The McCartneys Photography Reviews

61 | Wausau, WI
See photos, pricing and details

61 Reviews for The McCartneys Photography

Recommended by 99%

61
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • Kristin

    Kristin Nemecek · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful duo!

    Kelsy and Butch were so fun to work with from the first email to when we received our photos (which were delivered less than 1 month after the wedding)!!! We had such a wonderful wedding day and we are thoroughly enjoying reliving it through our photos. Kelsy and Butch had such a great, positive energy and everyone commented how lovely they were to work with. I would highly recommend them!

  • K

    Kanoe · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kelsy and Butch are phenomenal photographers, whose exceptional talent and skill are matched by their exceptional personalities.

    After seeing examples of their work via friends who had hired them for their wedding, I knew they would be the first vendor to call when my now-husband and I got engaged. The McCartneys are incredibly professional, personable, and most importantly, masterful at what they do. They are prompt in their pre-wedding communication, provide thoughtful suggestions, and are on top of all the details (qualities that are invaluable to any bride – especially an anxious one like me!)

    They have an amazing way of making you feel at ease in front of the cameras and letting you enjoy the moments they are capturing, while at the same time skillfully guiding the process and ensuring they are getting amazing photos. We truly enjoyed their company during our engagement session as well as their photography of our rehearsal dinner and wedding, and are incredibly happy with our experience working with the McCartneys. It was really nice to hear from our friends and family who they photographed as well, that our photographers were "so fun to work with."

    It is wonderful, beyond words, to reflect on the moments and memories from the happiest day of our lives, and we have Kelsy and Butch to thank for capturing them so beautifully.

  • User6078728 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ah, The McCartneys! I was so excited to randomly stumble upon their blog when I was photographer-hunting and even more excited when they were available for our day. I'm a photography nerd so the photo aspect of our wedding was really important to me, and the fact that the McCartneys do a mix of film and digital was so attractive to me (film is not dead and it's so much better than digital, trust me). I emailed them like a thousand times with questions/updates - planning a wedding long-distance will do this to you - and they were endlessly patient, friendly and even pretended to enjoy my myriad messages. We got our photos super quick after the wedding and they were INCREDIBLE. They're super easy to work with and are more like friends that vendors. Hire them. Now!

  • C

    Courtney · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There were a few vendors during our wedding planning process that were truly a privilege to work with and the McCartneys were one of them. From our very first contact through even now, after our wedding as we are ordering our photos, they were extremely professional, brought excitement and creativity to the project, and were always incredibly responsive. They were pros. Wedding planning is a lot of work and having a vendor like them who simply handles it, does an amazing job, and is pleasant throughout is a gift. We gave them very little direction and they nailed everything. We love our photos and look forward to using them for more in the future!

  • E

    Erin · Married on 08/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and I found the McCartney's through our good friends who have used them to capture all their precious moments (wedding and their two adorable girls)! We spoke to multiple photographers and as soon as we Skyped with Butch and Kelsy we knew we wanted them to capture our special day! We felt like we knew them for years! The amount of detail they but into their business and their clients is unlike anything I have seen or experienced! From the initial welcome box they sent us with personalized touches to the timelines and sending us our wedding photos in such a timely manner. Our pictures are incredible, so many people compliment on the quality and style! Butch and Kelsy were incredible to work with and went above and beyond our expectations in every way! I would highly recommend the McCartney's for anyone's photography needs our pictures are stunning!

  • S

    Stacy · Married on 06/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The McCartneys are absolutely amazing! We couldn't ask for more perfect pictures that captured our big day. Also, Kelsey and Butch are such fun to work with and people we would love to hang out with on a regular basis! Our wedding party loved them as well and I get so many compliments on our photos. They were the one vendor we splurged on and it was definitely worth the price.

  • L

    Lydia · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Butch and Kelsy are absolutely incredible in every sense of the word. They are professional yet fun, caring, and flexible. Our original wedding plans changed and Butch and Kelsy were incredibly willing to work with us through the changes and even worked out a way to photograph both of our wedding celebrations. They are constantly communicating with their couples, trying to get a feeling for what that bride and groom have in mind for their day and what they want people to remember and feel when they look back at their day. The photographs that the McCartneys take truly make you FEEL. I don't know how they do it but when you look at their photos you can just tell what the feelings, emotions, and style was on that couple's wedding day. These two are amazing people and are always willing to work with their couples and make their services of value. Every day I felt like Butch and Kelsy were there to help with other aspects of the wedding, offering recommendations and suggestions for vendors or ideas. I couldn't DREAM of having another photographer and I am so happy with our choice!

  • K

    Karyn · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I truly could go on forever about all of the things I loved about working with the McCartneys! First, I just love THEM in general! They are so kind, fun and warm. They made us feel so comfortable from the very first interaction and went above and beyond what I expected. Your photographers will be with you so much of your wedding day so it is important that you feel comfortable with them and I loved spending my day with Kelsy and Butch! Also, their work is incredible. Our engagement and wedding photos are perfect. I loved that they let us just be us--no awkward posing or forced expressions. Everyone says how beautiful all of our photos are. Our wedding day was cold, windy, rainy and muddy and they took it all in stride and still managed to get all of the photos we wanted.

