Skip to main content
Weddings

The North House Reviews

The North House View more information

12 Reviews

Rated
4.4
out of 5.0
Recommended by 88% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 12

6 User photos

  • Nicole
    Nicole F. Married on 04/12/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beyond Amazing

    The North House Restaurant is an amazing place to have a wedding reception and/or dinner. With all that has been going on in 2020 with COVID, this team worked with us each step of the way to follow the ever changing guidelines to keep us and our families safe while also keeping the night beautiful, special, and fun.

    The manager, Dylan Reis is phenomenal at his job. He is so welcoming and friendly. Dylan was more than generous with his time as my parents, my husband, and I would stop by, text, and email him because things were constantly changing with COVID. He stayed calm and helped us through each new obstacle. Dylan guided us through the planning process from selecting the menu, the table arrangements, the timeline of our night, and the decorations. He even got there early in the morning to set up their separate event building for me and my bridesmaids to get ready in. During our dinner he was constantly coordinating with the chef, servers, and us to help the night go smoothly. Dylan is a wonderful person to work with. He made our day so special and memorable. Thanks to him we were able to relax and enjoy our day!

    The food was beyond excellent. It is the best food we have ever had. The chef is incredibly talented at her work. We have eaten at The North House many times previous to our wedding and have never been less than amazed at our meal. She is a remarkable chef. This was part of the reason we wanted to have our wedding dinner at The North House in the first place. The day of our wedding was no exception. Every dish was perfectly prepared and cooked. Everyone was blown away by how delicious the food was. The food was a definite highlight for us and our families! We were beyond happy with the meals!

    The baker Katrina did an amazing job on our wedding cake and desserts. Due to COVID, I requested a cake a week before the wedding. I was worried having to plan it so last minute, but she was so courteous and understanding of our situation. She spent time on the phone talking to me about our options. Day of our wedding, the cake looked even better than the photos I had sent her and tasted AMAZING! We chose coconut cream and we have never had a cake so delicious. Our wedding cake was more than I could have dreamed for. She also made the cheesecake and creme brûlée desserts for the wedding dinner which were also a huge hit. She is so gifted and talented. We were so happy with how everything turned out!

    The entire team at The North House did an amazing job. Sean was our bartender for the night and he made each drink to everyone’s liking. He had anything you could ever want. The people on staff for serving that night were also absolutely wonderful. They were quick to take orders and deliver the food and drinks. They were so kind, fun, and efficient. Even before the wedding day when I was setting up some decorations the servers stopped by and introduced themselves to me. They were so happy and excited to be a part of our special day and that enthusiasm was contagious! Our waitress that night always made sure our drinks were full and consistently checked in with my husband and I to see if we were done with our food and wanted anything boxed. I heard the same raves about the other servers that night from our family. We are so grateful for their hard work and contagious excitement. It made the atmosphere of the night so much fun and relaxing for everyone.

    I could talk about our experience with The North House team for days. All I can say to them is thank you for making our wedding day more than we ever dreamed of. We had a wonderful night and are so grateful! We will never forget the kindness you all showed us.
  • L
    Lauren Married on 11/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our day was perfect!!

    Our special day was amazing here!! The coordinator Jacqui was the best! From the meetings to the tasting to all the questions through emails, everything was handled perfectly. Our day was stress free, Jacqui was on top of everything. Everyone was so nice and attentive. They got us craft beers for our big day which we loved too! The place is beautiful and a plus is having a hotel across the street that was also great.
  • K
    Kaitlin Married on 11/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Venue and Coordinator Ever

    The North House was the first venue that my husband and I visited when we started our wedding planning and it was the best decision we made. Jacqui made planning our wedding so much easier with her expertise. Not only would she help us stay on track with things we needed, she was always available to answer any questions that we had. Jacqui made planning our wedding so much fun, and I wouldn't hesitate to use them again in a heartbeat. In addition, my mother STILL raves about how beautiful The North House is. Five stars isn't nearly enough to express how much we loved working with Jacqui and The North House staff!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • B
    Brian Married on 10/13/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect venue for a night you'll never forget!

