Skip to main content
Weddings

The Essex, Vermont’s Culinary Resort & Spa Reviews

The Essex, Vermont’s Culinary Resort & Spa

The Essex, Vermont’s Culinary Resort & Spa

Essex Junction, VT
4.7 out of 5 rating, 101 Reviews
View more information

101 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 94% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 101
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

27 User photos

  • Benjamin
    Benjamin N. Getting married on 09/03/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic venue, great team. Would highly recommend.

    The Essex is a beautiful venue, and the team there was incredibly responsive and helpful every step of the way. One huge perk is the day of team that helps everything run smoothly. Would highly recommend The Essex to anyone!
  • M
    Maddie S. Married on 08/27/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Venue for Entire Wedding Weekend

    The Essex was a wonderful place to get married. We hosted two events on the resort property, a welcome dinner in the backyard of the hotel and a brunch in the garden terrace. Both were great venues. The staff was very accommodating, and when there was rain on Friday causing the welcome dinner to be inside, they were quick to come up with alternatives, and went the extra mile by having some staff set-up a space outside for once the rain had cleared. We had our reception off site at the Ponds location, and it is an absolutely gorgeous late summer venue. The space is some distance from the hotel and you need to arrange your own transportation, but it is well worth it for the spectacular views and scenery. Our wedding coordinator, Bekah, deserves a special shout out. Prior to the weekend she was willing to meet with us whenever we needed clarification on questions, both in person and remotely. During the weekend, she stayed in constant communication and coordinated both with our vendors and us to make sure everything was perfect and running smoothly. She was essential in making it feel like our special weekend. Overall we were very happy with our experience getting married at the Essex, and we would definitely recommend.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • L
    Leslie M. Married on 08/27/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Wedding Weekend

    We hosted a wedding weekend at The Essex. Friday night Welcome BBQ ending with s’mores, Saturday wedding reception at the Ponds and Garden Terrace Sunday brunch with bloody Mary’s and mimosas, it was all perfectly executed with the help of Bekah, our Essex event planner. The food was delicious and the various settings were beautiful! We were thrilled and can’t wait to get our professional photos back to relive every magical moment!
  • C
    Caroline M. Married on 07/30/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Wedding!

    We just recently got married at the Ponds at Bolton Valley and it was incredible! The team at the Essex was fantastic and super helpful throughout the entire process! We loved our experience working with them and would highly recommend them to others!

    The Essex, Vermont’s Culinary Resort & Spa's reply:

    Thank you so much for the review Caroline! We are so pleased that your experience was an incredible one.
  • J
    Jeffrey S. Married on 05/21/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing place to get married!

    I cannot say enough positive things about The Essex. The venue, hotel, and grounds are so incredibly beautiful. The staff was helpful and proactive starting from the day we put our deposit down. Bekah, our day-of coordinator was literally unbelievable, and we would not have had as great of a day without her expertise. The food was so good, and we were so happy that we chose this venue.
  • Ilia
    Ilia G. Married on 10/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fairytale Wedding

    Even though we had to wear masks due to COVID-19, The Essex made everyone feel comfortable and safe. They were an absolute pleasure to work with and did everything within their power to make sure that my husband and I had the wedding we had always dreamed of. I would absolutely recommend this venue, Hannah is absolutely amazing as well!
  • Diana
    Diana S. Married on 09/09/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream-like and stress free!

    Emily Ellis and Julia were amazing coordinators! The process of settling all the details was easy with them in our corner, and they really go above and beyond in every way to make sure you feel special, stress-free, and so helped with everything! They even helped me stuff welcome bags and set up the gardens for our rehearsal dinner cocktail hour since the weather was nice! The venue is beyond gorgeous. the gardens and grounds were immaculate which is saying a lot since we had our wedding later in the season after so many weddings all summer.. but you would never have known! Many guests told my husband and me that it was the most fun and beautiful wedding they have ever been to, and a lot of that is kudos to the venue for making it that way!
  • Meg
    Meg Married on 07/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Essex Helped us plan our dream wedding!

