The Abbey Resort Reviews

75 | Fontana, WI
See photos, pricing and details

75 Reviews for The Abbey Resort

Recommended by 94%

75
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.7

57 User photos

The Abbey Resort 1
The Abbey Resort 2
The Abbey Resort 3
The Abbey Resort 4
The Abbey Resort 5
The Abbey Resort 6
The Abbey Resort 7
+ 51
Sort by:
  • Kelly

    Kelly Limina · Getting married on 03/07/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Stunning Wedding At The Abbey

    Our wedding coordinator, Emily, went above and beyond to make our wedding day amazing. She was quick to respond to our emails and happy to arrange a phone call with us any time we had questions or concerns. The day before and of our wedding Emily was supportive, helpful and a calm presence for us and our bridal party which we greatly appreciated. Overall, we had a great experience at The Abbey. The only negatives were they did not put out enough chairs for our guests at our wedding ceremony which meant several people were left standing. Additionally, there were some minor issues with our booking agent that lead to confusion/frustration for guests that were reserving rooms under our block. Aside from that, we had a beautiful ceremony at the harbor gazebo and our reception in the west shore pavilion tent was wonderful.

    Sent on 10/02/2019
    The Abbey Resort 8
    The Abbey Resort 9
    The Abbey Resort 10
    The Abbey Resort 11
    The Abbey Resort 12
    The Abbey Resort 13
    The Abbey Resort 14
    The Abbey Resort 15
    The Abbey Resort 16
    The Abbey Resort 17
    The Abbey Resort 18
    The Abbey Resort 19
    The Abbey Resort 20
    The Abbey Resort 21
  • Samantha

    Samantha · Married on 04/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely loved the Abbey Resort!

    We can not say enough good things about The Abbey! Emily and the on-site wedding coordinators were amazing. They were easy to get a hold of and were able to address all of the unavoidable last minute issues. The Abbey itself has been nicely renovated over the last year, and we absolutely loved our reception in the West Shore Pavilion. We loved the resort feel, and all of the options both onsite and locally for our guests to enjoy over the wedding weekend. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 05/27/2019
    The Abbey Resort 22
  • B

    BARBARA · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best. Day. Ever. Thank you for The Abbey for making our wedding day seamless, professional, comfortable and beautiful. We searched many venues before deciding on The Abbey. They are experts in this field and have professionals who take care of you from start to finish. We chose this as our wedding destination, not being nearby was never an issue or concern. An amazing attention to detail. Huge credit to Geri and her team. The entire process and our day was flawless. Barbara and Bryan

    Sent on 08/22/2018
    The Abbey Resort 23
    The Abbey Resort 24
    The Abbey Resort 25
    The Abbey Resort 26
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 11/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply the BEST! From day one until the wedding day...the wedding planning team was with us EVERY step of the way. We always had a person to contact. when the wedding planner left for the day, we were introduced to the banquet manager and the bar manager so we had a face and a name if we needed anything. TOP NOTCH SERVICE! Our guests were very impressed and commented about how great the service was--from the rooms to the restaurants to the reception. Very detail oriented! I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Abbey Resort and their wedding planning team!!

    Sent on 11/20/2017
  • A

    Amber · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We blocked off this hotel for my wedding the weekend of Oct 7. This place is beautiful. The pictures do not do it justice. Everyone enjoyed the stay. The 240 bar was a blast! We were there Friday and Saturday. It was a little slow getting drinks on Friday. I think they were not expecting such a big crowd; we had about 40 people there. We had dinner at The Waterfront. Most of my family and guests showed up here for dinner. We kept adding more tables and soon we almost had the entire room. They were very accommodating and allowed us to sit together. This was super nice of them. Having worked in the restaurant industry, I know what a pain we had to have been. The food was excellent. We had booked the patio for our wedding rehearsal and it rained! I contacted the wedding sales manager a week before and she reserved an indoor spot for me, I just needed to confirm which one I was going to use 3 hours before. We ended up inside, which was fine. The room was nice and they were very accommodating. The only downside is that the place is a maze. It can be difficult to get from one building to the other, as they are not in numerical order. They also did not put all of my block in the same building. We had to move around from building 6 and 7, which was annoying at times as they are not connected. Other than that, everything was beautiful and perfect for us.

    Sent on 10/18/2017
  • M

    Megan · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Abbey was an amazing venue! Everything was so beautiful! We had so many people tell us that it was the best wedding they've ever been too. All of the staff we super helpful and responsive. Angela was our day of coordinator. She was wonderful, and did her best to make sure everything turned out perfect for us. We couldn't have asked for a better day!