    Picking out a wedding venue to host the most important day of my life was quite stressful. Luckily for us, The North House was recommended by a friend, so we added it to the list of venues to visit. When we walked in, we both fell in love with it immediately, it was even better than we expected, as it was just renovated with beautiful white marble floor making it a gorgeous modern ballroom with a rustic atmosphere in the attached tavern.
    With our wedding date only 6 months out, I was nervous and stressed. It’s not like I plan a wedding every day, so what do I know about the planning process? My fears and worries went away after we started working with Jacqui who is AMAZING! I feel like I had a million questions for her, and she was able to answer them quickly. I was amazed by how organized she is. At the end of each of our meetings, she followed up with notes and outstanding action items. She was also a huge help with our timeline and working with our vendors. We added a last-minute change to the sequence of events the day before and she updated all our vendors, so everyone was aware of the change and it worked out perfectly. Also, don’t be afraid to throw challenges at her with your requests! She will do whatever she can to accommodate. My husband told me that our wedding is not happening without craft beer, so Jacqui got us craft beer!
    We celebrated our beautiful wedding day with 123 guests. Our cocktail hour was perfect, the room has an elegant staircase that provides a beautiful photo opportunity and allowed me to have an unforgettable grand entrance to our cocktail hour. The bar was pouring our signature cocktails that were perfectly balanced and the passed hors d'oeuvres were hot and delicious. The choices they have for hors d'oeuvres, entrees, and dessert cupcakes are numerous which allowed us to select something we knew our most picky eaters would enjoy. They also have options for gluten free guests and had no problem creating one off entrees for guests with complicated dietary restrictions. The food was simply delicious!
    After dinner, the dance floor was open, and we had a late-night fire-pit with smores in the outdoor patio while our DJ kept the energy high with nonstop dancing in the ballroom. At the end of the night we had a sparkler send off. All our friends and family made their way to the front entrance where the staff was prepared handing out sparklers. When it was time, we both had a magical exit under a sea of sparks on our way to the hotel. Their proximity to the hotel is also a win in our book. This also made the North House the perfect location for our rehearsal dinner. The ambiance was spectacular with the private dining room, rustic ambiance, wide variety of craft beer, delicious creative cocktails and meals that our guests are still raving about. We have a few guests who made several return visits to The North House for brunch the next day after the wedding and in months since as the food and service have left a positive impression.
    Our wedding was our perfect day. The North House was by far the best decision we made. It’s comforting to work with people who are experienced, and you can trust. We continue to look back on our wedding day fondly and are overjoyed with how the day went. I keep telling Jacqui that I want to relive the entire day again! We would like to thank The North House, Jacqui, and the wonderful staff for making the whole experience, everything we wished it would be and more! XOXO

    The North House's reply:

    Brian and Ela, thank you so much for this amazing review. You two were such a delight to work with and I am so happy to hear how amazing your very special day was with us here at The North House. Keep in touch!!! XoXo Jacqui
  • C
    Caroline Married on 05/27/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I got married at The North House this past May and we can only say AMAZING things about this venue and its staff. Jacqui, the events coordinator, is simply fantastic. She is on top of everything, extremely easy to get in touch with and makes it clear you are always a priority. She made the planning process easy and stress free, which was much appreciated since I was planning a wedding from afar due to school! She was so patient with me and my schedule, and always kept my mother, who was in state, in the loop. Everything leading up to the big day was seamless and our wedding day went off without a hitch.

    Wedding day. My bridal party and I arrived here in the morning to get ready at the venue using their bridal suite upstairs. It was a lovely and relaxed atmosphere with a small menu of snacks available, which we utilized and snacked on throughout the day! The large amount of natural light was perfect while we got our hair and makeup done. It was the perfect place to get ready, especially on a rainy day. We had hoped to have our ceremony outside, but with the weather it wasn't going to happen. This was no issue because The North House has a plan for everything! We ended up getting married on the staircase in the foyer and it was absolutely breathtaking. Jacqui made sure the bridal party had gone through both indoor and outdoor options in case of weather during the rehearsal, which prevented any snafus when the weather pushed us inside.

    Overall, our day was perfect. The schedule was down to a science and things went smoothly from ceremony to cocktail hour to the reception. We are still getting compliments on the food from the wedding! We cannot say enough great things about this venue. In what can be a very stressful time, they make every effort to keep their brides and grooms relaxed and stress free- from booking the venue through wedding day. Thank you so much for helping make our wedding such an amazing and special day!!

