Skip to main content
Weddings

The Bride and the Bauer Reviews

The Bride and the Bauer

The Bride and the Bauer

Kansas City, MO
4.9 out of 5 rating, 25 Reviews
View more information

25 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 25
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner

25 User photos

  • Rebecca
    Rebecca B. Married on 07/12/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Bauer went above and beyond

    We absolutely loved hosting our wedding at The Bauer! We initially were booked for June 2020 and postponed to December 2020 and had no issues changing dates. They were extremely accommodating and understanding. Due to COVID guidelines for our postponed date, we went from having a 150 person guest list to around 35. Emily and the staff at The Bauer went above and beyond to help us submit a mitigation plan to the health department so we could have more than 10 guests and ensure we were following the guidelines. All of our guests felt safe and thankfully, no one got sick. We all had a wonderful day and didn't feel like we were missing out because it wasn't the traditional wedding we planned on. Not to mention, the venue is gorgeous, no matter what time of year. We highly recommend The Bauer for your wedding!
  • Andrea
    Andrea E. Married on 01/14/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Picture perfect

    I thought I wanted to get married at The Bauer and then I went to tour it. This venue is BEAUTIFUL. It does not require much decoration and the view to downtown was perfect. It seemed on the cheap end at first, but after adding in rentals, it was on par with other venues. The staff was responsive and really made the day perfect. Planning the wedding from out of state is no easy task, but they made it so easy. They were also super helpful with figuring out a floor plan to make the most use of the space! I would choose The Bride and The Bauer in a heart beat again!
  • J
    Jenny W. Married on 12/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Would choose the Bauer over and over again!

    The Bride and the Bauer staff (especially Emily) were incredible to work with. They were so helpful and compassionate through the process of having a wedding during a pandemic. The space is beautiful and the location is prime.
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • C
    Cynthia Married on 07/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Bauer is the BEST!

    The Bauer is the BEST! While we had to wait 2.5 years to finally have our wedding due to COVID, it was well worth the wait. The staff, atmosphere, and view at the Bauer cannot be beat! While we had hoped to have our wedding in 2020, the Bauer staff was completely understanding of our decision to postpone to the following year and were also extremely helpful in answering all of our questions, specifically around COVID safety protocols. We did not have to worry about a thing the day of our wedding, the Bauer staff took care of EVERYTHING and made sure the day ran seamlessly. We had a lot of family coming in from out of town and received so many compliments on how beautiful the venue was!
  • Maggie
    Maggie B. Married on 04/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A downtown KC wedding at The Bauer is a must!

    The Bauer was a dream. The event space is timeless - it's the perfect combination of urban and industrial mixed with beauty and charm. Our wedding was in the spring and it looked so beautiful with our botanical style and pops of spring colors. Highly recommend for weddings of approx 150 guests. (We had 175 and I don't feel it would have comfortably fit anymore)
  • Caitlynn
    Caitlynn Married on 09/19/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great venue!

    We got so many compliments from guests on the venue! The view of downtown from the third floor is the perfect backdrop. It’s also such a pretty building I didn’t really have to decorate much. It’s also so convenient you can rent furniture through them at a reasonable price. They also provide bar services which was also nice to have one less vendor to worry about! All of the staff was great and easy to work with.

    The Bride and the Bauer's reply:

    Thank you so much Caitlynn, and congratulations to you both on your marriage! We wish you all the best, and we are so glad you had a great experience at The Bride & The Bauer!
  • H
    Harley Married on 06/06/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Venue for our Dream Day

    The Bride & The Bauer was an absolute dream venue for our ceremony and reception. We worked with them for over 2 years planning our dream day including postponing twice while living out of state and out of country, and they were so organized and responsive helping us navigate what was best for us. The venue had everything we could've needed for getting ready, ceremony, cocktail hour, reception and the staff was wonderful. There was such a build up and high expectations to our wedding day since it took us years to finally get there, and they truly did not disappoint. We got so many compliments from the guests loving the space and everything running seamlessly. High recommend The Bride & The Bauer - 100% satisfied.
  • Chelsea
    Chelsea Married on 09/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible space, amazing people!

    The Bauer was the absolute perfect venue for our wedding. The space is incredible and so versatile to each couple's vision. The view of downtown makes such a gorgeous backdrop, and watching the city lights come on as you party the night away is truly magical. The location is also incredibly convenient to so many hotels in the area, making it easy for people to get to and from the venue.

    From the start, every single person we worked with was helpful and so responsive. Though I hope other couples don't have to experience the same, they were so flexible and understanding when we had to postpone our June 2020 wedding due to COVID.

