The Boathouse at Mercer Lake Reviews

22 | Princeton Junction, NJ
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for The Boathouse at Mercer Lake

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

22

7 User photos

Order by:
  • Kristen

    Kristen Roskey · Married on 09/26/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Dream Come True

    My husband and I fell in love with the atmosphere when we first arrived. Not only is the venue itself amazing but the staff is incredible. They did anything and everything they could to make sure our day was everything we dreamt of. The food was absolutely delicious and the service was spectacular! Special shout out to Sonya who was amazing and supportive during the whole process especially because we had to postpone twice. The Boathouse will always have a special place in my heart.

    Sent on 10/12/2020
  • J

    jess · Married on 05/24/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The boathouse at Mercer lake was amazing

    The venue was beautiful, everything was executed with style and the food was great! The lake in the background made for a perfect wedding day . Sonya was great to work with

    Sent on 09/19/2019
  • Nicole

    Nicole Lagoeiro · Married on 11/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful wedding

    Our wedding was this past November at the Boathouse at Mercer Lake and it was absolutely beautiful! We worked with Sonya who was an absolute dream to work with. She was quick to respond to all of our questions and made sure we got everything we requested before, during and after our wedding. Our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception were all amazing. The food was FANTASTIC. Staff were beyond nice and accommodating. Beautiful amazing venue!!!

    Sent on 12/23/2018
  • B

    Brad · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Boathouse at Mercer Lake gave us the absolute perfect wedding venue. It was everything we were looking for and it couldn't have surpassed our expectations any more than it did! Everything was perfect on the actual day, and the staff, decor, service, and aesthetics were all on point. The Gazebo made for a perfect spot for our ceremony... and our food, don't even get me started. It was UNREAL! Daniela, Sonya, Erin and the staff took care of our every need leading up to and on our big day, and we can't picture our special day having happened anywhere else. Book your wedding here. You won't be sorry.

    Sent on 08/13/2018
  • M

    Marissa · Married on 05/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was on May 20, 2018. From the first visit, our experience with the Boathouse at Mercer Lake was a dream. Daniela was our event coordinator and she made the whole process very smooth. We live in Michigan, so we communicated a lot via e-mail. She completely understood our vision and answered all of our questions in a timely manner. The space is beautiful and the park is lovely for pictures. The staff was attentive and were always happy to help in any way they could. There is only one wedding at a time, so your party has the whole space. Wedding planning can be stressful, but the Boathouse team ensured a beautiful day for me, my husband, and our loved ones.

    Sent on 08/24/2018
  • C

    Christine · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Couldn’t have asked for anything more!

    We had our wedding at the Boat House on September 20, 2019. It was everything we wanted!! We were having a nautical themed wedding and the Boat House was perfect! We met with Sonya and told her everything that we were looking for. From start to finish, Sonya made everything so easy!! Our day was perfect! The setting, the food...absolute perfection! Our guests are still talking about how much fun they had and how delicious the food was! I would definitely recommend the Boat House.

    Sent on 11/18/2019
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 05/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at the Boathouse on 5/5. The ceremony was beautiful, the cocktail hour had amazing food, and the reception space was gorgeous. All of the service was amazing and flawless. As the bride, I had wine and cheese waiting for me before the ceremony. They also made sure I did not see my groom until the ceremony. During cocktail hour hors d'oeuvres and drinks were sent to the bridal suite for myself, the groom, and the bridal party. The buffet lines were not long during the reception. Everyone complimented the food, especially the BBQ station. As the bride and groom, we had 3 plates of buffet food on our table waiting for us. Our water and wine glasses were always filled. Everyone working there had a smile on their face and was very accommodating to needs, especially my gluten allergy. They were able to make as many food items gluten free for me as they could. Sonya and Daniella were always there to help. They answered every email and phone call promptly to get us what we needed. We had an incident where there was a boat race was happening and spectators were refusing to leave the ceremony/picnic area and Sonya went above and beyond to make sure the area was cleared for us. We cannot say enough about how great of a job Sonya did to make sure we were never stressed and had everything we could possibly need or want for our special day. We highly recommend this venue.