    The North House's reply:

    Caroline, I am SO HAPPY to hear how wonderful your special day was. That is our number one goal here :) It was such a pleasure working with you and your family throughout the entire planning process! I wish you all the very best! All my love! Jacqui
  • A
    Aubrey Married on 08/05/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I got married and held our reception at The North House and we could not have asked for a better reception venue! Jacqui was our coordinator and she was absolutely amazing, as was the entire staff. I was an out of town bride and Jacqui made herself available to me through phone, emails, and even texts at any time. She even met with my mom multiple times and was extremely accommodating to whatever we needed. We started the day using the bridal suite to get ready- not only was it super cute, but it was large enough to accommodate a make-up artist and two hair dressers as well as my bridesmaids, my mom, my mother in law and myself with plenty of room to spare! The photographer and videographer loved the spaced and raved about the "amazing lighting," which needless to say made for amazing photos and video. We had our ceremony off site and before we left I was able to see the cocktail hour space and ballroom space- Jacqui and the staff had created my vision and it was perfect. From then on our guests raved about the beautiful venue, great drinks, delicious food and even more delicious dessert! The entire experience was amazing and by far more than I could have hoped for. I cannot thank Jacqui and The North House enough for everything they did every step of the way- I would not have changed a thing!

    The North House's reply:

    Aubrey, thank you so much for this amazing review! It was honestly such a delight working with you, even over the phone - we made it work! :) I hope you all are well and I wish you all of the very best! XoXo Jacqui
  • A
    Ania Married on 08/20/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you're considering The North House as your wedding venue - do it! We were married here on 8/20/2016 and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect day. We booked The North House 3 months before our wedding, due to an unfortunate event that occurred at our original venue that required us to relocate our wedding. From the initial email to the day of the wedding, we have received impeccable service. Our families attended the menu tasting and raved about the quality of the food. We selected the lobster, filet mignon, and chicken as our entrees and have received nothing but positive reviews from all our guests on the wedding day. Our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception took place at The North House. We mainly worked with Nick and Torey and they delivered a wedding day that was even more perfect than we could have imagined. The day went by so smoothly, with Torey keeping everyone on track. She is extremely organized and friendly - a pleasure to work with! The ceremony space is beautiful and the grounds are well maintained. The cocktail hour area bar was well-stocked and the service was phenomenal. The waitstaff during dinner were extremely professional. The ballroom is so elegant and a perfect setting for an unforgettable wedding. The North House delivers on quality, affordability, service, and location. We had many out of town guests attend and the proximity to Bradley Airport made travel so easy. Also, we stayed at Avon Old Farms Hotel which is across the street and it made it so easy to move between the venue and the hotel. The bridal suite is top notch. Also, a big perk is having the tavern in the same building, where our guests continued the after party. We couldn't have dreamt of a more perfect wedding and we owe it to the extraordinary staff at The North House. Book the North House for your dream wedding - you will be happy you did.

    The North House's reply:

    Ania,

    Thank you for your kind words! We are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us, and we are thrilled that we were able to celebrate your special day with you! You and Ben make such a wonderful couple, and we wish you nothing short of a lifetime of happiness together! Come back and see us soon! :)

    All the best,
    The North House
  • Kimberly
    Kimberly Married on 05/29/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We cannot compliment the North House and their staff enough for all they did to make our wedding day amazing. After losing our venue 5 months out from the date, we met with Saleesa who quickly calmed us down and made us confident that the North House was going to be our space. She was diligent with questions, details, and made sure we were 100% set before the day. The price, value, and location could not be beat. At the walk through and rehearsal - Saleesa and Tory quickly got us down to business to get us out of the hot sun and on to our rehearsal dinner, which we had at the Tavern at the North House.

