The Hills Hotel Reviews

28 | Laguna Hills, CA
See photos, pricing and details

28 Reviews for The Hills Hotel

Recommended by 90% of couples

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.6

Awards

28
Sort by:
  • M

    Mae-Elaine · Married on 02/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are trying to find a place with beautiful decor and a reasonable price, you have to at least visit The Hills Hotel! It is a hidden gem in Orange County!! We immediately fell in love with the place when we walked in. The decor is so modern and beautiful that we were in awe and immediately thought of how beautiful our wedding pictures would be! On top of that, the venue rates are very reasonable for something that looks so upscale! Gorgeous chandeliers in the Crystal Ballroom, beautiful and ornate decoration in the Garnet Gallery, etc. Plus, the room block rates for your guests are incredibly reasonable! AND THE FOOD WAS AMAZING! I've had many people tell me that it was the best wedding food that they've had. Laura Gutierrez is the catering manager and she's a pleasure to work with. She was very quick to respond to my emails. Tessa Fattahi is the sales manager for the room block and I got the same treatment from her - very quick to respond to my emails and to send me updated lists of those who signed up for our room block.

    Our wedding was everything we could imagined from this hidden gem and I recommend anyone to check it out and see if it's the right place for them!

    Sent on 04/02/2017

    The Hills Hotel's reply:

    Thank you so much Mae-Elaine for taking the time to write a review of our services and venue.

    It was our pleasure to serving and Jason you!
  • P

    Paulette · Married on 12/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Hills Hotel is so perfect. The venue was everything I wanted. the style is a boutique hotel that looked elegant. The hotel staff was amazing and help throughout the whole process. The food was amazing, the service was amazing, they accommodated my guests who stayed at the hotel, I mean I can't say anything went wrong during my big day. I would definitely recommend this hotel for any event.

    Sent on 01/09/2017
  • A

    April · Married on 11/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I recently had my wedding at The Hills Hotel. The venue is elegant and affordable. I held my ceremony and reception in The Crystal Ballroom. Surprisingly, they were able to flip to the reception during cocktail hour in under an hour! Guests at my wedding had a great time and also enjoyed the food! The coordinator at the venue, Laura, was also helpful and patient during the planning process.

    Sent on 12/15/2016
  • M

    Maritza · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't stop looking back at our personal videos. This venue surpasses any other venue we've been to for other weddings. You get so much for your money. A large beautiful top level patio, entire 2nd floor bar and lounge area, the ballroom is beautiful decorated with beautiful wall paper and the most amazing chandeliers. The professionalism from the entire team from The Hills Hotel made our day that much more amazing.

    Sent on 10/06/2016
  • H

    Heather · Married on 08/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Hills Hotel is a great boutique hotel with an exceptional reception crystal ballroom and a unique and one of a kind ceremony venue! My new husband and myself were counting down the months to this wedding....and it literally came out to be the wedding of our dreams! I can't explain to you how much everyone was so helpful through out the entire process from our first time we checked out the venue all the way up till the day after our wedding! The owner is a very nice man and we are so pleased to have met him and he complimented us on our wedding as one of the best he has seen and it meant a lot to us but it wouldn't have been possible with out The Hills Hotel! Both Robin and Sara the managers and coordinators were great to work with through out the entire process and day of! We received so many compliments about the venue, food, bar and hotel itself from "wow this looks like David Tutera", "You guys had a Kim Kardashian Wedding" and "That was the best wedding we have been too".......all of that means more than anyone can know to us. But most of all it was because this hotel provided us the grounds to make everyone say those compliments. THANK YOU TO THE ENTIRE STAFF AND OWNERS AT THE HILLS HOTEL for making our wedding so memorable and the wedding of our dreams! It was to die for, thank you from the bottom of our hearts! Cheers! ****HIGHLY RECOMMENDED****

    Sent on 09/11/2014
  • S

    Susan · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a beautiful place The Hills Hotel is! Our wedding turned out fantastic and we were so happy. We got married downstairs in the Garnet Room, had cocktail hour upstairs, then moved into the Crystal Ballroom for the banquet and dancing. Everything was superior! We would like to note that we originally were to marry on Feb 9, 2014 but do to a tragedy in the family, needed to postpone to May 17, 2014. The Hills staff graciously moved the date and kept the rates exactly the same as they were for the Feb date. We are so grateful. We would do the wedding there again in a minute and highly recommend them to anyone planning a wedding. Thank you so much!!

