Skip to main content
Weddings

The MV Skansonia Reviews

The MV Skansonia View more information

88 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

88
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

20 User photos

  • Jessica
    Jessica R. Married on 08/19/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10/10 Loved

    The Skansonia was a serious dream to work with from the beginning. The communication was easy and they worked with us to easily make decisions as worked through the process. The venue vibe is beautiful-with the view and the twinkle lights. Our guests loved the evening reception on the boat getting to enjoy the summer evening. We wanted to have a wedding that was simple but enjoyable and provided a “classic” experience for our out of town guests.
  • S
    Stephanie E. Married on 09/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A great 2020/2021 experience!

    My husband had one request...to get married on a boat, and the Skansonia was fantastic. We had to post-pone from Sept. 2020 to Sept. 2021 and it was so easy.

    Having an all-inclusive venue was great and made everything really smooth. I went to their Open House in 2019 which lead us to find our DJ and try the food.
    Originally we were expecting 80-100 guests but ended up only having ~45. The space is great for small groups or larger ones.

    We had to switch our ceremony to inside as there was some rain but it didn't take away from anything. The flowers were incredible and our photos turned out amazing.

    The MV Skansonia's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words! We are so happy that you had such a great experience. We look forward to seeing photos soon!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • A
    Abby S. Married on 06/13/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Unique venue with great views!

    The team at the MV Skansonia were great to work with and put together a great wedding for us. They made the planning process easy by including almost everything you need for the event (just booked DJ and photographer separately). The food, flowers, cake, and staffing for the event were all planned through them. Everything went smoothly for our wedding. This venue also has one of the best views of Seattle and a great rainy day plan for the ceremony. Definitely recommend!

    Photographer: Aaron Meyers Photography
    DJ: JP entertainment

    The MV Skansonia's reply:

    Hi Abby,

    Thank you so much for the kind review! We are so glad we had a chance to work with you on your wedding day :)
  • Jacqueline
    Jacqueline R. Married on 07/04/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A unique, beautiful venue with an amazing team!

    My now-husband and I were absolutely sold on the venue just from the view and the boat's charm alone. The bow of the boat is dreamy for a ceremony as well as a first dance as newlyweds. What really was the icing to our amazing wedding day was the team on the Skansonia. The venue team is so knowledgeable, quick to respond and very friendly. At every step of wedding planning, they were informative and patient, and when it came to the wedding day, we were able to be completely hands-off and just enjoy knowing the Skansonia was on top of everything. The catering team was just as incredible. The food was soo delicious and many of guests came up to us after dinner to tell us so! You won't regret having your wedding on the MV Skansonia.
  • Harrison
    Harrison H. Married on 08/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Truly Magical Evening

    We are both from Illinois and wanted to give our guests a truly Seattle experience. This was it. The staff was amazing to work with, gave us extremely helpful suggestions, and truly took effort to get us the special day we were looking for. They were extremely responsive and helped us numerous times with all our questions. The venue offers decor, catering, and floral options which made planning so much easier (plus, the options were awesome)! The food was FANTASTIC. Our guests have told us again and again how they usually hate wedding food, but loved our menu. So impressed and happy with how our wedding turned out and can't recommend the Skansonia enough!

    The MV Skansonia's reply:

    Thank you so much Harrison & Seth!! We are so happy for you both (and Marcy). You wedding was so much fun :)
  • Wesley
    Wesley N. Married on 09/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding planning made so easy and stress-free

    Love this venue and their staff! They are extremely easy to work with and very responsive. They seem to adapt well to however you and your partner treat wedding planning. We are not super into wedding planning so it was fantastic for us to have a one-stop shop for everything. I really appreciated their flexibility as well. We brought in all of our own alcohol and dessert and our dogs! And the venue, what is not to love? Views of the city, mountains, water, and Gas Park. I want to live on this boat. I would recommend this venue in a heartbeat to friends and family.
  • T
    Tiffany Married on 07/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    From our first tour of the venue to the last dance on our wedding night, the MV Skansonia met and exceeded all our expectations! The Skansonia provides the perfect backdrop! The inside and outside details of the boat are unique, very vintage and everything I dreamed of for our special day! The staff is so attentive and kind and made sure the focus was always on us and making the day perfect! The food was phenomenal, the flowers absolutely beautiful and the bakery brought my dessert vision to life! Our friends and family are still talking about our wedding and how perfect of a venue it was! My husband and I will forever reminisce about the best day of our lives in what we believe was the best location and venue to begin our forever together!

