Sweet Ladies Bakery Reviews

78 | Springfield, VA
See photos, pricing and details

78 Reviews for Sweet Ladies Bakery

Recommended by 98%

78
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8
78 Sweet Ladies Bakery Reviews
Sort by:
  • M

    Marie · Married on 04/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nikki is amazing! We really didn't know what we wanted in a wedding cake until we tasted her samples and then we knew! She made an amazing wedding cake and a very cool, custom Virginia Tech groom's cake. She was fantastic to work with and I would recommend her without reserve!

    Sent on 06/07/2018
    Sweet Ladies Bakery 1
    Sweet Ladies Bakery 2

    Sweet Ladies Bakery's reply:

    Hi Marie! Thank you for such a wonderful review! It was so fun working with the both of you and making your wedding cake and groom's cake visions come to life! Hope to see you around your anniversary!
  • D

    D · Married on 03/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nikki from Sweet Ladies Bakery is the best. She made us a beautiful wedding cake for our March 2018 wedding – the cake was as gorgeous on the outside as it was delicious on the inside. We loved it so much that we brought the top tier home to eat the next day! Working with Nikki was wonderful – she made the whole process so easy and fun. The cake tasting ended up being one of our favorite parts of wedding planning. I’ll definitely be reaching out to Nikki again in the future for cakes for other special occasions.

    Sent on 05/04/2018

    Sweet Ladies Bakery's reply:

    Hi Diane, we are so glad you were happy with the entire process of the wedding cake! You chose such a beautiful design and we were happy to bring it to life. Thank you for writing such a nice review, it was lovely to work with you and thank you for letting us be a part of your special day!
  • S

    Sara · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cake was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! They couldn’t have been nicer to deal with and are so talented! Definitely go with this place for any event!!

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We must have tried 10 different cake bakers before we decided on Sweet Ladies Bakery. What an awesome cake! I just can't rave enough about what a great product, what amazing service, and what a great experience we had with them. Not only did they provide us with our dream cake, but it was so incredibly delicious. They were able to do a different flavor for each layer of cake, and really pulled out a one of a kind cake for our Halloween themed wedding. They are incredibly affordable too. I was so intimidated by the prices of cakes in Northern Virginia but we got our three tier cake for less than $500. Definitely call and at least schedule a tasting! You will understand why you need to go with them after you try their amazing cake!

    Sweet Ladies Bakery 3
  • Jennifer

    Jennifer · Married on 11/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nikki from Sweet Ladies Bakery is the absolute BEST in the business. We worked closely with Nikki to create a custom design wedding cake that was even more beautiful than I imagined it would be. We were blown away by the delicious samples she presented us at our tasting. It was almost impossible to choose, but we ended up with the incredibly delicious Hummingbird Cake that our guests are STILL raving about. In addition to the gorgeous and delicious cake, Nikki was a delight to work with and a true professional!

    Sent on 01/31/2017

    Sweet Ladies Bakery's reply:

    Thank you for such a kind and generous review Jennifer! You looked gorgeous and the venue decorations were stunning! Thank you for letting us be a part of your very special day!
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nikki and her team provided a wonderful, delicious cake for my wedding! I never expected that the cake was something my husband and I would feel strongly about, with all of the other wedding details there were to worry over, but we were surprised at the low quality (read: taste!), and high prices of many of bakers we initially looked at. Nikki was actually the fourth baker we met with, and we knew we wanted her as soon as we left that day! Her home business was very clean and professional, and the cake at our tasting was DELICIOUS! We also had a unique vision - we wanted a "naked" (i.e. frosting-less) cake with berries, and Nikki did not bat an eyelash at this request - rather, she translated our vision into a beautiful (and tasty) creation! Unlike the other bakers we met / contacted, she took into account the fact that an frosting-less cake should cost less than one with buttercream, fondant, etc. (fewer ingredients - it just makes sense!), and offered a great price. Her contract and all of our communications were very professional throughout, and though I never even saw her day-of (that's how good she was!), the cake was beautiful and got gobbled up by everyone :). Thanks, Nikki!

    Sent on 10/23/2016

    Sweet Ladies Bakery's reply:

    Thank you for such a kind and generous review! It just makes our day when we hear that you and your guests really enjoyed the wedding cake. Thank you for letting us be apart of such a special day!
  • A

    Alex · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nikki at Sweet Ladies did fantastic work for us. She was very responsive to our initial inquiries and shortly had us come by for cake tastings. She was able to adapt our wedding invitation design into the cake design to lovely effect. Both her carrot cake and her almond cake were to die for. She also provided us with four cheesecakes for the wedding that our guests raved about.

    Sent on 10/09/2016

    Sweet Ladies Bakery's reply:

    So glad you enjoyed the cake! Loved matching the design from your invitation, so pretty! Thank you for letting us be part of your special day. Enjoy the honeymoon!
  • S

    Sharyum · Married on 10/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nikki is incredible! She is gracious at all times. I changed my mind about my cake a few times but she was always cooperative and kind. The cake was delicious and drop dead GORGEOUS! Her prices are extremely reasonable and her design work is of superior quality! Hire SLB now.