    Sent on 07/20/2014
  • K

    Kencarol · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I fell in love with the Hills Hotel the first time we started looking for venues and I knew that I had to have our wedding there. The staff is great and Robin Mofid (event manager) was fantastic!!! Although she was not the original person we signed the contract with she was very helpful and exceptional and helped us with reviewing every detail. She made the wedding process very easy and the day of went very smooth.

    Sent on 10/23/2013
  • A

    Aviant · Married on 09/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Maria Miller and her team, at the Hills Hotel were absolutely great!! They went above and beyond meeting our wedding needs! Maria is so knowledgeable and very patient with all of the "surprises" that came along with our event. Her staff was very attentive and consistently made sure that my groom and I, as well as our guests were well taken care of! To add, The Hills Hotel is such a glamourous venue that has so many decorative details, that it truly helped to make our wedding beautiful!! My guests were amazed at the beauty of our ceremony and reception space! I would definitely recommend Maria Miller and her entire team for future business! They're great!!

    Sent on 09/22/2012
  • M

    Monique · Married on 08/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue made my wedding such a dream! It is so glamourous, sleek, and elegant. We were completely amazed with how beautiful our wedding was. Maria was great and a huge help every step of the way. It's a venue you'll definitely fall in love with.

    Sent on 08/28/2012
  • M

    Mayumi · Married on 05/07/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow, the Crystal Ballroom is a must see! They recently renovated the room and I must say, it is AMAZING! The hills hotel has excellent prices, excellent sevice, excellent looking event room/lounge/bar/balcony and excellent catering staff! Maria, Audrey & Minou provided us with extra special care! They re-showed the area's of our event several times, they went over each of the entree's, location of tables, timing and more down to the last detail. They worked with me any mind changing details and were pleasant to work with! I was complimented by each and every guest on how our wedding was the best and most beautiful they had ever experienced! My highest recommendations to all couples!

    Sent on 06/10/2011
  • K

    Anne · Married on 11/08/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The wedding coordinator, Leala, was wonderful. She was incredibly sweet and patient. Two months before our wedding, the place that we were having our reception closed so we scrambled around looking for a new location. She took all of my questions in stride - the first being "are you going to stay in business through the end of the year?" We had to laugh at that; for what we received at the Holiday Inn in our package was great for the money spent. We had our reception in the Crystal Ballroom which was beautiful and the tables outside the room were perfectly set up. I will recommend this location to anyone!

    Sent on 12/31/2008
  • A

    April · Married on 10/11/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was perfect. The food was delicious. Leala was great to work with.

    Sent on 01/09/2009
  • Michelle

    Michelle · Married on 08/18/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The catering manager was nothing less than awesome. I wish she would have coordinated my whole wedding. We changed from just beer & wine to a full bar at the absolute last minute (when my dad arrived and found out there was not a full bar) and she had the bars equipped and serving drinks in no time. All around service was exceptional and a phenomenal value for our money - especially in Laguna Hills! No other place came close. It's not on the beach, but our ceremony was on the beach in the evening, and once the sun goes down you can't see the ocean anyway, so why not go a little inland to get a great value at the Laguna Hills Holiday Inn?

