The Madison Concourse Hotel & Governor's Club Reviews

40 | Madison, WI
See photos, pricing and details

40 Reviews for The Madison Concourse Hotel & Governor's Club

Recommended by 95% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

40

1 User photo

Order by:
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Madison Concourse was absolutely fantastic!

    Our experience with learning about their space, catering, bar options, etc. was a snap! They made it incredibly easy to get ALL the information we needed and in a timely manner! Once we had signed on the dotted line to reserve the space for our wedding, they dealt with us in such a perfectly professional manner even when we asked for about 20 modifications to the event order! They helped with planning the timing of things and took several tasks off my plate, which goes a LONG ways with any couple working through planning a wedding!
    The day-of, all of the event staff was extremely friendly and made the day/night go off without a single hitch in the agenda! It was such a relief to know that we were in such great hands with the Madison Concourse! The bartender working our event was AMAZING! He knew what my husband and I were drinking and had the beverage started as soon as either of us started walking towards him!

    The food was .... delectable! We knew we were taking a chance with several of the items that we weren't able to sample in advance, however everything came out perfect! Our guests kept telling us how fantastic the food was and how great they thought the wedding space was! All thanks to The Madison Concourse and your fabulous staff!

    Sent on 09/27/2019
  • Alyssa

    Alyssa · Married on 08/24/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome Venue

    I had my wedding at the Concourse at the end of August, and it was fabulous. Chastity is awesome at answering any questions, and helping you plan our the space. Staff was beyond helpful the day of the wedding. Many guests complimented us on the food, which was plated. We also dropped our decorations off on Friday night before the wedding, and Chastity and the team set it all up for us- it looked better than we could have imaged. I can not recommend the Concourse enough for an ideal Madison based wedding. All of our guests loved the venue, and loved being so close to the capitol. Especially for out of town guests, the location can't be beat!

    Sent on 09/05/2019
  • C

    Cait · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our rehearsal dinner here, and it was a very good experience. Chastity was great to work with, our buffet dinner was really tasty (multiple guests complimented the food), and everyone had a good time. Chastity was also very accommodating of guests with specific dietary needs and my last-minute requests!

    Sent on 06/09/2018
  • M

    Mary · Married on 05/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier with our wedding experience at The Madison Concourse Hotel. Everyone we worked with throughout the planning process (namely, Chastity, the wedding coordinator) was friendly, professional, accommodating, and creative. Even though our wedding was large (300+) the hotel & crew made the planning process incredibly easy and the reception feel intimate & special. Weeks later we continue to get compliments from guests on the delicious food. We are a same-sex couple and felt comfortable, supported, and validated by the hotel and staff. Thanks!! -Mary and Tanya

    Sent on 05/23/2018
  • K

    Kerry · Married on 01/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding here last weekend! It was more amazing and magical that I could have ever dreamed of! The Concourse met our needs in every way! They went out of our way and were so polite! Chastity is great to work with! Definitely had our best interests in mind! We loved this venue!!!

    Sent on 01/17/2018
  • B

    Brenda · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Chastity was an absolute joy. She was so helpful throughout the whole process and was there to meet and answer any questions we had. The salon and service at the reception was amazing, we could not have asked for a better reception place if we could. I loved everything about it!

    Sent on 10/30/2017
  • J

    Jan · Married on 02/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would Highly recommend the Concourse Hotel as a place to stay as well as booking for a wedding reception and next morning breakfast buffet. Chastity (our lifeline)was terrific at easing the challenge of planning a wedding from a different city. Her thoroughness was exemplary at suggesting vendors, attention to the details that enhance the celebration and that we had everything covered prior and day of wedding. All our guests had only rave compliments. EVERYone from bellhops to managers were so pleasant and attentive to all our comforts. Food & service terrific at the reception and breakfast. Location was great for out of town guests to see Madison. Chastity and Shawn gave us totally great memories!!! Jan H

    Sent on 03/26/2017
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience with the Concourse was nothing short of great! The only gripe I would have is that our coordinator changed three times in the course of planning, but the changes were so impeccably handled that it was only a minor inconvenience. We booked with one coordinator, after she left we were put with another coordinator who then went on maternity leave shortly before our wedding day so we were placed with a third coordinator. Each time there was a change we were informed with ample warning and were introduced promptly and courteously.

    We ended up working with Julie the month (or so) leading up to our big day and she was fantastic! Every question we had was answered quickly and the few requests we had were accommodated professionally and promptly. I had a cold the day of my wedding and they brought me tea and a box of tissues without even asking-I was so thankful for that! The entire staff was friendly and courteous and seemed genuinely interested in making sure the day went off without a hitch. Great people and great service, would plan a party with them again any time!

    Sent on 10/16/2015
  • M

    Maria · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a great experience with the concourse! They took care of everything seemlessly. At the end of the night our room was clean and decorated with some items from our wedding. We also had a plate of cake and some wine. Amazing night!

