The Bluestone Reviews

16 | Columbus, OH
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for The Bluestone

Recommended by 98%

16
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

2 User photos

The Bluestone 1
The Bluestone 2
Sort by:
  • Kahley

    Kahley · Married on 04/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was perfect!

    I could not say one bad thing about this venue... everything ran smoothly and went above and beyond expectations. Kayla was my coordinator and she pretty much helped me plan everything with the venue, from organizing the seating chart to helping me set everything up before the rehearsal. This venue is naturally beautiful and full of character so in my opinion you don’t have to do much as far as decorations go. You can’t go wrong with this place!!

    Sent on 05/06/2019
    The Bluestone 3
    The Bluestone 4
  • A

    Abbey · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow! This was one of the best decisions we made for our big day. I worked with Jess Savage as my wedding coordinator and she was phenomenal. From scheduling meetings to last minute details, she was friendly, responsive, and professional. And I had A LOT of questions! The day of, my fiance was feeling car sick from the party bus. One of the waitresses, Debbie, promptly found him and gave him some ginger ale. Jess also sought him out personally to make sure he was feeling better.

    During dinner, our waitress was always there to replenish our drinks and bring out whatever we needed. And the food was delicious!!

    After dinner, Debbie continued to provide drinks for our parents, before they asked for it. She knew everyone's name by the end of the night! Debbie even cut a rug with one of our guests. She was awesome. We highly recommend The Bluestone to anyone!

    Sent on 08/16/2017
  • S

    Shea · Married on 04/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Bluestone held a lot of significance to my husband and I so we wanted to have our wedding day revolve around our favorite place. The Bluestone has so much character and depth and was absolutely gorgeous for the traditional ceremony we wanted. While the staff flipped the space (amazingly fast!), our 280 guests got to enjoy cocktail hour on the patio before dinner. The reception was beautifully laid out and, following dinner and traditions, became a hot dance party for our fun and crazy college friends. You really can't find a more perfect party venue in Columbus! The staff is outstanding- they are what make the venue exceed 5 stars!! Sarah is a sweetheart and a superstar coordinator- there are no small details that she misses! She will help in any way she can, always going above and beyond. Her finesse and guidance are what helped me as the bride trust the wedding day would be smooth sailing. Jess was also a joy to work with and was extremely kind and knowledgeable. Debbie is one of the servers, and is just wonderful! She made sure the bridesmaids and I were taken care of 24/7 and told us if we were having fun, her "old bones" were having fun. She is the sweetest, spunkiest, most attentive gal and also waited on the parents/ families during the reception. Our parents are still in love with her! The bartenders were also fantastic and had great personalities the guests really enjoyed. The food was delicious, service first class, and unique atmosphere unbeatable. Guests have been raving about it nonstop! Our wedding was everything we had hoped for and more. The Bluestone is worth every dollar spent!

    Sent on 04/30/2017
  • T

    Trisha · Married on 07/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Exceptional attention to detail......and let ME (the Mother of the Bride & Wedding Planner) finally breathe! Sara is fantastic to work with and remembers EVERYTHING! All of the staff are just tremendous and felt like good friends by the end of the evening. My hubby and I were so happy with the staff after our daughter's wedding, we purchased them gift cards...now that's saying something. The venue was a perfect fit for a couple who doesn't go to church & loves music. That was Brit & Ian <3

    Sent on 09/30/2016
  • H

    Heather · Married on 04/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have asked for a better place to get married. My wedding planner, Sarah, was phenomenal, she answered every question I had mostly before I even asked it. She was there all night and dealt with my crazy family. If there was a problem she was sure not to get me involved or stress me out. She and the Bluestone made sure my wedding was perfect, and for that, I am so grateful.

    Sent on 03/09/2017
  • User5429585 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stunning wedding venue! Definitely more than enough space to accommodate our large families. When lit for the reception the place was absolutely breathtaking. Thanks to the hardworking staff!

    Sent on 09/12/2015
  • User4183043 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Bluestone was amazing and was the sole reason that our wedding was such a success. Everyone in the staff is amazing; from Sarah and Jess, who were coordinators, to the head waitress who served us our tasting, to the bartenders and helpers, everyone went above and beyond to help us create our vision. I had nothing to worry about the day of my wedding because they had it all taken care of and made my vision above and beyond what I could have creatively articulated. The food at the Bluestone is amazing and you get a lot for your value, while still having a creative license to make your meal reflective of you as a couple (if you're as food-obsessed as my husband and I.) They have such unique things as pasta bars, BURGER bars, and s'mores. All of these made our wedding unique and I never felt as if I was subjecting my guests to a miserable meal. Just the layout of the Bluestone lends itself to a party, and there is so much space to make the venue uniquely yours in any variety. We spent well under 20,000 in food, drink, and venue (including ceremony space) for 200 people, and we didn't even cut as many costs where we could have. For how much FUN of a party it was, I consider this ridiculously reasonable. You won't regret it!