    Sent on 10/01/2017
    The Abbey Resort 27
    The Abbey Resort 28
    The Abbey Resort 29
  • K

    Kim · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our September wedding at The Abbey in the Harbor Ballroom and it was the best day of our lives!!! Tabitha (Bell) Schrock and Claire Roddy answered every question, had amazing ideas, and were so kind and fun to work with during the planning process. We did not have any worries leading up to the day. Tabitha was so organized leading our family and bridal party through the day. Thank you to Rachel and Tony for also taking such wonderful care of us during the reception! The whole staff from the front desk, to housekeeping, to In Room Dining and banquets, to the spa and restaurant was just spectacular all weekend. We have gotten nothing but amazing feedback from all our guests about the quality and friendliness of the service received throughout the weekend. The food was absolutely delicious and the bartenders were fantastic as well. We are so thankful to everyone at The Abbey for making our day so special!

    Sent on 10/23/2017
    The Abbey Resort 30
    The Abbey Resort 31
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 09/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our wedding ceremony and reception at The Abbey on 9/3/17. Our ceremony was at the harbor gazebo and reception in the sandbar room. We have nothing bad to say about our experience! From the first time we met Tabitha (she is amazing) through our wedding weekend, we were so happy and impressed. Everyone at The Abbey is so helpful, genuine, and friendly. We had many, many compliments from our guests! It was truly a beautiful weekend! We can't wait to go back, we'll forever love The Abbey!

    Sent on 09/24/2017
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 08/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Abbey Resort was a beautiful and perfect venue! It was the most perfect day! The food was amazing!!!! I had so many compliments on the location! The wedding coordinator left right before my wedding but all of our wants and needs were met by the new wedding coordinator Rachel! The staff was very tentative and didn't hesitate to get us anything. The best day of our lives. So many happy tears from beginning to end!

    Sent on 11/11/2017
    The Abbey Resort 32
    The Abbey Resort 33
    The Abbey Resort 34
    The Abbey Resort 35
    The Abbey Resort 36
    The Abbey Resort 37
    The Abbey Resort 38
    The Abbey Resort 39
    The Abbey Resort 40
  • S

    Sandra · Married on 07/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so glad we picked the Abbey for our special day. From the ceremony at the Gazebo to the Reception at the West Shore Pavillion, we couldn't have asked for a more perfect setting. The staff provided outstanding service and made sure we were taken care of every step of the way. Thank you to Robyn, Rachel and Justin for being so accommodating! The Abbey will forever have a special place in our hearts.

    Sent on 07/30/2017
  • K

    Kathy · event on 06/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hosted a rehearsal dinner at the Abbey on the patio and could not have been happier with the event!
    The food was delicious, the set-up lovely, and the staff efficient, pleasant and attentive. Working with the wedding coordinator was easy. She was very accessible, pleasant, professional and accommodated all we asked for. We highly recommend the Abbey for any of your events!

    Sent on 06/28/2017
  • Ashley

    Ashley · Married on 06/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough about how great this venue turned out to be for our wedding. Our decision to choose The Abbey came down to how great Tabitha was during our initial meeting as well as everything this place has to offer. Nearly 85% of our guest list was traveling from out of town and we wanted a place that could serve as a "weekend getaway" for everyone if they wanted. Its been almost 3 weeks since our wedding and we are still getting comments from our guests about it - everything from the location to the food to the rooms themselves. Not only were Tabitha and Justin great to work with, but anytime they were out of the office, their backups were incredibly helpful and able to answer any questions we had. That went a long way - especially as the big day got closer and closer.
    Our wedding and reception went very smoothly - Tabitha was even there for the rehearsal the night before as well as the day of to make sure everything went as expected, including the wedding party procession itself. This was definitely an added bonus that we were not aware of when we booked the venue.

    Sent on 06/20/2017
  • C

    Chris · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently got married at The Abbey Resort and cannot say enough great things about this venue. Tabitha Bell and her team were beyond exceptional. Tabitha made our entire wedding weekend seamless and stress free. We had so many compliments from guests on the atmosphere, friendly staff, and wonderful amenities. The Abbey Resort offers everything you need to entertain guests all weekend long. We highly recommend The Abbey and cannot wait to go back for a visit!

    Sent on 06/11/2017
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 02/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you Tabitha and everyone at The Abbey for a FANTASTIC experience!! We had such and excellent and easy time planning our wedding. From the beginning, Tabitha was so welcoming and accommodating. She is excellent to work with and extremely organized. The experience at The Abbey was great. Our guests loved the convenience of having the reception and rooms at the same location. We received many comments on how excellent the food and service was at our wedding. The ballroom was beautiful and so spacious. Tabitha and Robyn made set up easy and were there to answer any questions we had throughout the entire process. My husband and I really could not have asked for a better wedding experience. Thank you so much Tabitha and The Abbey for an awesome wedding!!!

