The BARN at Liberty Farms Reviews

25 | Ghent, NY
See photos, pricing and details

25 Reviews for The BARN at Liberty Farms

Recommended by 98%

25
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 5.0

16 User photos

The BARN at Liberty Farms 1
The BARN at Liberty Farms 2
The BARN at Liberty Farms 3
The BARN at Liberty Farms 4
The BARN at Liberty Farms 5
The BARN at Liberty Farms 6
The BARN at Liberty Farms 7
+ 10
Sort by:
  • A

    Anne M · Married on 05/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous Venue!

    The BARN is a stunning venue that will amaze your guests! Dani and Blanche are very helpful and quick to respond. They helped with the planning through the whole process. Highly recommend as a wedding venue.

    Sent on 06/03/2019
  • S

    Stephanie Banham · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A truly beautiful space and wonderful team of staff

    I couldn't recommend the Barn at Liberty Farms more highly. We fell in love with the space immediately - the Barn is incredibly tasteful and the grounds manage to be both impeccable and charmingly rustic at the same time. Our whole experience working with the Barn's staff was seamless - they are responsive, friendly, thoughtful. Thank you for helping make our day so special.

    Sent on 11/06/2018
  • D

    Dana · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Mix of Rustic and Modern

    My husband and I were set on a barn venue early on in our wedding process. We visited a number of venues, but none of them compared to the beauty of the BARN. The setting was a perfect mix of the attributes we were looking for in this type of venue without sacrificing modern amenities, all of which our guests greatly appreciated - air conditioning, polished floors that worked well for dancing and modern and clean bathrooms.
    Inside the venue hosts a number of barn stalls which lent themselves to customizing every aspect of our reception. We were thrilled with how everything came out.
    Blanche and Danni were amazing from day one. They were incredibly helpful and responsive, getting back to us very promptly after e-mails and calls, which is something that cannot be overstated when you are planning a wedding. Blanche was on site the day of the wedding which provided some much needed comfort and allowed us to enjoy our special day. Her incredibly warm personality was an added bonus that went great with the rest of the amazing features of this venue.
    The venue photographs very well and our guests all remarked on how beautiful the stars were as the night progressed. The firepit in the back was a huge hit as ours guests enjoyed s'mores by the fire.
    The fact that only one wedding occurs per weekend made us feel special and also helped with the logistics of setting everything up and next day clean-up. We could not have been happier with the BARN and would highly recommend this venue.

    Sent on 06/16/2019
    The BARN at Liberty Farms 8
    The BARN at Liberty Farms 9
    The BARN at Liberty Farms 10
    The BARN at Liberty Farms 11
  • E

    Evann · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Very Best Experience

    From the moment I visited The Barn at Liberty Farms a year before my wedding, I could envision the day I'd marry my husband. I loved the true autumn feeling and the unique layout of the space. We booked on the spot. I spent a year planning a very personalized experience, communicating with Danni along the way. She was very helpful in answering questions and making local recommendations. My family made three trips to The Barn during that year to tour. I loved that by booking The Barn, we were reserving the whole weekend at the space. Our family even stayed at the on-site Farmhouse. The day before the wedding, we set up a high volume of decorations (and we didn't have to worry about taking them down until the day after). On the wedding day, Blanche and team were incredibly helpful in making sure that every detail was in place. We had a fantastic experience at The Barn and can't wait to receive our professional photos of the most beautiful day. Thank you!

    Sent on 10/24/2018
    The BARN at Liberty Farms 12
  • J

    Jason · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so glad that we decided to go with The Barn for our reception venue. All of our guests were enamored with the Barn. Blanche and her team were amazing and made sure that our special day remained that way. Thank you Barn at Liberty Farms for an amazing evening that we and our guests will never forget!

    Sent on 08/29/2018
  • G

    Grace · Married on 07/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Barn was the perfect venue for our wedding. From the start Danni and Blanche set us at ease with their incredible responsiveness and help in finding different vendors in the area. They went above and beyond throughout the whole process. The venue is well run and everything was easy day of. Blanche was on site the day before to talk through things with us and make sure that everything was set up as we wanted. She helped day of as well to make sure things were going smoothly. With so much space to work with, we are able to have our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception all in different areas to make the night even more fun. Many other perks like the bonfire pit, great brides and grooms suite to hang out in beforehand, golf cart for some of our older guests, the hilltop for perfect evening pictures and the list goes on. I couldn't think of a more perfect place to get married!