    Sent on 05/07/2018
  • Anna-Lee

    Anna-Lee · Married on 10/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pros: Beautiful Facility. Responsive, flexible staff, that will go above and beyond the call of duty. Lots of menu choices, comes with wedding cake. Great caterer and bar staff.
    Cons: Fairly expensive. (We had 100 guests on a Sunday, ceremony onsite, plated dinner with no additions around $17,500)
    TLDR; Book here if you want to plan your wedding with a responsive, professional staff in a lovely ballroom with lots of natural light.
    --
    Our wedding was Sunday October 1st, 2017 at 3pm- we booked this venue for both the ceremony and the reception in early December of 2016. Our onsite coordinator was Daniela Composto, and she is an absolute dream to work with! She thoroughly explained what the venue could offer and was incredibly flexible about customization. After visiting our other top choices in the area we knew this was the place.

    Over the last year she really helped us as we refined what we wanted from the day. When we weren't 100% satisfied with the appetizers we tried at our tasting, she arranged for us to attend a second tasting, where we not only tried new appetizers but also different entrees and cocktails. On the day of, the food and the cocktails were absolutely delicious!! (The staff had appetizers and champagne waiting for us in the bridal suite after the ceremony, and they made sure we had a little undisturbed time to eat our entrees during the reception.)

    From start to finish The Boathouse at Mercer Lake and their staff far exceeded our expectations in service. We could not possibly have been more taken care of during the planning phase and on the day of the wedding. I would absolutely book an event here again.


    Sent on 10/12/2017
  • N

    Noelle · Married on 09/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at the Boathouse on 9-22-17 and it was absolutely breathtaking. The weather could not have been more perfect, so we had our ceremony outside at the gazebo, and the view was truly stunning. Our cocktail hour was out on the deck, and the set up was perfect for our wedding of 100 people. The food during both the cocktail hour and reception was excellent. The ballroom was a great size for our wedding, and offered beautiful views of the lake. We also did a dessert station with cakes and waffles and ice cream, which was a huge hit with our guests. Our guests are still raving about everything, from the breathtaking view from the deck, to the quality and quantity of food.


    We worked with Lindsay, Daniela, and Sonya who were all extremely responsive to emails, answered any questions we had, and did everything they could to accommodate our requests. Our Maitre'd, Alex, was absolutely fantastic. He was extremely attentive at both the rehearsal and wedding, and frequently checked in on us, the bridal party, and our vendors to make sure we had everything we needed. Our bridal attendant, Alyssa, was also amazing, and took wonderful care of us that night. We highly recommend the Boathouse for you wedding or next event!!

    Sent on 10/14/2017
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Due to special circumstances (my husband is in the military), we decided to plan our wedding in a very short time frame. Luckily, the Boathouse was available on our wedding date and they worked with our schedule and budget! The beautiful property speaks for itself and once we toured the venue we knew we made the right choice! From our first meeting until our wedding date, Daniela, our wedding coordinator, went above and beyond to accommodate all of our requests and was very responsive to my inquiries. Daniela was extremely friendly and professional, along with Erin and Jen and the rest of the staff. The reception was perfect and our guests had a fantastic time. If you are looking for a unique setting with excellent service and food, I would highly recommend the Boathouse at Mercer Lake!

    Sent on 09/24/2017
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 04/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at the Boathouse in April. Lindsay, our wedding coordinator, was extremely helpful and flexible. The groom and I don't eat meat and she was able to accommodate our requests and offer vegetarian and vegan options as well as meat options for the other guests. The food was really, really good. The venue itself is absolutely gorgeous. The wall of windows lets in a ton of light, the deck is perfect with a stunning view of the lake, even the chairs are pretty. Everything was set up for us when we arrived on our wedding day and we had to do minimal work. We dropped everything off (guest book, centerpiece stuff, favors, signs, etc.) the night before and they put everything together perfectly. Lindsay and her staff even filled in the table with candles and little details to round out the centerpieces. I had such a fun time at the wedding. I didn't worry about anything, the bridal attendant was the best and everything was taken care of. I would definitely recommend the Boathouse and Landmark catering. Also, the custom cake that was included in the package was gorgeous and delicious.

    Sent on 05/08/2017
  • M

    michael · Married on 10/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the best time at our wedding. Lindsay was amazing to work with, she was so easy to get along with and made planning our wedding that much easier. I would recommend the Boathouse at Mercer lake to anyone. The venue was awesome and gorgeous. After we first saw it, we knew we had to book it. We wouldn't have wanted to have our wedding anywhere else. If anyone is looking for a great venue, this is the place. Make sure you ask for Lindsay!!!!