    Sent on 09/10/2015
  • K

    Kim · Married on 05/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Bluestone is absolutely the most perfect venue for a wedding in Columbus! We were looking for a venue that would not be your typical "cookie cutter" wedding, and the Bluestone exceeded our wildest dreams for how beautiful, elegant, romantic, and FUN our wedding would be! There is no other venue that provides the beautiful architecture, stained glass, vaulted ceilings, and history like the Bluestone. We received so many compliments as people were in awe of how amazing the venue was, from the food, bar, and servers to the ambiance and architecture! One of the best parts about the Bluestone is the flexibility of the space. We were able to design the layout and flow of the reception tables the way we envisioned, and bring in our own decor and lighting in which the staff so creatively used to decorate the entire venue. With the abundance of space and different rooms in the venue, there's no end to what you can design for your reception. We were even able to have our after party in the upstairs Great Room -- until 2am! They even let us bring in Raising Cane's for a midnight snack, which no other venue in Columbus would allow us to do! I truly believe no two weddings at the Bluestone would be the same, as they work with you to bring your dream wedding to life. This is what I loved about the Bluestone, and why I would highly recommend it to anyone getting married in Columbus! Sarah Downs is truly one of the best parts of the Bluestone. She is so wonderful, professional and friendly, super responsive and will do whatever she can to make your dream come true. She made me feel like I was the only bride she was working with, and our wedding was her top priority -- what bride doesn't want to feel that way? Sarah and the Bluestone staff are truly superior when it comes to event planning and execution. If you are looking to have the most fabulous and amazing wedding that people will be talking about for years and years to come, then don't even hesitate a second to book!

    Sent on 11/06/2015
  • User3698813 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely loved The Bluestone as my wedding venue! It was a large area, with space for everyone. We did our ceremony there as well because the space was so beautiful! Sarah was an amazing help!!

    Sent on 07/24/2014
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 05/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We do not have enough good things to say about The Bluestone and their staff. Sarah Downs was absolutely wonderful to work with. From working with me very early on to keep our budget in mind, letting me come in the venue throughout our year leading up to the wedding with friends and family to take a look/discuss decorating ideas, answering alllll my questions honestly and promptly, giving me advice and recommendations, always being available... and going above and beyond on the wedding day. I had a lot of extra lace that we didn't have a chance to use with decorations. While I was busy with hair/makeup/photos and had completely moved on from any decorating, Sarah used that extra lace on our head table for the reception, on the buffet for dinner, and maybe other places... and reused our cocktail hour flowers...it pulled everything together even more beautifully than I had imagined. Plus, when I needed double-sided tape, Jess (another Bluestone planner) ran out to CVS and got it for me... literally within minutes. It's those "little" details that really set Sarah and The Bluestone apart.

    During the reception, one of the staff members really stood out - Debbie. She was so energetic, fun and helpful. The moment my hand didn't have a drink in it, Deb was bringing me (and all my family/bridal party!) a new one. She was so fun, and multiple people commented on her energy and speediness!

    The venue is breathtaking. It speaks for itself. The convenience of using the building all day was so nice. We could leisurely get ready, hang out, eat and drink. I was relaxed, comfortable, and completely trusted the staff to ensure everything was how we discussed. Our wedding was perfect - in large part due to The Bluestone, Sarah Downs and the rest of the staff. If you're looking for a wedding venue in Columbus (especially if you want ceremony/reception in the same venue), you should absolutely go with The Bluestone.

    Sent on 06/08/2014
  • A

    Amber · Married on 10/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Bluestone staff were amazing! Sarah always quickly responded to my questions and concerns during the planning process and went above and beyond the call of duty to make my day special. I couldn't have asked for anything better in an event venue!

    Sent on 10/07/2013
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I fell in love with the Bluestone on our first visit. It was perfect parts rockstar for him and historic building/church for me. The Bluestone staff were excellent. They took care of everything for us so I didn't need to worry about anything. I enjoyed the party knowing all my guests were taken care of.

    We had just over 200 people at our reception, and the two-level sanctuary and loft space made the reception feel intimate while hosting so many people. We loved that we had the flexibility of using the whole building for the entire day.