    We got engaged late in the season and only had a limited amount of time to plan our wedding, but the minute we saw the Essex, our decision was made and our stress went away. The atrium space is absolutely GORGEOUS, but still a blank canvas that you can show your own personality! Not to mention, it meant piece of mind in case of inclement weather for our fall wedding. Emily Ellis and her team were a dream to work with. They were always responsive and provided us with the guidance we needed to plan our dream wedding. The Essex supplies everything you can imagine from tables, chairs and linens to easels, table numbers, and a cake stand. The food was DELICIOUS (as was the cake, which was so beautiful and designed exactly as I had imagined). Everyone in the bridal party did hair and makeup onsite at the spa and they did a wonderful job. They helped us to make a schedule that wasn't rushed, and everyone looked amazing. The Essex also let us setup the day prior to the wedding and were available to assist with everything. Emily was our coordinator and day-of she made the day run SO smoothly. I didn't have to worry about a thing, and she was flexible in making adjustments as things changed. She also took amazing care of us - always offering to grab us something to eat or drink (and even suppling endless gluten free options to meet my dietary restrictions). Plus, the venue and grounds are absolutely gorgeous with many amazing spots for photo ops. Finally, it was amazing to be able to have all of our friends and family staying onsite in their very nice accommodations. We had the best day of our lives and thanks to the Essex it was stress-free and perfect. We would highly recommend this venue to anyone looking for a seamless, wonderful day!
  • M
    Mary M. Married on 07/05/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Spectacular Wedding Weekend

    I cannot say enough good things about The Essex! Our wedding in July went from 100 down to 23 people (due to the pandemic) and the staff did an incredible job accommodating the change and making the whole weekend perfect. Our coordinator Julia is an actual angel, and worked with the staff to make sure us and our guests had a great time, while remaining safe and adhering to guidelines. Every event, from the Rehearsal Dinner on Saturday, to the Wedding on Sunday, and the Farewell Brunch on Monday, was meticulously planned and went by without a hitch, thanks to the team there.

    Us and our guests stayed at The Essex for the whole weekend, and the staff made sure we were taken care of the entire time. Julia and Amanda were at each event making sure things ran smoothly. Chef Dante led a super fun private cooking class for our wedding party. We rented out Junction and Chef Nicole made a world class dinner our guests are still talking about months later. And Aleksa, the hardest working waitress I’ve ever met, helped make sure our needs were always met, including helping the bridesmaids plan room service for a surprise bachelorette brunch.

    If I wrote about every single incredible thing the team at The Essex did, this review would be pages long. They took away all the stress of planning a wedding during a pandemic, and I cannot thank them enough for that. Needless to say, I wholeheartedly recommend having your wedding there.
  • C
    Casey W. Married on 02/29/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Perfect Weekend

    Everything was amazing, our coordinator Julia was so friendly, responsive, flexible and fun to work with.

    Sitting back looking at things there is nothing we would have hoped to have been different. This location is amazing!
  • Melinda
    Melinda Married on 09/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Had the best day

    It was a great experience. They were extremely helpful in planning and with the music with my playlist.
  • C
    Caroline Married on 07/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing place!

    This review is for the Ponds at Bolton Valley. Our planners Julia Preston and Emily Ellis were the most incredible planners throughout the process and were amazing to work with. They answered every detailed question and request and threw in so many unique touches to make our day extra special (like a giant five tiered peanut butter cake for our dog)
    The venue and grounds were beautiful! Loved the bridal suite at the Ponds for pre-ceremony to stay cool...
    The food was incredible --our favorite was our Friday night welcome bbq with the best pulled pork, mac and cheese and potato salad!-- but everything throughout the weekend was so good.
    Can't say enough good things about this place!
  • M
    Mibi Married on 07/06/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful experience

