The Old San Francisco Steakhouse Reviews

15 | San Antonio, TX
See photos, pricing and details

15 Reviews for The Old San Francisco Steakhouse

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

15

3 User photos

Order by:
  • Gaby

    Gaby A. · Married on 12/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing wedding venue

    The venue was amazing and all inclusive which made it so easy and relaxing with the planning. The food was so delicious and everyone loved it ! And let me say it was affordable

    Sent on 01/03/2019
  • J

    Joey · Married on 06/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The entire team at OSFSH was great. They offer a tremendous value for the pricing because so many little things like chairs, linens and chargers are included. The food was fantastic and guests gave us so many compliments on the fun venue. We had our ceremony upstairs in the Gold Room and opted for the fun, honkeytonk vibe of the Swing Room for our reception, but the Crystal Room is a gorgeous option as well. There’s plenty of space and the staff is very accommodating. It really couldn’t have been any better.

    Sent on 06/26/2018
  • A

    Aimee · Married on 01/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    I cannot rave enough about the venue, service, and food. They truly exceeded my expectations and went above and beyond on all levels. They set up the rooms so gorgeous and beautiful, the food was on point and delicious (all guests commented on how tasty and great it was), and there service was impeccable. I worked with Nidia throughout the process and Daniel the day of the wedding reception. They were absolutely amazing as well as all the staff that made this truly magical day happen. I am so glad and grateful that I chose The Crystal Room/Absolutely Delicious Catering to make all my dreams come true! Thank you thank you thank you!!!!

    Sent on 01/15/2018
  • G

    Gracie · Married on 06/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Celebrated our 49th wedding anniversary at your venue last night. We, and our guests were all very impressed with everything. From accommodating us because of my husband's dementia, to the food, hospitality, readiness and friendliness of staff, we all can't stop talking about it. I was shocked that so many people from SA had never been to your venue and they were just tremendously impressed. Thank you, thank you thank you for making this memorable occasion so special for our family. We hope to use it again for a quincenera for one of my granddaughters.


    Sent on 07/01/2017
  • I

    Irene · Married on 06/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The entire experience, from selecting the menu, to choosing the colors for the tables, was extraordinary. The service during the event was stellar and the food quality was superb!

    Sent on 07/13/2017
  • Austin and Sofie

    Sofia · Married on 11/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am not from the the San Antonio area so planning a wedding from a long distance is tough especially when you don't know good venues or caters. When I found the OSF I was instantly drawn to the fact that they provide everything I needed in one place, the searching would end with them! I worked with Nidia she is very helpful, honest and understanding with our unique situation, being that I'm far away and the my future husband is in the military. I love the old San Francisco it solved all of my problems and calmed my nerves.

    Sent on 01/21/2016
  • User5569767 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I just have to say, Nidia from Old San Francisco Steakhouse was amazing! She accommodated my every need and was super flexible. Not to mention the Crystal Room was GOREGOUS and included EVERYTHING: tables, chairs, silverware, glassware, cloth napkins, chargers, table cloths, they cater on site, they provide bartenders and wait staff, a manager on duty, security, they even include vases and decorations for your centerpieces! I saved so much money and planning the wedding was so much easier with everything included! The cost of the room alone was less than half of some other people who did not even include tables and chairs. I will advise NOT to have a wedding larger than 120 - 130 people. It is not a big room, and you want room to dance.

    Sent on 07/01/2016
  • User7624803 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Super easy to work with. The food is amazing and reasonably priced. I would work with them again for any occasion.

    Sent on 03/20/2017
  • L

    Laura · Married on 08/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't even know how to describe but since we step in to see the ballroom we felled in love till our wedding day we didn't want to leave that place everything was taken care of the food was amazing the room look beautiful cant wait to do wedding number 2 in a couple of years there again I can't wait but they were amazing with us I truly recommend to anyone is unique and is different

    Sent on 09/17/2013
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 04/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From day one when I first called the venue over the phone they were very helpful and professional. The coordinator i worked with Nidia always responded to my emails, calls, or questions I had during the planning process. The day of the wedding I worked with Monica and 2 waiters, all 3 attended to my guest beyond my expectation. I would reccommend this venue not only for its beauty but for their customer service as well.