    Sent on 07/18/2008
  • T

    Brian · Married on 07/27/2002

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an excellent reception here at a great price. They were very responsive and accomodating. We brought in our own DJ, the food was excellent, bar service fine. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Sent on 11/10/2008
  • User5362847 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Planning a big wedding on a small budget seemed a daunting task - until I found The Hills Hotel. Their packages were all-encompassing, their ballroom stunning, their catering staff so sweet and helpful, the hotel staff beyond professional, the reception staff so kind and caring. The Hills provided the perfect backdrop for a weekend I will NEVER forget. Laura was like a mom, guiding me through the planning process, providing her expert advise, and never telling me NO when she knew I really wanted something accomplished. The quality of service we received far exceeded our expectations and the final event blew us away. I felt like I was at a $100,000 wedding, and we didn't come anywhere close to spending what most do for a wedding so gorgeous. My guests had the best time and raved about the amazing find I made in choosing The Hills to host our vow renewal. I will be forever grateful and highly recommend an event with The Hills Hotel!

    Sent on 01/04/2017
  • S

    Sandra · Married on 07/04/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place was amazing! I really didn't want my reception to be held at a hotel because of the hotel feel but this hotel venue is totally different.It is newly re-modelled. Very contemporary, spacious and glamorous! Our visitors can't stop talking about how glamorous and elegant the wedding venue was and how they all had a great time. A perfect place for a couple planning to get married. The hotel atmosphere will surely add extra memorable experience on your wedding. Highly recommended.


    Sent on 07/24/2014
  • L

    Long · Married on 11/12/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue came as a recommendation. When we saw the Crystal Ballroom, it was not yet finished and the whole floor it was on was undergoing a remodel. Maria, drew up a perfect vision of what the whole place was going to look like when it was done and it did not disappoint. The ballroom was perfect for the size of the wedding we had, about 150 guests. When we signed the venue, we got the whole entire floor. That allowed privacy as we were segregated from the rest of the hotel. Maria went all out to make our night perfect and the staff she had was great.

    I completely forgot to make a photo montage DVD for the wedding and I got a rough copy to them at 10am and by noon,it was edited and complete. With our theme being silver and purple, Maria got purple linen and napkins along with the perfect silver chairs that were a perfect pairing. The food was fantastic. We had the beef filet, the salmon, and by far the best meal was the vegetarian raviolis.

    Sent on 11/07/2012
  • M

    Tiffany · Married on 10/01/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The venue was great for our wedding of 230 guests. We worked w/ Maria and she was wonderful thru-out. The bar area and crystal ballroom is gorgeous, it's modern sophistication. my guests loved the venue. The food was served slower than i had expected but thats probably because it was a large wedding. overall, we had a great experience w/ the venue.

    Sent on 10/15/2011
  • Bianca

    Bianca · Married on 11/05/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the most amazing wedding at the Hills Hotel. Tiphanie our coordinator was a lifesaver. I asked a million questions and she was able to answer immediately to help put me at ease. I've only heard great things from my guests about the decor and how it matched perfectly with my theme. It's perfectly modern and elegant with a great pricetag that includes so much. Having an almost all-inclusive venue really took away stress and I was able to concentrate on the details on such a short timeline. The room block coordinator was equally helpful and assisted me all the way until the end accommodating my out of town guests. Thanks so much for making my day so special!

    Sent on 02/16/2017
  • K

    Kristine · Married on 05/15/2010

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Now known as The Hills Hotel (no longer affiliated with Holiday Inn). The ballroom is newly renovated and is so beautiful! The ballroom has LED lighting on the ceilings in addition to the six huge crystal chandeliers. The service is really attentive.
    The wedding package includes a cake from your choice of bakeries (including Heidleberg's). They will also set up your favors, centerpieces, etc. for you at no extra charge. I didn't need to hire a coordinator because the venue took care of everything.

