The Makeup Culture Reviews

28 | Raleigh, NC
See photos, pricing and details

28 Reviews for The Makeup Culture

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

28

11 User photos

The Makeup Culture 1
The Makeup Culture 2
The Makeup Culture 3
The Makeup Culture 4
The Makeup Culture 5
+ 7
Order by:
  • Amanda

    Amanda Khalil · Married on 11/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful Experience!

    Do not look any further for a hair and makeup artist! Absolutely loved working with Stephanie - she is kind, professional, listens to your vision, and just fantastic at what she does! Thank you for making my bridal party and I look and feel beautiful!

    Sent on 11/16/2019
  • Erin

    Erin Sagester · Married on 10/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING experience and beautiful looks!!!

    Stephanie and her team were absolutely amazing!

    From our makeup trial to the wedding day, she was so wonderful to work with and a master of her craft. She took time to see my vision for the day, worked with me throughout the process, and brought everything to life on the day of the event.

    Not only that, I had 12 people that received hair and makeup the day of my wedding, and she was SO organized and amazing to give everyone such a beautiful look! I hope to have another reason to work with Stephanie again!!!

    The Makeup Culture 6
    Sent on 11/04/2019
  • Ashley

    Ashley · Married on 10/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing hair and makeup!

    I love love loved working with Stephanie and her team! They are true artists and professionals, and it shows in their work! I was super nervous/hesitant about finding a hair/makeup artist who would be able to work with my naturally curly hair - and Stephanie nailed it! Stephanie did my hair and makeup for my trial, bridal portraits and of course the day of - and each time was better than the last! She was so patient with me and my nit picky requests and truly made me feel like a queen on my wedding day. My mother, mother in law and all of my bridesmaids were also thrilled with their services! I received so many compliments about our hair/make up from wedding guests and couldn't be happier with how things turned out. You will be in great hands working with Stephanie and her team!

    Sent on 11/04/2019
  • J

    Jade · Married on 03/23/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Talented hair and makeup artist!

    Stephanie was absolutely amazing and so talented! The bridal party was so happy with their hair and makeup and all the guests commented on how amazing they all looked. I felt absolutely beautiful as a bride! She listened to what I wanted and the final result far exceeded my expectations. She has the most positive attitude and is so sweet and thoughtful. She is super responsive as well. I would 100% recommend Stephanie!! Excellent experience from start to finish!

    Sent on 03/25/2019
  • M

    Morgan Parker · Married on 03/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful to work with

    Steph and her team with the makeup culture were wonderful people to work with for our wedding. She is the kindest and most patient person, and it was a blessing to interact with her as she did my hair and makeup on my wedding day. She was very kind about any schedule changes and was willing to come to our Airbnb when we needed a place besides our venue to get ready. My mom has never had her hair and makeup done professionally and she was thrilled with the results. My hair stayed up all day and night and I didn't have to think about it! Definitely use this company if you have a chance.

    The Makeup Culture 7
    Sent on 03/27/2019
  • L

    Laura · Married on 12/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Do NOT hesitate! Stephanie is the BEST!

    As the Mother of the Bride, I was hesitant to have my hair and makeup done (with no practice session) before such an important and abundantly photographed event. I have seen SO many mothers and brides overdone and have known quite a few friends that were unhappy with their experiences with wedding hair and makeup. I expressed my concerns (FEARS!) to Stephanie and she immediately put me at ease. Stephanie walked me through each step to assure that she was giving me the simple and fresh, yet elegant appearance for which I was looking. The results were remarkable. I was still me...and photograph ready! My daughter was happy! I was happy! My husband was happy! The pictures that I have seen from the wedding are wonderful. The makeup really makes a difference in the photographs, without being over the top. Long story short... If you are hesitant about having your makeup and hair done, that's understandable. We've all seen the overdone moms that we do NOT want to be. We don't want our daughters to be overdone brides either! Solution: Hire Stephanie! You will be SO glad you did! I PROMISE!