    Sent on 05/14/2013
  • S

    Sade · Married on 02/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Crystal Room was amazing! I reviewed the catering under Absolutely Delicious Catering so go there for more, but basically, the food and service was outstanding!!!
    Now to the Crystal Room: All the linens, place settings, and chivalri chairs were included. GREAT SAVINGS!The linens I chose were cream with textured rosettes and sequins all over and they were included in the price. Linens being included is already rare, but the fact that they weren't plain jane was even better. And then the chairs! Most places charge extra for chilvari charis. INCLUDED! They also did a great job with the set up. We delivered everything we wanted set up and they did it ALL! We gave away picture thank you cards as favors and we dropped them off the day before and they placed each one in an envelope and placed on tables. I hate talking on the phone, so I usually emailed Veronica or Anita with questions and although they didn't respond right away, it was fairly fast. But everytime I called, someone answered and if Veronica or Anita weren't available, the person who answered was still able to help.
    Considering the Crystal Room? DO IT! The room was gorgeous and I didn't have to spend money on any extra decor. The lighting, the chandeliers, the waterfalls, and the house centerpieces looked great. Everyone commented on how great the room looked. It is a way to get beauty and elegance at an affordable price. My guests LOVED the colorful waterfalls! Not only is the room beautiful, but the hallway leading up to the room is great too. The mirrored walls and the beautiful white piano add to the elegance of the room. They let me get on the famous swing and we got great pictures of me and my husband! And don't forget about the bathrooms that your guests will use. The bathrooms were CLEAN and nicely decorated. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    Sent on 02/20/2013
  • G

    Gina · Married on 01/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so pleased with the service we received from the crystal room. Nidia was so helpful and so flexible with all our requests. She set up a delicious tasting for us and we were so pleased with the food we chose. Our guests were shocked at the large portions and how delicious the food was. The banquet manager for the evening was on top of her game. I am big on customer service and she nailed it. Her whole team made sure we were taken care of. We were able to choose the linens for the tables and chairs there at the crystal room. They set up the room with the linens, our decorations and some of theirs to make it look exquisite. They also set up the flowers for us which looked beautiful. I highly suggest booking a tour to view the crystal room.

    Sent on 02/12/2013
  • M

    Mary · Married on 02/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Crystal Room at the Old San Francisco Steakhouse has to be one of the best remaining values in wedding receptions. Do not let their affordable prices fool you into thinking quality is compromised. The food is so good my sister hired them to cater her own wedding right after she went to my tasting! So many of my guests still talk to me about the appetizers at cocktail hour or the delicious filet! I would really challenge someone to find a plated steak/chicken and open bar reception for the price and quality that OSFS provides.

    Let me move on to the Crystal Room. The beauty of this room on its own means you can save money on flowers or other decor. The chandeliers are gorgeous, and when the turn the chandeliers up, dim the lights, and turn on the uplighting outside this place just oozes romance. The Crystal Room is beautiful for a romantic or glamour style wedding. Their banquet managers and sale managers are all true professionals. I felt like, as the bride and groom, we were always looked after and taken care of. They walked us around the room before teh guests came in, and brought us out an early plate of appetizers to get a bite to eat before everyone came in. They let all the little kids take a ride on the swing too, and though no one knew it, they had us hidden in a cozy balcony where we could watch everything from above. This type of thoughtfulness is KEY on your wedding day. They decorated our head table beautifully, and set up the room exactly as asked. They found the exact shade of pink I was looking for in my linens and at no extra charge. They provided ample staffing on the day so no one was left feeling underserved. I was a bit worried that it would be difficult to photograph in a room with so many windows, but get yourself a talented photographer and you'll have no problem. I'm so glad this place is also a restaurant, as we look forward to going back when we can to bring back some of the romance of our wedding day. Though I think I'll pass on the swing this time!

    Sent on 06/14/2012
  • Melanie

    Melanie F. · Married on 10/11/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Professional and personable

    Took me so long to finally have this review posted....but it's finally here! I had Nidia as my consultant for the venue. Throughout the wedding planning process, she was professional & helpful when I had doubt in the planning. She helped w/ everything from the venue design to help change between from ceremony to reception. She was very positive all throughout. And a special shout out to Brian, the banquet manager of the night was responsive and professional of the night before and the night of the wedding event. I would love to have this venue again for future events.

    Sent on 01/25/2020
  • User2694370 · 2+ years ago

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    First off I was working with Suzanne as our wedding coordinator. She quit and no one ever told us until we contacted them. We had a lot of issues contacting Veronica to make sure everything was set up and to pay for the wedding because we didn’t have the actual price. We finally demanded a meeting the week before and everything went great. We were able to drop off all the things we wanted for the wedding and everything got set up for us. We were able to show up for the rehearsal the night before and everything was set up for us. The wedding was great. The contract included 50 cups of coffee but our guest were never offered coffee. The biggest problems we had came at the end of the night. Several people were unable to make the wedding so they said they would box up their food for us because we already paid for it. They were apparently VERY rude to our family and friends and rushed everyone out. The wedding was suppose to be over at midnight and we did the exit at 11:30. We had to pick up everything after the wedding and clean up. They rushed everyone out so fast they didn’t give us the boxed meals and ended up throwing them out. Our family packed everything up and cleaned everything up and were on the road by 12:15. I don’t know what the problem was or why they were rushed and the food was thrown out but we are really really upset about how our family was treated after we left the wedding.
    While our wedding went great I don’t think we would have booked there had we known how everyone would have been treated when we left. Its a toss up on if we would actually recommend this vendor but we had to pick a answer.

    Sent on 10/04/2012