The BARN at Liberty Farms Reviews

35 | Ghent, NY
See photos, pricing and details

35 Reviews for The BARN at Liberty Farms

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

35

22 User photos

Sort by:
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I knew that we wanted a barn wedding and had originally planned on a more rustic feel. But when we went to visit, we instantly knew it was the place. The pictures online are beautiful but in person the barn will blow you away. We were lucky enough to grab a date at the end of August and even before we signed the contract, we entered a great relationship with their staff. From start to finish, Danni, Blanche, and Mark were beyond helpful, accommodating, and just overall incredible people. They lightened my planning by making things seamless, less stressful, and dare I say it, fun. They checked in regularly without ever feeling overbearing, they offered great ideas/inspo, they always responded promptly. I have nothing but kind words for them all - thank you for bringing my dream wedding to life!!!

    Sent on 09/20/2017

    The BARN at Liberty Farms's reply:

    Jessica,

    What a lovely review. We enjoyed the whole process also - it was such a wonderful and memorable day, and we are honored to have been part of it. Welcome to the BARN family! From all of us at Liberty Farms - Thank you.
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 07/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Positively magical venue. The space alone would have been fastastic; the farm and barn are breathtakingly beautiful and so well maintained. But the staff was also incredible from booking through the day of the wedding. They helped us find vendors, gave us floor plans, and added so many details that we never would have thought of, all of which helped the night go perfectly. Couldn't be happier.

    Sent on 08/20/2017
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 06/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would recommend the Barn at Liberty Farms to everyone! It was the most magical day. The staff was so accommodating and they made sure my day was amazing!!!! I want to relive the day over and over and over again. Seriously, best place to have a wedding. Hands down!

    Sent on 09/26/2017
  • G

    Gina · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Before the wedding, Bev, Mark, and Danni were absolutely wonderful to work with. Such nice people!! They even had a country house for us to reserve for some of our guests. The barn- It was the most beautiful place to Have a special event. So many areas to have a creative and fun wedding! We had cocktail hour outside, with garden games in the yards, then a photobooth in the stalls, with a bar in the other stall- so clean, so chic, so cool. Best wedding ever! Thank you all!!

    Sent on 10/01/2017
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue was the perfect setting for our wedding this past August. We loved the lush, beautifully manicured outdoor space which we utilized for our ceremony and cocktail hour. And then hosted dinner and dancing in the barn later in the evening. We used the horse stalls to house the bars, a seating lounge, and a photo booth area. We opted for both the golf cart/driver to assist our guests and the fire pit for late night s'mores. The bathrooms are exquisite and the location was just a few miles from the city of Hudson, Amtrak, and the Taconic Parkway. The staff was a pleasure to work with, helping my coordinator and myself with ideas and walk-throughs. I highly recommend this stunning rustic, yet elegant setting.

    Sent on 12/02/2016
  • J

    Joey · Married on 07/20/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    July 2019 wedding

    Overall The Barn was a fantastic wedding venue. Blanche (site manager) was available The entire weekend and there weren’t any requests where she said ‘no.’ If she wasn’t sure about something, she went and found out and got back to us right away. Our wedding was during a massive heat wave and she helped us adjust our plan seamlessly to accommodate people inside for the majority of the evening.

    A few reasons we didn’t give it 5 stars. We did run into a few issues leading up to the event with the back end staff. Our names were spelled incorrectly twice on the initial contract and while not a huge deal, it wasn’t exactly how we wanted to kick off our planning and spending quite a bit of money with the venue. However what was very frustrating is 3 days before the event we received an email saying the our floor plan wouldn’t work because their tables couldn’t accommodate the amount of people we had placed at certain tables, even though the software they provided to us allowed it. Long story short it all worked out in the end and they covered the cost of renting larger tables, but it seemed a pretty big deal that floor plan software they had us use didn’t accurately reflect the pieces they owned.

    Sent on 08/14/2019
  • R

    Rachel S. · Married on 06/15/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful space and a great team!

    My husband and I got married at the BARN this past weekend and cannot recommend it highly enough. As an initial matter, the space is beautiful and so dynamic. It was large enough to be its own rain plan, but intimate enough to make our wedding feel personal. We felt like we didn’t need to do any decorating, but nonetheless were able to get really creative and customize the main room and the horse stalls in each wing. And the grounds are beautiful as well – we were lucky enough to have nice weather and the lawns and bonfire added so much to our (and our guests’) experiences. On top of all that, the space has everything you need – there are bathrooms and parking on site, AC and heat, prep rooms for bride and groom. So, just a very beautiful and functional space – the complete package.

