Tampa Marriott Water Street Reviews

23 | Tampa, FL
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Tampa Marriott Water Street

Recommended by 92% of couples

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.5

Awards

23

2 User photos

Order by:
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 04/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marriott was absolutely amazing to work with throughout the entire planning, during and after our wedding. They're incredibly responsive and accommodating. We had staff dedicated just to my husband and I the entire night of our wedding which was fantastic. The food was great and the guests all raved. Jeni Wallace deserves her own props since she was the best!

    Sent on 05/25/2017
  • User5349748 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a gorgeous hotel right in the heart of downtown Tampa. We booked a block of rooms here for our out-of-town guests and will also be using their suite to get the bridal and groom parties ready. The luxury suite they have is HUGE and will be perfect for getting ready. They are extremely accommodating and the staff has been wonderful to work with. They even let me take a self-guided tour of the luxury suite to make sure there would be enough room, there definitely will be! So excited for everyone to be housed under their amazing roof!

    Sent on 12/26/2015
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 04/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy with our decision to hold our wedding reception at the Tampa Marriott Waterside. We wanted a small wedding (~50 people), and it was important to us that all of our friends and family feel special. The Il Terrazzo room was the ideal location for this. The gorgeous outdoor area was perfect for the cocktail hour, and the room was transformed beyond what we had envisioned. We loved working with Luis Miranda, and he was so accommodating of the fact that we were planning from out of state. We felt very comfortable working with him and knew we were in good hands. The staff of the Marriott on the wedding day was beyond efficient and organized. It allowed me to relax and enjoy the event, knowing they had everything under control. The food was amazing, and the chef made everything perfectly to our specifications. The desserts were also phenomenal. We would definitely recommend the Marriott. I can't say enough positive things about the staff's friendliness and accommodation.

    Sent on 04/22/2015
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 03/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Luis Miranda is a god send! Nothing beats the Marriott Waterside. The most expensive hotels have low ballroom ceilings and they don't have the gorgeous outdoor ceremony location like the Marriott! They let me choose my own menu too for less than the set menu would have been! Hamburger & Cheeseburger slider bar, french fry bar, pasta bar and chicken and beef taco bar ;) They just started doing cakes in house and Sinai is amazing! The cake came out better than something you would see on one of those cake tv shows, I was so amazed it was like for a celebrity!

    Sent on 04/16/2014
  • H

    Holly · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved the Marriott and so did all of our wedding guest! The hotel was absolutely beautiful and everyone we dealt with was so accommodating and professional. The location in the heart of downtown Tampa was perfect. There was this cute little outside bar right on the water next to the hotel that we all enjoyed. Champions Sports Bar in the lobby was fantastic! The food was delicious and the staff were great! We had a meet-n-greet-party the night before the wedding at Champions and it was perfect. Manja Blanchard, the food and beverage sales coordinator, was amazing. She truly went above and beyond while assisting us with our entire weekend. The rooms were great. The breakfast buffet was delicious. The views of the city and water were spectacular. We will definitely be staying here whenever we are in Tampa and all our guest say the same thing.

    Sent on 10/23/2013
  • M

    Megan · Married on 06/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There really are not enough nice things that I can say about Tampa Marriott Waterside, the event manager Katie Edwards, her staff, the chef Josh, his staff, and just everything. The entire night went off without a hitch, everything was perfect. Everyone was absolutely so nice and so helpful. There was one server, I think her name was Roseo? But she was absolutely wonderful. She attended specifically to my husband and I. She always made sure my husband had a drink and I stayed hydrated throughout the night. She made sure we sat down and ate (which is a big deal) and she even helped me fix my hair and bustle my gown. She was so so helpful. But my ravings can't stop there! The food! Omg the food was amazing, my guests were not only eating they were stuffed. Also, the staff was nice enough to pack up some togo boxes of food for my husband and I to have in the suite later because they knew we would be hungry after such a long night. I could just keep going and going about this place, Tampa Marriott Waterside thank you so much for going above and beyond my expectations. I was one happy bride!

    Sent on 06/17/2013
  • User2685056 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful experience all round from start to finish. Every staff member from valet to managers were all helpful, professional and courteous. They went above and beyond to accommodate our needs and to make our experience at the Marriott a wonderful one. Katie (our event manager) was a doll. Friendly, easy-going, and just a joy to work with. We're so happy we chose the Marriott Waterside for our wedding. The venue is beautiful, well maintained, friendly staff, and great food. Our guests were impressed and we all enjoyed this great hotel. Would definately have another event at this venue.

    Sent on 09/30/2012
  • C

    Carla · Married on 10/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All I can say about this hotel is that it was soooo amazing
    Having our wedding here. The service was five star all the way.
    I only wish we could have stayed a couple more days.

    I loved that they have a nice sports bar downstairs and their waterside
    Cafe has the best breakfast buffet and dinner.
    They also have another restaurant downstairs I will have to try out another time because
    I do plan to go back.

    I had Sheryl St johns as my cordinator and she was
    So easy to work with and made my wedding less stressful.
    We had our cocktail hour on the back patio and that was
    Just so wonderful.
    I would definitely recommend this hotel to future
    Brides and grooms. It is soooo worth it ;)
    We got a free suite for our wedding night and
    The view was amazing. We got 2 bottles of champagne,
    Chocolate covered strawberries,and they even had two pieces
    Of our wedding cake sent to our suite :)

    What a wonderful hotel to get married at and
    I will always remember the wonderful service
    And how special my wedding day was thanks to Sheryl and the
    Marriott waterside hotel staff.

    Sent on 10/06/2011
  • J

    Jen · Married on 05/29/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were lucky enough to work with Janice, the most wonderful planner. She was extremely courteous, organized, and so friendly. We looked forward to meeting with her throughout the planning process, as she was such a delight and eased our stress. Not to mention that her creativity really showed with our set-up. We provided her with the basics, and she went well above-and-beyond.

    The entire staff at Marriott Waterside is amazing. Our banquet captain Caesar was on top of everything throughout our special day. Any changes we faced, he adapted. We couldn't be happier with our package, from food to drinks to any extras.

    We did have A LOT of out-of-towners, so the venue was perfect for us. It was the most memorable wedding "weekend," and we were so grateful we chose the Marriott to host it.

    Sent on 01/28/2011
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 11/30/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue was wonderful. I found it on a business trip and when it was time to chose a wedding venue, they were forefront in my mind. Ever member of there staff is courteous and smiling all the time, the hotel itself is gorgeous and the food is amazing. Emily, Vita and John were great! Vita especially, caring for every last need we had - I must have emailed her 5 times a day and each time she quickly responded with an answer. Our wedding went off perfectly and we never had to leave the hotel - that was great!!

    Sent on 02/15/2008
  • V

    Valerie · Married on 02/22/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We had our wedding reception in the Florida Ballroom at the Marriott Waterside last month and it was amazing! From the beginning of the planning process the Marriott and their team were great. At the beginning we worked with Michelle and she did a great job showing us the different rooms we could use, prices, and wedding packages. Once we decided on a room, we worked with Katie to go over details of the wedding. She provided a great list of recommended vendors and personal recommendations that made the planning process that much easier. Unfortunately, a couple months later she moved to a different Marriott hotel and we were left without a wedding coordinator. I'm glad we still had a lot of time until the wedding because I was very nervous about the change. Luckily Luis came along and brought himself up to speed on the details of our wedding. He did a great job coordinating menu tasting, answering our hundreds of questions around the wedding package, and was patient when I changed the linen order a couple of times. I was also in contact with Danielle in housing several times too. She was helpful in updating the room block list when needed. We did have one instance in which one of our guests called to get the room block rate and talked to someone that wasn't very friendly and didn't offer any solutions. They ended up not staying at the hotel because of that.
    Other than that, the reception was beautiful and it was everything I imagined it to be, but better. Luis did a great job working with my "day of" coordinator to make sure everything was perfect. Luis came over that night to make sure everything was up to par, etc. The food was amazing and the chefs really listened to what my husband and I requested. They even came out during the dinner to speak to us and my parents. Very professional!
    I would recommend anyone to have their reception at the Marriott. They offered world class service and made my wedding dreams come true.

    Sent on 03/03/2014
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 09/24/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Quite a few of our guests stayed at the Marriott Waterside for our wedding. We also took some of our photos there as well. The hotel was amazing for pictures and everyone who stayed couldn't stop talking about how nice it was.

    Sent on 10/13/2011
  • K

    Kat · Married on 05/31/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We fell in love with the Waterside Marriott on our first visit. What a stunningly beautiful venue. Holding both the ceremony and the reception at the hotel made it easy for out-of-town guests. (My family and friends enjoyed spending time at the pool and hotel restaurant before the wedding. Many also took advantage of the nearby Riverwalk and the proximity to Ybor City.) The Marriott staff was warm and accommodating. And when it rained on the day of the wedding, they provided us with an indoor space that was just as beautiful as the outdoor patio.

    Sent on 06/21/2014
  • B

    Brooke · Married on 06/02/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The service from the staff was exceptional, food was great, setting gorgeous. All of my guest commented on how wonderful the hotel was to be a guest at and how great a job they did with the wedding. We had difficulty with weather problems and they were handled wonderfully. Every detail was great and the location couldn't have been better. Highly recommended. They treat everyone (not just the bride and groom) like they are the only guest they are concerned about. Great!

    Sent on 01/14/2008
  • M

    Merilyn · Married on 01/13/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    the catering part of the venue was okay, and would have preferred that they would have served the cake and coffee earlier, and keeping an eye on what was happening with the situation- if people were leaving, then serve the cake and coffee , don't hold it until a set hour-

    Sent on 09/11/2008
  • User555635 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were married at this gorgeous venue on a Saturday. We fell in love with this place as soon as we visited since the views from the ballroom were phenomenal. We had an Indian-Chinese-American wedding and the festivities lasted a whole day. We were married early in the morning on the outside patio, then again with a traditional Indian Ceremony in the Grand Ballroom where lunch was also served, and then our reception took place in the Grand Ballroom with dinner and dancing. We focused on our main points when choosing a venue and they definitely hit the mark with a beautiful venue, quality service and products and they allowed outside catering for Indian and Indo-Chinese food. Luis and Michelle always gave service with a smile and it was great to know they had worked many times before with my wedding coordinator so everyone was on the same page. The only drawback was the hotel reservations because there was a large anime convention going on at the same time (which made for great memorable pictures with these characters roaming in the back) and we were promised rooms with double beds and king beds, but by the time many family members from out of town (30 rooms) checked in, many were left with just king beds. The hotel told our family nothing could be done so of course they were going to complain to the bride and groom. I had to call the hotel and complain for them to even give them roll-a-way beds and that was unnecessary stress on the part of the bride and groom the day before a huge wedding when other pre-wedding festivities were going on. The hotel front staff also had given wrong welcome bags to some of our guests (which I wouldn't minded since the other wedding party had a bottle of wine instead of my snacks) but it would have been nice to get it right. Otherwise, throwing a huge wedding is going to come with some stresses, and besides that hiccup with the reservations, the events throughout the day went well.

    Sent on 10/06/2014
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/08/2007

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone at the Marriott treated my husband and I like we were royalty. I did not have a chance to see the reception area before we got announced, but it was exactly the way that I wanted it. I truly believe that Vita listened to every word on how I wanted my wedding to be and she fully executed that with all of the vendors. When we got to the reception from the ceremony they were waiting for us with champagne and we even got a complimentary suite for the night. We had our own personal waiter the entire reception that would bring us drinks and help us with anything that we needed. I can say this is the one night in my life where I really felt and was treated like royalty.

