Skip to main content
Weddings

The Abbey Resort Reviews

The Abbey Resort View more information

Reviews

4.6 out of 5 rating
91 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.6 out of 5 rating
87% Recommended by couples

Awards

91
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • B
    Brittany J. Sent on 06/03/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stephanie Adamski made wedding planning easy!!

    Stephanie Adamski turned our wedding from a dream to a fairy tail. She made our special day one that we will never forget. Every little detail was perfect. Her staff and the rest of the Abbey were on top of everything and made the day go off without a hitch. We can’t thank her and everyone else enough. You will have the same experience as us and I wouldn’t hesitate to work with Stephanie and the Abby.
    Thanks for making our wedding night memorable.
    Brittany and Eric Johnson
  • M
    Marlene S. Sent on 08/18/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Venue and Staff

    We had our wedding in the Westshore Pavilion and it couldn't have been more perfect! Stephanie and the team at the Abbey were wonderful at making sure our day was well coordinated and that the venue looked perfect. This venue is a perfect mix of outdoor garden with the amenities of concrete floor and heat/air in case of in inclimate weather. They were wonderful with incorporating our ideas and finding ways to make them work. The Spa handled all the bridesmaid's hair and makeup for the wedding. Lisa was great at coordinating the day for the 10 girls and the girls loved the ability to be with each other while they were getting ready. All the bridesmaids raved about their experience with their hair and makeup! Thanks Abbey and Avani!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Kelley Sent on 06/03/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Could not have had a more perfect day

    We had the adventure of planning a wedding during COVID-19. The Abbey wasn't our first (or our second) venue but when we were without a venue for the third time and contacted The Abbey EVERYTHING started falling into place. Emily and her whole team gave everything they had to make sure our wedding was perfect. And it really was. Emily's responsiveness was unparalleled and when we ran into some tricky parts with live streaming the ceremony she worked with all parties to get it just right. The food was amazing. The gazebo... oh my gosh the gazebo was just a stunning place to say "I Do". It seriously felt that Emily was as excited for us to get married as we were. We could not have asked for a better venue for such a special day. Both the Porto room for our reception and the Harbor Ballroom for our Wedding rehersal dinner are just amazing. Everything about it was seemless. We cannot thank Emily and The Abbey enough for all they did for us. We CANNOT wait to come back here year after year for our anniversary and sit down by the water for a drink and listen to live music. Despite a pandemic, it was seriously the best day ever.
  • Haley
    Haley K. Sent on 10/15/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10/09/21 wedding

    We got married last week at The Abbey after 2 years of planning and it was AMAZING. The entire process planning with staff went so smoothly. We worked closely with Kelly and she was phenomenal. Very prompt with emails and answered my MANY questions over the years with ease. She was kind and considerate through it all. The resort Itself was so pretty. The grounds were kept amazing and all of the staff was helpful surrounding the weekend. We loved every minute of our weekend and the Abbey made it truly spectacular.

    The Abbey Resort's reply:

    What a beautiful wedding! We were honored to have made your day so special and to work with you! We wish you a lifetime of happiness.
    We hope to see you back soon and for your anniversary.
  • A
    Amy G. Sent on 10/20/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Do NOT hesitate!

    Our wedding was originally planned for 2020 but alas, covid struck and we were forced to postpone. The Abbey Resort literally made it SO easy I almost wasn’t even upset. Kelly was a DREAM to work with and is SO responsive to emails and calls. Do not hesitate booking your wedding here, you won’t regret it!
  • Erin
    Erin O. Sent on 07/28/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Perfect

    We had such a wonderful experience in working with The Abbey Resort, specifically Kelly Pohle. Kelly is one of the main reasons we decided to go with Abbey versus other venues in the Lake Geneva area. She is extremely responsive, helpful, and knows what she is doing!
  • K
    Kristen H. Sent on 08/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The abbey is an amazing wedding venue!

    My husband and I had stayed at the Abbey a couple times before getting married and when we were looking for venues, we never thought about the Abbey. I honestly probably thought it would be too expensive. We were staying the weekend and decided to inquire about wedding packages. The bartender referred us to Kelly Pohle the wedding sales manager. From the first encounter with Kelly, I knew she was going to be an absolute pleasure to work with! We had to delay our wedding due to covid and you would think that would be a nightmare with having a wedding already planned. Kelly was so accommodating and made it a very easy and smooth transition. She was always checking in with us, she always returned calls and emails very promptly and made the whole experience stress free. She was great the day of the wedding and things went perfect! I would 100% recommend Kelly and The Abbey to anyone!
  • Kelly
    Kelly L. Sent on 10/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our Stunning Wedding At The Abbey