    The MV Skansonia's reply:

    Thank you so much for this wonderful review and for choosing the Skansonia to celebrate. Congratulations Tiffany & Joe!!!
  • M
    Mariah Married on 07/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Thank you SO much, Anita and Finni! Both of you are absolute superstars! We got married in Canada, and then we celebrated our wedding aboard the MV Skansonia in August of 2018 with a beautiful brunch, mimosa bar, and cake reception! We had about 80 guests, and the Skansonia was the best decision that we made for our Seattle wedding event! The entire process was filled with so much joy, and we had two outstanding people make the day flawless and fun! The venue itself is gorgeous and required very little extra decor, as it has some of the best views in Seattle and historic charm. The food was delicious! It was served fresh and piping hot! Our guests were raving about the venue and catering! We are so grateful to the staff at the Skansonia who worked tirelessly to make the day extra special! They even sent the sweetest card after our event. We feel so lucky to have found such a beautiful venue and to have worked with such incredible people! Thank you so much for making our dreams come true! - Mr. and Mrs. Smith

    The MV Skansonia's reply:

    Thank you so much for the wonderful review Mariah!!!
  • Tiffany
    Tiffany Married on 07/05/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The MV Skansonia is an amazing place to get married! The ferry is so unique that I fell in love!

    I don’t think I could have imagined having my wedding at any other venue! Between the view, history, staff and food it was by far the most amazing venue I have ever seen! From the first time I saw the venue over, a year ago, the planning process couldn’t have gone better. The day of the wedding was just amazing. Finni was the most helpful ever and making sure the day ran close to on time and making sure everything ran smoothly. I personally didn’t add much decorations to the venue has I loved all the character that the ferry had from the years of history that it shared. All of our guests were just shocked how amazing the venue and staff was at the Skansonia. I’m so glad that I accidentally found this venue and got to experience the most amazing adventure I could have in my lifetime. Thank you to everyone and all the staff over this last year making it the most memorable wedding of a lifetime!

    The MV Skansonia's reply:

    Thank you so much Tiffany!!!
  • C
    Chany Married on 06/23/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Best wedding venue in Seattle! We got married in June 2018 and we couldn't have asked for a better wedding. With Anita and Finni's help, we planned our wedding in just four months. We loved that it was all inclusive so we didn't have to waste time or worry about finding other vendors for food, dessert, flowers etc. That made the planning very efficient. So if you're a bride/groom that wants to keep the hassle of planning a wedding to a minimum, I'd recommend the Skansonia. Their staff is amazing. P.S. the food is delicious. Everyone loved the mushroom ravioli. I hope to be invited to a wedding there so I can have the food again :)
  • A
    Andrew Married on 06/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    What an awesome place to have our wedding! The day was perfect and we couldn’t have felt more supported than we were with Finni and her team. She did a wonderful job, always willing to help and so patient throughout the whole process. She was extremely accommodating and so helpful throughout the whole day.

    The venue was gorgeous and the food and dessert were excellent. We lucked out with beautiful weather and our guests, who were mostly from out of Seattle, couldn’t stop talking about the venue. I highly recommend this venue, and this staff, if you’re looking to get married.

    Finni and team - thanks so much for helping make our special day perfect!
  • D
    Daniel Married on 03/25/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing staff, value, and most importantly FOOD! Anita was very attentive through the entire planing process answering any questions and organizing every detail. The boat is a unique and breathtaking venue and the food is phenomenal. Because of their organization, the day went off with out a hitch (except for us, we got hitched).
  • Q
    Quinne Married on 02/17/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Skansonia was the perfect place to get married! From our first email to a post wedding thank you card, my husband and I were supported every step of the way by the wonderful event coordinators. I couldn’t have asked for a better team to make our dream weddin a reality!!