    I honestly think hiring the McCartneys was one the best decisions that we made during our planning. We have hundreds of beautiful photos, great memories and two new friends. I can't recommend them enough!

  • A

    Andrew & Ellie · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Easily one of the best decisions we made concerning our big day, the McCartneys are the whole package! To start, Butch and Kelsy are an amazing, two photographer team. The day of the wedding goes by too fast, so having an extra camera on hand made sure that we were able to capture all of our special moments. If that isn't enough, the photo quality is exquisite! The McCartneys are different than most photographers in that they shoot traditional film. It doesn't sound like a big deal, but the quality of the film shots is superior (in our opinion), adding that last missing element from comparable photos we have seen. The cherry on top of our experience is the personal connection that we made with our photographers. From our consults, to a dinner meeting here and there, and all of the way through the wedding, Butch and Kelsy are amazing to work with. Their light-hearted attitude, paired with an amazing work ethic, truly sets this pair apart from other photographers. We could not have envisioned a better experience with better people and would highly recommend the McCartneys to anyone who asks!

  • User5008239 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for wedding photographers who will make your day so special and make you wish you could invite them as guests to your wedding as well... look no further. I had randomly stumbled upon the McCartney's facebook page long before I was even dating my now husband and since then had loved their photography. When I did get engaged and we started looking at photographers obviously my first choice was Butch and Kelsy, but little did I know how perfect they really are. Kelsy and Butch are phenomenal photographers that photograph with love, integrity, and pure passion each and everyday. From minute one you will feel so special and you will feel like you are discussing your wedding with great friends, not your wedding vendor. They will help you with your day of timeline, give advice on what will make great photographs and will capture so much more on your big day. Many of my wedding guests commented on how sweet Kelsy and Butch were, but also how it seemed that they were everywhere capturing every moment possible. I can say with confidence that we have found our photographers for life and look forward to family, anniversary and baby photo sessions for our family in the future!

  • C

    Christiana · Married on 10/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Photography: Beautiful, timeless and well laid out. I didn't want oversaturated digital images for my wedding, I wanted to look back on it and see us in a way that was natural and uncontrived. They deliver.
    Medium: Mix of film and digital
    Responsiveness: Kelsy and Butch are punctual and very responsive, they managed our expectations in terms of delivery time and are fantastic to work with.
    Personality: Positive, warm and upbeat and sensitive to family dynamics - first class
    Professional: Kelsy and Butch were with us for the whole weekend, they showed up on time, were communicative when they needed to be and in the background capturing everything. We received TONS of compliments with everyone telling us that that they loved our photographers and now after seeing their work, love their photography.

  • E

    Elise · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This AWESOME husband and wife team is beyond professional (and crazy talented), yet will treat you like old friends! The energy, passion and genuine care that Kelsy & Butch have for each couple (and for each other) will immediately make you feel comfortable. Kelsy & Butch capture such amazing, timeless images that bring back those emotions surrounding your wedding day and remind you of those incredible moments experienced with close family and friends! Anyone would be lucky to have The McCartneys as wedding photographers :)

  • User4991250 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The McCartney's are amazing photographers and wonderful people. We enjoyed the entire photography process with them and would highly recommend them to any of our friends. The process was simple and professional everything you want for a special event being photographed!

  • K

    Katie · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The McCartneys are not only amazing photographers but wonderful people. As a team, they take the time to really get to know you and become your friends along the way. While working with them for our engagement session and our wedding day, Kelsy and Butch brought a contagious energy that added to our excitement and made us feel very comfortable working with them. When photographing, they have a way of finding the perfect light and special small moments that really set their pictures apart from others.
    Kelsy and Butch captured our day in such a timeless way that we can look back on for years to come. No where will you find such talented photographers and genuine people who truly love what they do like the McCartneys.

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kelsy and Butch were incredible to work with. My husband and I could not be happier with our choice to work with them for our wedding. Even though we live in Seattle and were getting married in Wisconsin, we found them to be extremely responsive and easy to work with leading up to both our engagement session and the big day. They were very willing to be flexible and accommodate our every wish. They were helpful in planning out the timeline for our wedding, and our entire wedding party enjoyed working with them. Kelsy and Butch were professional, passionate about their work, and of course they take absolutely beautiful photos!! We can't thank them enough for all that they did and all the wonderful memories they captured for us. We highly recommend them to others!

    Sarah and Jeff

  • Rachel

    Rachel · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kelsy and Butch were such a huge part of our wedding day, as we had planned from the start. Photography was a very big piece of our wedding budget and our best investment. We both knew that the photos would be beautiful, timeless and we would treasure them for a lifetime, but honestly we are more than elated with our wedding photos and they are MORE than we could have ever dreamed. They captured the real emotion of the day, were there for all of our important events and even spent the end of the night dancing with us!

    They are such genuine people, who make it a point to connect with the bride and groom and get to know those closest to you as well. They truly love what they do and are professional yet so personable to work with. My husband and I felt so special on our day and they truly helped the day go by even more beautifully that it already was. Simply amazing work that the McCartney's Photography do and we are so blessed to have been a part of their story as they are now such an important part of ours!

