The Hotel Chicago Reviews

5 | Chicago, IL
See photos, pricing and details

5 Reviews for The Hotel Chicago

Recommended by 75% of couples

3.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 3.5
  • Professionalism 3.6
  • Flexibility 4.0
  • Value 3.7
  • Average response time 4.0

Awards

5
Order by:
  • S

    Scott Robb · Married on 07/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream Weddding

    Fantastic experience! The hotel is the best! From the food, staff, venue, and more. They are always on top of their game making each magical moment happen. I cannot thank them enough for making the I Do moment special.

    Sent on 12/06/2018

    The Hotel Chicago's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to review your wedding experience with us! It was a pleasure hosting your friends and family, and we thank you for allowing us to be a part of your special day! Best Wishes from the entire Hotel Chicago team!
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our ceremony, reception, guests stay and brunch the morning after wedding all at the
    Hotel SAX and we couldn't be more happy that we did! From the rooms being amazing and clean to the incredibly nice and accommodating staff the met every expectation! Our wedding planning process was so easy thanks to the event coordinator Roz Molica who helped us every step of the way! Our stay wedding, food and brunch was awesome! And so many guests have not stopped telling us how great everything was! I would definitely recommend using the hotel SAX for at least part of your wedding accommodations! I can't wait to go back, on our anniversary!

    Sent on 10/08/2013
  • H

    Natalya · Married on 09/10/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You will not come by a higher level of service than Hotel Sax Chicago. I was completely blown away at my wedding. Everyone from the banquet staff, event coordinators, valets, front desk, concierge, bell men, etc were just so accomodating, friendly, and nice. The food and beverage service was impeccable - I have never seen a larger lobster tail in my life. Delicious! Tha banquet and event staff accomodated my every need with no problems or questions. They also worked extremely well with my wedding planner and her team. Nothing went wrong or was out of place throughout the night. Lastly, the event space itself is incredible. We took a ton of our photos in the Crimson Lounge downstairs and it makes for the most gorgeoous backdrop. I highly recommend having your wedding at Hotel Sax Chicago!

    Sent on 09/26/2011
  • Jillian

    Jillian · Married on 08/27/2011

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    We had a very easy time planning our wedding at the hotel with our wedding coordinator. The day of the wedding, the coordinator was no where to be found and my aunt had to guide guests into the ceremony area and let the musicians know where to set-up. The coordinator showed up after my aunt had already directed everyone. The food was horrid! Cold, undercooked/overcooked, and our veal was all fat. Completely embarassing to us as a couple and my husband actually had to get up during dinner and leave the reception to cool off for a minute. The salad was disgusting and the food was not what we had tasted at our tasting previously. Very disappointed.

    We met with the GM the following Monday and after going back and forth on reimbursements, they decided to give us a decent amount back for the food and the fact that the parking vouchers were not being accepted by the outsourced valet company for our guests. It was a mess and if it wasn't for our DJ the night would have been a wreck... I feel like singing, "Last night a DJ saved my life..." ha

    Sent on 09/09/2011
  • S

    Stacey · Married on 09/27/2014

    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    Stay Away! We paid over $40,000.00 for our reception. Our day was nothing like we expected. The carpeting was soiled. The food we sampled at the tasting and approved, on the date of the reception wasn't prepared in accordance with what we approved. We were told that parking would be $20.00 but some guests were charged up to $65.00. Cards and monies were stolen from the wishing well which was under the control of the catering manager/coordinator and hotel staff. My father ate the sea bass and had to be hospitalized. We made a police report which did not show up on the 18th District website. We requested from Mr. Deinhart, the hotel general manager, that he review the surveillance tape and get back to us - to date he has not done so. My husband and I requested a partial refund for 232 plates at $75.00 a piece for meals that weren't prepared as approved by us, as well as monies stolen from the wishing well, for a total of $25,400.00. Mr. Deinhart felt this to be unacceptable and his remedy for our horrible experience was to offer a monetary reimbursement of $2,500.00 accompanied with a general release of liability from the hotel, which is a slap in the face considering the level of negligence and dissatisfaction with this venue.

    Sent on 02/16/2015