    Sent on 08/03/2018
  • E

    Emily · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I still get teary-eyed thinking about how much I love the BARN at Liberty Farms. The moment we pulled up the driveway and walked into the barn, we knew this was it. Meeting Blanche felt like we were seeing a long time friend, she made us feel right at home. Blanche is incredible and could not have been more helpful and flexible the weekend of the wedding.
    Danni and Blanche are the best team and made our dreams come true! Since we did not hire a planner and this is my first (and last) time planning a wedding, we were a bit in the dark on where to begin. The BARN helped us every step of the way. From the vendor list, the late night (and quick response) emails, to the drive up the hilltop, we felt beyond supported by the BARN.
    We could not have imagined a better place to get married. The venue thought of everything, both large and small details. Blanche even tracks the sun and she knew exactly where to position the ceremony so all our guests would be covered in shade!! Plus we had the best fire pit to end the night. The barn and grounds are stunning, and we feel so lucky we found this magical space.

    Thank you, thank you, thank you BARN at Liberty Farms, we are forever thankful.

    Sent on 07/06/2018
  • S

    Sally · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mother of the Bride chiming in to let folks know that this is the greatest wedding venue around! Danni and Blanche are so responsive. They helped us plan each step of the way! Any questions we had were answered immediately! We went to visit it a second time after booking it - it took almost two years to plan this wedding so we needed a reminder of what the venue looked like. You get a lot with the venue price. We used their chairs for the ceremony and rented chairs from Columbia Tent rentals. We had no wedding planner but didn't need one with Blanche helping us keep organized. Jeff Loshinsky catering also helped us tremendously when planning the flow of the evening! Everyone who attended the wedding said this venue was extra special! We can't recommend The Barn at Liberty Farms enough- they are the best!

    Sent on 07/05/2018
    The BARN at Liberty Farms 13
    The BARN at Liberty Farms 14
    The BARN at Liberty Farms 15
    The BARN at Liberty Farms 16
  • E

    Emily · Married on 05/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had such an amazing experience at Barn at Liberty Farms. It was exactly what we envisioned for our wedding day. The staff was so helpful and accommodating to our questions and needs. I'd highly recommend the Barn at Liberty Farms to any couple considering a barn / rustic wedding.

    Sent on 06/27/2018
    The BARN at Liberty Farms 17
    The BARN at Liberty Farms 18
    The BARN at Liberty Farms 19
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our May wedding at The Barn at Liberty Farms and also used the Silo View house to stay in and get ready. It ended up raining so we did our first look in the house as well and it was perfect!! Our guests and caterers still can not stop staying how beautiful the venue was. And the rentals and caterer continue to praise how efficient Blanche was in helping with setup and organizing drop off times. We loved our entire experience with The Barn at Liberty Farms and their staff and would have had it no other way for our wedding day! HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    Sent on 06/27/2018
  • J

    James · Married on 05/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Danni and Blanche, with owner Mark, run an incredibly professional operation at their stunning barn in Ghent. We initially visited in the grip of winter (trying to imagine what it would look like in Spring) and they could not have been more welcoming and attentive. There are so many questions - guest numbers, fire regulations, catering facilities, parking, insurance, best place for the ceremony etc.. Over the coming months, they were lovely to deal with and had all the right answers.
    The barn itself is beautifully maintained. It has heating and air conditioning. There is a large main room with high ceilings that accommodates 140 people - with side rooms to configure as you like - bars, sofas, a band etc. There are two private dressing rooms, bathrooms in the building, easy parking, a fire pit, and vast green spaces.
    I’d absolutely recommend this place.

    Sent on 06/12/2018
    The BARN at Liberty Farms 20
  • B

    Brianne · Married on 12/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our winter wedding at the barn and it could not have been more perfect!! Leading up to our wedding, the staff was helpful during our tour and very reponsive to any questions we had along the way. They offer valuable tools that help simplify the planning process. The venue is beautiful, unique and easily decorated to suit your style. Our wedding day ran very smooth, even during the first snowfall and without a wedding planner. Guests enjoyed the different stations such as the photo booth, bar, lounge and desserts located within the redone horse stalls. Even during the winter, the barn was warm and guests were comfortable. We had 120 guests who were mainly kept inside due to the snow storm and space was not a concern. You will not be disappointed!

    Sent on 12/11/2017
  • L

    Leah · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so, so thrilled that we chose The Barn at Liberty Farms for our wedding venue. It was a total dream come true. The folks there were so quick to respond to any inquiries we had while planning, and they let us carry out our vision for the wedding exactly as we wanted it to be. They were accommodating, had helpful suggestions, and connected us with all of the vendors that we used for the event. The venue is absolutely beautiful and many of our guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been to! Thank you so much Danni & Co. for helping us make our wedding unforgettable!