  • B

    Brittany + Dustin · Married on 08/30/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Not only are the McCartneys incredibly talented but they are also genuine, light-hearted, and full of energy! They truly have a way of capturing the most pure and real qualities in anyone that make for the most timeless photos! Every image evokes a different feeling.

    When it came to budget, we had planned on putting most of our funds towards photography because we wanted to reflect on every emotion and detail of our special day for years to come through quality images. The neatest part was when our photos were ready and there were photos with details that we hadn't even remembered incorporating!

    Throughout the entire planning process leading up to the wedding, we developed a friendship with Kelsy and Butch that completely put us at ease as they clicked away on their cameras. These two have such a strong passion for what they do and it's noticeable in every shot that they take; often times joking with one another about who's photo is going to be better, so cute! We were in contact on almost a daily basis to talk through colors, decorations, flowers, hair, makeup, day-of expectations, timeline of events... They basically doubled as a wedding planner for us because they were just as excited about every detail as we were!

    We are beyond thrilled that we decided to work with Kelsy and Butch, we look so forward to having them photograph more of our special life events! <3

  • T

    Teresa · Married on 08/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where do I begin? I cannot say enough about the McCartneys and their photography. It. Is. Amazing. Breathtaking. Beautiful.

    It was such a whirlwind day, and I didn't fully realize just how absolutely amazing and full of love it was, until I looked at the pictures from the McCartneys. They captured the moments that mattered, the little moments, the big moments, and those in between. They made me feel comfortable, they made me feel pretty, and they made the entire day into something special.

    I received so many compliments about them - their professionalism , their kindness, their flexibility, their ability to put up with crazy groomsmen ;), and their overall photography skills.

    I would recommend the McCartneys in a heartbeat. I cannot be more grateful for the way they captured my day. Priceless, in every single way.

  • E

    Eliabeth · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having Kelsy & Butch photograph our wedding, was like having two of our close friends do it. They were so much fun to work with and they captured every ounce of joy from our wedding day. We had people tell us that after they looked through our pictures they felt like they had actually been there.

  • A

    Andrea · Married on 08/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring Butch & Kelsey McCartney was the best decision of our entire wedding, and we have amazing pictures to prove it. Words can't express how highly we recommend them. We hired them for both our engagement session and our wedding day.

    Their talent is undeniable. They always seemed to be in the right place at the right time to capture every amazing candid moment. The way they capture light in outdoor photos makes every photo look magazine worthy.

    In addition, they're both really sweet people. Their positive energy & enthusiasm is contagious. They're the kind of people you'd want to hang out with outside of your wedding day too. They're also incredibly thoughtful and don't overlook any details. Everything we got from them felt like a surprise "gift." I instagramed the un-boxing of the wedding photos they sent us because it just looked & felt that special!

    And to boot - they got our wedding pictures on Style Me Pretty. I couldn't believe it - definitely the cherry on top of the wedding cake!

    http://www.stylemepretty.com/wisconsin-weddings/elkhart-lake/2013/12/10/elkhart-lake-wisconsin-wedding/

  • User3334050 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The McCartneys did an outstanding job at our wedding. The photos have been beautiful, and they captured so many wonderful photos from the day. We wanted a lot of candid photos, and the McCartneys did just that. They were so easy to work with, and they helped to make the day flow so nicely. We would highly recommend them for wedding photography!

  • User3254256 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Top notch and amazing! Couldn't have asked for anything more! These two go above and beyond and are truly talented.

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 09/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There aren't enough words to describe the praise The McCartney's deserve. Not only is their work of the highest quality, Butch and Kelsy are two of the sweetest, most sincere people who make you feel so relaxed and comfortable. Your wedding photography is the one physical piece of your wedding memories that you will go back to time and time again. The way the McCartney's capture your day will show all the true emotions and details to help you relive that day. Their professionalism, responsiveness, quality, and infectious energy simply cannot be beat. We were 100% satisfied with their service from the day we first met and booked them, through our engagement session, wedding day, and even beyond. You definately don't feel forgotten by them after the wedding is over. They make you feel as if your wedding day is as important to them as it is to you. You will not feel like "just another client /booking " with these two. And the way their photography skills compliment each other leaves no angle or emotion left uncaptured.

  • E

    Erin · Married on 09/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier that we chose Kelsy and Butch to photograph our wedding. Not only are they super talented in their work - they are also so fun to be around! They made us, our family and bridal party very comfortable in front of the camera and as a result, we have some amazing images that will last a lifetime.

    We are also very impressed with the excellent customer service Kelsy and Butch delivered. They were quick to respond to email and our photos were delivered in the cutest packages. Kelsy and Butch were somehow able to make it seem like we were the only couple they were working with.

  • S

    Sabrina and Robert · Married on 08/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kelsy and Butch of the McCartneys Photography are positive and energetic. We are so happy they photographed our engagement session and our wedding. They captured our day beautifully! They created our photo album to perfectly tell the story of our wedding day and the final product exceeded our expectations. The McCartneys go above and beyond to provide heartfelt and personalized photography services!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review