    Sent on 03/17/2017
  • K

    Katie · Married on 01/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I just had our wedding at The Abbey in the Harbor Ballroom this past January (for 180) and couldn't be happier with how incredible everything was. From working with Justin on room blocks to working on the rehearsal dinner and wedding day logistics with Robyn Moe, everything was incredibly easy and seamless. The whole hotel was the friendliest bunch each time we came up to the hotel, Robyn was the most amazing Catering Manager to work with, worked tirelessly to ensure the day went perfectly and the hotel guest rooms alone are gorgeous, recently renovated and so convenient after an evening of fun! Not to mention the food was delicious, which is especially hard to do when serving such a large group. We had a magical weekend and highly recommend this venue.

    Sent on 02/04/2017
  • M

    Mary · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at The Abbey in October and everything was absolutely beautiful and we can't thank them enough! Robyn, our wedding coordinator, was great to work with; very responsive and made sure our day went as smoothly as possible. Justin, our rep. for customer service/rooms, kept us informed from day one on all our guests reservations. These two made wedding planning easy and an enjoyable experience. Lots of compliments from guests on the resort & food!

    Sent on 11/30/2016
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I (along with our families) don't have enough words for how perfect The Abbey was for our wedding. From the day we looked at venues, we knew immediately while talking with Tabitha that The Abbey was exactly what we were looking for for our ceremony and reception. Tabitha helped us keep our heads on straight through the entire year we were planning our wedding. She was very responsive with all the questions brides have, and always gave us great guidance and advice when we sought it out. She was extremely organized and always made sure we were on top of everything we needed to do during the planning process with the venue. On our wedding day, she was also a huge help. She assisted in making sure our crazy bridal party stayed on track and that our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception went off without a hitch. We didn't have to lift a finger the entire day and that is large because of Tabitha and The Abbey staff. From a ceremony perspective, I could not imagine anywhere but the Gazebo on the property as a place to have my ceremony. The reception hall was beautiful, the food was, great, and the service was exceptional. Claire was our point of contact for our room block, and she was also extremely helpful and responsive in guiding us through the process of having a room block. We did not hear any complaints from the guest about their stay at The Abbey. Prior to our wedding, The Abbey was always a place we visited by boat with our family to have a bite to eat or grab a drink. It will forever mean so much more to us, and I can't imagine hosting my wedding anywhere else. I would not change a thing about our day. Thank you to The Abbey staff for a truly perfect wedding weekend!

    Sent on 10/14/2016
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have been happier with our experience at The Abbey. We had our wedding ceremony at the Harbor Gazebo and our reception in the West Shore Pavilion (tent). From the very first email, Robyn was amazing to work with. She was responsive, thoughtful, creative, flexible, calm, enthusiastic...I could go on forever! We requested a menu that was very different from the typical banquet offerings at The Abbey and the chef did an outstanding job with what we requested. We received so many compliments on his creations! Most of our guests also stayed at The Abbey, and everyone enjoyed their time there. It was such a beautiful setting and we had excellent experiences with everyone who worked with us to plan and carry out our wedding. We can't say enough great things about The Abbey!

    Sent on 11/05/2016
  • W

    Wendy · Married on 09/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved this venue! The outside ceremony at the Harbor gazebo was beautiful. The reception was in the tent and the dinner food was very good. We could not have asked for better accommodations and the Abbey personnel were on top of things. Loved working with Tabitha and Claire.

    Sent on 09/14/2016
  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married at The Abbey on Friday September 9, 2016. We had our
    ceremony at the Harbor Gazebo and the cocktail hour and reception in
    the Pavilion. We cannot say enough good things about our day! The
    entire day went so smoothly and the staff was always there to make our
    lives easier anyway they could. We worked with Tabby and from
    beginning to end she was amazing to work with. She was always very
    responsive to emails especially since we were coordinating our wedding
    while we were both deployed. She made the entire planning process a
    breeze! She is very knowledgeable, professional, energetic and has a
    great personality so she was a pleasure to work with. She even
    personally introduced us to the banquet manager to ensure that if we
    had any questions during the reception we could get it figured out but
    everything went exactly as planned! The food was outstanding, you
    wouldn't believe that they could serve a perfectly cooked Filet to 70
    people but they did! The Chicken Fontina and Salmon were spectacular
    as well and we still have friends and family that tell us that it was
    the best food they ever had at a wedding! There are so many other
    wonderful things I can say about our day and The Abbey and their
    staff. We can't imagine having our wedding anywhere else. Our guests
    were blown away by everything the entire weekend. If you want a
    beautiful venue, attentive service, and great quality The Abbey is a
    must for your big day!