    Sent on 10/30/2016
  • I

    Irma · Married on 09/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was just married at the Boathouse and can not say enough good things!! Lindsey was amazing to work with she was so accommodating and helpful, which made the whole wedding planning process a lot easier. The food and drinks were also amazing and the boathouse overlooking the lake is just breathtaking!! So glad we picked the Boathouse for our big day!!

    Sent on 10/06/2016
  • M

    Miranda · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Boathouse at Mercer Lake was the perfect venue for our September wedding. Lindsay, the event stylist was awesome and she was there for us from start to finish, with all of our concerns. The food was wonderful, as well as all the staff. The venue is in a beautiful location and alive with energy. Our wedding day was truly everything we hoped for! Thank you Lindsay and Boathouse staff !!

    Sent on 09/14/2016
  • Sarah Huah

    Sarah · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The boathouse was the perfect place for our wedding. Lindsay went above and beyond. She made everything we wanted possible. She is dependable, easy to reach, and on top of everything, very professional. Could not have asked for a more beautiful venue as well as friendly and helpful staff. Lindsay and the staff made the entire experience stress free. Received just as positive compliments from guests that attended the wedding.

    Sent on 09/16/2016
  • C

    Christa · Married on 04/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot say enough about how outstanding The Boathouse was. It was a truly magical experience made only better by the attentive staff (Lindsay is phenomenal!!!!), delicious food and spectacular views of the lake. We felt honored to have our wedding at this venue after the rebuild and friends and family were truly in awe from the moment they walked out on the pier to the gazebo for the ceremony, to living it up on the dance floor up until the very last seconds of the night. If we had a chance to do it all over again and stop time, we would go back to the Boathouse to relive the best night of our lives.

    Sent on 04/18/2016
  • Cara

    Cara Bramson · Married on 08/10/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Venue and Great Experience!

    Our wedding in August at the Boathouse at Mercer Lake was absolutely perfect. We had the ceremony in the gazebo, the cocktail hour on the deck, and the reception in the ballroom. If you are looking for a place that has it all - elegance w/o being stuffy, delicious food, ample space to dance, and beautiful scenery, then look no further! Sonya was a pleasure to work with from start to finish. She was always attentive to email and guided me and my husband through the entire planning process. She is a true professional, kept us at ease, and we knew we were in good hands with her. The staff the night of the wedding was also fabulous, attentive, and professional. I highly recommend the Boathouse to any couple looking for something truly special and unique.

    Sent on 09/02/2019
  • A

    Amy · Married on 05/27/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hosted our wedding at the Boathouse in May and worked with Daniela as our venue coordinator. Daniela was very responsive to email and always very courteous. She responded to our questions promptly and sent us copies of our contact any time we needed to make revisions. She also let us customize our menu to better fit our budget. Overall, we are very pleased with the level of professionalism and service at the Boathouse. The venue itself was also recently renovated so it is modern with floor to ceiling windows that overlook the lake. If I could offer one critique, it would be with the food. We thought the food was fine but nothing to write home about. The food we tasted at the food tasting was better than the food served on the wedding day, but that may have been due to the sheer quantity of food that needed to be prepared for the wedding. Overall, we are happy that we went with the Boathouse and believe Daniela and the staff did an excellent job making our wedding day run smoothly.

    Sent on 06/02/2018
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 10/07/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVED the Boat House at Mercer Lake for our wedding venue! The staff was super hands on and the food was tasty. Especially that sushi bar! All of our guests raved the venue, sushi bar and overall lake side, nautical atmosphere. Daniela our coordinator was great. She answered every email and question quickly, was kind and worked to make every detail perfect. We defiantly recommend this venue for a wedding

    Sent on 11/05/2017
  • A

    Amy · Married on 05/19/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My family and I had a great experience working with Sonya at the Boathouse. My husband and I do not live in the area, and she was able to make sure any in-person meetings and the tasting were able to happen on weekends when we would already be in the area.