    Sent on 11/27/2017
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Barn at Liberty Farms is a beautiful place for a wedding. The space has been meticulously restored and the eight paddocks were great spaces for a bar, dessert area, play space for kids, etc. Everything was beautifully arranged and the wedding and reception went flawlessly. We forgot to bring lunch for the bridesmaids, so the woman running the venue gave us a phone number to call and she picked up sandwiches for us. Everybody there is super kind and helpful. They also recommended some great vendors.

    Sent on 11/01/2017
    The BARN at Liberty Farms 21
  • C

    Catie · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about the Barn, the gorgeous land, and the awesome team working at Liberty Farms. Everyone we dealt with there was professional, friendly, and accommodating. We requested to get into the space very last minute a few times for planning and they always responded right away and made it possible. The Barn is beautifully renovated and needs very little decor and the land surrounding it is the ultimate backdrop-it's all a great blank slate that couples can do a little or a lot with depending on their taste . Our wedding day was wonderful and beyond our wildest dreams. Our guests could not stop raving about the setting. It truly feels so private and otherworldly. I would urge anyone considering an upstate or barn wedding to book the Barn at Liberty Farms, you won't regret it!

    Sent on 09/27/2017
  • A

    Alex · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a very clear vision of what we wanted for our wedding, so the moment we saw The Barn at Liberty Farms, we knew it was our place. Danni, our main point of contact during the planning process, was responsive and accommodating, and Blanche, our weekend-of contact, could not have been more sweet and helpful. This is the perfect venue if you're looking for a chic space in a rustic setting. Thank you to the whole staff for helping us bring our dream wedding to life.

    Sent on 09/28/2017
    The BARN at Liberty Farms 22
    The BARN at Liberty Farms 23
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I knew that we wanted a barn wedding and had originally planned on a more rustic feel. But when we went to visit, we instantly knew it was the place. The pictures online are beautiful but in person the barn will blow you away. We were lucky enough to grab a date at the end of August and even before we signed the contract, we entered a great relationship with their staff. From start to finish, Danni, Blanche, and Mark were beyond helpful, accommodating, and just overall incredible people. They lightened my planning by making things seamless, less stressful, and dare I say it, fun. They checked in regularly without ever feeling overbearing, they offered great ideas/inspo, they always responded promptly. I have nothing but kind words for them all - thank you for bringing my dream wedding to life!!!

    Sent on 09/20/2017

    The BARN at Liberty Farms's reply:

    Jessica,

    What a lovely review. We enjoyed the whole process also - it was such a wonderful and memorable day, and we are honored to have been part of it. Welcome to the BARN family! From all of us at Liberty Farms - Thank you.
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 07/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Positively magical venue. The space alone would have been fastastic; the farm and barn are breathtakingly beautiful and so well maintained. But the staff was also incredible from booking through the day of the wedding. They helped us find vendors, gave us floor plans, and added so many details that we never would have thought of, all of which helped the night go perfectly. Couldn't be happier.

    Sent on 08/20/2017
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 06/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would recommend the Barn at Liberty Farms to everyone! It was the most magical day. The staff was so accommodating and they made sure my day was amazing!!!! I want to relive the day over and over and over again. Seriously, best place to have a wedding. Hands down!

    Sent on 09/26/2017
  • G

    Gina · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Before the wedding, Bev, Mark, and Danni were absolutely wonderful to work with. Such nice people!! They even had a country house for us to reserve for some of our guests. The barn- It was the most beautiful place to Have a special event. So many areas to have a creative and fun wedding! We had cocktail hour outside, with garden games in the yards, then a photobooth in the stalls, with a bar in the other stall- so clean, so chic, so cool. Best wedding ever! Thank you all!!

    Sent on 10/01/2017
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue was the perfect setting for our wedding this past August. We loved the lush, beautifully manicured outdoor space which we utilized for our ceremony and cocktail hour. And then hosted dinner and dancing in the barn later in the evening. We used the horse stalls to house the bars, a seating lounge, and a photo booth area. We opted for both the golf cart/driver to assist our guests and the fire pit for late night s'mores. The bathrooms are exquisite and the location was just a few miles from the city of Hudson, Amtrak, and the Taconic Parkway. The staff was a pleasure to work with, helping my coordinator and myself with ideas and walk-throughs. I highly recommend this stunning rustic, yet elegant setting.

    Sent on 12/02/2016
  • R

    Rachel Shapiro · Married on 06/15/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful space and a great team!

    My husband and I got married at the BARN this past weekend and cannot recommend it highly enough. As an initial matter, the space is beautiful and so dynamic. It was large enough to be its own rain plan, but intimate enough to make our wedding feel personal. We felt like we didn’t need to do any decorating, but nonetheless were able to get really creative and customize the main room and the horse stalls in each wing. And the grounds are beautiful as well – we were lucky enough to have nice weather and the lawns and bonfire added so much to our (and our guests’) experiences. On top of all that, the space has everything you need – there are bathrooms and parking on site, AC and heat, prep rooms for bride and groom. So, just a very beautiful and functional space – the complete package.

