The Carolina Club Reviews

21 | Chapel Hill, NC
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for The Carolina Club

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

21
Order by:
  • L

    LaKeshia · Married on 07/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All In One Place

    In an area where most venues only provide the space and maybe tables and chairs, the Carolina Club stands out as an all in one place venue.

    As a very busy bride, I did not have the time to manage a ton of contracts and vendors. By going with the Carolina Club I was able to have so much of the work taken care of for me. In addition, when I did the price comparisons, the Carolina Club, as an almost all inclusive venue, was the same if not cheaper than the venues where you bring in everything yourself.

    In addition to the venue (which is gorgeous), the Carolina Club has event planners who help you all along the way. They help you understand what tasks you need to do when and what decisions need to be made, even if you would have never thought you had to decide how you wanted your napkin folded :)

    After our wedding, I received so many compliments about the Carolina Club and specifically the food. One guest told me it was the best filet mignon they had ever had.

    Overall this venue was perfect for this busy bride and our guests had an amazing time in this beautiful space.

    Sent on 08/05/2019
  • A

    Anna · Married on 02/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding!

    Our experience with The Carolina Club was absolutely wonderful. Every aspect of the planning process was easy with Camille ZarZar. She was excellent at communicating and bringing our vision to life. Her genuine enthusiasm and knowledge for the job was evident in all things. Our reception is something we not only continue to talk about but something our guests continue to talk about. They rave about how amazing the food and drinks were; how warm the staff was; how comfortable the venue was for dancing, socializing, and celebrating. Choosing The Carolina Club was one of the best decisions we made during our wedding planning. I cannot recommend it (and Camille!) enough.

    Sent on 07/28/2019
  • J

    Jami · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend the Carolina Club

    This venue was beautiful, the food was excellent, (even better than we anticipated), and we loved the location, but what truly made the difference was that the event coordinator was extraordinarily responsive, helpful, friendly, and accommodating from the very first visit to the week after the event when we came back to pick up belongings. Working with Camille was like having an additional wedding planner at our fingertips. We couldn't have been more pleased!

    Sent on 11/06/2018
  • E

    Elke · Married on 05/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hosted a rehearsal dinner at the Carolina Club. We were unable to view the venue prior to our event so we were a little nervous but everything was amazing! It was seemless! When We arrived the afternoon of the event, Flowers were on the tables and they were set exactly as we had specified. The staff opened the French doors where our guests could enjoy a great terrace. The food was amazing!!!!!! Very happy ‼️

    Sent on 06/07/2018
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The team at the Carolina Club is very professional and great to work with. We worked primarily with Camille on their events team and she made the whole wedding planning process a breeze! We had so many unusual and creative ideas for our wedding and Camille worked with us and many vendors to make them happen, which was incredible. Her thoughtfulness and attention to detail was much appreciated! She also introduced us to the chef and bartenders, who created a custom menu of amazing dishes and specialty drinks for us! The Club is an amazingly versatile space and our reception was truly beyond our wildest dreams. The amazing team provided 5 star service to us and our guests. Thank you, Carolina Club for the most special event and magical evening ever!!

    Sent on 01/05/2018
  • D

    Diane · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Carolina Club is a perfect venue for a wedding! The room is beautiful and the food is delicious! The room can fit a wide range of wedding sizes which is very convenient. We worked with Camille who was SO responsive and accommodating with all of our needs. We highly recommend this venue (and Camille) to future brides (and for other events!!).

    Sent on 06/26/2017
  • B

    Brittney · Married on 02/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very impressed with the Carolina Club. Camille was our direct contact and she was wonderful. They were friendly, accommodating and the space is beautiful. It was really nice having a venue that included so many things. It made the planning process much easier. We would definitely recommend.

    Sent on 04/06/2017
  • B

    Beth · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our daughter and son-in-law's wedding reception at the Carolina Club. The Private Events Director and Private Events Coordinator were both so easy to work with and helped out tremendously in our decision making process. We knew basically what we wanted, and they made suggestions that ensured it was exactly as we had envisioned.