    The MV Skansonia's reply:

    Thank you Quinne! We are so happy that!
  • M
    Mariel Married on 07/22/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    These people are PROS. The #1 thing I'm glad we did in the wedding process was decide to have our wedding here. They have their own caterer and bakery, so no running around to find more vendors, plus everything at the venue worked in perfect harmony. It was nice to just have one point person, Devon, who was amazing and thought of everything, down to what drink we wanted waiting for us after the ceremony!
    As soon as I arrived on my wedding day, I asked like 3 questions, and then had to worry about NOTHING else the rest of the night. This was especially helpful when it came to keeping on schedule -- when it was time to do the dances, or start eating, or wrap up, I was gently prompted and things moved along like clockwork. We never felt rushed.
    Devon was also our ceremony coordinator, and she ran the rehearsal and ceremony. It all went perfectly and was the loveliest moment of my life.
    Quality wise, everything was exquisite. The food was AMAZING (the mushroom ravioli is to die for!) and the service at the bar was speedy and friendly. (We brought in our own alcohol and they served.) The space is just absolutely gorgeous on it's own (you don't have to do any decorating, which was a huge relief for me). It has an elegant vintage feel, and contains everything you could need. PLUS you have the incredible view! Most of our guests were from out of state and were absolutely blown away by it.
    On the business end, they are very organized, the invoicing is clear and up-front. They worked with us adjusting, adding, changing the headcount, with no issues. They answered questions quickly and clearly.
    I would recommend the Skansonia to anyone who will listen. I'm so happy we found it and booked it, the staff and the boat absolutely MADE our wedding.

    The MV Skansonia's reply:

    Thank you so much for your exceptional review, Mariel! :)
  • E
    Erica Married on 06/23/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our experience with the Skansonia was far better than we could've hoped for and we can't recommend them more!! We absolutely enjoyed every step of the process of working with the team there. They communicated consistently with us (including over Skype since we were overseas) and took the stress out of the event by taking care of the millions of details involved with planning a large event like this. The event went seamlessly and we felt like the Skansonia team was part of our family! Our guests LOVED the venue and we did too. We were also highly impressed with the food - our guests and family commented on how impressed they were with the quality (rare for large events!). The Skansonia team truly enhanced our experience with their kindness, organization, and expertise and YES, exceeded our expectations. We cannot recommend them more highly!

    The MV Skansonia's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words, Erica! We loved having you aboard for your beautiful big day & are so happy you had such a great experience. :)
  • J
    Jackie Married on 04/08/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The MV Skansonia is a wonderful place to get married. It is fairly affordable in the off season, and we loved that it is located in the city. The venue offers most of the services you need for your wedding; such as catering, item rentals, floral, baking, and beverage. The staff are extremely responsive and helpful. There is no need to use a wedding planner if you get married at the Skansonia, since they are able to take care of pretty much everything for you. The pricing is very straightforward and they offer you a detailed price quote before you commit. Our guests loved the venue and enjoyed themselves very much and we did too!

    The MV Skansonia's reply:

    Thank you Jackie!!! We loved having you here. :) Hope you are doing wonderfully!
  • M
    Mimi Married on 02/04/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wonderful place to have an event. The staff is great to work with and the food was delicious! The venue is unique and your guests will love it. The view of the Seattle skyline is amazing!
  • A
    Amanda Married on 10/15/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We fell in love with the charm of the ferry immediately! Our first trip to the Skansonia was on a rainy day in November and the space was cozy, warm and welcoming. Victoria and Vicki were always available to answer questions and to meet at the last minute. They truly made planning easy with in house catering from Lake Union Cafe (which the food was amazing - our guests raved!) as well as an in house florist and bakery. You don't need to go crazy on Pinterest either since the space is so unique and beautiful.