    Sent on 10/04/2016
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 09/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough about The Abbey!!! They truly are the best people to work with and they made our wedding the most memorable experience!!! I have not one complaint about anything! The food was delicious, atmosphere was so fun, staff was unbelievably nice, service overall was fantastic! Our wedding coordinator Tabitha was the best person you could ever ask for! She goes completely above and beyond to make sure your day is perfect and exactly what you wish for! They are very personal there which I loved and they actually care about they're clients! Our guests were blown away by how wonderful everything was! I could not possibly even describe in words how happy I am with our experience! Thank you Abbey for everything!!! Nicole and Mikey

    Sent on 09/12/2016
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were extremely happy with our wedding at the Abbey. It was so beautiful in a very professional, courteous, and punctual enviornment. We booked on a very busy weekend where there were 4 weddings going on at the Abbey on the same day, but we were still treated wonderfully as if we were the only ones there. Our wedding planner was AMAZING, couldn't have pulled off such a perfect even without her!!

    Sent on 07/13/2016
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married there July 2016 and it was an almost perfect experience. So many people came up to us and said it was the best wedding they had been to. The day ran so smoothly and Tabitha was a great help, especially the days leading up and the day of. In addition to the Abbey being a fantastic venue, they also supplied us with the names of some amazing vendors. Really the only complaint was the top tier of our cake somehow ended up with the gifts so it didn't look the prettiest when we got home but that is so minor in the big picture. I want to thank the Abbey so much for an amazing, perfect day.

    It was fantastic having the everything from the rehearsal dinner to the Sunday brunch there. It was great that our guests staying there never had to leave.

    Sent on 07/17/2016
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our July 9th wedding at the Abbey was everything we could have ever dreamed of. The event went off perfectly without any issues. We were married in the tent, which has floors and air conditioning. Our planner, Tabitha was amazing. From day one, she went above and beyond. Every question I had, every idea I had, every last minute panic I had she was there. Tabitha and her interns made sure that the tent was decorated exactly the way I envisioned it to be. She was flexible and understanding during the entire process.
    Our ceremony took place at the gazebo by the water and The Abbey set up a water station for all guests during the ceremony. The gazebo provided stunning views and amble seating for our 177 guests.
    The food was simply amazing at our reception. We served prime rib, a pasta dish, and short ribs. I have received so many compliments on the overall taste and quality of the food. The open bar package made sure all of our guests had a great time tearing up the dance floor. Or food during cocktail hour was wonderful too. Our guests are still commenting on the meatballs and grilled cheese!

    Overall, I would hands down recommend a wedding at The Abbey. The venue and our planner, Tabitha, made sure our day was picture perfect.

    Sent on 07/20/2016
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 06/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This past Friday was my wedding, which took place at The Abbey Resort, and I can't say enough good things about this place! Our wedding took place in the gazebo by the West Shore Pavilion, and the reception was in the pavilion. It was beautiful, quiet, and quaint, just as we'd hoped, and we loved that we were able to go right from our ceremony to cocktail hour to our reception without taking transportation. Our guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves, and they all thought the resort was one of the nicest places they've stayed, from the rooms to the amenities. I want to give a special thanks for Robyn Moe, our wedding coordinator, who was amazing throughout the whole process of planning our wedding. She answered all of our e-mails and phone calls very promptly, and she made sure that our day was just as we'd imagined it. I can't thank her enough for bearing with us, especially towards the end when I was getting overwhelmed and had to change some things in a matter of days. She even picked me up in a golf cart to drive me from my room to the reception tent right before the ceremony when my husband asked her if she could. Also, Justin Juntunen, who helped us book our room and block of room for our guests, was awesome and was always there to answer e-mails promptly and take care of any situations we needed help with.


    I also want to thank Tauna, from the Avani Spa in The Abbey resort. She did my hair trial and my hair on they day of the wedding, and she was absolutely incredible at making my hair look just like the picture from Pinterest that I showed her. She was also very friendly, kind, and she made me feel very at ease on the day of the wedding. She is truly talented at what she does, and I wouldn't want anyone else to do my hair on the day of my wedding :).

    When we decided to book our wedding at The Abbey, we were given a list of their preferred vendors, and that made it super easy to find quality vendors! We loved everything about this place. :)

    Sent on 06/15/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review