Skip to main content
Weddings

The Tahoe Mountain Club Reviews

The Tahoe Mountain Club

The Tahoe Mountain Club

Truckee, CA
4.9 out of 5 rating, 25 Reviews
View more information

25 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 25
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

57 User photos

  • J
    Julianne Married on 04/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    PJ's at Gray's Crossing - The Absolute BEST Tahoe Wedding Venue

    Super easy to work with, efficient team that's on top of every detail. Food is amazing. Priced fairly.
    Insanely beautiful views. Couldn't recommend enough!
  • Katie
    Katie G. Married on 03/07/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We LOVED PJs at Gray's Crossing!

    We had our wedding at PJs at Gray's Crossing in late-July 2019, and it was PERFECT! Working with Dana was a dream - she was so communicative, and responded quickly to all of our questions along the way. The venue was absolutely stunning, and we heard again and again from our guests that it was one of the best wedding venues they've ever been to. We loved how easy it was for guests to walk from the ceremony on the lawn to the restaurant for the reception. The whole experience was very smooth, and we loved how we were able to customize our table lay out with a head table at the top of the dance floor, instead of a sweetheart table. From the tables surrounding the large dance floor under the tree with lights to the large fire pit, everything felt beautiful and cozy at the same time. Thank you Tahoe Mountain Club and Dana for helping us have the most memorable day ever!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • L
    Lauren P. Married on 09/21/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best venue and service ever!

    I can’t say one bad thing about our wedding and planning experience with PJs and the whole staff of Tahoe Mountain Events! We were thrilled when we discovered PJs online, and were even more blown away when we toured the venue in person. Dana was a joy to work with from start to finish, and was so patient with us throughout every question, change and request. The staff during the wedding were fantastic as well! We received so many compliments from our guests on the service throughout the reception! I would highly recommend PJs and Tahoe Mountain Events to any engaged couple. Thank you for giving us the romantic wedding in the woods of our dreams!
  • C
    Cat S. Married on 06/21/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Last minute plan for an excellent after party!

    The Alpine Club was a last minute afterparty location for our wedding and it did not disappoint! We got married at the Zephyr Lodge at Northstar and our original location closed a few month prior to our wedding. Our contact arranged 2 locations we could choose from that would honor our prior contract, and the Alpine Club was the clear choice (I don't know how their normal cost is). It was easy for our guests to find after riding down the gondola on the opposite side of the Village, the room was large with a fireplace and plenty of seating for small groups to gather, sit and relax. The drinks were good, we opted to have guests buy their own drinks, and the bartenders were friendly and low key. We chose quesadillas as a snack because it is my husbands favorite, and they let us swap out the steak for chicken, since steak was the dinner. Everyone raved that they are the perfect afterparty food- easy to eat and hit the spot! Thank you Dana and the Alpine Club!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 08/18/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I recently got married this past August at PJ's and it was absolutely incredible! I am so happy I was able to find this place because it fit mine and my husband's personality so well. Dana was so wonderfully helpful throughout the entire process. She was so professional and patient with all the questions I had, and I had a lot!

    When we first visited PJ's it was in January and covered in snow but I could still picture how beautiful a wedding would be there. When we visited the second time it was for our menu tasting. It was important to me that I find a place that could have vegan options for me and PJ's definitely delivered. If I had requested it, they would have made the entire menu vegan but I opted for vegetarian with vegan options and the food was delicious! We got so many compliments that the food was not only delicious but also pleasantly unique for a wedding. We had a buffet style of enchiladas with cilantro rice, pesto pasta with vegetables and truffle potatoes, and the best beet salad I will ever eat. Even people who don't typically eat beets enjoyed this salad! The chef and staff did an amazing job!

    Everything was so well organized and put together exactly how we wanted. If you're thinking about getting married or even just dining in Truckee, PJ's is absolutely worth checking out. We could not have picked a better venue if we had to do this all over again. Thank you Dana and PJ's!!
  • M
    Monica Married on 08/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    A beautiful location with very helpful and friendly staff. The food was amazing (Thank you Willie)! The Director of Special Events was easy to work with and very organized making everything go smoothly (Thank you Dana!). Table setup for guests is flexible. I would highly recommend Gray's Crossing!
  • K
    Kristin Married on 07/14/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The best decision we made for our wedding was getting married at PJs at Grays Crossing. I honestly can’t say enough great things about our experience with this venue. First, Dana Rivers is the most wonderful person we worked with during this process. She is so kind, fun to work with, quick to respond to emails, and thorough when addressing all of my (many) questions. She is amazing at what she does and extremely professional and knowledgeable. The planning process was so effortless. They provide the tables, chairs, food and the drinks. It relieved a lot of stress knowing that they were taking care of such a huge piece of the planning process.

    The venue is absolutely gorgeous. It feels very open and when the sun sets, all the mountains in the distance turn a beautiful pink. I loved how intimate the venue felt and how we were surrounded by groves of trees, which allowed for stunning photos. I also loved how even though the venue was outside, you still had use of an indoor space for the bar and the bathrooms. It’s a great place if you want an outdoor wedding that is still elegant.

    The food was UNREAL. Every single one of my guests came up to us at the wedding and said that was the best wedding food they have ever had. They have so many options of what to serve and it truly was amazing.

    On the day of the wedding, the staff at PJs were so attentive to myself and my husband. I truly felt like a queen. They were always checking in with me to see if I needed a refill on my drink or something to eat. It really made us feel special.

    Our day was honestly perfect and I have to give PJs all the credit for that. Planning was seamless and the day went so smoothly. If I could do it all over again, I would choose PJs over and over again. My siblings and cousins said they want to get married here too so I may be back in the future!
  • K
    Kay Married on 05/26/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We got married at PJs Memorial Day weekend. We couldn’t have been happier with how everything turned out. Dana was amazing to work with through the process and made all the decisions super easy even though we were planning from far away!!! The food was delicious and all of our guests commented on how it was the best they had ever had at a wedding. The atmosphere of PJs was the perfect mix of casual and classy. My only regret is not paying the extra money to have it last longer!!!
  • M
    Morgan Married on 09/30/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We got married at PJs on September 30, 2017 and it couldn't have been more perfect. Not only was the weather great the venue set up was beautiful. This venue does not need a lot of decor, in my opinion less is more. I wanted our florals to only enhance the natural beauty this venue and scenery provided. Dana Brooks is amazing. Not only is she extremely responsive and answers all of your questions and even brings up points you may have not even thought of but she is the sweetest most down to earth person you will meet. Little details that meant the most, she had drinks ready in each of the bridal party lounge areas, she brought us appetizers and drinks while we were taking family portraits after the ceremony, and she had her staff bring us plates of food so we could eat immediately and not stand in the buffet line. Few tips: go over your banquet event orders (BEOs) over the phone with Dana if you can't meet in person so you do not miss anything. This is really important if you are new to event planning world. Do not be afraid to tweak the food recipes to fit your taste buds! The Chef is so nice to work with. If you have 180 guests or more get the bigger dance floor, if you know your guests will be dancing and extra heaters (if your planning a fall wedding). I think the best part about working with Dana and PJs is even when we had a little mix up at the bar they were willing to work with us to get the final bill discrepancy straightened out. We will continue to go back to PJs every year to eat at the grill and enjoy this hidden gem in Truckee!
  • C
    Christen Married on 07/21/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This venue was an amazing place and setting for our wedding. The view is beautiful with the trees and mountain settings as the backdrop, the food was amazing and many guests responded how great dinner was, and service- everything was taken care of throughout the night. I could not have asked for a better place to have a wedding.
  • A
    Abigail Married on 06/17/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We are so happy with our wedding at PJ's. It is a beautiful venue and we felt like we were truly able to make everything our own. Those that we worked with were professional and kind and we were very well taken care of. We still have friends telling us what a great wedding it was.
  • Jennee
    Jennee Married on 01/21/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tahoe mountain club did an amazing job catering and hosting our wedding at their old greenwood venue. They were very accommodating and worked with us on the fly when we needed or wanted to change something because of weather or our guest count. Dana Brooks, our event coordinator, did a great job and was very good and quick with her correspondence and helping us set up our reception details exactly how we wanted them. Chef Willy and the food was amazing! We did our tasting in October and we loved it so much then I was happy to see that the food for the wedding was every bit as good in buffet style in January as it was when we got served fresh at our tasting. Overall the venue and catering price was very affordable for our size guest list of about 51. Even though we had some people back out because of weather conditions. Old greenwood is a great location for smaller sized weddings, The great part is Tahoe Mountian Club has 3 locations for wedding all within a short driving distance of each other, and the Truckee/Northstar ski area.
  • L
    Lisa Married on 09/12/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our September wedding at PJ's Grill was beyond perfect. I don't even know how to begin saying how great Dana, Lauren, and the rest of the team are here! From start to finish they were amazing to work with, responsive, and went out of their way to make sure we had the best day possible. Some of the nicest people I've met and one of the most beautiful restaurants I've been to in Tahoe for sure.

    We didn't have a wedding planner, and from start to finish Dana was fantastic helping us with all the details, I had no clue how much goes into setting up a ceremony and reception but she had all the bases covered. Lauren was kind and helpful for all the banquet related details and helped us pick our food, wine, and even assisted our free labor (the bridal party) make the ceremony site look pretty with a rose petal aisle. They were both there during the rehearsal to make sure everyone knew where to be and help with the timing, locations, and other details for the walk-through.

    The food was absolutely delicious (if you don't get the au gratin potatoes, you're missing out), and I only heard positive comments from our guests. I hate when you go to a nice wedding venue but then the food is bland! PJ's is first and foremost a restaurant so food is at the core, with the beautiful location and views an added bonus. Good selection of wines at all prices, and good beer options on tap as well.

    Some quotes from our guests included "best food I've had at a wedding" to "this venue is amazing". I will have to agree with them! If you are getting married in Tahoe but aren't feeling the whole tourist-infested lakefront vibe, call Tahoe Mountain Club.
  • C
    Cheyenne Married on 08/08/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We held our wedding at PJ's Bar and Grill. From the time we began the process, Dana and her team were wonderful to work with! They promptly responded to us, were flexible on the details, provided great insight and were professional at all times. Our food tasting with their chef still ranks as our favorite wedding prep moment - he knows his stuff! They worked well with our wedding planner and the day went perfectly!! We could not have asked for a better team. Guests commented repeatedly about how beautiful the site is, how truly delicious their meals were and that the servers were spot on at all times - never rushing them and always tending to their needs! These are just the things you hope to hear after making that kind of investment and hosting your closest friends and family. We highly recommend TMC... and THANK YOU to the team for helping to make our special day so much fun!!!
  • S
    Samantha Married on 08/01/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tahoe Mountain Club and PJ's-- where do I begin? I had the most pleasurable experience with Tahoe Mountain Club, specifically, Dana. From the very start, Dana was friendly, reliable, honest, patient (with me and my million questions), and responsive. PJ's was the first venue that my husband and I looked at in the Tahoe area. We immediately fell in love with the sweeping views of the pristine golf course and the beautiful mountain backdrop. The building itself was exactly what we were looking for: something fancy enough for a wedding, but casual enough to not require black tie attire.

    The whole location seems so welcoming and romantic. It is soft and whimsical. We just wanted to feel happy in nature on our big day, and PJ's, and Dana, made sure we got what we wanted. It was literally the perfect outdoor reception area. The string market lighting across the grass created an amazing atmosphere. The ceremony grass was close enough for our elderly family members to feel comfortable walking to and from the reception area. The entire staff of TMC was friendly and I really felt like they cared about making our day special.

    My husband and I had the most romantic wedding. The ceremony was amazing, and the reception was so much fun. If you are looking for an outdoor venue, a romantic setting, a courteous and friendly team of people working with you, and a responsive wonderful person who will always answer any question you have (no matter how big or small, or silly or weird, or even if you send 4 emails in a row), then you have stumbled across the perfect venue.

    TMC far exceeded my expectations, and if I had to do it all over again, I would choose TMC in a heartbeat.
  • R
    Ruth Married on 07/11/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wonderful customer service and beautiful venue. I would recommend it to anyone for their special day.
  • User1832908 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our event was superb! Thank you!
  • User1832248 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Very professional staff, great food, and an amazing venue!

    Simply put, helped make our day a very special one. We highly recommend the Tahoe Mountain Club.
  • User1831676 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Event venue is amazingly beautiful. No better view in Tahoe.
    Dana the event coordinator walked us through the whole process from start to finish.
    Everyone commented on how amazing the food was. We knew it would be when we did our tasting.
    Staff was professional, diligent and very friendly.
    Would highly recommend to anyone for their wedding and reception!!!
  • L
    Larry Event on: 12/13/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Dana and staff were great. Dana is one of the reasons we are returning.
  • R
    Rebecca Married on 06/23/2018
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Everything was perfect, from beginning to end. Many of our guests raved about the food and the beauty of the site. The banquet manager was easy to work with and very helpful throughout the entire processes. It was such a relief to know that everything was taken care of and that everything they promised, they delivered on. Couldn't of asked for a more perfect day.
  • D
    Danette L. Married on 03/02/2019
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Wedding

    I honestly can't say enough good things about the Tahoe Mountain Club. Not only was Schaffers Camp absolutely beautiful and exactly what we were hoping for, the staff there is professional and warm-hearted. Dana Rivers was our main contact there, and I honestly wish everyone could be just like her! She responded quickly to all of our questions, and even helped out with other vendors to make sure everything went smoothy on the day of. Our food was also delicious; I've had multiple guests tell me that the food was some of the best they've ever had at a wedding.

    In terms of location, Schaffers Camp is located on one of the mountains at Northstar Resort, and so beautiful and picturesque. We wanted a snowy winter wedding, and weather really delivered on that front. With our ceremony taking place on an outside deck and our reception/party inside, we honestly couldn't have pictured a more perfect location for our wedding! Highly recommend!
  • C
    C Married on 07/12/2014
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    Venue location and food was spectacular. Ceremony and reception sites are beautiful and unique. Any event with TMC is done really high quality. Only complaint is this venues lack of experience with weddings so they were hard to work with at times because they didn't know what services they wanted to offer. And not offering much help with day of coordination was frustrating.
  • Emily
    Emily J. Married on 11/07/2021
    3.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Mediocre Events Director - Great Venue

    Sub-par event director. Laura Santamaria was our only point-of-contact. She was incredibly reactive, and never proactive about finding solutions to our questions.

    -Slow to respond to questions via email, or would occasionally just not respond at all

    -Mixed-up pricing eg: Verbal prices did not match invoice

    -Provided mis-information about the WiFi to stream the wedding

    -Provided mis-information about the venue's speaker system, we ended up using a Bluetooth speaker for our 1st dance

    -Forgot to invite us to our tasting menu, which was mid-day on a workday? (we only found out about it because we emailed her to ask)

    -Would often provide vague answers to seemingly straightforward questions eg: What type of furniture will be provided? When will we get an itemized invoice?



    We raised lots of concerns months before the weddings, and Laura would always shrug it off and say that someone will figure it out... She gave us the sensation that our questions were trivial and a bother for her to answer. Overall it felt like our wedding was seen as a "small" wedding, so we didn't get as much attention as a "big" wedding. This caused more anxiety and confusion during the lead-up to the wedding than was necessary.


    The good news is that everyone else on the staff was AMAZING. Brian and his team of waiters, bartenders, etc are all top-notch. The food was delicious. The service and layout of our space were perfect. The backdrop of Mount Rose is beautiful. We were very happy with how everything turned out.


    If you want to have your wedding here, just know that you'll need to double-check all the details yourself, because your point-of-contact won't be doing that for you.

    The Tahoe Mountain Club's reply:

    Good morning Emily,

    Thank you for your review and for hosting your wedding with us here at Tahoe Mountain Club! I'm glad to hear that our execution staff, food, venue, and wedding day were to your standards and we were able to make your wedding day memorable.

    We always encourage feedback and will follow up with the misses that seemed to have happened during the servicing process. As we all know and understand, 2020 through 2021 has been a wild ride, and coming back into events our industry was hit hard. If these issues had been brought to our attention closer to your wedding date and through the planning process we would have definitely worked to better serve your needs and meet expectations. All of our clients are important to us whether they are a 200 guests wedding or a private member event.

    As shown by your photos it looks like you and your 15 guests had an amazing night and we thank you for booking your special day with us. Please contact us directly if you would like a personal follow-up, we're always here to assist.

    Best,
    Camille Land
    Director of Catering
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message