    Sent on 10/10/2016

    Sweet Ladies Bakery's reply:

    Thank you Sharyum! Your venue was amazing and we are so glad you were pleased with the flavor and design! Thank you for the call and the awesome review!
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough great things about Nikki and her team. Our tasting with Nikki was great. Even when taking our ideas to her for design, she was able to make great suggestions that we had not considered before. She was very flexible with letting us try a different cake/icing combo when there was a combination that we did not care for. In the end, the cake was beautiful and tasted great! Our guests loved it and we can't wait for our 1-year anniversary cake.

  • D

    Debbie · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I ended up working with Sweet Ladies through my venue, which partnered with Sweet Ladies Bakery to provide the cake. It was a pleasure to work with Nikki. From planning through the big day, she was responsive and helpful. During our in-person planning session, I loved the way she sketched out what she had in mind. When I forgot to tell the florist that we wanted flowers for the cake, Nikki was quick to reassure me that everything would be ok. On the big day, the cake was a work of art. It was beautiful outside and the alternative lemon and chocolate layers with raspberry buttercream were even better than at the tasting. My only regret is that I didn’t get to eat more cake during the wedding!

  • D

    Desiree · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nikki,

    Words cannot express our joy and happiness with the results of my daughter's wedding cake. It was beautiful and so delicious! We selected 3 different flavors for the layers and each was wonderful! There was more than enough for our guests and we enjoyed the leftovers for a few days and the bride and groom will be enjoying the top tier on their first anniversary! Thank you so much for your professionalism, dedication to service, and the beautiful detail with which you created this cake. We appreciate you!

    Sent on 07/20/2016

    Sweet Ladies Bakery's reply:

    We appreciate your review! Thank you so much for letting us be a part of your daughter's special day! Glad you had some left overs to enjoy for a few days :) Best of luck to everyone!
  • T

    Teresa · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So far we have only done our cake tasting, but Nikki was absolutely wonderful! She had great ideas, and was able to combine all of our ideas into a beautiful and cohesive design. I can't wait to see the final outline of the cake. The flavors we had to taste were delicious; we tried the devil's food, marble, and red velvet and all three were so moist and decadent. In the end, we decided on a marble cake with a dark chocolate mousse that is absolutely to die for. I'm so glad we found Sweet Ladies, and would absolutely recommend her to anyone. Will update as the process moves forward and as we get closer to our wedding, but so far she has left nothing to be desired.

    Sent on 09/27/2015

    Sweet Ladies Bakery's reply:

    Hi Teresa! Thank you so much for the kind words! We're so glad that you enjoyed the samples! We look forward to providing the cake for your big day! Thanks again!
  • K

    Kathie · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Go for a tasting and you will look no further. It was hard to decide what flavors to choose because they were all so delicious. We made more than a couple of changes before we decided on the final "look" of my daughter's wedding cake, and Nikki was patient and responsive. We received many compliments on the elegant look of the cake and of course the flavors. We look forward to the Anniversary cake that we ordered and will enjoy next May!

  • Crazii Beautyful

    Latasha · Married on 05/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have to give Nikki 5 STARS. We met with her early on in the process and she was very welcoming and sweet. We loved the flavor of her cakes and I was blown away by her attention to detail when I saw my wedding cake at the venue I was so amazed and in LOVE!1!.. We chose a red velvet cake and hummingbird cake. I had both. I LOVED IT and so did my guest. They couldn't get enough of the hummingbird cake!!!!!

  • K

    Kate · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had heard great things about Sweet Ladies, and was excited to work with them for our wedding. I am so happy I did because Nikki and her team are total professionals and dream to work with. Our wedding cake was an abouslute showstopper and beyond delicious. It was so good, many wedding guests had two -three slices.
    Nikki will work with your budget and your taste preferences to create a one of a kind cake masterpiece. She is so knowledgeable about her craft and understands the wedding planning craziness. I cant say enough good things about Sweet Ladies, except I am so excited to have our fresh one-year anniversery cake!!! Nikki is by far the best wedding cake vendor in the DC area if you are looking for value, aesthetics, and deliciousness!

    Sent on 05/31/2016

    Sweet Ladies Bakery's reply:

    Hi Kate!! Can't say thank you enough for letting us be a part of your very special day and for the very, very kind words you wrote about Sweet Ladies Bakery. We truly appreciate your feedback! We look forward to seeing you on your anniversary!
  • G

    Ginnie · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so extremely happy with our beautiful wedding cake and the amazing groom's cake. Nikki went out of her way to make sure that all of our requests were met, and the cakes were so delicious! We would fully recommend Sweet Ladies Bakery to anyone looking for a fantastic bakery!

  • P

    Amanda · Married on 11/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sweet Ladies Bakery is amazing and I would highly recommend them! Not only are their desserts a 10, but the owner Nikki is professional, reliable, quick to answer your questions and a truly nice person.

    We choose Sweet Ladies Bakery to do a cake for my bridal shower, desserts for our rehearsal dinner and desserts & wedding cake for our wedding. Each and every dessert we chose was amazing. Coming from someone who does not generally like cake, I had more pieces of cake than I care to share. The cupcakes were outstanding: we chose red velvet, carrot cake and chocolate. Each flavor was perfectly moist and were the best cupcakes I've ever had. We also chose to offer cookies for our guest for dessert: we had pumpkin chocolate chip, peanut butter and a a unique, fun twist on oreo cookies. They as well were outstanding and we received many rave reviews. For our wedding cake we opted for a funfetti cake and with raspberry buttercream. It was true perfection! Sweet Ladies Bakery nailed our simple, but fun vision that we had for our wedding desserts.

    To quote my sister in law "That red velvet cupcake was by far the most delicious thing I have ever tasted!"

    Another quote: "There are oreos inside of the cookie? Have I died and gone to heaven?"

    I highly, highly recommend using Sweet Ladies Bakery for any of your baked goods needs :) You will not be disappointed!

    Sent on 12/08/2015

    Sweet Ladies Bakery's reply:

    Wow! We can't thank you enough for such a heart felt wonderful review! It means so much to us that you and your guests enjoyed the desserts on your special day. We were so honored to be a part of it! Thank you again for such kind words!!
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely LOVED working with Nikki at Sweet Ladies Bakery! She was friendly and professional. Her attention to detail was remarkable and our cake was EXACTLY what we wanted. She offered so many affordable options. She was a wonderful hostess during our cake tasting and gave us multiple payment options.

    Sent on 11/02/2015

    Sweet Ladies Bakery's reply:

    Thank you for the lovely review!! We can't thank you enough for letting us be a part of your special day! So glad you and your guests enjoyed the cake! Congratulations again to you!
  • E

    Erin · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding cake has never been a favorite aspect of any wedding celebration I attended, because frankly it just never really tastes that good....until my own wedding! Our wedding cake from Sweet Ladies Bakery was absolutely delicious! Our guests were raving about it at our reception and still compliment our cake when they see us.

    We had a great cake tasting experience at Sweet Ladies and ordering our cake with Nikki (the owner) was effortless. The contract was straightforward and easy to understand and there were no hidden fees or loopholes. Our cake looked exactly how we envisioned and it tasted incredibly better than we expected. The price, for the quality, was absolutely fair (we ended up ordering a 3-tier cake with 2 sheet cakes). I would recommend Sweet Ladies to any bride and will continue to use Sweet Ladies myself for any future celebrations deserving of a delicious cake. Thanks, Sweet Ladies for helping to make our day perfect for us!

  • User4274906 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nikki is the best! She listens to your ideas and designs the cake of your dreams!

  • Y

    Yuanita · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We ordered our wedding cake from Nikki and it was really DELICIOUS!! Our guests kept saying that our wedding cake was really good. We will surely use Nikki again if we ever have cake needs in the future.

    Sent on 12/16/2015

    Sweet Ladies Bakery's reply:

    Thank you for a great review Yuanita! We felt honored to have been a small part of your special day! So glad your guests enjoyed the cake! Look forward to working with you again in the future!
  • M

    Marian · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sweet Ladies Bakery provided the cake for my wedding. Nikki was great to work with. She was quick to respond to all emails and very helpful in choosing flavors to try at our tasting. The tasting was really fun and Nikki helped us decide on the design of the cake. We ended up choosing lemon cake with raspberry filling, marble cake with white chocolate mousse filling, and yellow cake with fresh fruit and whipped cream. Our wedding cake was the prettiest wedding cake I have ever seen. It was nicer than any of the pictures I brought to show Nikki of what I was hoping for and it tasted amazing. All of our guests told us it was the best wedding cake they have ever had. I highly recommend Sweet Ladies Bakery!!

  • User5443454 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She made exactly what I was looking for. She's awesome to work with, and produces a beautiful and tasty product!

  • K

    Katherine · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sweet Ladies Bakery Rocks! Our cake was fabulous! Even after a very filling meal, many of our guests ad a second slice of cake! Her variety of flavors of cake and frosting make combinations really limitless - and you really can't go wrong. They did a great job designing our cake as well. We can't wait for our 1 year anniversary to pickup our freshly baked top tier! We are very pleased we picked Sweet Ladies Bakery!

    Sent on 09/20/2015

    Sweet Ladies Bakery's reply:

    Hi Katherine! Thank you for the kind words! We're so glad to hear everyone enjoyed the cake! You can never have too much cake! Thank you for choosing us as your baker! It was our pleasure to be able to provide a cake for your big day! We look forward to providing your anniversary cake next year! Thanks again!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review