    Sent on 12/28/2018
  • Cody

    Cody · Married on 11/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Couldn't have asked for more!!!

    Stephanie was so wonderful to work with! Before the wedding, she was responsive and receptive. I had a larger bridal party and a less-than-ideal amount of time for hair and makeup, and she worked diligently to ensure enough staff to get the job done while meeting our timeline.

    Once I booked with Stephanie, we set up a hair and makeup trial. At my trial, I really felt Stephanie was hearing my concerns, and offering her expertise. I came out feeling absolutely BEAUTIFUL and confident in my decision to work with her and her team. As far as quality of her products and her work, Stephanie is truly second to none. Many of my bridesmaids questioned my decision not to use airbrush makeup (I'm just not a fan), but after having their makeup done the day of were so impressed. One literally commented they had "no idea that non-airbrush makeup could look so flawless". Stephanie is also incredibly knowledgeable about skincare and makeup products, and truly individualizes her work.

    On the day of, Stephanie and her team delivered the same quality, positivity, and beautiful outcome that I experienced during the trial. I truly could not have been happier. I am very particular about my appearance (and truthfully, spent a lot of time worrying about this part of the big day), but Stephanie and her team eased any concerns I had. Each of my bridesmaids had the unique features that make them beautiful emphasized in ways I can hardly describe. They helped each one of us look our best, and I am so very thankful!!! I would highly recommend Stephanie and the Makeup Culture time and time again. They are simply excellent in all facets of their work.

    Sent on 05/22/2019
  • K

    Karen · Married on 08/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephanie was truly a joy to work with! She did an excellent job with my hair on the wedding day, as well as all of my bridesmaids' and flower girl's hair. She was quick, she adapted well to everyone's different hair types, and she did it all with a pleasant and kind attitude. I would absolutely hire her again!

    Sent on 08/31/2018
  • M

    Mary · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephanie was an absolute delight to have with my bridesmaids and me for so many hours on my wedding day! She was so patient and kind to everyone, and everyone's hair looked stunning. Not only that, but she was so accommodating of anyone who needed adjustments or was unsure of what they had done. She made sure we all felt completely comfortable. I started off afraid to get my makeup done (I usually wear no makeup), but Stephanie performed some kind of magic on my face because I can't believe how "natural" (but way better!!!) she made me look. Thank you for such a wonderful experience!

    Sent on 09/07/2018
  • H

    Hannah · Married on 12/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend Stephanie to all of my friends and family! She did an amazing job on my make-up and the bridesmaids. Stephanie is truly an artist. She not only made each girl feel beautiful but kept their look natural as well. Stephanie was timely, professional and extremely talented. She was a joy to work with on the day of the wedding day and kept us all entertained!

    Sent on 03/05/2018
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephanie is a DREAM to work with! She did hair and makeup for me, my bridesmaids, my mom and mother in law. Saying she's incredibly talented, doesn't truly do justice to how amazing she is!!! Everyone looked absolutely stunning! Stephanie is truly an artist, so talented in enhancing each person's natural beauty. It was important to me to look like an enhanced version of me, but not completely different than what I'm used to on our wedding day. WOW she did just that, choosing makeup that was perfect for my skin and absolutely beautiful! I had researched wedding hair styles before my trial, but Stephanie really guided me on choosing the most beautiful style that would be perfect for my hair. It was such a pleasure working with her, she's such a beautiful person inside and out! I can't express how thankful I am to have worked with Stephanie! THANK YOU so much for all your hard work and making me my most beautiful ever!

    Sent on 10/20/2017
  • S

    Stacy · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephanie was an absolute dream to work with! From our initial consultation to the wedding day, she was attentive, supportive, and reachable. My wedding hair and makeup was everything I'd hoped it would be, and Stephanie and her assistant did an extraordinary job on the hair and makeup of my mom and my bridesmaids. I would recommend her services without a second thought! Thank you Stephanie for helping me feel absolutely gorgeous on my most special day!