    Emily was amazing and helped provide insights that made our vision a reality. She answered all of my big and little questions in a timely manner and reassured my bride-brain that things would go well. The event staff day-of was also wonderful and I know they helped make our day totally perfect. The bar staff was so friendly and everyone loved how our signature cocktails turned out. Cannot say enough great things about this space and the people who make it so special! A true gem.
  • B
    Branden C. Married on 05/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Surprisingly affordable for an incredible vibe, great staff and beautiful design

    I just had my wedding here this past weekend. I was born and raised in KC but went to school out of town. So when we were searching for a venue, I knew I had to find a place that really embodied KC for me because I had done nothing but hype up how awesome it is here the whole time I was abroad. The Bride and the Bauer was really a perfect fit for that because of the great view of downtown and the character of the building and location. The colorful, wedding day vibe it puts off is exactly what I hoped to find and I'm confident that my guests were charmed by the atmosphere it presents. And let's not forget to mention the friendly staff before, during and after our event! Very well organized, no surprises with costs/policies and very supportive and helpful.

    This venue was the only one I viewed but as soon as I did, I was confident it was the one and looked no further. If you're looking for that hip Crossroads KC feel with classy architecture, exposed brick and hardwood floors, a great view and a great group of people running the place: look no further. This is it.
  • Sammy
    Sammy Married on 04/17/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    I love the bride and the bauer!

    This is the venue to end all venues (at least in my opinion). The staff is WONDERFUL, the space is STUNNING, and the ambiance is everything you could wish for and more. With beautiful views of downtown Kansas City, and a rustic/industrial/romantic fusion inside the walls, The Bride and The Bauer is perfect for so many events!!! We were recently married in the space and I can’t speak highly enough about the experience as a whole. Everyone at the Bauer was super helpful (leading up to and on the day of the wedding) but not only were they helpful, they were simply lovely and especially kind. In addition, I was (and will always be) in love with the aesthetics of the Bauer event space. With a dreamy bride’s room, a spacious grooms room, and the prettiest event space – there is nothing to leave you wanting – not to mention the lighting!! (Both natural and romantic string lights to boot!) Book the Bauer – you won’t regret it!! & Shout out to Chelsey and Ashlee – who were there for me through every question during the wedding planning process!!
  • A
    Ally Married on 03/31/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Bauer was perfect! Israel was great, as were Chelsey and Ashlie! We adore the venue, and it was beautiful!
  • K
    Kristin Married on 08/13/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I looked at 5 other reception venues before the Bauer. I was trying to save the best for last and it worked, because it was the first one that he really loved. The staff at the Bauer is incredibly welcoming and very helpful with any questions that you have. We loved that they had an opening catering and bar policy that allowed us to choose whatever we wanted. They were very easy to work with and the staff that was present on the wedding day was incredibly helpful, as we had several of our vendors comment that this may have been the easiest venue that they had ever worked at. The venue itself is beautiful from the wood floors to the exposed brick in addition to the adorable bride's room and groom's room that make for wonderful getting ready photos. Also, you can't really beat the view for pictures with the beautiful windows that face downtown and have the string lights reflecting in them at night. Our pictures in the event space on our wedding day are beautiful and we could not have picked a better place for our reception.
  • D
    Deanna Married on 05/22/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My fiancé and I recently booked our wedding ceremony and reception with The Bauer and we have had such a lovely experience! From day one, with emails back and forth, and then a tour, the ladies were extremely professional and down to earth, making us feel at home. Everything is very flexible! From the set up to the day of schedule, it's all depending on what we want. And our visit to book was a great experience! It made us very excited to be spending our big day at that beautiful venue!
  • H
    Holly Married on 04/16/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We absolutely adore this venue! The string lights, walls with character, wood floors and large windows facing downtown make this venue so unique and charming. It was perfect to accommodate our reception of 200 guests. The groom's room and bride's room were great for getting changed prior to the wedding. We used the parlour area for the cocktail hour/photo booth and main area for dinner and dancing.

    They gals at The Bauer are fabulous. Very professional, easy to work with and knowledgeable. We liked being able to choose our own vendors. Everything worked out smoothly and we were very happy with our choice to hold our reception at The Bauer!
  • User2595202 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    These folks have their Is dotted and Ts crossed. No detail slips through the cracks. Super professional, and always helpful when you have questions. And the venue is wonderful too!
  • C
    Christina Married on 07/10/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We highly suggest you checking out this event space. We were so happy we found it after looking at so many places around the downtown Kansas City area. We planned our entire wedding from out of town and the ladies we worked with at The Bauer were incredibly helpful. They were laid-back but extremely professional at the same time. Some of the main things we loved about this space were that we could bring in whatever food and drinks we wanted, it was in our price range to rent out, and the rustic-elegant space itself has a theme of it's own - you don't need a ton of decorations. We were so happy with everything about The Bauer.
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 12/06/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I knew the first time we walked into the Bauer that we would celebrate our wedding there. It is a beautiful event space in the Crossroads and it has an excellent view of both downtown and midtown (in their Parlour space). We loved the flexibility we had with the space - we could bring in our own vendors, we could rent our tables/chairs/bars from them, and we could have a great party in their large 3rd floor space. The space itself is so unique with strands of cafe lights from the ceiling & interesting details on the walls. We loved the "bride" and "groom" rooms which were a great place to refresh and get ready. They were incredible easy to work with and will help make your dream day come true. We love the Bauer!
  • User2033874 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This is a beautiful old building freshly remodeled! Such a neat and unique space to have a wedding. We loved the big windows and brick walls. All of the staff was so wonderful in making sure that everything for our big day was just right and that everything was going according to plan! We had a couple of different meetings with them and we were planning from across the country but they were always an email away and very helpful in answering any of our questions. The bride and groom rooms are decorated so beautifully! We loved having this venue for our wedding!
  • R
    Rebecca Married on 05/17/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I had always wanted to get married at the what used to be The Arts Incubator, but when they shut down, we figured that would never happen. Much to our surprise The Bauer opened right when we were beginning our venue search and we couldn't have been happier!