    Sent on 09/19/2015
  • K

    Kate · Married on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our reception and block of hotel rooms at the Concourse and they were a DREAM to work with. From the very first tour we took of the hotel when we were deciding on venues, The Concourse was far and away the most helpful, informative, and accommodating venue that we saw. We had estimated that we would have around 250 guests with many of them travelling out of town, so having the reception at a hotel where our guests could stay made the most sense to us. Once we signed the contract and booked the date, we were assigned to a Sales/Catering Manager who was our coordinator. Unfortunately, our original coordinator (who we loved!) left for another position about 6 months before our wedding, but our new coordinator, Julianne, was quick to jump in and was flawless in her help! The communication back and forth regarding all of the minute details was exceptional and I felt completely at ease going into the wedding day, knowing our day was in great hands. The wedding day itself was wonderful (of course!) but Julianne and The Concourse staff made sure everything was as we asked. Our guests loved the room (Madison/Wisconsin ballroom) and had rave reviews about the hotel! Excellent venue and hotel!

    Sent on 08/31/2015
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 08/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I could not have asked for a better wedding! The Concourse was beyond what we imagined and the professionalism and care they showed was incredible. We worked with Jackie for a short time before she went on maternity leave and she was wonderful. We were informed well in advance of her leave and assigned to Mary to work with us for the remainder. We were sad to not be working with Jackie but quickly realized that Mary was amazing as well! We are so happy that we chose The Concourse for not just our reception, but our ceremony and rehearsal dinner as well. Everything was beyond expectation and there was never a moment of worry with anything. Any questions we had were answered quickly either by phone or email and any request we had was happily done. The hotel itself was also very accommodating and our guests were very pleased. The food for both the rehearsal and reception was delicious and we received so many compliments from our friends and family all night. Mary was also there to work with us the entire weekend of our wedding and somehow seemed to be in five places at once all night. She made my husband and I feel so comfortable and relaxed and I think that's what every couple wants! Simply wonderful!

    Sent on 09/25/2014
  • User2632563 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding service. Not a single complaint. The coordinator assigned to us (Shana) was wonderful....always organized, willing to help, very professional. The reception was top notch.

    Sent on 09/14/2013
  • E

    Emily · Married on 01/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our recent wedding reception at the Concourse Hotel, and our experience was wonderful! They assign you a wedding coordinator, who works with you to plan your event - we worked with Sarah who was fantastic! She responded to all my emails (there were a lot) often within an hour or two, and never more than a day later. She helped me plan a few things, and came up with some ideas that I hadn't even thought of. They day of I almost felt like I had an extra attendant when she was around - she paid attention to so many details, and took care of so many little items, that it never even occurred to me to worry about whether or not they were being done.

    The hotel also took care of practically everything - they set up all our pre-assembled decorations, set-up, helped move the gifts... you definitely get the services you pay for at the Concourse. The reception room looked even better than I had hoped it would. We had a hot chocolate bar (winter wedding), which they completely decorated and looked great. They worked really well with our vendors and helped make sure everything was taken care of that day. Our food was REALLY good, and we have now had multiple people comment afterwards to us how much they liked the food.

    Overall, our experience was wonderful, and my husband and I are SO happy we chose to go with the Concourse HOtel for our wedding reception. I would recommend them to anyone looking for a classy, elegant, and service-oriented reception locale.

    Sent on 01/31/2013
  • L

    Lynn · Married on 10/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Madison Concourse Hotel was amazing for our wedding. They were professional, responsive and provided great service! Our reception was beautiful, elegant and everything we hoped for. My husband and I highly recommend the Concourse Hotel for your event.

    Sent on 10/21/2012
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Concourse Hotel was amazing. They were fair and up-front about their services and pricing. They included many services in their base prices that other vendors charge extra for. Everyone there was extremely helpful, both before, and during the event. Our coordinator, Jenni Thompson, was especially wonderful. She helped us with everything we needed. She met with us several times to answer all our questions and go over exactly how we wanted the event run. She and the rest of the staff at the Concourse pulled off our event flawlessly and exactly how we wanted. More than that, after our meetings, I had every confidence in Jenni and the rest of the Concourse that everything would work out and it really had a big impact on how much I was able to enjoy my wedding day, knowing that I didn't have to worry at all about anything at the receptio. I will recommend them to all engaged couples in and around the Madison area. Thanks so much!

    Sent on 07/22/2012
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 11/13/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was so well organized and ran SO smoothly! I didn't have to worry about a thing, and htey were very flexible during the reception! They had a lot of times to meet and set things up before hand, and the woman I worked with had a lot of great ideas and suggestions that made the whole thing really easy! Would do it over again! They gave me the perfect wedding reception!

    Sent on 05/31/2012
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/18/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We honestly had a great experience with the Concourse. We planned our wedding rather quickly so ended up going with a Friday night. We chose the Concourse because they offered a 10 percent discount for Friday night weddings. They bent over backwards to make our wedding wonderful, our wedding coordinator Jodie was fabulous. As the bride, I never had to worry about a thing! Her and my wedding coordinator Bill (The Wedding Guy) made sure that everything went perfectly. From being greeted at the reception in our own private room with champagne so I could bustle my dress, to waiters all serving the wedding party at once (very theatrical!) the whole reception was perfect. And we are still getting compliments on the food. When we went in to do our tasting, the chef actually ended up customizing a salad for us to go along with our three entree choices. We also had an appetizer buffet during cocktail hour that people just raved about. Plus the proximity to the Capital and downtown church where we were married couldn't be beat. Overall, awesome site.