    On the wedding day - the team was phenomenal in addressing all the needs of myself, the bridal party, and our friends and family. Even a hiccup of an unexpected heat wave and some AC issues in the bridal suite did not slow them down. They got us fans and kept the day going! The minute our speeches were over, Saleesa was at our side getting us anything and everything we needed (= drinks!!). She ushered us through our event smoothly and with such grace. To the credit of Saleesa and team - we got to eat our meals (not rush!) and visit with our guests before dancing began. I truly hope all brides get to experience the level of gracious service and partnership that Saleesa and the North House team provided to us. Awesome job team!
  • J
    Jeremy Married on 05/14/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My wife Tara and I were married at the North House last month and cannot recommend it highly enough! Compared to nearby options, the North House had by far the best location, flexibility, customer service, food quality, and overall value. We first looked at the venue a couple years ago when it was Belle Terrace. We loved the location, on-site ceremony option, and proximity to Avon Old Farms hotel for our guests, but had some initial concerns about management, catering, and service. These concerns were alleviated immediately during our second visit when we learned the Chabot family (Farmington Gardens owners) had purchased the property and taken over management. We met directly with co-owner Nick to discuss the space and choose a package that worked with our budget. Nick and his staff went out of their way to address our concerns, customize the menu, make exceptions to our package, recommend vendors, accommodate a rehearsal, decorate the space, and help us with all planning aspects for our big day. The family-run feel was pervasive before and after we signed our contract - a feature of the North House that stood out from the other venues we considered, which felt more like rigid wedding factories. We worked with coordinators Saleesa and Tori who were honestly as valuable as wedding planners. They met with us on weekends, took countless phone calls, kept us on task, collaborated with our vendors, stayed late the night of our rehearsal, and made sure we were calm and fed on our big day! After the reception, we invited guests for cocktails and late night snacks at the North House's classy new restaurant, which was a quick walk from the ballroom. It was a great way to end the night and definitely a better option than the crowded hotel bar across the street. After our big day, guests raved about the food, drinks, servers, staff, venue, and overall experience. We cannot thank the North House and their staff enough for an absolutely perfect wedding day!
  • Lou
    Lou M. Married on 09/20/2019
    2.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Watch Out for this place

    Well just had a wedding at the North House and we were sadly very disappointed. Let’s start with Jackie the coordinator. She seems to be nice, however the professionalism is lacking. We chose surf and turf and were told the staff would ask how you wanted the filet cooked, never happened. The beef was medium well to well done. In addition the food was barley warm. They bring the food out on trays, 4 plates to a tray, uncovered so as to let everything get cold, and who knows what might befall it on the way out. (I’ve: going by someone coughing, sneezing, etc...) Places with a higher level of service have covers on the food and actually heat the plates to keep the food warm.

    During the cocktail hour after the out door ceremony, there was some cheese and raw vegetables/dip. The crackers were brought out 10 minutes later. The hot passed items were infrequent and sparse.alao there was no buss staff to clear plates so they began stacking up.

    Finally Jackie for all her help was dressed as if she were going shopping at Walmart, very unprofessional in short sleeves showing off her full arm tattoos. The next day we went to pick up our stuff and she was nicely dressed for an afternoon wedding. I commented as to why we weren’t treated to such attire and she ignored me. So in closing for the money there are better venues, in better shape
  • Karen
    Karen Married on 06/01/2019
    2.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Don't deliver what's promised

    Place is gorgeous which is what drew me there. Meetings went great, however once wedding arrived, things were missing, were promised and not delivered, fell short in many ways. When emailed to follow up on my concerns, was rudely attacked by owner, blaming the bride for everything and taking no responsibility of their own.
  • A
    Alex Married on 08/04/2019
    2.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Event, Horrible Coordinator

    We used North House for my baby shower. And I have to say the venue is beautiful, the food was great and the staff that worked our event were fantastic, helpful, friendly, and ran the event so smoothly I couldn't have been happier.

    That said, planning this event was a nightmare. Talking to the coordinator, Lisa, made me want to pull my hair out. It felt like I had to remind her what my event was and what I wanted every time I called. She sent me menus that were out of date so when we made our menu selections, half of our selections weren't available. We found out after the fact that any non-alcoholic beverages were not included in our package. And I had to email her multiple times to be sent my contract (it took over 3 weeks of constant reminder emails to get her to send it to me and I was starting to feel like a stalker). On the day of the event, nothing was arranged in the room like I asked and all of our tables were arranged on one side of the room so there was a giant open space for no reason. But another shout out to the staff that worked my event who immediately set everything up the way I wanted and the event went smoothly without Lisa and her planner's amnesia.

    Maybe they are better with larger events, but considering how low maintenance our event was, the fact that planning it was a disaster doesn't bode well.