    The Essex was the perfect venue for us and I am so grateful to our wedding coordinator Arienne and the entire staff for making our day amazing! With The Essex providing the catering, wedding coordinator, equipment (i.e. tables, chairs, linens), much of the usual stress of planning a wedding was alleviated and everything ran so smoothly. In terms of the venue, the lawn and atrium are gorgeous spaces for the ceremony and reception, respectively. Our guests were largely from out of town and it was so convenient for all of them to be able to stay at the resort (which also provides courtesy transportation from the Burlington airport). Our wedding coordinator, Arienne, was incredibly responsive and helpful with inquiries and was organized, calm and flexible throughout the entire planning process and on the wedding day. The food and cake were so delicious and we had many guests with dietary restrictions for whom the chefs made several special plates. All of our guests were very complimentary of venue and services provided. I cannot say enough positive things about the Essex and highly recommend for a wonderful wedding experience.
  • P
    Pam S. Married on 06/23/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A beautiful venue in all ways!

    Words cannot express how grateful we are to Arienne and the staff at the Essex for our wonderful wedding. From day one they were welcoming and accommodating, always answering emails promptly and with great care, oftentimes answering the same questions multiple times. On the day of, Arienne made something that could have been quite stressful quite easy and could not have been more helpful. Every piece of our event turned out exactly as I had imagined it. The food was phenomenal, the cake beautiful and delicious, the staff superb. When we entered the Atrium on the way to the east lawn to begin the ceremony I was blown away by what it had been transformed into. It was simply gorgeous. Thank you to everyone at The Essex for helping us to make lasting memories in a beautiful setting.
  • G
    Grant Married on 09/16/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing! The Ponds is an absolutely gorgeous venue and the staff at the Essex was so helpful in answering all our questions and providing day of coordination! Emily was extremely helpful and helped to make our special day positively perfect. A definite "must see" for those interested in a rustic yet classy venue with breathtaking views but not super interested in being on a ski run or golf course.
  • M
    Marissa Married on 09/02/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I cannot say enough positive things about the Ponds at Bolton Valley and The Essex Resort. From the moment we booked the venue through our Wedding day on Sept 2 2018, we were treated with exceptional service and care. Emily, our Wedding Coordinator at The Essex was there for us every step of the way and was always quick to answer my (many) questions! My parents also thoroughly enjoyed working with her. The staff during the wedding were amazing and incredibly professional. The food was amazing and many told me it was the best food they have had at a wedding, ever! The Ponds is one of the most beautiful venues in Vermont with outstanding views. Emily truly made this the best day of our lives at our dream venue!!
  • K
    Kailie Married on 06/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Definitely recommend this venue to anyone looking to having all of their festivities on-site. I could not have picked a more perfect venue (East Lawn/Atrium) for our wedding that fit our styles, and the woodsy but modern feel we were going for. The resort itself is super family friendly as well with goats, bonfires, and pools! I cannot speak higher of the service we got from the salon, to the kitchen, to my personal highlight, Emily! Emily was there every step of the way and was always on top of everything.
  • Sarah
    Sarah Married on 06/16/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A picturesque venue with amazing food

    My husband and I planned our Vermont wedding from Chicago, so we knew we would need a responsive venue in order to pull everything together since we had limited time in Vermont beforehand. When I met Emily at the Essex and she brought me to the Ponds I knew we had found our venue. Emily is incredibly professional, responsive, and willing to offer suggestions. I really appreciated her input throughout our wedding planning process, she was not pushy but did let me know if she did not think something would work. She also had suggestions for vendors, all of our vendors were from her suggestions list and they exceeded our expectations.
    The wedding day went perfect, Emily was there every step of the way, but again not overbearing. The venue was put together beautifully, Emily put out a lot of the decorations we brought and made the space look great. The food at our wedding was so delicious too. We did have feed back for the chefs during our menu tasting, they clearly listened because the food was beyond delicious.
    The Essex has made the Ponds into a stunning venue space, prepares incredible food, and Emily was a great wedding coordinator to work with. I highly recommend them to anyone looking for their wedding venue!
  • S
    Susi Married on 06/02/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I were married at The Ponds at Bolton, VT and we are SO HAPPY with our experience!!! We HIGHLY recommend this venue to all future couples!!! The food was excellent and so many guests commented that this was one of the most beautiful weddings they had ever attended. The scenery of VT is amazing in itself, with The Pond and Camel's Hump in the background, but a lot of credit for our perfect day goes to SHANA, our amazing wedding coordinator!!

