Skip to main content
Weddings

The Green Building Reviews

The Green Building View more information

62 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 94% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 62
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

22 User photos

  • Lizbeth
    Lizbeth Married on 08/20/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Brooklyn Venue!

    The Green Building was the perfect venue for our August 2022 wedding! We fell in love with the industrial look of the venue during our initial visit in January 2020 and were still so surprised at how stunning and magical the space looked on our wedding day. The courtyard was such a beautiful place to host our ceremony, cocktail hour, and late night ice cream truck. The lighting for the indoor reception space was a dream! We had several event managers throughout our pandemic postponement, but Abby Pansch was by far the very best. She was so kind, helpful, and prompt throughout our email exchanges. She was also so accommodating during our rehearsal. I am forever grateful! We also had a great experience with our day of venue coordinator and bartenders. The venue coordinator checked on my husband and I throughout the night to make sure we were comfortable and all of our guests raved about how great the bartenders were. We could not have chosen a better venue to host our NYC wedding!
  • Haley
    Haley L. Married on 04/15/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Two+ Years in the Planning and Worth It!

    We booked the Green Building in Fall 2019 for a Spring 2021 wedding, but had to push due to COVID. Even with the delays, everyone at the venue was so wonderful to work with and made the process truly seamless! It's such a gorgeous space, and the staff and their expertise helped us immensely over the planning process and on the day of. While the venue requires using their in-house bar services, we had no complaints as the drinks were delicious (and their moveable bar is one of the highlights of the space). If budget is a consideration for you (as it was for us), I'd suggest booking in the off-season and/or on an off-peak day, which made it much more financially attainable for us. Overall, highly recommend this venue!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Sarah
    Sarah V. Married on 10/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Unforgettable night in a green buiding.

    We just had our ceremony and reception in the Green Building space and have no regrets because the venue is so beautiful. The place truly decorates itself. The green building’s staff were so kind to our guests and our guests continued to compliment us for finding a beautiful and unique space. We had to move the ceremony due to inclement weather and it was a seamless transition.

    We had the pleasure of working with Bridget and then was gracefully handed off to Angelica after her departure. Angelica was wonderful to work with and filled in the gaps and answered questions we may have had. Our wedding coordinator and Angelica handled everything to make our day absolutely perfect.

    Choosing the Green Building was one of the best decisions we made!
  • E
    Emily Married on 09/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Brooklyn wedding venue!

    The Green Building was a beautiful venue for our wedding! We wanted a venue that had outdoor space, in Brooklyn, that was beautiful enough to allow us not to spend a ton on additional decor, and The Green Building was all of that and more! Our guests kept raving about how cool and beautiful the space was. The price for the venue and the bar (which has to be provided through The Green Building) was reasonable and average for NYC venues. Their staff was super flexible and easy to work with, and whenever I had a question they responded to my email within 24 hours. Would definitely recommend for Brooklyn brides!
  • J
    John T. Married on 07/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Building with Many Options

    The Green Building is the quintessential Brooklyn wedding. We could build any experience we wanted from the space utilizing the back patio, food trucks, catering, sound system, etc. We lightly decorated the space and the incredible natural look of the building speaks for itself. Angelica was a great communicator throughout. Exactly as we imagined for ourselves. Nearby streets offer great photo ops as well.
  • Kelli
    Kelli B. Married on 06/13/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Green Building Beauty

    The Green Building was kind, flexible, and responsive when it came to postponing and planning a wedding during the pandemic. It was clear they wanted the day to be perfect, but also took safety seriously. The wedding was better than I could've imagined. The entire night my guests were commenting on the beauty of the venue. The outdoor space is especially gorgeous and so lush. There wasn't one request that the Green Building didn't work to provide.
  • J
    Julie R. Married on 10/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful, Intimate, and Perfect for Our Wedding

    When my husband & I got engaged, we looked at one venue only: The Green Building. Based on personal testimonials from friends & The Knot, the venue team's initial communication and support, & our love of the space and its accompanying benefits (e.g., ability to bring in our own caterer, etc.), we knew it would be perfect for us. And it was. From prompt and clear responses from supportive team members, to accommodating both large and small details (e.g., multiple site visits, working with us on a specialty cocktail menu, trusted vendor recommendations), The Green Building delivered the wedding of our dreams. We couldn't have been happier with our decision to have our wedding there, and would highly recommend the venue and team to anyone.
  • K
    Katherine Married on 05/25/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible Venue!!!

    The space is absolutely beautiful, and their furniture is beautiful and well maintained. SO many compliments from our guests.

    Drink packages seemed a little pricey, but worth it. The bar tenders were professional and cocktails were amazing.

    Everything worked out perfectly, but we were a little disappointed that the event manager who was assigned to us the last few months / did our walk through wasn’t actually at our wedding.
  • Catriona
    Catriona L. Married on 12/15/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Industrial Chic Brooklyn Venue

    The Green Building was everything we wanted in a wedding venue. It is naturally beautiful but flexible enough to allow you to create the exact vision you are looking for. They use their own bar service but we were blown away by the quality of the cocktails being made as well as the professionalism of the bartenders. The outside space is an added bonus. Highly recommend.
  • Lysee
    Lysee W. Married on 10/05/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue in Brooklyn

    Michael and I got married here on Oct 5 2018. We had our ceremony and reception at the space - the cocktail hour was in the garden. This venue is truly beautiful - you don't need to do much to dress it up. The team TGB was a pleasure to work with. Highly recommend!
  • K
    Katie Married on 03/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can’t say enough amazing things about The Green Building!! We had our wedding party there this past Friday and it was the most magical night. The space is very well kept, staff super friendly (Megan is awesome!) and the private lounge was one of the best features. I can’t even remember how many people came up to me and commented on how beautiful the space was. It was the perfect backdrop to our wedding and worth every penny!
  • L
    Lisa Married on 07/02/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This venue was absolutely perfect for our wedding! Staff was great, venue was well taken care of, and the service we received was top notch.
  • D
    Denise Married on 05/05/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our reception at the green building and it was fantastic! We immediately loved it and booked it ASAP. The lighting at TGB is amazing and the staff was super accommodating.
  • Sam
    Sam Married on 03/31/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    As soon as we walked into The Green Building, we knew it was where we wanted to get married. We couldn't have imagined a more incredible space. It's natural beauty and it's ability to shift into whatever you can imagine was a huge selling point. Susan Liang was our main contact and she was a dream - kind, quick to respond and full of knowledge. She made us feel like there was absolutely nothing that we needed to worry about and she was right - any question I would begin to ask, she'd have an answer part way through. Our day (3/31/17) initially was supposed to be partially outside to make use of the courtyard but unfortunately the weather was not going to allow for our original plan. I never stressed, Susan knew what to do and the change was seamless. We couldn't have asked for a better venue, contact or wedding. It really was the most beautiful wedding we could have ever dreamed of.
  • A
    Ayan Married on 10/09/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We chose the Green Building because the space is simply beautiful and we are able to customize our wedding, from caterers to DJ. Megan Southerland from the Green Building was our venue coordinator and she was a tremendous help, providing great recommendations on vendors and solid advice. She was always quick to respond to questions on email even if we were a year out. On the day of our wedding, the staff was polite and gracious, always ready to lend a hand. The space looked stunning and I just wish I could think of another excuse to book the place!
  • N
    Natalie Married on 07/09/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wedding is in 3 months and the venue has been very helpful in the planning. beautiful space
  • C
    Christine Married on 04/09/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Green Building is a beautiful venue! Doesn't require much decoration as the brick and lighting is just perfect. Any time I had a question my email was answered in a super fast manner.
  • G
    Galen Married on 08/16/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Green Building was the perfect wedding spot for us, and everyone there was wonderful to work with. We worked specifically with Melanie, who was super organized and flexible with our last-minute planning. We also went through her to find other vendors, including our florist and day-of-coordinator, which ensured that everyone's personality and work style gelled. We had a mix of traditional and non-traditional in our reception, and Melanie was open to it all. We also had someone in a wheelchair (with some walking ability) and she had no trouble getting around. The space was perfect, easy to decorate (it doesn't take much) and our guests—and we—had an amazing time.
  • T
    Trista Married on 03/28/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our March 2015 wedding at The Green Building -- it was the first place we looked and fell in love with it immediately. We were looking for something with a little more personality than your typical venue, and choosing The Green Building was one of the best decisions I made. It is honestly stunning and wowed all of our guests. And it photographs so well -- the place literally takes my breath away every time I see it. Megan was super awesome to work and very helpful. Honestly, I couldn't be happier!
  • Amanda
    Amanda Married on 12/10/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    An Absolute Dream Venue