    I knew that the event staff had everything under control and that there wouldn't be anything I needed to oversee or manage during the evening...so I was able to walk in and enjoy every minute of the evening. It was the magical evening that we had hoped it would be!

    Sent on 10/21/2015
  • V

    Victoria · Married on 10/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carolina club did an amazing job on our wedding

    Sent on 10/16/2013
  • B

    Bushra · Married on 12/23/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had an amazing experience working with the Carolina Club! Tracy VanNostrand, the private events director, was extremely helpful, kind and knowledgeable. Whenever minor issues arose, she was not only understanding but proactive in finding solutions. I really felt as though she and the rest of the Carolina Club staff had my best interest in mind. My wedding turned out beautifully and I could not have done it with the Carolina Club. From the food, to the cake, to the event space, I could not have asked for anything better. I highly recommend the Carolina Club as wedding venue!

    Sent on 01/06/2013
  • User1407291 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier that we held our reception at the Carolina Club. The space was grand and unique. The food was INCREDIBLE. We chose the heavy hors de oeuvres option to give our guests the greatest variety. Every food station was delicious and had generous portions. The Club put together plates for my husband and me so that we could enjoy our food in a separate room during cocktail hour. I’m glad they did, because we did not have much time to eat once we walked in to the reception. Best food I’ve ever had at a wedding, and I’m not just saying that because it was ours!

    You do have to meet a pre-determined minimum, but with enough guests it's a better deal than most per person rates around the Triangle. We came out at about $75/person, which included food, dessert, room rental, house linens, china, silverware, and chairs.

    Sent on 07/16/2012
  • A

    Anna · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely beautiful place, they were great to work with!

    Sent on 05/30/2013
  • C

    Caryl · Married on 03/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very responsive and great to work with!!!

    Sent on 03/17/2012
  • J

    John · Married on 09/24/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Definitely recommend the Carolina Club! The team was great to work with, the food was delicious, the space is beautiful, the event was perfect. Thank you so much Elizabeth and Camille for all your hard work!

    Sent on 10/21/2016
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 07/07/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had both my ceremony and reception at the Carolina Club. They took care of setting up and breaking down everything before and after the event, the dinner, bar and our wedding cake. This made planning everything a breeze. Michele, the events director, is also great to work with. She is very responsive and just has great people skills. She also made sure we were well taken care of the entire day of the wedding (my girls and I got ready on-site, starting at 10:00 am, which made life so much easier, and she also made sure there was a room available for any of the guys that needed a place to hang out.) The staff also helped during the ceremony.

    The only negative of the whole day was two of the buffet items we agreed upon, and tasted at the tasting, were subbed for other items without our notice. These where unfortunately the two things I was most looking forward to eating, and I ended up having salad and mashed potatoes for dinner. Although I was a little bummed, this did not affect the overall quality of my wedding day, which went so smoothly largely because of the wonderful staff of the Carolina Club.

    Sent on 07/19/2012
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 10/01/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at the Carolina Club has many years of experience in wedding and event planning, and were such a wonderful team to work with. Camille and Elizabeth are professional yet relatable, and they both promptly answered countless emails and truly helped our vision come to life for the most perfect evening. They were both more than simply vendors - I felt that they truly cared about me and our event and were so excited to be a part of it. Their personal advice and surprise notes throughout the planning process were such a sweet touch. There are many different packages available to choose from as far as food and beverage options, and it all tasted delicious. We had a stations-based reception and they even pulled aside a generous sample of each food option for us to taste and sent us home with a to-go box of more food and wedding cake! The recently redone ballroom is elegant and classic, providing the perfect backdrop for dancing and dining, and we were able to customize the stage and space for our specific reception needs. They even facilitated rentals for us directly when we needed to expand the stage for the size of our band. We especially LOVED the outdoor terrace for the cocktail hour, because we wanted to be outside, but had a solid rain plan. As the bride, I could not have asked for anything to be better - everything was perfect and the event was so smoothly excecuted and planned. If you are looking for a classic venue that highlights Chapel Hill and want to work with a very responsive, professional, and kind staff who are truly excited to celebrate your day right there with you, this is the place!