    But there’s more. Throughout the entire planning process to the event itself, Blanche and Danni were irreplaceable. So responsive, supportive and organized. From our first site visit to the morning after the wedding, they made our experience so positive. They helped us create a wedding that felt authentic to us and we are so grateful.

    10 stars! 20!

    Sent on 06/17/2019
  • J

    Johanna · Married on 10/14/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Barn is absolutely beautiful both inside and outside! It's a unique space that allows you to bring your vision to life and transform the space. Danni and Blanche were wonderful to work with and very helpful. We had our ceremony on one side of the barn, the cocktail hour on the other, and the reception inside, which was a great way to make use of all the beautiful property available to you. When planning, just note that the only things provided are one set of chairs, tables, and one bar. Anything beyond that will need to be rented from a rental company.

    Sent on 11/10/2017
  • Crystal

    Crystal · Married on 05/07/2019

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    May Wedding 2019

    The venue was beautiful! It was the ideal setting for that shabby chic rustic wedding. However, had I known what I know now, I may have chose another venue. The cost to simply host our wedding here was outrageous. We had to provide all outside vendors, which I feel should have been included for that cost or the price should have been lower since they were not included. I do not believe it cost that much just for a wedding site. Friends and family who have recently been married were surprised at the non-inclusive cost. We had to pay extra for the golf cart to escort our guests from parking and we had to pay extra for the bon fire, we needed an additional damage deposit and had to provide insurance for the day. Moving on, we scoped out our desired locations for photos with our photographer the week prior to the wedding. We chose a location with the barn as the backdrop on a semi-circle grassed area with plants behind us. The day of the wedding we were told we could not take pictures in that area on the grass and were asked by the venue owner to stand in front of the barn doors on the dirt. They apparently had planted fresh sod on the backside of the barn recently and roped it off for our wedding and told us to walk around on the dirt drive to get to the fire. So we not only stood on dirt for our pictures but had to walk on dirt to get to the fire, in our long dresses. During the bon fire the venue owner asked us why the wood was stacked so high. We had just watched an employee of the venue stack the wood and the owner said she did not believe her employee would stack the wood that high, he would know not to do that. During this conversation, we were told we had “15 minutes to leave the premises,” which was abrupt and upset some of our guests, who got up from the fire at that time and went home. My husband and I set aside time the next day to pack up and bring our decor home, as we have done when we helped at previous weddings. When we went inside from the fire, all of our stuff was packed in boxes and stacked in rooms. One of the groomsman’s pants is missing and had to be paid for and can’t be accounted for, despite the fact that he packed it in the bag with his name on it in the groom’s suite and all his other attire was there. Some of my guests inquired about why the venue owner was at our wedding the entire time and did not bother to dress for the occasion to attempt to blend in.

    Sent on 05/20/2019

    The BARN at Liberty Farms's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and we are glad that you found the venue beautiful. We enjoyed hosting you and your guests. With respect to some of your comments, there appears to be some confusion and a few communication issues that we will certainly address with our team. The owners were not at your event; rather Blanche, our Venue Coordinator was there with the other staff members to make sure that everything was in order and ran smoothly. With respect to the costs, we understand that wedding costs can certainly add up, but all of our costs are clearly stated on the website and in the contract, and we believe they are competitive with other venues in our class. Having event insurance and leaving a damage deposit (which was promptly returned after the wedding) are standard practices and listed on the website and in the contract. We also include on the website the time windows for events to comply with local rules and highlight that the golf cart and fire-pit are our only extra charges, to cover staffing. However, virtually nothing else that we provide, including, reception and ceremony chairs, tables, wedding prep rooms, weekend access, Venue Coordinator, clean up, ceremony paddock, access to 300 acres of Liberty Farms for your photography, sound system and other amenities, are extra. With respect to your concern about pictures, there must have been some miscommunication, for which we sincerely apologize, because fresh sod was planted around certain areas to replace grass damaged over winter, but there are other areas around the barn and other areas of Liberty Farms where our guest's typical stage beautiful photos. Also, we do have hours of operation, also set out on the website and in the contract, to comply with local rules, but we also apologize if you or your guests felt as if the messaging about that or the stacking of wood was abrupt. We have spoken with our team about your concerns. Again, we are thrilled that you chose the Barn for your special event, are pleased that you and your guests found the venue beautiful. We appreciate your feedback and invite you to review the website, your contract, or call us directly if you have any questions about the services and amenities we provided.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review