The Green Building Reviews

52 | Brooklyn, NY
See photos, pricing and details

52 Reviews for The Green Building

Recommended by 93% of couples

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.6

Awards

52

7 User photos

Order by:
  • J

    Julie Riederer · Married on 10/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful, Intimate, and Perfect for Our Wedding

    When my husband & I got engaged, we looked at one venue only: The Green Building. Based on personal testimonials from friends & The Knot, the venue team's initial communication and support, & our love of the space and its accompanying benefits (e.g., ability to bring in our own caterer, etc.), we knew it would be perfect for us. And it was. From prompt and clear responses from supportive team members, to accommodating both large and small details (e.g., multiple site visits, working with us on a specialty cocktail menu, trusted vendor recommendations), The Green Building delivered the wedding of our dreams. We couldn't have been happier with our decision to have our wedding there, and would highly recommend the venue and team to anyone.

    Sent on 01/03/2020
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 05/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible Venue!!!

    The space is absolutely beautiful, and their furniture is beautiful and well maintained. SO many compliments from our guests.

    Drink packages seemed a little pricey, but worth it. The bar tenders were professional and cocktails were amazing.

    Everything worked out perfectly, but we were a little disappointed that the event manager who was assigned to us the last few months / did our walk through wasn’t actually at our wedding.

    Sent on 09/21/2019
  • Catriona

    Catriona Love · Married on 12/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Industrial Chic Brooklyn Venue

    The Green Building was everything we wanted in a wedding venue. It is naturally beautiful but flexible enough to allow you to create the exact vision you are looking for. They use their own bar service but we were blown away by the quality of the cocktails being made as well as the professionalism of the bartenders. The outside space is an added bonus. Highly recommend.

    Sent on 01/30/2019
  • Lysee

    Lysee Webb · Married on 10/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Venue in Brooklyn

    Michael and I got married here on Oct 5 2018. We had our ceremony and reception at the space - the cocktail hour was in the garden. This venue is truly beautiful - you don't need to do much to dress it up. The team TGB was a pleasure to work with. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 10/18/2018
  • K

    Katie · Married on 03/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can’t say enough amazing things about The Green Building!! We had our wedding party there this past Friday and it was the most magical night. The space is very well kept, staff super friendly (Megan is awesome!) and the private lounge was one of the best features. I can’t even remember how many people came up to me and commented on how beautiful the space was. It was the perfect backdrop to our wedding and worth every penny!

    Sent on 04/06/2018
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 07/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue was absolutely perfect for our wedding! Staff was great, venue was well taken care of, and the service we received was top notch.

    Sent on 05/11/2016
  • D

    Denise · Married on 05/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our reception at the green building and it was fantastic! We immediately loved it and booked it ASAP. The lighting at TGB is amazing and the staff was super accommodating.

    Sent on 05/09/2017
  • Sam

    Sam · Married on 03/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As soon as we walked into The Green Building, we knew it was where we wanted to get married. We couldn't have imagined a more incredible space. It's natural beauty and it's ability to shift into whatever you can imagine was a huge selling point. Susan Liang was our main contact and she was a dream - kind, quick to respond and full of knowledge. She made us feel like there was absolutely nothing that we needed to worry about and she was right - any question I would begin to ask, she'd have an answer part way through. Our day (3/31/17) initially was supposed to be partially outside to make use of the courtyard but unfortunately the weather was not going to allow for our original plan. I never stressed, Susan knew what to do and the change was seamless. We couldn't have asked for a better venue, contact or wedding. It really was the most beautiful wedding we could have ever dreamed of.

    Sent on 04/19/2017
  • A

    Ayan · Married on 10/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose the Green Building because the space is simply beautiful and we are able to customize our wedding, from caterers to DJ. Megan Southerland from the Green Building was our venue coordinator and she was a tremendous help, providing great recommendations on vendors and solid advice. She was always quick to respond to questions on email even if we were a year out. On the day of our wedding, the staff was polite and gracious, always ready to lend a hand. The space looked stunning and I just wish I could think of another excuse to book the place!

    Sent on 10/11/2016
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding is in 3 months and the venue has been very helpful in the planning. beautiful space

    Sent on 04/08/2016
  • C

    Christine · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Green Building is a beautiful venue! Doesn't require much decoration as the brick and lighting is just perfect. Any time I had a question my email was answered in a super fast manner.

