The Fairmont San Francisco Reviews

7 | San Francisco, CA
See photos, pricing and details

7 Reviews for The Fairmont San Francisco

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

7

1 User photo

The Fairmont San Francisco 1
Order by:
  • P

    Paul · Married on 10/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had planned our wedding for over a year to be in Napa, CA. Five days before our wedding date, our original vendor, confirmed that they would not be able to host us due to the Atlas fire. Over the course of a day, our plans were shifted to the Fairmont courtesy of Emilie Lynch the Director of Catering.

    I cannot tell you how thankful I am to Emilie and the Fairmont. Given our circumstances, they waived a fee and matched us dollar to dollar to our existing contract with the other vendor. All of this was done on such a short notice that I couldn't believe that it happened at all.

    Working with the Fairmont during this stressful time was absolutely painless. We weren't able to try all of the food prior to the event: however, I was completely satisfied with their recreation of the dishes we had already selected. The thing I was happiest to see was the beer selection offered to our guests - Anchor Steam! I was happy that there wasn't a big name domestic company on the offerings.

    We are eternally grateful to Emilie Lynch and the Fairmont for being able to accommodate a wedding at such late notice and we did never got the impression they were trying to take advantage of us.

    The Fairmont San Francisco 2
    Sent on 10/29/2017
  • M

    Mike · Married on 06/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Fairmont San Francisco was our dream wedding venue, with stunning settings, great food & beverage choices, amazing service, and a lot of San Francisco history. The Fairmont had one of the most inclusive and flexible wedding packages we found during our search, great spaces for an outdoor or indoor ceremony (we were glad to have the backup if needed), and some of the best views in the city. The team were fun and easy to work with, from our initial event design through tastings & decor stagings, and of course the day itself. Several guests commented on the great level of service they received at the hotel, and we couldn't have been happier with how smoothly the details came together on our wedding day. We held our ceremony on the outdoor terrace, and reception in the Crown Room, which boasts possibly the best 360-degree views of San Francisco bar none. This is hands-down one of the premier event venues in the city and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Fairmont if you want to have an incredible San Francisco wedding.

    Sent on 06/25/2017
  • M

    Mustafa · Married on 09/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Fairmont for both our ceremony and reception and the whole day went by smoothly and perfect.

    Their staffs are very professional and helpful.

    Highly recommended.

    Sent on 06/08/2015
  • M

    meghan · Married on 09/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0



    Meghan F.

    Del Mar, CA

    I got married at The Fairmont Hotel in San Francisco on Sunday September 2nd. We worked with Meghan Gruss the Catering Manager. She was spectacular!! We were so lucky to get paired up with her.
    Our whole wedding planning experience was so easy and well organized thanks to all of Meghan's hard work. We live in San Diego and had to plan everything from a distance. Additionally, I'm an Interior Designer and I had very specific requests and design visions. I was a little nervous about my vendors really understanding the big picture and everything coming together without me being there.

    Meghan was so thorough and really cared about us and made us feel special. I immediately felt a bond with her and I completely trusted her in every way. She came through with everything she promised AND THEN SOME!!

    I had champagne dreams with not exactly a champagne budget. Meghan went above and beyond her call of duty to help me work within my budget and still get the look I wanted. We couldn't be happier and we have the best memories of the most special day of our lives thanks to The Fairmont and Meghan Gruss and her staff.

    You get what you pay for with this stunning property and first-class service across the board. They really go out of their way to accommodate your every need and make your time there memorable. If you're thinking of getting married at The Fairmont... do it! And ask for Meghan Gruss and her assistant Rachel Gellerman. You will NOT be disappointed! They really will make you feel like a princess and go above and beyond to make your wedding the best!

    Finally, I had many guests tell us the food at our wedding was the best food they have ever had at a wedding. I was too busy to notice so it was really nice hearing so many guests rave about our food being the best they had ever had.

    Good luck brides, and thank you Meghan Gruss and The Fairmont!

    -Meghan F..... now Meghan T.!! :)

    Sent on 10/16/2012
  • H

    Hadley · Married on 08/19/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We consider ourselves lucky to have had our wedding at the Fairmont. After visiting a number of different venues such as the Mandarin Oriential, the Omni and others, there was no doubt that the Fairmont was the perfect spot. Not only is the location great for out of town guests and for its views, but its grandiosity and elegant atmosphere made it all very special for everyone.

    Emilie was wonderful to work with, always approachable, warm, accomodating and making great suggestions. The food and cake were also exceptionally good, with an easily arranged tasting and impeccable service. The ceremony was held in the Pavillion Room & Garden, followed by the reception in the Crown Room. We couldn't have been happier with those two venues as there is access to the outside and windows everywhere at the very top. The overall feeling was very fresh, airy and sunny.

    Guests commented for a long time afterwards how much they loved the hotel and services. A truly memorable experience.

    Sent on 06/01/2008
  • S

    Satish · Married on 09/02/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue was fabulous and the entire staff (especially Meghan Gruss, Catering Manager) were very helpful and professional.

    Sent on 10/17/2012
  • NoPurple

    Mae · Married on 08/30/2014

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Getting married at the Fairmont was an absolute dream. My original contact, Kendra, was truly one of the main reasons I decided to splurge and sign the contract. She was so friendly and extremely responsive. Kendra left the staff right before my wedding, but my new contact, Katie, was still great to work with too.

    The venue speaks for itself. It's historic, pristine, glamorous and anything that I could want in a venue. They are of course on the pricey side. After all was said and done, my charges at the Fairmont came out to almost $300 per person. I don't think the space I was in (Fountain Room) merited that kind of money.

    I did get everything I asked for. The service was superb from check in to check out. The one thing that wasn't so great was that my wedding was on a day that there were 2 other weddings. Mine was the smallest so my main contact spent most of her time at the other weddings and I had a different contact on the actual day of the wedding (who I never spoke to before). It was a little stressful explaining the processional music 5 minutes before the ceremony, but in the end, he was attentive and easy to work with too. He kept us on schedule and everything was great.

    The food was soooo delicious! We had seared beef tenderloin, chicken saltimbocca, pan seared striped bass and truffled risotto. They used an outside vendor for the cake, who I'm a little iffy on (see separate review), but everything overall was great.

    The other little thing was my cake topper was broken when it was returned to me, but minuscule in the grand scheme of things.

    Sent on 09/21/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review