The Cotton Gin Barn Reviews

12 | Monroe, NC
See photos, pricing and details

12 Reviews for The Cotton Gin Barn

Recommended by 95% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

12
Sort by:
  • J

    Joseph · Married on 03/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredibly easy and beautiful!

    Bonnie and her staff were incredible. From the time we booked the venue to our wedding day they kept in touch and helped keep things in order for us! The Cotton Gin was beautiful and everyone there made our day go so smoothly and easily! We received so many compliments on our choice of venue and wouldn’t have had our wedding celebration anywhere else!

    Sent on 03/17/2019
  • C

    Crystal · Married on 11/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married in November at Cotton Gin. We immediately fell in love with it when we went to visit and Bonnie spent an hour and a half showing us around the different parts of the farm. She was very thorough in helping us make a decision. The day of the event was amazing and the event staff was absolutely fantastic and took care of our guests in so many ways. Everything was beautiful and they have a room where you can borrow things that other brides have left behind (so happy we got to use the shepherd hooks). I would recommend this venue to anyone looking at it. We added on the bonfire and s'mores and we had ice cream at the ice cream shop. We got to use a lot of the farm for pictures and our guests had an amazing time getting to explore as well. Thank you to Bonnie, Jonna, and her staff for such a wonderful day and experience.

    Sent on 12/28/2016
  • shelby

    Shelby · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have yet to have my wedding here but just in the looking and the booking of this venue they have been AMAZING going over everything with me and letting me come several times to look at the venue! cant wait to have my special day here!!!
    A++++ they are very nice and quick to answer any questions.

    Sent on 12/16/2014
  • Danielle

    Danielle · Married on 07/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have yet to have our wedding here, but Bonnie and her team are amazing! The property is absolutely breathtaking, no matter the season. They've been very cooperative and welcoming and are always quick to respond to our emails and phone calls. We are very excited to have our wedding at The Cotton Gin Barn; July cannot get here any faster!

    Sent on 09/21/2015
  • L

    Leigh · Married on 06/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So much to say about this venue!! I knew from the time we booked that we made the right decision. Each time I had a question throughout the planning process, I could email or call this venue and would get an answer back quickly. That's definitely what I needed! I loved the fact that the staff were helpful in many ways to better prepare me for my wedding day.
    When my day came, I felt at ease knowing that my family, friends, and vendors were there to help in there own way. The Cotton Gin Barn staff were awesome! They made my wedding party, my guests, and myself feel like family.
    The staff were very prepared and professional with everything. From their kindness to making it all run smoothly, we gives thanks and will continue to recommend this venue to anyone looking to have a wonderful wedding day!!

    Sent on 06/14/2016
  • R

    Robert · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding and reception at The Cotton Gin Barn on Sunday, 10/11/2015, and we could not have been anymore pleased! Bonnie and her staff are extremely efficient, friendly, caring, outgoing, and they made sure we had absolutely everything we needed to make the wedding/reception went smoothly. Even our guests and family said this was the nicest venue and staff of people they have ever seen at a wedding, or any other party for that matter! We would highly recommend using The Cotton Gin Barn for any event, and we hope to work with them again in the future. Thank you all for making our special day a huge success!!

    Sent on 10/14/2015
  • Y

    Yancy · Married on 10/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have not had our wedding yet but since the first day we went to see this venue, we fell in love. The owners are super kind and were receptive to our vision for out special day. So far, we have had a great rapport with them. Not to say, their prices are incredible! My fiance and I consider ourselves very blessed to have found this place.

    Sent on 12/05/2014
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 09/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at The Cotton Gin last year and it was so beautiful! Everyone loved the grounds and I really appreciated how kid friendly it was, since most of our friends and a lot of relatives have young kids. The owners were really wonderful and let us come out to view everything several times as different family members would visit. It was so pretty, we really didn't even have to do much decorating. We were able to do the ceremony later in the day, since we weren't able to rehearse or decorate the day before, and it gave us plenty of time to set everything up. It was awesome that we got the venue for the whole day, so we were able to give ourselves plenty of time. They have TONS of decorations you can use to help keep costs down as well. There are so many awesome places to take pictures and all of our photography came out beautifully. My favorite wedding party picture is in their corn field right at sunset, so pretty.