    Sent on 10/12/2016
  • N

    Elene · Married on 05/23/2009

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Carolina Club at UNC Chapel Hill is a very nice place to have a reception. The Alumni Hall is huge and has a nice stage, which is where we had the DJ. They have a dance floor ($175) they can put out, and they arranged the room how we requested.
    You don't pay for the space, instead you meet a minimum cost on food to have the space. The food was good; we did the buffet with a few hors d'oeuvres before hand while the bridal party had extra pictures.
    The staff was very helpful and when we arrived (bride and groom), they brought us beverages before our entrance. And there was a back room where we could change/take a break/etc.
    The only kind of off thing they did is once a good number of guests had cleared out, they started in on the clean up. I understand that they'd like to get done and get home, but there were still guests there! They also threw out some expensive LEDs that I had mentioned not to throw out, but that request may have gotten lost along the lines, which is understandable that it could happen, it just kind of sucked (a few LEDs were saved by guests!).

    Sent on 06/09/2009
  • User4883893 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful wedding reception at the Carolina Club. Our wishes for the layout and travel theme decorations were executed perfectly. The atmosphere of Alumni Hall was exactly what we wanted for 150 guests. Our coordinator, Camille, was very professional and eager to make sure we had the best experience. Some of the things that could have been better were the distribution of champagne to our guests in a timely manner for the toasts and having 2 bartenders at the beginning of the reception when a long line began to form...it appeared that the service staff may have been short-staffed. The food was delicious and all of the guests really enjoyed themselves on the dance floor. I know they were impressed with the elegance of the reception.

    Sent on 11/03/2015
  • W

    William · Married on 05/19/2012

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Michelle was an excellent banquet manager.
    A mug from the bar was lost.

    Sent on 11/23/2012
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 05/18/2013

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    I chose the Carolina Club because I was planning our Chapel Hill wedding from out of state while in my first year of law school and was thus willing to sacrifice price for ease. I'll start out by saying that our wedding day was absolutely perfect and if I could do it all over again, I would chose the Carolina Club.

    However, there were some bumps along the way. They went through 4 private events directors from May of 2012, when we booked, to May of 2013, when we got married. Each time, I had to go over every single detail with the new event director. Each time, they were very apologetic and accommodating, but my dream of paying a little bit more to take some of the pressure off me went out the window pretty quickly. On top of that, there was palpable tension at my rehearsal and on my wedding day. There were moments when people at the club went out of their way to make the day special for us, but there seemed to be just as many moments where me or my parents or my bridal party were being snapped at.

    That said, I do think a fair amount of the negative feelings I was left probably aren't relevant anymore, as the woman who took over the private events director position less than a month before our wedding (!) is still there now, according to their website. I do think with stable leadership, it will be a top-notch venue. And I will reiterate that every single detail was executed flawlessly!

    As for the catering, the food was absolutely delicious! They were very accommodating to our requests for menu adjustments and everything we had on our wedding day was just as tasty from the buffet as it was on the day we had our tasting.

    The cake was also completely delicious. I wasn't super excited about it's appearance, but I basically sent him a picture and didn't say another word about it, so I'm sure that wasn't easy for him. They charged an additional fee per slice of cake from an outside vendor, and given that it was so tasty, I'm glad we went with it.

    Sent on 02/17/2014
  • J

    Jamilah · Married on 04/06/2013

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Great Venue. My husband and I loved the overall experience with the Carolina Club. The Event Coordinator Tracy was very attentive to our wedding needs and wants. The club was a big hit with our friends and family. Our families are BIG Carolina Fans, so having the wedding on the Carolina campus was an experience that everyone enjoyed. Especially for my husband since he bleeds "Carolina Blue." :-)

    Sent on 05/07/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review