    The Makeup Culture 8
    The Makeup Culture 9
    The Makeup Culture 10
    Sent on 11/22/2017
  • Julia

    Julia · Married on 05/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can I say about Stephanie except, quite simply, she is the best. Stephanie provided career makeup and hair services (and photography) for me in the past and she was the first call I made before choosing a wedding date because I wanted to ensure her availability. She worked with me on my trial hair and makeup and was so helpful since I was in the process of growing out a pixie during the 9 months prior to the wedding. Stephanie worked with me to create a great look for my rehearsal dinner and then she and her team took care of my entire bridal party (6 of us) on my wedding day. I received so many compliments and the look was exactly what I wanted: special, classic, and beautiful. I cannot say enough how much stress it relieved to know I was in Stephanie's capable hands for my wedding. Everything was absolutely perfect. Stephanie is a joy to be around. She is prompt, professional, creative, and her results are magnificent.

    Sent on 05/21/2017
  • L

    Liz · Married on 04/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't be happier with the job Stephanie and her team did at my daughter's wedding! We had hair and makeup done for a total of seven ladies, each of whom had their own vision of how they wanted to look. Everyone was THRILLED with the results, and the team's professionalism was beyond compare. I would recommend The Makeup Culture in a heartbeat to anyone!!

    Sent on 04/18/2017
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 02/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the moment I met Stephanie two and a half years ago, I knew that I'd want her to do my hair and makeup if my big day ever came. As soon as my fiancé and I were engaged and knew the date, I contacted her to schedule. Throughout it all, she was friendly, responsive, and always professional. She has great attention to detail and a true knack for making people look like the very best version of themselves. Stephanie did my hair and makeup for my engagement pictures, bridal portraits, AND for my wedding day. I was amazed at the consistency between my portrait and wedding day looks, and appreciative of her willingness to provide (and accept) feedback about how to make me even more beautiful.

    If you want to look like a literal angel from the heavens on your wedding day, please hire her!

    Also, I slept in my makeup and woke up the next day still looking like a goddess. Worth every penny.

    Sent on 02/27/2017
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 11/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephanie is an absolute goddess and creative genius! Not only is she an amazingly sweet and wonderful person, her work is always on point. Never have I felt as beautiful as when she worked her hair & makeup magic. She is highly professional, sanitary, and incredibly knowledgeable about her craft, making her a true treasure!

    Sent on 12/04/2016
  • P

    Morgan · Married on 11/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot tell you how happy I am that I chose Stephanie for my engagement, bridal and wedding day makeup! I typically do not wear a lot of makeup and she helped me figure out my style and made my makeup look natural and flawless. She also did my mom's makeup for the wedding and she look absolutely stunning! Thank you Stephanie for putting up with our shenanigans on the wedding day and for making me look and feel like a model- you're the best!!

    -Morgan

    Sent on 12/02/2016
  • N

    Natasha · Married on 05/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't wear makeup at all, so when my wedding planner scheduled an appointment with Stephanie I was a little skeptical of how the trial run would go. However, Stephanie was perfect for me! She obviously knows her stuff and can deliver the dream vision. I think the moment that I knew Stephanie was the right stylist was when we were working on my eyes. After doing one eye, she asked my opinion on it. Keep in mind, I wear no makeup -- I don't even own lipstick -- so I was nervous that the makeup would be too much and that I would not look like myself. However, when I looked in the mirror, I at first couldn't tell which eye she had done! This proved to me that she knew what I was looking for -- a best version of me, not a completely different face. Stephanie met me at my wedding location and even fixed flowers in my hair. She listened when I had a comment, and she is so personable. I felt great on my wedding day, and the pictures turned out terrific. I still looked like myself, too! I would recommend Stephanie to anyone looking for a stylist, as she can work with makeup novices like myself or people who really know their stuff.