    Our wedding coordinator, Emily, went above and beyond to make our wedding day amazing. She was quick to respond to our emails and happy to arrange a phone call with us any time we had questions or concerns. The day before and of our wedding Emily was supportive, helpful and a calm presence for us and our bridal party which we greatly appreciated. Overall, we had a great experience at The Abbey. The only negatives were they did not put out enough chairs for our guests at our wedding ceremony which meant several people were left standing. Additionally, there were some minor issues with our booking agent that lead to confusion/frustration for guests that were reserving rooms under our block. Aside from that, we had a beautiful ceremony at the harbor gazebo and our reception in the west shore pavilion tent was wonderful.
  • A
    Angelia W. Sent on 06/20/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Balmer Wedding

    This venue was absolutely stunning. So many good photo shoot areas. Jordan Mayer the daughter of the owner also did my decorations. The combo together made sure that the wedding was exactly how I wanted it to be. It was also great to get to have the ceremony and reception all in one place so it wasn't confusing for guests to get around.
  • Samantha
    Samantha Sent on 05/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely loved the Abbey Resort!

    We can not say enough good things about The Abbey! Emily and the on-site wedding coordinators were amazing. They were easy to get a hold of and were able to address all of the unavoidable last minute issues. The Abbey itself has been nicely renovated over the last year, and we absolutely loved our reception in the West Shore Pavilion. We loved the resort feel, and all of the options both onsite and locally for our guests to enjoy over the wedding weekend. Highly recommend!
  • B
    Barbara Sent on 08/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Best. Day. Ever. Thank you for The Abbey for making our wedding day seamless, professional, comfortable and beautiful. We searched many venues before deciding on The Abbey. They are experts in this field and have professionals who take care of you from start to finish. We chose this as our wedding destination, not being nearby was never an issue or concern. An amazing attention to detail. Huge credit to Geri and her team. The entire process and our day was flawless. Barbara and Bryan
  • A
    Amanda Sent on 11/20/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Simply the BEST! From day one until the wedding day...the wedding planning team was with us EVERY step of the way. We always had a person to contact. when the wedding planner left for the day, we were introduced to the banquet manager and the bar manager so we had a face and a name if we needed anything. TOP NOTCH SERVICE! Our guests were very impressed and commented about how great the service was--from the rooms to the restaurants to the reception. Very detail oriented! I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Abbey Resort and their wedding planning team!!
  • A
    Amber Sent on 10/18/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We blocked off this hotel for my wedding the weekend of Oct 7. This place is beautiful. The pictures do not do it justice. Everyone enjoyed the stay. The 240 bar was a blast! We were there Friday and Saturday. It was a little slow getting drinks on Friday. I think they were not expecting such a big crowd; we had about 40 people there. We had dinner at The Waterfront. Most of my family and guests showed up here for dinner. We kept adding more tables and soon we almost had the entire room. They were very accommodating and allowed us to sit together. This was super nice of them. Having worked in the restaurant industry, I know what a pain we had to have been. The food was excellent. We had booked the patio for our wedding rehearsal and it rained! I contacted the wedding sales manager a week before and she reserved an indoor spot for me, I just needed to confirm which one I was going to use 3 hours before. We ended up inside, which was fine. The room was nice and they were very accommodating. The only downside is that the place is a maze. It can be difficult to get from one building to the other, as they are not in numerical order. They also did not put all of my block in the same building. We had to move around from building 6 and 7, which was annoying at times as they are not connected. Other than that, everything was beautiful and perfect for us.
  • M
    Megan Sent on 10/01/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Abbey was an amazing venue! Everything was so beautiful! We had so many people tell us that it was the best wedding they've ever been too. All of the staff we super helpful and responsive. Angela was our day of coordinator. She was wonderful, and did her best to make sure everything turned out perfect for us. We couldn't have asked for a better day!
  • K
    Kim Sent on 10/23/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our September wedding at The Abbey in the Harbor Ballroom and it was the best day of our lives!!! Tabitha (Bell) Schrock and Claire Roddy answered every question, had amazing ideas, and were so kind and fun to work with during the planning process. We did not have any worries leading up to the day. Tabitha was so organized leading our family and bridal party through the day. Thank you to Rachel and Tony for also taking such wonderful care of us during the reception! The whole staff from the front desk, to housekeeping, to In Room Dining and banquets, to the spa and restaurant was just spectacular all weekend. We have gotten nothing but amazing feedback from all our guests about the quality and friendliness of the service received throughout the weekend. The food was absolutely delicious and the bartenders were fantastic as well. We are so thankful to everyone at The Abbey for making our day so special!
  • D