    So here is where our story takes a bit of a twist. Our wedding fell on the same weekend as Seattle suffered through the remnants of Typhoon Songda. The winds that weekend were consistently 30 - 40 mph, with gusts up to 70 mph. We were informed on Friday that the boat might not be safe for everyone to board on Saturday due to predictions of even worse weather the next day. Gulp. So we slept on it to see what the weather would do and the next morning it looked just as bad. We decided with Victoria not to hold the wedding on the boat since we might lose power or have to evacuate if the weather made the boat unsafe. I say all of this not to scare anyone away from the venue. This was one of the fist times they ever had to move an event. So this is not common, at all. But what Victoria did do is move our wedding over to Hotel Deca and busted her ass to pull off a pretty fantastic wedding. So if you want a venue that can handle unexpected problems. . . which will happen. . . this is your place and Victoria is your woman!

    After all of that we had the most amazing event. Everything went off without a hitch. Other than lots of nautical themed koozies, our guests would have never known we hadn't planned it to be at the new venue. Thank you Victoria, we were sad not to get married on the boat, but couldn't of had a better backup wedding without your help. I would recommend this venue to anyone looking for a great place to celebrate!
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 09/24/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    What a beautiful venue and what an extremely helpful and knowledgeable staff. Getting married with the skyline in the background made for a magical experience our guests will never forget and neither will we. The staff answered all our questions and made us feel comfortable and relaxed on the day. Vicki and Victoria were amazing and we are so grateful for everything they did for us!
  • M
    Melissa Married on 09/16/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I only have good things to say about the MV Skansonia and its staff. Our ceremony happened to be during sunset and was amazing. And the entire event was executed flawlessly.
  • Sanjay and Eryne
    Eryne Married on 08/11/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Hands down, the BEST venue we could have asked for. My husband and I could not have been more thrilled with the Skansonia. The planning process was a breeze from start to finish, and the Skansonia's planners took care of anything we needed. The whole process was streamlined, and we were definitely happy that we didn't have to deal with the little details like renting chairs or linens. Whenever my husband and I had questions or concerns, they were always quick to respond and very flexible to meet our needs.

    Our wedding day was pretty much perfect. The day-of-coordination was super helpful, and it was wonderful to know that all of the details were taken care of without us having to step in. The planners are true professionals - they helped with everything from pre-wedding jitters to finding pins to fix a broken zipper on a bridesmaid's dress. The service was also great. We were greeted with our signature cocktail and hors d'oeuvres upstairs following the ceremony, and one of the servers made sure we had food and drinks throughout dinner. Our guests loved the food, cake, decor, and (obviously) the setting. You will not find a more romantic or scenic venue in Seattle, especially for the money. We cannot thank Vicki, Mikaela, and Victoria enough for the care and hard work they put into our wedding. Highly recommend!
  • K
    Kelli Married on 06/18/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The crew of the Skansonia could not have made our wedding day any better! They were very patient and accommodating with adding extra time and making desserts that weren't on their usual menu.
  • M
    Marjan Married on 04/29/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The venue is gorgeous - so unique and so Seattle. To top it off, Vicki, Mikaela and Victoria are amazing. So kind, calm and extremely helpful. They executed our wedding day flawlessly. The food and dessert provided by LUC was incredible - our guests couldn't get enough! We wish we could go back!
  • K
    Kelsey Married on 11/07/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I cannot recommend the Skansonia highly enough! We got married on 11/7, which turned out to be a cold and rainy evening. We had our ceremony and reception inside, and it was so cozy and beautiful! The wood floors, bulb lights, and many LED candles made it super romantic and lovely.

    The Skansonia staff, particularly Mikaela, were so helpful before, during and after the event. It was never a problem to stop by during tour hours to take another look at the layout or ask a question, and they were super responsive via email as well. We were able to store decorations at the venue in advance of the wedding, which was super helpful in minimizing last minute to-dos. On the day of the wedding Mikaela made sure everything ran smoothly, from starting to set up our decorations before we arrived to orienting the person running the music (we used their sound system instead of a DJ and it worked out great!).

    If you're looking for a venue with a beautiful water/skyline view and lots of historic charm, this is it!

    The MV Skansonia's reply:

    Thank you Kelsey for nice review. It really means a lot to hear everything you had to say. I hope that married life is treating you well! With two sweet people like you and Chris I am sure it though.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message