style, and there was plenty of food, hot, fresh, and the pasta was NOT over cooked. Room was beautiful with patio access Servers, Bartender were very attentive. Highly recommend! Superb!
  • S
    Stephanie Sent on 12/05/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My daughter had her reception there 12/2/2017. The room was beautiful, the food was excellent and the staff very attentive. It was wonderful working with Jamie and her staff. They were accommodating to our guests and vendors. Professional and courteous. The room was amazing and atmosphere charming.
  • M
    Mallory Sent on 12/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our reception was gorgeous! A December event meant the room was already decorated with lights and trees/wreaths - absolutely beautiful. Food was good, drinks were fantastic and it was an elegant and beautiful event. Everything I could have asked for. The event coordinator answered all questions at the final walk through which made it easier to relax and know everything would be done perfectly! Would highly recommend to other!
  • S
    Shaun Sent on 09/22/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I am so, so happy that we chose the Brewery as our venue. The outside is so gorgeous with all of the ivy and the mural, the inside is the perfect dinner and reception space with all of its natural lighting, and the deck is perfect for cocktail hour. Jamie was an absolute angel for the entire year and a half that we worked with her. She was responsive, accommodating, and constantly helpful. The food was so tasty, and the table service and wine service for dinner gave our wedding the elegant, classy touch that we wanted. And, while most places treat the Sunday of Labor Day weekend like a Saturday (requiring a higher fee), this place didn't - we got a great deal, endless compliments from guests, and the perfect wedding space!
  • L
    Lauren Sent on 08/23/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our ceremony on the patio and reception inside for 150 people. The venue did everything perfectly, and in combo with the work by floral and our planner, the inside looked perfect. We got so many compliments on the venue & food. Definitely check out the Onion! The value is fantastic for what you get as well, and Jamie, their coordinator, was great to work with!
  • A
    Alex Sent on 07/12/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We were married in the Onion Brewery and Pub on 12.17.16 and it was our DREAM wedding. It completely exceeded our expectations and was absolutely stunning!!! As two doctors in residency, my husband and I needed to find a venue that was flexible in communication and open to direction, without requiring too much hands on time. Jamie at the Onion was fantastic to work with- she always responded promptly to emails, adhered to the timeline, and communicated throughout the process. We had a winter wedding and had a very specific vision for our big day :) Jamie made that vision come to life! I provided pictures of my ideas and she executed the displays beautifully. The Great Hall was shimmering with lights and greenery, completely embodied our Winter Whimsical Wedding! The staff was super helpful and made sure the day ran smoothly. All the vendors commented on enjoying working with the Onion and I see why- wonderful venue, great staff. We will cherish our memories there forever!
  • T
    Tim Sent on 11/28/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We got married on July 24, 2016. We wanted a unique place to get married at and to celebrate with friends and family. The Onion Pub and Brewery was it for us. The great room was fantastic and had great views of the wetlands. Everything was beautiful and better than we imagined. We had such a great time and have gotten so many compliments on our reception. Jamie and the staff were amazing. They were very helpful and accommodating from the first time we met to start the planning of our wedding. Thank you for the great memories !!!
    Maritza and Tim
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours