Skip to main content
Weddings

Thara Photo Reviews

Thara Photo View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
5.0 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
5.0 out of 5 rating
71 Reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

71
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • Sarah
    Sarah W. Sent on 06/16/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Photos!

    Tim did an amazing job taking photos for our wedding weekend. He is so talented and great to work with.
  • K
    Kylie M. Sent on 04/24/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Wedding Photographer!!!

    Tim was incredible to work with for our wedding! I can't say enough kind words but I'll try! He is professional, exceptionally talented, quick thinking and efficient. We had multiple meetings to discuss timeline, types of shots, and general advice to set us up for a successful day. He sent over some sneak peeks already and I'm so excited for the full album. He was a key player for making our day run smoothly.
  • C
    Cici C. Sent on 04/21/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    You’ve Found The One!

    You can stop looking now, you’ve found the perfect wedding photographer. Working with Tim was an absolute dream — our getting-organized calls were thorough, efficient, and a perfect balance of Tim’s experience and best practices with our wish list and questions. Tim was so organized in our prep calls that we were almost unprepared for how kind and encouraging he was on the day! He was wonderful with our big families, really captured our personalities, and was totally down for some of the more whimsical photos we wanted. I can’t say enough good things about him, and his work really speaks for itself — he’s a technical genius and a great person. Book him!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Tim
    Tim H. Sent on 12/20/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome experience with Tim!

    We worked with Tim for our November 2023 wedding. He also helped with our engagement photos early in 2023. He was fantastic to work with all the way through from the hiring process all the way to delivering our photos. Tim works with you for a fantastic balance of getting us what we want, but also guiding us through the areas where we needed help. My wife and I aren't the most comfortable in front of the camera, but Tim made us feel at ease! We highly recommend Tim to any couples looking for a photographer.
  • Andrew
    Andrew R. Sent on 11/06/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely excellent wedding photographer!

    Tim was great to work with! His friendliness and professionalism made the "getting ready" and post-ceremony family church photos painless and not seem like a chore. In between the ceremony and reception we wanted pictures taken at a location that he had never shot before and thus he wasn't familiar with the space. Tim's talent and eagerness to try new things made the pictures turn out fantastic. During the reception, we trusted Tim to capture the evening as he saw fit and he did not disappoint. Tim delivered the hi-res digital photos in a timely manner. Overall, we have no complaints of any size about using THara Photo. We highly recommend him to everyone!
  • Matt
    Matt S. Sent on 08/16/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Wedding Photographer to get

    Tim was amazing throughout the whole process! He shot our wedding and his talent and professionalism shined through! Not only did he make it easy on us as the bride and groom, but he got amazing shots while feeling imperceptible to the other attendees. Hire Thara Photo if you want immaculate pictures and an amazing experience while they are being taken.
  • C
    Casey S. Sent on 07/22/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Supportive, Calm, and Collected

    We let Tim take the lead on what he does best. He was organized, detailed, and focused on making sure we were having a good time. Allowing us to be ourselves and following his suggestions- we had such an easy time working with Tim. His photographs come out so beautiful emphasizing color and soft portraits. Tim answered every phone call and email within the day. What we loved the most about working with Tim was that our photographs really looked like us and not posed (while not being overly candid). Tim also catches spectacular photos and does so quickly. We did all the photos we could have asked for in less than two hours. Wanting to prioritize being at our cocktail hour, Tim made our dreams come true. I am so glad Tim was recommended to us and I would gladly recommend him to anyone looking for a photographer.
  • A
    Anne B. Sent on 06/05/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Just. Book. Him. NOW!

    I wish I could give Tim more than 5 stars. We worked with Tim for our engagement and wedding day photos. Originally, we weren't even necessarily planning on having photos taken at our intimate wedding, but I am beyond elated that we found Tim. Tim is extremely communicative, thoughtful in his planning, kind, and makes everyone feel comfortable. He has a gift in getting to know people and capturing their relationship in photos. I look forward to the day that we need more photos taken so we can work with Tim again!
  • K
    Kristin K. Sent on 06/24/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Tim brings your day to the next level -- cannot recommend him enough!

    During our first interaction in August 2021 before our first engagement proposal shoot, I knew our photographer would be an incredible part of our story. But still, I had no idea how much a part of the journey Tim would be for us.

    Tim is a visionary and brings an eye to his work and delivers with quality and creativity. Every single time we flip through our photos, we smile and get reminded of special moments in a new way each time.

    Not only that, but Tim brings a level of expertise, like navigating the uncertainties and communicates throughout the process to ensure it's smooth and exactly the way you want it. On our wedding day, it rained for 30 minutes and it happened to fall during our first look! Tim knew how to navigate the situation, not only in person, but delivered some incredible shots that captured our feelings and emotion during that special time. In addition to having to scramble our plans around, he knew how to prioritize and communicate with us so we focused on what mattered the most to us-- and he delivered way above and beyond every single time.

    We want everyone around us to work with Tim and have the same feeling we have.
  • A
    Alex F. Sent on 07/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect experience!

    Tim was an absolute professional. His coordination in the lead-up to the delay was timely and clear, and everything the day of went exactly to plan. He's adept at the herding of cats that often is wrangling a wedding party & family, proving able to get the shots that he needs quickly and efficiently while still producing an amazing outcome. To that point, we couldn't be happier with our photos. They are perfect and portray us as a couple exactly as we had hoped. We've already recommended Tim to our friends planning a wedding.
  • E
    Erin T. Sent on 12/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience - can't recommend enough

    My husband and I worked with Tim for our wedding on 12/3/22 and we could not be happier! His work speaks for itself, he is such a talented photographer and has a great eye.
    On the day of our wedding, Tim did an excellent job of getting all the shots we wanted and more. We had a Catholic ceremony and he captured all of the important moments and was able to do so comfortably without a second shooter. We appreciated his enthusiasm throughout the day, especially as we took photos outside in 20-degree weather. We are thrilled with how the photos turned out and how he captured all of the emotions on our wedding day. We cannot recommend him enough!
  • W
    William S. Sent on 12/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    What a Pro

    Tim photographed our wedding day from first look to the reception. He captured the vibe and adapted to each situation. Tim and his assistant were with my wife and I by car and on foot. They helped balance us out. We were able to get comfortable and forget about the cameras (and tight timeline). Tim asily moved along our friends and family during pre-ceremony pics, and it we actually made up time. Tim captured a ton great moments, especially between our two families. He knew how to blend and follow the energy of the room.
  • L
    Lisa B. Sent on 07/19/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Ideal Wedding Photographer Experience

    Tim was absolutely wonderful to work with for our wedding. From the outset, I let Tim know that my husband and I are introverted people who are don't feel super comfortable in the spotlight. Tim not only made us feel comfortable, he actually made the photography experience enjoyable for us. He is laidback, organized, and clearly passionate about photography. The pictures came out beautifully. Not to mention, his services are much more cost effective than other photographers we looked at. I would enthusiastically recommend Tim to anyone with photography needs in Chicago.
  • S
    Shirley C. Sent on 06/19/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding photographer

    Tim was great to work with. He did both our engagement and wedding pictures and it was quite a pleasure working with him. He was very professional and responsive during our entire time working with him. He made capturing our moments very easy and care free. I loved how our engagement photos came out and our wedding preview captured who we are as a couple.
  • Christine
    Christine L. Sent on 06/14/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing skills, Flexible, Professional, Easy to work with

    Beautiful photography. Easy to get along with. Flexible and honest. Extremely professional and responsive. Patient. Tim is the one vendor that I never stressed about, and we felt confident he would deliver.
  • H
    Holly Q. Sent on 06/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Experience with Tim

    Tim was such a pleasure to work with for our wedding. He was super responsive to any questions that we had throughout the process and very flexible with us as the plans for our wedding evolved. On the day of our wedding, Tim was super friendly and professional. We all felt very comfortable with him and he got us through the pictures efficiently and painlessly and we have no doubt that the final pictures will be amazing. The preview photos we've seen so far are gorgeous and we're so excited for the rest. We would highly recommend Tim for any future event!
  • J
    James P. Sent on 05/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Tim is Amazing!

    Tim shot our engagement photos in 2021 and wedding photos in 2022. Tim is simply phenomenal and we highly recommend his services. On top of excellent photography, Tim is always calm, cool, and collected which is incredibly helpful on the big day! Tim is also very patient; we had several big life events pop up in the last year and we just finished our album almost a year after the wedding. But Tim still took the time for multiple revisions to help us achieve our vision. Nothing but positive things to say! Thanks Tim!

    J&S
  • S
    Shelby D. Sent on 03/31/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent wedding photographer

    Tim was a pleasure to work with. The photos have been absolutely fantastic. Moreover. Tim was communicative, responsive to our ideas, made sure to bring his expertise to bear, and flexible. Our engagement photos took place right after a storm and Tim was patient and responsive all day as we tried to find the right time, and for the wedding itself, Tim was a consummate professional. He really respected everyone's time, navigated the party well, and was extremely helpful. We would recommend him to anyone.
  • Peter
    Peter S. Sent on 03/03/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Tim is an absolute professional delight to work with!