    Danielle Sent on 09/24/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I had our wedding ceremony and reception at The Abbey on 9/3/17. Our ceremony was at the harbor gazebo and reception in the sandbar room. We have nothing bad to say about our experience! From the first time we met Tabitha (she is amazing) through our wedding weekend, we were so happy and impressed. Everyone at The Abbey is so helpful, genuine, and friendly. We had many, many compliments from our guests! It was truly a beautiful weekend! We can't wait to go back, we'll forever love The Abbey!
  • N
    Natalie Sent on 11/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Abbey Resort was a beautiful and perfect venue! It was the most perfect day! The food was amazing!!!! I had so many compliments on the location! The wedding coordinator left right before my wedding but all of our wants and needs were met by the new wedding coordinator Rachel! The staff was very tentative and didn't hesitate to get us anything. The best day of our lives. So many happy tears from beginning to end!
  • S
    Sandra Sent on 07/30/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We are so glad we picked the Abbey for our special day. From the ceremony at the Gazebo to the Reception at the West Shore Pavillion, we couldn't have asked for a more perfect setting. The staff provided outstanding service and made sure we were taken care of every step of the way. Thank you to Robyn, Rachel and Justin for being so accommodating! The Abbey will forever have a special place in our hearts.
  • K
    Kathy Sent on 06/28/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We hosted a rehearsal dinner at the Abbey on the patio and could not have been happier with the event!
    The food was delicious, the set-up lovely, and the staff efficient, pleasant and attentive. Working with the wedding coordinator was easy. She was very accessible, pleasant, professional and accommodated all we asked for. We highly recommend the Abbey for any of your events!
  • Ashley
    Ashley Sent on 06/20/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can't say enough about how great this venue turned out to be for our wedding. Our decision to choose The Abbey came down to how great Tabitha was during our initial meeting as well as everything this place has to offer. Nearly 85% of our guest list was traveling from out of town and we wanted a place that could serve as a "weekend getaway" for everyone if they wanted. Its been almost 3 weeks since our wedding and we are still getting comments from our guests about it - everything from the location to the food to the rooms themselves. Not only were Tabitha and Justin great to work with, but anytime they were out of the office, their backups were incredibly helpful and able to answer any questions we had. That went a long way - especially as the big day got closer and closer.
    Our wedding and reception went very smoothly - Tabitha was even there for the rehearsal the night before as well as the day of to make sure everything went as expected, including the wedding party procession itself. This was definitely an added bonus that we were not aware of when we booked the venue.
  • C
    Chris Sent on 06/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We recently got married at The Abbey Resort and cannot say enough great things about this venue. Tabitha Bell and her team were beyond exceptional. Tabitha made our entire wedding weekend seamless and stress free. We had so many compliments from guests on the atmosphere, friendly staff, and wonderful amenities. The Abbey Resort offers everything you need to entertain guests all weekend long. We highly recommend The Abbey and cannot wait to go back for a visit!
  • J
    Jessica Sent on 03/17/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Thank you Tabitha and everyone at The Abbey for a FANTASTIC experience!! We had such and excellent and easy time planning our wedding. From the beginning, Tabitha was so welcoming and accommodating. She is excellent to work with and extremely organized. The experience at The Abbey was great. Our guests loved the convenience of having the reception and rooms at the same location. We received many comments on how excellent the food and service was at our wedding. The ballroom was beautiful and so spacious. Tabitha and Robyn made set up easy and were there to answer any questions we had throughout the entire process. My husband and I really could not have asked for a better wedding experience. Thank you so much Tabitha and The Abbey for an awesome wedding!!!
  • K
    Katie Sent on 02/04/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I just had our wedding at The Abbey in the Harbor Ballroom this past January (for 180) and couldn't be happier with how incredible everything was. From working with Justin on room blocks to working on the rehearsal dinner and wedding day logistics with Robyn Moe, everything was incredibly easy and seamless. The whole hotel was the friendliest bunch each time we came up to the hotel, Robyn was the most amazing Catering Manager to work with, worked tirelessly to ensure the day went perfectly and the hotel guest rooms alone are gorgeous, recently renovated and so convenient after an evening of fun! Not to mention the food was delicious, which is especially hard to do when serving such a large group. We had a magical weekend and highly recommend this venue.
  • M
    Mary Sent on 11/30/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding at The Abbey in October and everything was absolutely beautiful and we can't thank them enough! Robyn, our wedding coordinator, was great to work with; very responsive and made sure our day went as smoothly as possible. Justin, our rep. for customer service/rooms, kept us informed from day one on all our guests reservations. These two made wedding planning easy and an enjoyable experience. Lots of compliments from guests on the resort & food!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message