    But there’s more. Throughout the entire planning process to the event itself, Blanche and Danni were irreplaceable. So responsive, supportive and organized. From our first site visit to the morning after the wedding, they made our experience so positive. They helped us create a wedding that felt authentic to us and we are so grateful.

    10 stars! 20!

    Sent on 06/17/2019
  • J

    Johanna · Married on 10/14/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Barn is absolutely beautiful both inside and outside! It's a unique space that allows you to bring your vision to life and transform the space. Danni and Blanche were wonderful to work with and very helpful. We had our ceremony on one side of the barn, the cocktail hour on the other, and the reception inside, which was a great way to make use of all the beautiful property available to you. When planning, just note that the only things provided are one set of chairs, tables, and one bar. Anything beyond that will need to be rented from a rental company.

    Sent on 11/10/2017
  • Mara

    Mara · Married on 06/27/2020

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Gorgeous venue made for a wonderful wedding

    Really gorgeous venue, staff was great to work with.

    Sent on 07/18/2021

    The BARN at Liberty Farms's reply:

    Thank you Mara and Eric for choosing the BARN at Liberty Farms to celebrate your wedding day. We loved working with you also! Thank you for your kind words.
  • Crystal

    Crystal · Married on 05/07/2019

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    May Wedding 2019

    The venue was beautiful! It was the ideal setting for that shabby chic rustic wedding. However, had I known what I know now, I may have chose another venue. The cost to simply host our wedding here was outrageous. We had to provide all outside vendors, which I feel should have been included for that cost or the price should have been lower since they were not included. I do not believe it cost that much just for a wedding site. Friends and family who have recently been married were surprised at the non-inclusive cost. We had to pay extra for the golf cart to escort our guests from parking and we had to pay extra for the bon fire, we needed an additional damage deposit and had to provide insurance for the day. Moving on, we scoped out our desired locations for photos with our photographer the week prior to the wedding. We chose a location with the barn as the backdrop on a semi-circle grassed area with plants behind us. The day of the wedding we were told we could not take pictures in that area on the grass and were asked by the venue owner to stand in front of the barn doors on the dirt. They apparently had planted fresh sod on the backside of the barn recently and roped it off for our wedding and told us to walk around on the dirt drive to get to the fire. So we not only stood on dirt for our pictures but had to walk on dirt to get to the fire, in our long dresses. During the bon fire the venue owner asked us why the wood was stacked so high. We had just watched an employee of the venue stack the wood and the owner said she did not believe her employee would stack the wood that high, he would know not to do that. During this conversation, we were told we had “15 minutes to leave the premises,” which was abrupt and upset some of our guests, who got up from the fire at that time and went home. My husband and I set aside time the next day to pack up and bring our decor home, as we have done when we helped at previous weddings. When we went inside from the fire, all of our stuff was packed in boxes and stacked in rooms. One of the groomsman’s pants is missing and had to be paid for and can’t be accounted for, despite the fact that he packed it in the bag with his name on it in the groom’s suite and all his other attire was there. Some of my guests inquired about why the venue owner was at our wedding the entire time and did not bother to dress for the occasion to attempt to blend in.

    Sent on 05/20/2019

    The BARN at Liberty Farms's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and we are glad that you found the venue beautiful. We enjoyed hosting you and your guests. With respect to some of your comments, there appears to be some confusion and a few communication issues that we will certainly address with our team. The owners were not at your event; rather Blanche, our Venue Coordinator was there with the other staff members to make sure that everything was in order and ran smoothly. With respect to the costs, we understand that wedding costs can certainly add up, but all of our costs are clearly stated on the website and in the contract, and we believe they are competitive with other venues in our class. Having event insurance and leaving a damage deposit (which was promptly returned after the wedding) are standard practices and listed on the website and in the contract. We also include on the website the time windows for events to comply with local rules and highlight that the golf cart and fire-pit are our only extra charges, to cover staffing. However, virtually nothing else that we provide, including, reception and ceremony chairs, tables, wedding prep rooms, weekend access, Venue Coordinator, clean up, ceremony paddock, access to 300 acres of Liberty Farms for your photography, sound system and other amenities, are extra. With respect to your concern about pictures, there must have been some miscommunication, for which we sincerely apologize, because fresh sod was planted around certain areas to replace grass damaged over winter, but there are other areas around the barn and other areas of Liberty Farms where our guest's typical stage beautiful photos. Also, we do have hours of operation, also set out on the website and in the contract, to comply with local rules, but we also apologize if you or your guests felt as if the messaging about that or the stacking of wood was abrupt. We have spoken with our team about your concerns. Again, we are thrilled that you chose the Barn for your special event, are pleased that you and your guests found the venue beautiful. We appreciate your feedback and invite you to review the website, your contract, or call us directly if you have any questions about the services and amenities we provided.