    Can't recommend enough here.... Tim's Control, poise, and confidence was seen every moment throughout the process of our Wedding Day. And the end-result.... was stunning and phenomenal. Just an overall great human being as well, a super fair price (with a leather bound book on top!) no regrets here choosing THara Photo across the board.
  • N
    Nick F. Sent on 09/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    5 Stars All the Way!

    If you’re in the market for a great wedding photographer, stop searching now and book Tim! He was such a pleasure to work with. He has a wonderful personality and is very professional. He knew exactly what he was doing and communicated with us ahead of time to gain a better understanding of what we were looking for. Tim helped to alleviate the wedding day nerves with his easy-going personality, flexibility and continuously reassured us that everything was going to turn out great. His photos of our wedding are unbelievable and will be cherished for years to come!
  • C
    Carah Sent on 09/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Photographer

    We got tim as our photographer for our one hour elopement. I could confidently say that of all the people hired that was part of the wedding staff, he was the only one that went above and beyond throughout the whole process.

    Tim was awesome at instructing the groom and I what to do for the photos and where to even have the ceremony for the best spot for the photos. Overall amazing photographer with great energy and direction! Truly appreciated his work in our elopement and would happily recommend him to anyone.
  • S
    Sebastian Sent on 09/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Full service photography

    Tim was very patient and professional
  • A
    Andrea J. Sent on 08/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience with a great photographer

    We really hit the jackpot when it came to every vendor we worked with and Tim Hara was one of those amazing people. Our wedding was originally scheduled for early April 2020. About three weeks to our big day we had to make a decision to postpone our party; good thing too as a few days after we decided to do this, everything shut down. It was a scary time with so many unknowns of this virus, and every step of the way Tim was amazing. We rescheduled twice in that upcoming year and a half and throughout all of this he only showed his compassion and understanding, allowing us to do what we were comfortable with.

    We brought him on to capture our big day because we knew his pictures would be amazing. Lucky for us we also got Tim’s cool-headed composure and flexibility, which really helped us as we navigated these unprecedented times.

    One year and 4 months later we finally got to have our big party and Tim was a big part part of making that day run so smoothly. His professionalism really shined throughout the entire day, from the moment arrived at our house. He immediately saw opportunities to take pictures using the surroundings in front of our house. At Winnemac Park, where we had our first look, he and his assistant Israel were fantastic. They really did a great job keeping us calm and happy and always kept their smooth manner.

    At the wedding itself, Tim’s patience and attitude never wavered. Even while taking family photos where some people wandered off, he kept that smile on his face and kept moving forward, taking note of where on the list he would need to jump back to. He did a fantastic job of keeping us ready for all these pictures without letting us get overwhelmed by the entire experience.

    The proofs we have seen so far are amazing. Tim truly captured us at our best and we are thrilled to have had the pleasure of working with him.
  • G
    Gabrielle Sent on 09/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Tim was amazing!

    We couldn’t be happier with our wedding photos, both weddings that is! We were originally scheduled for 8/8/20, then 5/15/21, and finally 8/6/21. Tim was so accommodating throughout the entire year with all of our rescheduling due to Covid-19. Our first ceremony was just our immediate family and Tim captured the most beautiful moments in this intimate ceremony while also remaining safe and distanced. Some highlights about Tim that I see as crucial when looking for a wedding photographer:

    —Tim was very professional and prompt with all his responses. Especially with all of his extra weddings Summer 2021 and rescheduling, Tim was very responsive to any emails I sent.
    —His energy was exactly what you need on your wedding day-- warm and upbeat to help you feel relaxed, but mindful of the timeline and keeping things moving to get all your photos in.
    —His website and photo ordering is very user friendly and affordable! Other friends told me their photographer was charging $50 for one 5x7 print and Tim’s site was $7 for a 5x7.
  • Katrina
    Katrina S. Sent on 09/15/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply the Best!

    I'm forever grateful that Tim was recommended to us by a friend. Right from the initial meeting, Tim was kind, honest, professional, and made us feel at ease. I'm SO glad Tim was with us on our wedding day. The communication leading up to the date was great, and we knew just what to expect. He made everyone feel calm and created a relaxed environment for bridal party and family group photos. The photography was one thing we did not have to worry about on our wedding day. We received so many compliments from the bridal party and guests about how nice and professional Tim was, and I couldn't agree more! He captured some very special candid moments during the ceremony and reception, which we will cherish thanks to him. Our engagement and pandemic "porch session" photos when we bought a new house were also done by Tim, and those were equally great experiences. We would work with him again in a heartbeat!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message