    Sent on 05/05/2016
  • G

    Galen · Married on 08/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Green Building was the perfect wedding spot for us, and everyone there was wonderful to work with. We worked specifically with Melanie, who was super organized and flexible with our last-minute planning. We also went through her to find other vendors, including our florist and day-of-coordinator, which ensured that everyone's personality and work style gelled. We had a mix of traditional and non-traditional in our reception, and Melanie was open to it all. We also had someone in a wheelchair (with some walking ability) and she had no trouble getting around. The space was perfect, easy to decorate (it doesn't take much) and our guests—and we—had an amazing time.

    Sent on 12/07/2015
  • T

    Trista · Married on 03/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our March 2015 wedding at The Green Building -- it was the first place we looked and fell in love with it immediately. We were looking for something with a little more personality than your typical venue, and choosing The Green Building was one of the best decisions I made. It is honestly stunning and wowed all of our guests. And it photographs so well -- the place literally takes my breath away every time I see it. Megan was super awesome to work and very helpful. Honestly, I couldn't be happier!

    Sent on 04/28/2015
  • FutureMrsGarguilo

    Shawna · Married on 07/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our July 20, 2014 wedding at The Green Building and it was absolutely perfect! Our original venue closed two weeks before our wedding day. It was disastrous and I was nervous we wouldn't be able to re-plan everything in time. The Green Building was so kind to offer discounted rates to those affected by the closing. I was blown away by the generosity. Not to mention, My husband and I fell IN LOVE with the venue as soon as we stepped in! Brooke was our contact person and she was so lovely, flexible, accommodating and understanding and truly made planning enjoyable. Nothing made me feel better than to hear guests gasped when the saw the courtyard and the indoor space. Our guests were grateful that we didn't have the typical ballroom/wedding hall wedding. We would definitely recommend The Green Building for a wedding or any other event!

    Sent on 08/07/2014
  • E

    Erica · Married on 08/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    For us, it was love at first sight with The Green Building. In fact, we looked at TGB, knew that we absolutely had to have it for our wedding, booked it, and THEN my husband proposed! Our wedding was in August and it was everything we were hoping for and more. The atmosphere was romantic, whimsical, and very "urban chic" (as we like to describe it). The space looked so beautiful that it makes me smile just thinking about it. TGB staff were efficient and professional and have this whole wedding thing down to a science. We worked primarily with Brooke and then after she went on maternity leave Kara. Both were extremely attentive, responsive, and knowledgeable. They were particularly helpful during our walk through. We went through everything with them and were able to get everything in order before our big day. We left feeling calm and on top of things! We also were pleasantly surprised by the recent renovations, including a brand new and big outside space and floor to ceiling windows that let in lots of gorgeous light. When we booked the space we had no idea that they would be adding these things, so it was an unexpected bonus for us! Price wise, TGB was very reasonable (for NYC venues!). When we first started looking for places to get married we googled "inexpensive wedding venues in Brooklyn," and that's how we found out about TGB. Although the cost can start to add up because it is DIY, it was still much cheaper than similar venues in Brooklyn. I can't imagine having had my wedding anywhere other than TGB. It is simply a breathtakingly beautiful space!

    Erica and Tim

    Sent on 10/17/2013
  • User3479678 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our ceremony at 501 Union and our reception at the Green Building across the street, both owned by the same amazing company. Both venues are gorgeous! The staff at both are sooo friendly and helpful throughout the whole process. They walked us through all the rentals, features of the space, decorating ideas, etc. many times over multiple visits. They were also extremely responsive to our many questions along the way! The staff the day of the event was attentive and friendly, from helping with set up, assisting the other arriving vendors to helping our guests get cars at the end of the night....they were just perfect!

    We got sooo many compliments on the beautiful spaces (and we're architects so that was important to us!) We couldn't imagine our wedding being anywhere else!

    Thanks again Green Building team!

    Laura and Kevin
    August 2013

    Sent on 08/20/2013
  • E

    Emily · Married on 08/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely fell in love with The Green Building when we first saw it. Quin was a pleasure to work with and helped us organize our perfect day!

    Sent on 10/30/2013
  • B

    Bill · Married on 03/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    this place is golden mine of style.
    if you have creative mind, this place will be a canvas of your most creative event of any kinds.
    staffs are very professional and helpful!