    Not only did we sign with The Ponds as our venue site because of our experiences with Shana, but she was also my wedding coordinator, planner, vendor-guide, wedding advice-giver, and friend in so many ways. She went out of her way for us countless times and exceeded all of our expectations.

    Shana was always responsive to every single one of my (countless) emails, met with me/my family several times, provided advice and guidance, set-up our venue to make it look beautiful and helped with take-down. She would email me back within a day, even while on her vacation!

    The little details made a huge difference for us as well - one of the waitstaff came to us on the dock after the ceremony while we were taking pictures to offer appetizers and hand us a drink - this was so nice! The food was delicious, the venue site was beautiful, and our day could not have been more amazing. Thank you to The Essex and to Shana for the wonderful memories that will last a lifetime! We are so grateful - Susi and Paul
  • T
    Terry Married on 05/05/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My daughter's reception was held at The Atrium at The Essex . Emily Ellis was our wedding planner and she did a fabulous job! She was always willing to meet with us and gave us great advice. Our guests remarked about the great food, the accommodations and the lovely staff. We are so grateful to The Essex for making my daughter's big day so memorable!
  • A
    Amy Married on 09/03/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding at the Essex beyond exceeded our expectations. Our wedding coordinator Shana was absolutely amazing! The service was impecable. The food was delicious!!! The atrium is such a beautiful room!! We were so pleased with everything!!!!
  • T
    Tj & B. Married on 08/19/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My wife and I had our reception at The Essex on August 19th, 2017 and it was literally the best day of our lives up to this point and The Essex played a huge role in that. From the start of the wedding planning process Shana made us feel so comfortable and at ease with the process and the big day. As we searched at other venues we knew from the second we met Shana and was introduced to the staff and the venue that we found exactly what we were looking for. Shana was super helpful and accommodating leading up to the special day and was just as great on our wedding day to help us relax and enjoy the day worry free. We can't thank Shana and the entire staff enough for everything they did to make our wedding day a day we will never ever forget.
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 08/06/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We got married at The Essex this past Sunday, August 6, 2017, and we couldn't have asked for better staff or a better place to celebrate our big day! Both Shana and Emily were MORE than helpful and on top of every little detail throughout the entire wedding planning process that made everything come together so smoothly and stress-free for us. We would highly recommend this gorgeous Vermont venue to any couple who is looking to have the most memorable day of their life!
    Elizabeth & Rich
  • A
    Ali Married on 08/05/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This review is long overdue and exceedingly well-deserved! Our wedding day was perfect at the Ponds! Nestled in the scenic mountainside of Bolton Valley, the Ponds provides the most secluded, intimate, special place for a wedding. Shana is incredible! She is responsive and works hard to meet every single want and need for the couple, and for us that was two brides and two bride moms!
    The food was delicious! The flexibility offered through the talented skillset of the chefs at the culinary resort, allow you to fully design your own menu, which is extremely unique and supportive of all budgets! The staff on the day are attentive and ensure that you have everything you need through the whirlwind!
    A very important piece of advice that made our weekend even more special and personal, was doing our room block at the Bolton Valley Ski Resort, just a mile up the mountain. With the size of our wedding, we fully booked out the resort, making the mountain completely ours for the weekend! They provided shuttles to and from the venue and gave us the space to host a welcoming party, an after party and offer a plethora of fun and games for our guests including disc golf, volleyball, basketball, hiking, corn hole and much much more!
    THANK YOU SHANA FOR MAKING OUR DAY PERFECT!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message