    Ashlee and the team at The Bauer were amazing to work with throughout the process, very helpful and accommodating. The space is gorgeous (I can't emphasize that enough) with amazing views and great attention to detail. Would definitely recommend this space to any couple looking for a venue!
  • T
    Tori Married on 02/09/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I found The Bauer randomly while searching for different affordable venues in Kansas City and let me tell you. This gem is a diamond in the rough. Not many know about it but once my now husband and I set foot in the event space we knew there was no turning back. The exposed brick, beautiful skyline, bay windows and hardwood floors engulfed us in the most wondrous wedding aroma. The staff has been friendly, available and most important of all patient. The cost too was EXTREMELY affordable but did not diminish the quality of service or integrity of the venue you definitely get more then you pay for.
  • C
    Cris Married on 11/25/2016
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wow. Just wow. Everything with The Bauer was perfect. I received may compliments on the venue and Chelsey made planning a breeze. She was incredibly responsive and accommodating to all of my requests. The venue was exactly what I was looking for - charming without the need for a ton of decorations, allowed me to bring in food from an unlicensed kitchen and didn't require a bartender. The venue cost was a little more than I had wanted to pay but it was still well worth the money.
  • L
    Lauren Married on 11/01/2014
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    We recently had our wedding at the Bauer and it was everything I could have asked for. Leading up to the day, the venue would email all the upcoming brides updates on what was going on (new rentals that were available, what was going on around venue space for picture ideas, etc.), which I thought was very helpful. The space has large windows throughout the whole space overlooking downtown Kansas City, and the room on the west side of the building (which you can reserve for an extra cost) was perfect as the sun was going down during our cocktail hour. One of my favorite parts was the bride's room and the groom's room, which are both adorable and perfect for pictures. There is a large mirror with big bright lights in the bride's room, which was perfect for doing hair and makeup. We had the hairdressers come to the venue and it worked out great - the bathroom is also attached to the bride's room so there is plenty of space for everyone to get ready without being seen. My only complaint was completely out of the venue's control - we wanted an October wedding but they were already booked over a year out! Can't blame them for being popular :)
  • J
    Jessica Married on 06/15/2014
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The minute we walked into the Bauer, we were itching to sign for the space. The intimate loft with beautiful wood floors, bistro lighting, exposed brick and amazing view of the KC skyline would have been beautiful without any added decoration at all. It was perfect for our smaller, quirky wedding. We could not have picked a better backdrop for our big day.

    They also let you bring in your own caterer, which was essential for following dietary restrictions for all of our Muslim guests. The event staff was super helpful throughout the event - especially in figuring out the sound system, the projector for our slide show, etc.

    When we signed our contract, we were working with Ashlee Broome as our contact for any and all questions and planning involving the venue. She was incredibly professional and helpful, but she went on maternity leave in January (congratulations!!). Our only complaint (and I mean ONLY, this venue is AMAZING) is that we would have preferred to have her as our lead when the wedding day arrived in June; her replacement was fine, just not at the same level of professionalism.
  • Taylor
    Taylor B. Married on 11/13/2021
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing venue

    My husband and I could not have been more thrilled with our experience with The Bride and The Bauer! The staff (particularly Emily!) were incredibly responsive and helpful throughout the process, and the venue itself is STUNNING. The brides' and grooms' rooms were a fantastic touch with extraordinary design finishes, and we loved that we had the flexibility to book our own caterer and arrive early with enough time to decorate. And the location is PHENOMENAL, a block from the KC Streetcar and surrounded by gorgeous industrial buildings with plenty of culture and personality! I cannot recommend this venue enough!
  • M
    Michelle Married on 02/01/2014
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding reception at the Bauer and were completely charmed from start to finish. Ashley and her team are very organized and thorough and the site itself has been renovated beautifully. We enjoyed a beautiful skyline view over Kansas City with a bit of light snow cover. The staff was available throughout the event and they were attentive to deal with things like trash, elevator, temperature, parking, security, etc.. The venue allowed us to bring in outside catering and alcohol and we were able to easily decorate that morning as well. We rented tables and chairs on site as well as their handcrafted cocktail tables and bar units which were beautiful touches. This space was exciting to introduce our guests to and as an added bonus there were very stylized bride and groom rooms on site for us to relax and prepare in.
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message