    Sent on 08/31/2010
  • A

    Andrew · Married on 07/04/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Food was absolutely amazing, best steak I have ever had. Beautiful stairwell in the hotel for pictures. Governors suite was gorgeous.

    Sent on 07/15/2014
  • M

    Marie · Married on 05/16/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was held in May of 2015 and it was amazing. Overall, I can't imagine we could have found a more perfect location and group to have our reception. Nothing ever goes perfectly when planning such a large event but in all honesty, this was as close to perfect as you could get.

    Our food was delicious- even my most picky eater cleaned her plate! The event staff decorated the space just as we envisioned it and the bartenders were fantastic and friendly. We received so many compliments on how beautiful everything was!

    I think one of the best parts for me was that once I provided Sarah with the information for the cake, DJ, etc., I didn't have to think about any of those things again. She was also really helpful with our final counts, explaining how the evening would go, and even caught that our room reservation for the night was wrong and fixed it for us- without us even knowing!

    Weddings are expensive but this was the most reasonable space we looked at in Madison, and I truly feel it was a great value! Yes, some things are pricey- but that's the nature of the event. We never once felt that we were being overcharged for anything, so that made it a lot easier to handle.

    When we arrived to the reception, Sarah let my husband and I see the reception space before anyone else was in it- it was something we both really appreciated. It was kind of magical to see our ideas become real in that space and have a few moments to enjoy it before everyone filled it.

    Overall it was a great night and everyone at the Concourse really made it amazing!

    Sent on 06/04/2015

    The Madison Concourse Hotel & Governor's Club's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words! We take a lot of pride in knowing that we can help create your dream wedding and relieve any stress that may come along with it.
  • User5192267 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our daughter's wedding here in May. The staff were very helpful and the service and food were all we had expected. We attended a tasting in January and picked our food selections and the quality was the same on day of the wedding. The set up was beautiful and our guests had a wonderful time.
    Working with the staff was very easy and they were well prepared and helpful to us.

    Sent on 06/20/2015

    The Madison Concourse Hotel & Governor's Club's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience! We know how stressful planning a wedding can be and we are pleased that we were able to contribute to your daughter's special day!
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 01/18/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Madison Concourse Hotel & Governor's Club was the perfect venue for our reception. Shana, our first coordinator, and Sarah, our second coordinator, were helpful, responsive, and made the day go so smoothly. We had a Wisconsin-themed wedding, which might have confused or daunted some coordinators; Shana and Sarah made it happen, including a huge tub of ice for our Hook's Cheese favors. The room looked beautiful, and we even had a private conference room (with a private bathroom) for the wedding party to stash their stuff and for me to wrangle my dress for bathroom things. It was perfect. The only issue we had was with our gifts; they were supposed to have been brought up to our guest room at the end of the night, but we ended up having to do it ourselves.
    The shuttle was great, too. We used it to get from the Concourse to the University Club, where we had our ceremony, and back to the reception. It meant that the bridal party and out of town guests didn't have to figure out cars or cabs, and could enjoy their champagne toast.

    I would recommend the Concourse to any bride who wants an elegant downtown Madison wedding. Our guests really appreciated being able to just run upstairs at the end of the night, and we loved having breakfast in the Dayton St. Grille on Sunday morning.

    Sent on 01/22/2014
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 10/13/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great wedding consultants, excellent food, and beautiful rooms. Our consultant was amazing having her there to make sure the reception was set up was priceless and allowed me to worry about one less thing on my wedding day.

    Sent on 11/14/2013
  • User2636840 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Concourse hotel was so great to work with for our wedding! They were prompt, professional and easy to work with! I could enjoy our wedding day without any worries about the venue set up or food. I would highly recommend The Concourse!

    Sent on 09/04/2012
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 01/14/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue was amazing. They were very professional, helpful, and understanding. The food was incredible considering our wedding was for 200 people. We received excellent advice in the time leading up to the wedding as well as great direction the day of without the staff being overbearing. The service at dinner was impeccable and the bartenders and wait staff were friendly and quick. The only issue we had was that the parking garage was closed for renovations and we were only told the week before. But they offered a quick solution to the problem.

    Sent on 02/09/2017
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 11/05/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved working with the concourse. We particularly worked with chastity who was actually the second coordinator we worked with. I was pretty nervous about this change, but she was great and I didn't even notice the change (it was that seamless). She was super responsive to all of my emails (there were a ton and on some days she got emails from myself and my husband). She was also very accommodating to all of my requests- even day of the wedding when i wanted the aisle changed a little. The food was also excellent- we served the flat iron steak and chicken which were cooked perfectly (which isn't always the case with 'wedding meals'). We also did our rehearsal dinner with the hotel. Which again, had excellent food and services. Overall, I found all of their staff wonderful and helpful!

    Sent on 11/08/2016