    Sarah was our coordinator, and it was a pleasure working with her. She was very responsive, flexible, and thorough. Everything we asked her for was a possibility.

    Every staff member working our reception was welcoming and helpful. My parents and my husband's parents raved about the staff member helping them at their table, and the woman who helped the head table was always happy to get us anything we needed.

    The food was delicious! We chose the flank steak, Boursin chicken, and the vegetable strudel accompanied by green beans and the spicy spinach orzo. I liked the flexibility we had with the menu. The Bluestone was able to accommodate the many food allergies and dietary restrictions we had among our group. We had several wedding party members with gluten allergies so we had a gluten-free cake along with our regular cake. While we displayed the regular cake slices rather than serving them, the Bluestone made sure that each person who couldn't eat gluten received a piece of the gluten-free cake delivered to their table.

    I strongly recommend you choose the Bluestone. My husband and I had an amazingly fun wedding and you will too!

    Sent on 10/15/2012
  • T

    Tracy · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My reception was amazing here!!

    Sent on 01/10/2013
  • K

    Karolina · Married on 12/10/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough wonderful things about The Bluestone. From setting up the decor, to the amazing food and the amazing staff, the Bluestone was top-notch. I knew we had a great venue when we picked them, but then Sarah went above and beyond with everything. We had so many questions and she answered every single one of them. She was so patient with all of our requests. She is so friendly that even our vendors love working with her. Everything went so smoothly. We had recently married guests say they were amazed at how organized the entire event was and how smoothly everything ran. We received nothing but compliments from all of our wedding guests about the food. The servers, bartenders and even security were professional yet friendly and so attentive. We are just completely blown away. Thank you Bluestone!!

    Sent on 12/15/2017
  • S

    Sam · Married on 07/08/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Having our wedding at The Bluestone was hands-down the best decision we made throughout all of our planning! The venue is absolutely gorgeous (a two-story former church that is now a concert/special event venue). We decided to have our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception there. Not only did every one of our guests have a view, but the sound quality is amazing since they have concert-quality speakers hanging above the stage. We have been to so many weddings where we weren’t able to see the first dance or hear the toasts, but The Bluestone puts all those worries to bed. It was easy for the DJ to hook up to the sound system and actually saved us some money since the DJ didn’t have to transport his own speakers. We worked with Sarah and she was the best wedding coordinator we could have asked for. You could tell she was extremely experienced and knew exactly what she was doing, from our first meeting with her to days after the wedding. She joined us for rehearsal the night before, was active in communication with us, our DJ, our photographer, and anyone else who had questions. We are so thankful for her and Carin! Our only complaint were two bartenders that were fairly rude to our guests. We had several people complain about the same two bartenders. The food was phenomenal…all of our guests raved about how great the hors d'oeuvres and dinner were. Overall, we are so happy we had our wedding at The Bluestone and would love if we could replay it one more time!

    Sent on 07/14/2017
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 09/24/2011

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our ceremony at the Bluestone and were very impressed with the way they treated us. I was a bit concerened with the transition they made after booking them as they were changing their name and transitioning themselves to more of an event center. The transition was smooth and we ended up working with great people who were more responsive than the first woman we worked with when the facility was called BoMA.

    We were able to take a big creative license in decorating the facility and the Bluestone staff was very nice to help us with anything we needed. We thought the room would be a bit dark, but with the lighting the Bluestone provides it really brightens the space so don't let that turn you away!

    We ran into a little snag with an event scheduled the same time as our rehersal, but the staff was able to provide another space for us. The only other problem we had was the bridal enterance song being wrong, but that easily could have been my fault as I put together the music for the event. The sound guy was able to download the song we wanted, but my dad and I were still fashionably late by about 3 minutes. (It is a fun story to tell now!)

    The day of the wedding, we were the only event while we were there. We were able to use multiple rooms throughout the facility which made it nice for getting ready and having all the hair and makeup vendors come to that facility. It was also nice to have the girls on the top floor and the guys on the ground floor so that my husband and I did not see each other (or didn't have to worry about accidentally seeing each other) before the ceremony.

    You cannot go wrong with this beautiful facility. My husband and I chose it because of it's beautiful architecture they maintained from when it was a church. We used our decoration to enhance what the facility already had to offer. I had a friend who helped set up our decor and the Bluestone provided all the chairs and large pieces. I recomment having someone help you as I was able to focus on getting ready! We worked with Sarah and a little with Tiffany and they were both extremely helpful and professional!

    Sent on 10/15/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review