    The food was DELICIOUS and we got many compliments. We highly recommend adding on the breakfast sandwich station for the end of the wedding. They were also great about working with food allergies, which is a relief since I myself have allergies. A 3-tier cake from Palermos is included in the price of the venue, which was also great and simplified things.

    The venue itself is beautiful and open, with a great outdoor space when the weather is nice. The cocktail hour had to be moved inside due to the weather and that was a little cramped because we had a lot of guests. The Boathouse definitely made it work the best that they could.

    The only negative we had was we thought we were told when we signed our contract that no other events would be held that day, but as we got closer to the wedding and were planning for set up, it turned out that a morning event was being held that kept our florist from getting into the venue as early as we had planned. We made it work, but would definitely recommend getting clarity on that if family/guests are helping with any of the venue decorations, flowers, etc.

    Sent on 09/16/2018
  • Kelsey

    Kelsey Ford · Married on 07/14/2018

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful venue for a simple summer wedding!

    From the moment we got engaged, my husband and I knew we wanted to have our reception at the Boathouse. We loved the feel of the county park, the view of the lake, and the simple elegance of the room. It was exactly the right amount of not-too-formal but still upscale that we wanted for our summer wedding. We were happy to hear some glowing reviews of the Boathouse from friends, and they weren't wrong. The package included a bridal suite, catering, the cake, a full open bar, tables, chairs, linens, and even menus! The food was EXCELLENT, and the whole day went off without a problem. We were blessed with perfect weather to enjoy the cocktail hour out on the deck and enjoy the full view of the sunset over the lake through the glass windows in the reception room. It was truly the perfect day.

    My only (small) complaint is that the Boathouse changed our coordinator three times throughout our planning process, finally landing on the one who ended up actually doing our wedding only a couple of months before the actual day of our wedding. This made the planning process slightly more difficult for us, since many details were lost in the transition between coordinators and left us feeling like we weren't fully being communicated with. Overall, it was still the perfect place for us to have our wedding and we would still recommend the Boathouse to our friends. Thank you Boathouse!

    Sent on 10/27/2018
  • J

    Jacqueline · Married on 10/12/2019

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Beautiful venue but very poor service

    The venue location has a pretty view and the food was good. However I had a recent wedding there and the service by the staff was terrible for the ceremony rehearsal and the wedding day. First of all, for our ceremony rehearsal we had a staff member who was not our wedding coordinator and could care less how the rehearsal went or any of the details. The staff member who was suppose to guide us through our rehearsal was 30 minutes late to the rehearsal. Luckily our Pastor was extremely organized and ran the entire rehearsal ceremony himself. The day of the wedding we were assigned a maitre d' who we never worked with before and did not know any of the details of our wedding. Neither my coordinator nor maitre d' knew our processional order, although we sent it weeks in advance. My bridal party and I were checking times and were the ones to line up and say it is time to go down. During the cocktail hour my husband and I were taking photos. However we were never asked if we wanted any of the cocktail hour food. One of my bridesmaids brought us a plate from the cocktail hour, none of the staff did, staff didn't even ask us. Apparently my mother said during the cocktail hour the food was running low and the staff was extremely slow to replenish it (probably intentionally to save money on their end). My mother had to ask the staff to replenish plates during the cocktail hour as well. When it was time for the reception one of our tables was missing a seat and plate, although we sent table arrangements and number of people at each table way in advance to the staff. During dessert they would not refill the Venetian desserts, although they promised me in advance everything would be refilled on multiple occasions. I barely saw our coordinator after we were introduced at the reception. However my bridesmaid did see she was meeting with other couples (to sell them on getting married there) during our reception in the side office. I honestly felt we could of gone without the maitre'd (which was $250 extra) and wedding coordinator assigned by the venue and the wedding day would of gone the same. I luckily had an extremely helpful and hands on bridal party and all my other vendors were very very organized. One last thing, the staff at the boathouse does not dress professionally at all. They were wearing tight leggings and a scarf on my wedding day, which just is not professional. Several of my bridal party even commented how they were dressed too casual and it was unprofessional. The Boathouse is a wedding "mill" trying to cram in as many weddings and events as possible at their venue to make money. Before the wedding, for months we went over every detail with them extensively, but they only followed about half of those instructions on the day of the wedding. By the wedding day we had paid them for everything and I felt they really made minimal effort the day of the wedding.

    Sent on 10/22/2019