    We had our wedding there on Mother’s Day and it was an absolute dream! The venue is so beautiful and has a personality that speaks for itself which is what we were really drawn to. The aesthetic is to perfection — from the exposed brick to the chandeliers, to the string lights to the ivy covered patio walls! The team of folks working there are also amazing. Celina was the best; due to the pandemic, we had to move our wedding from our original October 2020 date and she was so helpful and supportive with that and with everything else along the way! I loved our wedding from start to finish and hope I get to attend a wedding there some day!
  • FutureMrsGarguilo
    Shawna Married on 07/20/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our July 20, 2014 wedding at The Green Building and it was absolutely perfect! Our original venue closed two weeks before our wedding day. It was disastrous and I was nervous we wouldn't be able to re-plan everything in time. The Green Building was so kind to offer discounted rates to those affected by the closing. I was blown away by the generosity. Not to mention, My husband and I fell IN LOVE with the venue as soon as we stepped in! Brooke was our contact person and she was so lovely, flexible, accommodating and understanding and truly made planning enjoyable. Nothing made me feel better than to hear guests gasped when the saw the courtyard and the indoor space. Our guests were grateful that we didn't have the typical ballroom/wedding hall wedding. We would definitely recommend The Green Building for a wedding or any other event!
  • E
    Erica Married on 08/23/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    For us, it was love at first sight with The Green Building. In fact, we looked at TGB, knew that we absolutely had to have it for our wedding, booked it, and THEN my husband proposed! Our wedding was in August and it was everything we were hoping for and more. The atmosphere was romantic, whimsical, and very "urban chic" (as we like to describe it). The space looked so beautiful that it makes me smile just thinking about it. TGB staff were efficient and professional and have this whole wedding thing down to a science. We worked primarily with Brooke and then after she went on maternity leave Kara. Both were extremely attentive, responsive, and knowledgeable. They were particularly helpful during our walk through. We went through everything with them and were able to get everything in order before our big day. We left feeling calm and on top of things! We also were pleasantly surprised by the recent renovations, including a brand new and big outside space and floor to ceiling windows that let in lots of gorgeous light. When we booked the space we had no idea that they would be adding these things, so it was an unexpected bonus for us! Price wise, TGB was very reasonable (for NYC venues!). When we first started looking for places to get married we googled "inexpensive wedding venues in Brooklyn," and that's how we found out about TGB. Although the cost can start to add up because it is DIY, it was still much cheaper than similar venues in Brooklyn. I can't imagine having had my wedding anywhere other than TGB. It is simply a breathtakingly beautiful space!

    Erica and Tim
  • User1295477 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our ceremony at 501 Union and our reception at the Green Building across the street, both owned by the same amazing company. Both venues are gorgeous! The staff at both are sooo friendly and helpful throughout the whole process. They walked us through all the rentals, features of the space, decorating ideas, etc. many times over multiple visits. They were also extremely responsive to our many questions along the way! The staff the day of the event was attentive and friendly, from helping with set up, assisting the other arriving vendors to helping our guests get cars at the end of the night....they were just perfect!

    We got sooo many compliments on the beautiful spaces (and we're architects so that was important to us!) We couldn't imagine our wedding being anywhere else!

    Thanks again Green Building team!

    Laura and Kevin
    August 2013
  • E
    Emily Married on 08/11/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We absolutely fell in love with The Green Building when we first saw it. Quin was a pleasure to work with and helped us organize our perfect day!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message