    Sent on 06/11/2016
  • M

    Melanie · Married on 04/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephanie did hair and make-up for the key ladies in our wedding, and myself on our wedding day. Stephanie was recommended to me by our wedding planner and from the get go she was very easy to work with. She was patient in getting our final numbers for services, and was super accomodating in setting up my hair and make-up trial the day after Christmas since we planned our wedding long distance. Stephanie is super sweet and made me feel very comfortable right away, which was important when said person is inches away from your face right after meeting them!

    Her work is amazing! She made me and my mom, my husband's mom, sister, and niece all look incredible for our wedding. She was really receptive to everyone's requests when it came to personal preferences for hair and make-up, and everyone felt and looked beautiful. My hair and make up stayed put all day and night even after dinner, and ( a lot of) dancing!

    Sent on 05/09/2016
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 03/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words cannot explain how awesome Stephanie of the The Makeup Culture is! She was able to manage hair and makeup for me (the bride), two bridesmaids, the mothers and the flower girl without assistance. She gave each person their own style taking into account my preferences for the bridal party as well as the ideas and preferences of each person. She arrived promptly, worked hard for many hours, and kept a great cadence and planning for the day. However, it was her calm, fun personality that really sets her apart from other artists. Not only were all of the hair and makeup designs flawless, but she was a joy to have part of the wedding day as we prepared for the big event. She is an all around Ace, amazingly talented, professional, personable topped off with an awesome spirit.

    Sent on 04/12/2016
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 10/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about Stephanie and her incredible talent. She did my hair and make-up for my wedding as well as a range of services for the bridal party. I sent some images for inspiration to her before, and she really took thoughts and ran with it - both in the run-through and the day of. It was going to be a long day, and my hair and make-up held strong throughout. My mom got her make-up done. She didn't doesn't wear make-up and was excited, but a bit nervous. Stephanie make her feel at ease, listened to all her worries, and my mother was so happy with the result.

    Sent on 10/16/2015
  • Z

    Zack · Married on 06/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'll quote my wife's words below, as she can provide the best review for Stephanie and her services, though I will add that my wife was the absolute vision of beauty, elegance, and loveliness, and Stephanie's makeup and hair work were a big part of that. The bridesmaids' hair and makeup were also incredible, and I am so grateful that she was there to help the girls feel great about our special day. But more important, from my wife:

    "From our very first meeting, me and Stephanie clicked instantly! I was so happy to meet another makeup junkie, and she is just the sweetest person ever! She was so easy to talk to, and didn't make me feel too scared to ask for her to change or fix anything to fit my personal makeup style better. All of my bridesmaids absolutely loved her and how comfortable and relaxed she made us all feel on my wedding day! All of us loved how our hair and makeup turned out, and our family and friends couldn't stop complimenting us all night long! If you want to feel absolutely glowing and beautiful for your special day, I totally recommend Stephanie and The Makeup Culture!!!"

    Sent on 06/09/2015
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephanie is amazing! She did my bridal make up, as well as that of several of my bridesmaids, my mother AND grandmother. She was able to make us all look stunning and glowing. We all felt that she really listened to us and played up our best features. You cannot go wrong with hiring Stephanie to meet your beauty needs!

    Sent on 10/28/2014
  • User4448401 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephanie is an incredibly talented makeup artist and hair designer. She took the time to get know me (as a bride and as an individual), listened to my concerns regarding using different types of makeup outside of normal routine, and helped to design a one-of-a-kind hair-style. The results were stunning - I've never looked more beautiful, thanks to Stephanie. I've already referred her (upon request of my friends/colleagues) to several friends and colleagues who witnessed her magic first-hand. She's amazing.

    Sent on 10/04/2014
  • Becca

    Becca · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephanie was absolutely fantastic. I had a bit of a mixup with my original hairstylist about a month before my wedding and when asked Stephanie was totally game to handle two of my bridesmaid's hair. Plus she made us all look so beautiful! She is affordable, easy to work with and does wonderful work. I can't say enough nice things!!

    Sent on 07/20/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review