    The train is amazing! We took some beautiful couple pictures in it right after it had been renovated and people always love the pictures from there. I just really cannot say enough about how beautiful the farm is.

    The only complaint I had is a lot of guests kept going in to the bathroom where the wedding party gets ready because they couldn't find the public bathroom. It's not their fault some of our guests were clueless, but maybe they could put up some signs that say wedding party only? It doesn't really matter though, everything else was amazing.

    They also gave us some really great recommendations for local vendors, since we were living in a completely different area. We ended up using the DJ and the Caterer they recommended and we loved them!

    Sent on 08/23/2016

    The Cotton Gin Barn's reply:

    Hi Kimberly! We so enjoyed your day as well and everything was beautiful! Thanks for the great comments- We actually added a new restroom sign a few months ago to better direct the guests so we saw that as a need as well- Thanks and please come see us this fall!!
  • User5239294 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Over the past year and a half, I have been working with the crew at the Cotton Gin Barn on putting together my wedding day package. While my wedding is still a month away I am 100% certain that it will go off without a single issue because of the people there. They are kind, professional, well organized, and excited about what they do. I have been able to call with questions, walk through the venue multiple times no issue, and ask for help whenever I need it. My fiance and I would not have had our wedding anywhere else!

    Sent on 07/13/2015
  • M

    Mary · Married on 06/26/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding at The Cotton Gin and I could not have asked for a better location for my special day. The staff there was so great helping me to prepare for my big day and were so easy to work with. Everything about my experience was perfect! I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a lot to be included for an affordable price. Thank you Cotton Gin!

    Sent on 06/30/2016

    The Cotton Gin Barn's reply:

    Thanks Mary! You guys were so great to work with and we really enjoyed being part of your special day- Lots of Love to you!
  • User6331619 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    My husband and I had our December wedding at the Cotton Gin Barn. We were blown away by how beautiful the space is, and the price was among the most affordable. We did not want a country wedding but rather a fun but classy brewery themed event, and we were able to make that happen.

    A couple of things I wish the space would consider changing in the future:
    -The barn is very dim, so anyone wishing to have their ceremony and/or reception inside needs to add lighting. We strung our own lighting which they kept up, but I think it would benefit from some more spot lighting in key areas (primarily stage and spools).
    -We didn't realize until after booking that the bathrooms were outside a little ways from the venue. If it rains on your wedding day, trips to the bathroom are going to be uncomfortable.
    -The venue wasn't too flexible with seating arrangements and layouts. They didn't provide guidance or options for indoor weddings when asked. I think they pushed having people sit at their reception tables for the ceremony to make it easier on their staff rather than working with what we envisioned.
    -We were made to believe during the first tour that we had the space for two days for a nearly unlimited amount of time up to the noise ordinance. It wasn't until a few weeks before they said we had limited time slots for setup, rehearsal, & breakdown. I'm sure it's standard but could have been communicated better (or at all) during our first tour.

    I recommend this venue as it offers a really fun, unique, and gorgeous wedding. The day of the wedding, I greatly appreciated how much space they gave us and how many of their staff were constantly and inconspicuously working in the background. I would ask more questions upfront regarding day-of-event specifics to make sure it fits your needs, but it is the most beautiful venue with the most value for the price.

    Sent on 02/07/2016
  • User6751987 · 2+ years ago

    2.6
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    We recently had our ceremony here and if it wasnt for booking far in advance we would have hated it. The staff does not care about the special day that it is, but rather trying to make as much money as possible. They now do weddings Friday, Saturday, and Sunday so good luck trying to have a decent rehearsal, and make sure to have little decorations as you will not have any time to make it unique. They specifically tell you to not decorate so that they can turn it around as fast as possible for the next day. Butch (one of the owners) was yelling at guests during the reception for accidentally spilling a drink on the floor and threatened guests to call police hours before we were scheduled to leave. Although its a beautiful venue, I would not recommend this place to anyone due to the new rules and regulations they have put in over the past few months. And if anyone of the guests spills something, trust me they will charge you extra.

    Sent on 05/24/2016

    The Cotton Gin Barn's reply:

    Meghan and Travis 5/14/16. Extreme damage to property. Charges totaling close to $400 but only charged for $80. Clearly upset over charges. Beautiful day, wonderful guests, and all went very smoothly. We wish you nothing but Love and lots of it!