    Sent on 03/12/2013
  • User2733857 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our October 21st Wedding at The Green Building and we could not have been happier! Quin Johnson was beyond helpful in planning and a true pleasure to work with. She made everything so easy for us!
    The space is just gorgeous. We had our ceremony and reception inside. The ceremony could not have been more romantic. We used the front wall (the one with the kitchen entrance) and had a light wall hung. The lights combined with the rustic charm of the space was breathtaking. Our cocktail hour was in the outdoor space which looked fantastic with the lights strung along the top. The indoor space was just the perfect size for our reception of 135 seated. We did banquet style tables and still had plenty of room for a dance floor.
    I cannot even begin to count the number of compliments we received on how beautiful our venue was. It is truly a magical space.

    Sent on 11/12/2012
  • User2749039 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Green Building had just the atmosphere my husband and I wanted for our wedding and reception of 150 guests. It has an old-world industrial Brooklyn feel with exposed brick and wood beams. The columnless room allows for a flexible floor plan; the high ceiling makes the room voluminous. The details are simple and give a taste of an era gone by with elegant chandeliers and a small retro speakeasy lounge for a cozy private spot. I fell in love with the space.
    Ours was a summer afternoon wedding and the soft light that filtered through the high windows was a lovely touch. We chose a simple decor but the space could easily support more dressing up.
    Everyone at The Green Building was helpful, especially Brooke who was excellent at communicating and offering practical options to consider. We were in very good hands. It was a wonderful event- everyone loved The Green Building. I highly recommend this space for weddings or other events.

    Sent on 11/01/2012
  • Joe

    Joe · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married last weekend and we had our reception at the Green Building. Not only was the reception a fantastic affair but the Green Building was amazing. We wanted an urban chic wedding with a vintage flare. The Green Building staff helped us to make our vision come true and our friends and family were more than impressed with the space. I highly recommend the Green Building and Quin, Meghan and Brooke were more than helpful to answer questions, give recommendations and provide solutions to any challenges. If you are looking for a great space at a reasonable price consider this venue. We did and we couldn't be happier.

    Sent on 07/15/2012
  • D

    David · Married on 01/30/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough about the Green Building.

    The raw space is gorgeous.

    The staff is SO helpful. Especially our day-of-coordinator, Quin. SHE EARNED HER MONEY!! Our wedding was very much an event complete with staged dances and musical numbers. She coordinated all our vendors and had everyone on a timeline that Quin adjusted on the spot to accommodate the flow of the wedding. Everything went off with out a hitch. We could never have done it with out her.

    Sent on 01/18/2013
  • User2942483 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our wedding at the green building and it turned out fantastic. The main space is 2 stories and open to the rafters with exposed structural elements. I'm guessing it was built in the late 19th or early 20th century, so it has a nice industrial charm. There is also a small fully decorated lounge reminiscent of a speakeasy, which is great for pre-event preparations and photos.

    The booking manager and house manager were professional, accessible and easy to deal with, and made the business side of the transaction pain-free. Also you get the space for 24 hours which gives you ample time to set up the space to your liking and enjoy it to the fullest. Compared to other venues of a similar nature the green building was far and away the best value.

    This makes it ideal for someone who wants to be creative and design her own event. The house can provide bar packages or you can organize it yourself. The flexibility to manage your own event providers is a nice plus, but they do have preferred vendors who we used and we would also recommend to keep it simple.

    Sent on 01/04/2013
  • L

    Laura · Married on 07/02/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I just had my wedding at the Green Building. The venue was perfect. It was exactly what my husband and I wanted. The open, exposed brick indoor space is lovely and has a great old industrial character. We loved the fact that the venue also has an outdoor space which we used for the cocktail reception. Megan Southerland was our contact and she was an invaluable resource, providing many recommendations. It was great to be able to customize the space and work with the vendors we wanted, most of whom we found through the Green Building. It's location is also an easy walking distance from multiple hotels and lively neighborhoods in Brooklyn, so it was fun and convenient for our guests. The staff on the day of our wedding was fantastic. Everything exceeded my expectations and I can't recommend this venue enough.

    Sent on 07/12/2017
  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 12/15/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My now-husband and I found The Green Building 14 months before our wedding, and we completely fell in love with it! It's more hands-on, as a raw space, but stunningly beautiful and so easy to work with. They have a fantastic list of preferred vendors, and Susan, who we worked with, was a dream. They were also incredibly helpful with a last-minute conflict, and helped us extend the length of our reception by an hour. Highly, highly recommend!

    Sent on 01/11/2017