    Sent on 01/04/2008
  • C

    Carolyn · Married on 06/28/2013

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    GREAT VALUE ACCEPTED LAST MINUTE CHANGE WITH NO PROBLEM

    Sent on 07/10/2013
  • N

    N · Married on 06/07/2008

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic venue. Everything was beautiful, and the staff was very attentive and helpful. Vita and Caesar were great to work with. The food was delicious and the bar was fantastic. The hotel itself is great, the rooms are perfect, and the restaurants are nice.

    Sent on 08/19/2008
  • Amritha

    Amritha · Married on 07/04/2015

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    We picked the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina because it was one of few hotels that could accommodate the number of guests we had, allowed outside catering, and offered a beautifully elegant setting by the water that let in a lot of natural light. They seemed willing to accommodate our special requests.

    On the upside: The Marriott did an excellent job of catering to our needs. They were very helpful in hearing us out and coming up with customized options to fit our requests for the ceremony and reception. The staff were friendly and warm. Even when enough guest rooms were not available for the room block, the Marriott management was kind enough to block off additional rooms at neighboring Marriott hotels at a discounted rate.

    On the downside: There were several times in the planning process that communication fell through, including confusions about what was listed in the contract or previously agreed upon over the phone or via email (this could have been partly due to changes in management). On the day of the rehearsal dinner, the eve of the wedding, several guest rooms were not ready, including the bridal suite itself (!!), which made for a stressful experience. Finally, my cocktail hour pianist, an expert musician and experienced tuner technician, found that the piano provided by the hotel was not properly tuned, forcing him to improvise and avoid certain parts of the keyboard of the piano during his playing.

    Overall: The experience was generally positive and the Marriott delivered, making up for any unpleasant parts. I would recommend this vendor to other couples-- with the caveat to stay on top of communication and follow up often.

    Sent on 09/16/2015
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 10/15/2011

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Marriott Waterside kind of disappointed me the night of our wedding. The bridal suite was to be cleaned for my husband and I to come back to after the reception. Instead we came back to a messy room, dirty mimosa glasses that were to be picked up earlier that day, and a tray with a chilled bottle of champagne, two glasses and chocolate strawberries and a card from our wedding coordinator. I don't know, it was kind of a mood killer. Obviously, someone went up there to deliver that stuff but didn't think to fix up the room like I had asked. Also, my husband is very allergic to pineapple and got violently ill that night almost ruining our honeymoon. We contacted the hotel and they assured us that there were no traces of pineapple in any of the food. Strange. Aside from kind of ruining our wedding night they were okay. Our coordinator did do a lot to make our night special but kind of dragged her feet there at the end.

    Sent on 12/02/2011
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 06/15/2019

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Stay away from staying here!!!!

    I checked into my king suite (separate living room with a king bed bedroom) before my rehearsal and jumped in the shower to get ready, unfortunately I found human fecal matter on the detachable shower wand. I reported the issue and I received an email saying it had been handled, but returned to find it still contaminated. I showed the front desk the picture before I left so I’m not sure what happened, but they chalked it up to a miscommunication. It wasn’t until midnight the night before my wedding that the manager came up himself to clean it. They didn’t have any comparable rooms available & they wanted me to wait til the following morning to have it cleaned! They offered $200 off the room but made it sound like they were doing me a favor, after I’d touched poop!! My suite had the window blocked off (without notice) and it wasn’t until the day I checked out (after I checked out) that I had the room comped for the night of incident. In my opinion, it should have been handled the first time because there’s way to many diseases associated with that sort of thing, and to be lied to after was repulsive! They also lost my fathers reservation and double charged another guest. So if you’re ok with toxic waste being in your room, and being overcharged, go ahead and book here.

    Sent on 06/29/2019