    Sent on 06/02/2010
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 12/05/2015

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We found this venue after going to about 3-4 other venues. As soon as we scheduled a meeting with the Catering Sales Manager to the night of our wedding everything went smoothly. Laura was excellent in answering all of our questions and accommodating our needs. Not to mention the price was right and fit our budget. The only thing that made me knock off a star is that there was a minor miscommunication regarding the bar tab situation. We set a bar tab for well/premium drinks and thought that our guests would not be charged for anything at all. I later found out the day after our wedding that our guests were being charged for "certain cocktails." We didn't know this would happen. We thought that all charges would be taken out from the bar tab we set. This was never told to us when we discussed setting the bar tab but too late now what's done is done. Our bar tab that we set wasn't reached so we were able to get a small refund back without any complications. They also offer free overnight stay in one of their regular rooms for the bride and groom. We opted to upgrade and pay for one of their 2 suites available called the Diamond Suite. It was really pretty. They offer free champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in your room to enjoy after the wedding along with slices of your wedding cake. The only bad thing about their rooms are it is not sound proof. The door is lifted from the ground so you can hear everyone and everything outside the door and even see the light shining through under the door so don't expect to be able to sleep in. I did fall in love with their bar area upstairs which is right next to the Crystal Ballroom. Outside of the hotel you don't think much of it but inside is a surprise. Modern clean decor. Lastly, the food was delicious! Several guests complimented that the food was good and that they finished it without sharing with their significant other. Thank you Laura and staff for everything!

    Sent on 12/08/2015

    The Hills Hotel's reply:

    Hello Alyssa and Chris,
    Congratulations again on your wedding! I want to thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We are excited to know you had a great experienced with us. Also thank you for allowing me the opportunity to explain the hosted bar services. I am glad it was all cleared.
    We hope you keep us in mind in the near future for other special events!
  • J

    Jasmine · Married on 11/01/2013

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We chose this location for the Crystal Ballroom. It is gorgeous. The Hills Hotel is not a huge location, but it has a very modern and classy feel. There is nothing really scenic on the outside, but inside is beautiful.

    Sent on 11/30/2013
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 07/15/2011

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We had our wedding this July at the Hills Hotel. The Crystal Ballroom is absolutely beautiful. Guests really thought the venue was beautiful. The food was much better at the tasting. Maria and everyone there were extremely accommodating and flexible. I know the prices went up since we booked with them in January, but I think we got a pretty good deal. The one major complaint I have was about the staff. We had the room until midnight but for some reason the staff was standing around the reception at 11 getting ready to clean up. We shouldn't have had to deal with this. I think it was completely unacceptable. Other than that we were pretty satisfied with the venue. They are still in the process of renovating. We were a little worried that renovations would interfere with the wedding, but everything worked out fine. I'm sure everything will look beautiful when it's completed. I would check this place out!

    Sent on 08/03/2011
  • J

    Jeanette · Married on 05/24/2014

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The Hills Hotel is a very unique and beautiful venue. We loved it and were happy to have help our wedding there! Like most places, there are pros and cons to any venue. The Hills Hotel provided something unique and a great space. Beautiful cocktail area, gorgeous chandeliers, great food selection, cake included in the package, chiavari charis, and for the most part friendly staff. One thing to be caution of: ask a lot of questions and confirm # of items they are "including." We were told that the venue can accommodate 200 people and they provided the chairs, but then when we selected the chairs they offered, they only had 120 of them. So we had to go out and rent more chairs, which meant another expense, additional coordination and another vendor to add to our growing list. I was not happy about that. The appetizers for cocktail hour was VERY overpriced, but the dinner for the reception was priced decently and was actually quite good! I'd eat it again and would be happy to eat their food at any wedding. They included a "honeymoon" suite, which was spectacular. Their rooms are all very unique, boutique-style that make you feel you're on a cool getaway weekend. They also provided a room block for our quests and a discounted rate, which was appreciated by our guests. Overall we are very happy with our experience at The Hills Hotel.

    Sent on 09/10/2014
  • J

    Janice · Married on 09/15/2012

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We booked this hotel for our guest accommodations as well as for our Honeymoon Suite. The rooms were nice, the hotel decor was very nice and modern. The lobby bar was also fun to hang out in after the reception was over. The breakfast buffet was okay, a bit over priced for the options. Overall a nice choice for us.

    Sent on 10/02/2012